austlii:nsw/NSWPICMP/2026/7
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPICMP
2026-01-13
Original judgment source is linked above.
Kelly v Secretary, Department of Communities and Justice [2026] NSWPICMP 7
WORKERS COMPENSATION - Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998; review of Medical Assessment Certificate (MAC); whether the ratings the Medical Assessor (MA) made of the appellant's impairment in the psychiatric impairment rating scale (PIRS) domains of self care and personal hygiene, social and recreational activities, and travel involved error; Held - MA's ratings did not involve error; MAC confirmed.
Dr Samuel Lim, a Medical Assessor, who issued a Medical Assessment Certificate (MAC) on 22 August 2025. 2. The appellant relies on the following grounds of appeal under s 327(3) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act): * the assessment was made on the basis of incorrect criteria, and * the MAC contains a demonstrable error. 3. The delegate is satisfied that, on the face of the application, at least one ground of appeal has been made out. The Appeal Panel has conducted a review of the original medical assessment but limited to the ground(s) of appeal on which the appeal is made. 4. Rule 128 of the Personal Injury Commission Rules 2021 (the PIC Rules) and Procedural Direction PIC7 - Appeals, reviews, reconsiderations and correction of obvious errors in medical disputes set out the practice and procedure in relation to the medical appeal process under s 328 of the 1998 Act. An Appeal Panel determines its own procedures in accordance with r 128(1) of the PIC Rules. 5. The assessment of permanent impairment is conducted in accordance with the SIRA NSW Workers Compensation Guidelines for the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, 4th ed
Dr Doris had with the appellant on 13 August 2024. Dr Doris advised in his report that his diagnosis of the appellant's injury accorded with the diagnosis Dr Khan had made. He advised he assessed the degree of the appellant's permanent impairment from her injury is 6% WPI. That was based on his rating the appellant's impairment in the several PIRS categories as Class 3 for self-care and personal hygiene for employability, Class 2 for social and recreational activities and for CPP, and Class 1 for travel and for social functioning, the medium of which is 2 and the aggregate of which is 12, which converts to 6% WPI in accordance with Table 17.11 of the Guidelines. Dr Doris did not add any percentage WPI for the effects of treatment. 6. A medical dispute having arisen between the parties relating to the degree of the appellant's permanent impairment resulting from her injury, the appellant initiated proceedings in the Personal Injury Commission (Commission) seeking the Commission determine her claim for compensation. 7. The Medical Assessor examined the appellant on 19 August 2025 and, as said, issued the MAC on 22 August 2025, in which he certified he assessed the degree of the appellant's permanent impairment from her injury is 7% WPI. His assessment was based on his rating the appellant's impairment as Class 1 in travel, Class 2 in self-care and personal hygiene and in social and recreational activities and in social functioning, Class 3 in CPP, and Class 4 in employability. 8. In her appeal against the medical assessment the appellant has challenged the Medical Assessor's ratings of her impairment in self-care and personal hygiene, social and recreational activities and travel. 9. The reasons the Medical Assessor provided in the PIRS Rating Form, that forms part of the MAC, for his rating of the appellant's impairment in self-care and personal hygiene are:
"Ms Kelly reported receiving support from various nieces who visit her at least three times a week to assist with various household chores. She noted that this assistance was due to her difficulties associated with her orthostatic tremor. However, she also noted reduced motivation to engage in tasks within her physical capacity, as well as her susceptibility to an exacerbation of her orthostatic tremors related to her mental state. From a psychiatric perspective, she presents with a mild impairment."
Dr Stephen Dumar. The Appeal Panel notes that Maria Garcia is a neurologist and a Fellow in movement disorders, working within the Department of Neurology at Westmead Hospital. The Medical Assessor remarked that Maria Garcia described in her report that the appellant had a long-standing orthostatic tremor, a chronic neurological condition. The Medical Assessor noted that Dr Garcia described the appellant as considerably disabled from the severity of her symptoms from the orthostatic tremor and had difficulty undertaking tasks that required her to stand longer than 30 seconds. The Medical Assessor noted Dr Garcia described that the appellant needed assistance with most instrumental activities of daily living including showering. The Medical Assessor noted that Dr Garcia said the appellant was unable to cook, hang washing or go grocery shopping because those activities required the appellant to stand and the appellant relied on her partner and her nieces to assist her with those activities of daily living which the appellant found frustrating. The Medical Assessor noted that Dr Garcia described further treatments were being considered for the appellant, including deep brain stimulation and a spinal cord stimulator. 3. The Medical Assessor also briefly referred to reports of Dr Khan and Dr Doris, but did not specifically comment on their respective ratings of the appellant's impairment in the several PIRS categories. 4. The reasons the Medical Assessor provided in the PIRS Rating Form for his rating of the appellant's impairment in social and recreational activities are:
"Ms Kelly stated that she largely confines herself to Menindee and her social activities revolve around her family members. She has ceased her participation in bigger community events, particularly those which take place in Broken Hill, due to her anxiety symptoms related to her psychiatric condition. She presents with a mild impairment."
[1] New South Wales Police Force v Registrar of the Workers Compensation Commission of New South Wales [2013] NSWSC 1792 at [33]; Finnegan v Komatsu Forklift Australia Pty Ltd [2023] NSWSC 38 at [125]- [130].
Kelly
Secretary, Department of Communities and Justice [2026] NSWPICMP 7;