[2008] AATA 601
General information, not legal advice.
Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia
2008-07-11
Deputy President P
Original judgment source is linked above.
DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2008] AATA 601
MILITARY REHABILITATION AND COMPENSATION COMMISSION
The question posed for preliminary determination, namely whether it is open to the Tribunal to determine the applicant's entitlement to compensation in these proceedings, is answered "no".
COMPENSATION - operation of the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 - jurisdiction of the Tribunal - question of whether it is open to the Tribunal to determine entitlement to compensation in addition to liability - statutory construction - question posed for preliminary determination answered "no"
Re Fuad and Telstra Corporation Ltd [2004] AATA 1182; (2004) 39 AAR 496
Lees v Comcare [1999] FCA 753; (1999) 56 ALD 84
(a) Admit liability for our client's Defence-related Back injury which was occasioned during the course of our client's Military Service; and
(b) Assess our client's entitlement to permanent impairment compensation pursuant to Section 68 of the [MRC Act]."
The letter went on to make it plain that the Commission was being asked "to admit liability ... and assess compensation for the injury on the basis that it is permanent" (emphasis in original).
"This Act provides for compensation and other benefits to be provided for current and former members of the Defence Force who suffer a service injury or disease. The Act also provides for compensation and other benefits to be provided for the dependants of some deceased members.
Before most benefits can be paid or provided, the Commission must accept liability for an injury, disease or death of a current or former member under Chapter 2. Chapters 3 to 6 set out what the benefits are.
The procedure for dealing with claims under this Act is dealt with under Chapters 7 and 8. The Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission and the administration of the Act are dealt with in Chapters 9 to 11.
Provisions in this Act might be affected by the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation (Consequential and Transitional Provisions) Act 2004.
A person who is entitled to a benefit under this Act might also be entitled to a pension, allowance or other benefit under the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986. This might include the following:
(a) a service pension under Part III of that Act;
(b) treatment under Part V of that Act;
(c) an allowance such as a telephone allowance, a pharmaceutical allowance, a Victoria Cross allowance or Income Support Supplement;
"A condition for most benefits under this Act is that the Commission has accepted liability for an injury, disease or death. The Commission accepts liability if there is some connection between the injury, disease or death and defence service.
The process for deciding whether to accept liability is as follows:
(a) first, a person makes a claim under section 319 for acceptance of liability for an injury, disease or death (the rules for making claims are found in Chapter 7);
(b) then, the Commission decides whether the injury, disease or death is a service injury, disease or death under Part 3;
(c) then, the Commission decides whether it is prevented from accepting liability for the injury, disease or death because of an exclusion under Part 4 (for example, because the injury, disease or death resulted from a serious default or a wilful act).
The Commission must accept liability if the injury, disease or death is a service injury, disease or death, and none of the exclusions in Part 4 apply.
The effect of this Chapter in respect of cadets and declared members might be modified by the regulations (see section 439)."
It is a sufficient explanation of the provisions within Chapter 2 to note that they deal with the connection necessary between the injury or death and service and the circumstances where liability is not to be accepted, for example where the injury arose from serious default or wilful acts. None of these matters are germane to the present issue.
"(1) A claim may be made under this section for one or more of the following:
(a) acceptance of liability by the Commission for a service injury sustained by a person or a service disease contracted by a person;
(b) acceptance of liability by the Commission for the service death of a person;
(c) acceptance of liability by the Commission for the loss of, or damage to, a member's medical aid;
"(1) A claim under subsection 319(1) may be made by:
(a) if paragraph 319(1)(a) applies - the person who sustained the injury or contracted the disease; or
(b) if paragraph 319(1)(b) applies - a person who is a dependant of the person who died; or
(c) if paragraph 319(1)(c) applies - the member whose medical aid is lost or damaged; or
(d) if paragraph 319(1)(d) applies - the person who is entitled to the compensation."
"(1) The Commonwealth is liable to pay compensation to a person if:
(a) the Commission has accepted liability for one or more service injuries or diseases (the compensable condition) of the person; and
(i) as a result of the compensable condition, the person has suffered an impairment; and
(ii) the impairment is likely to continue indefinitely; and
(iii) the person's compensable condition has stabilised; and
(c) a claim for compensation in respect of the person has been made under section 319."
It is unnecessary for present purposes to look more closely at the provisions regarding compensation for permanent impairment and how the amount of compensation is determined. Those issues do not arise at this juncture. What is of significance, according to the argument of Mr Derrington SC for the Commission, is that acceptance of liability in the terms set out in s 68(1)(a) of the MRC Act is a pre-condition to a liability to pay compensation. That pre-condition is common throughout the MRC Act[7].
"The AAT will not be authorised on review of a reviewable decision to exercise any powers and discretions which would not have been available to the determining authority at the second tier decision-making stage, albeit that such powers and discretions might have been available to the determining authority at the first tier decision-making stage."
Thus, in the present case the Tribunal may consider the issue of entitlement only if the power to consider that question had been available to the decision-maker at the reconsideration stage. That power would have been available at that stage only if the original decision-maker had considered, or had been
obliged to consider, the issue of entitlement as well as that of liability.
I certify that the 26 preceding paragraphs are a true copy of the reasons for the decision herein of Deputy President P E Hack SC
Signed: ...................Signed...............................................
Solicitors for the Applicant Slater and Gordon Lawyers
Solicitors for the Respondent Australian Government Solicitor
[7] See, for example, s 43 in relation to the provision of rehabilitation benefits; s 55 in relation to the supply and alteration of aids and appliances; ss 61 and 62 in relation to the provision of assistance in finding work; ss 85, 86 and 87 in relation to compensation for incapacity.
[9] [1999] FCA 753; (1999) 56 ALD 84 at 91, [32].
[10] [1999] FCA 753; (1999) 56 ALD 84 at 93, [39].
Lees
Comcare