© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2001] VSC 465
Supreme Court of Victoria
2001-10-04
Mr J
Original judgment source is linked above.
[2001] VSC 465
Corporations - registration - reinstatement of registration - deregistration induced by liquidator with notice of proceeding against company - plaintiff's alternative right to proceed against company's insurer - whether plaintiff "aggrieved by the deregistration" - whether reinstatement order "just" Corporations Act 2001, ss 601AG, 601AH Pagnon v WorkCover Queensland [2000] QCA 421, applied Suncorp Metway Insurance Limited v Clonmel Pty Ltd [2000] QSC 135; , distinguished , considered Insurance - insurer's obligation to indemnify estoppel from denying that risk insured - assumption by insurer of conduct of legal proceeding , applied ; , at 209-210, referred to Corporations - registration - deregistration - liability of deregistered company's insurer under - possible denial on ground of delay in claim - plaintiff's entitlement to exercise powers of `insured' under (3) and (4) of the (Cth)
"As soon as the affairs of the company are fully wound up, the liquidator must make up an account showing how the winding up has been conducted and the property of the company has been disposed of and, when the account is so made up, he or she must convene a general meeting of the company, or, in the case of a creditors' voluntary winding up, a meeting of the creditors and members of the company, for the purpose of laying before it the account and giving any explanation of the account."
Subsection (2) provided that the meeting must be convened by publishing a notice in the gazette at least a month before the date of the meeting. Subsection (3) provided:
"The liquidator must, within 7 days after the meeting, lodge a return of the holding of the meeting and of its date with a copy of the account attached to the return."
Subsection (5) obliged ASIC to deregister the company "at the end of the 3 month period after the return was lodged". The deregistration duly occurred on 12 October 2000. The company was thereupon dissolved: "A company ceases to exist on deregistration": s 601AD (1).
A `Claim' under Section 601AG
"A person may recover from the insurer of a company that is deregistered an amount that was payable to the company under the insurance contract if: (a) the company had a liability to that person;
(b) the insurance contract covered that liability immediately before deregistration."
The `amended statement of claim' inter alia added allegations of the deregistration and that the plaintiff "claims from the defendant pursuant to the provisions of section 601AG of the Corporations Law".
"We do not agree that [the section] enables the plaintiff to pursue recovery directly against an insurer until such time as a liability against [the company] has been established. We are instructed therefore to advise you that our client does not consent to service of the proposed amended statement of claim in its present form. We suggest that you proceed with an application to re-instate the company."
The letter dated 31 July 2001 expanded upon the construction of s 601AG favoured by the insurer's solicitors:
"Section 601AG creates a cause of action in a situation where an amount was payable to the deregistered company under the insurance contract, if the deregistered company had a liability to the person and the insurance contract covered that liability immediately before deregistration. "In our view the section applies where there was an entitlement to cover as well as an established liability prior to the date of deregistration. This view is supported by Suncorp Metway Insurance Limited v Clonmel Pty Ltd [2000] QSC 135, Norsworthy v SGIC [1999] FASC (sic) 496 and Pagnon v WorkCover Queensland [2000] QSA 421. "In our view, the correct procedure in the current matter is to make an application to the Supreme Court to reinstate the company."
"We refer to your letter dated 27 September 2001 enclosing orders made by Senior Master Mahony [in this proceeding]. As you are aware, we are instructed by [the insurer] in respect of [the County Court proceeding].
We note those orders refer to the issue of indemnity under the insurance policy between [the company] and [the insurer]. As the alleged incident for which the plaintiff pursues this claim occurred on 9 April 1997 and the claim was first notified to [the insurer] in mid 2000 our client has reserved its position on indemnity.
Though requested by the Court to appear and having appeared as a matter of courtesy on 21 September 2001 in respect of your client's Supreme Court application for reinstatement of [the company] (deregistered), our client is not a party to that proceeding. As such, we have no standing to appear and put arguments on our client's behalf in respect of the matters raised by your client's reinstatement application, or by the Master in respect of that application.
As you are aware, our client has refused to consent to being joined as the defendant, in place of its insured [the company] in your client's County Court proceeding, pursuant to section 601AG of the Corporations Act. Our client holds a particular view with respect to the effect and application of section 601AG of the Corporations Act. Our client is reluctant to present those views by way of argument before the Master on 4 October 2001 when an application pursuant to section 601AG is not before the Court and the plaintiff's application that is before the Court is for the reinstatement of [the company].
Our client is also concerned about the prospect of any orders being made against it with respect to the costs of your client's application for reinstatement. As such we note that prior to pursuing its County Court proceedings against [the company] your client obtained leave from the Supreme Court to proceed against that company as it had been placed in liquidation. We understand that prior to that date your firm was in contact with the liquidator of the company. Subsequent to leave being granted by the Supreme Court to proceed against a company in liquidation, the company was deregistered. The necessity for your client's current application was, therefore, created by a failure on the part of the liquidator to take note of the proceedings (sic) and not deregister the company. Our client played no part in the subsequent deregistration of the company. As that is the case it would be wholly unfair for any application to be made for orders that our client pay any costs in respect of your client's application.
For the reasons set out above we do not propose to appear at the hearing on 4 October 2001."
As thus foreshadowed, there was no attendance on 4 October 2000 by the insurer's solicitors; and, since their client "holds a particular view with respect to the effect and application of section 601AG", it was unfortunate that I was thus deprived of the opportunity of hearing it. The solicitors' concern about their client's "standing" perhaps was misplaced since their client had responded to an invitation originating with the Court to assist it by explaining its "view". The sense of opportunity lost was, however, much assuaged, at least in my mind, by what Ms Rava had submitted on 21 September 2001; by the letters dated 26 June 2001 and 31 July 2001 from the insurer's solicitors to the plaintiff's solicitors which were exhibited to the affidavit made on 4 October 2001; and, in particular, by the case references in the latter of those letters. Before considering those cases, I turn to the matter which led me to order the adjournment on 21 September 2001.
"(1) Subject to this section, where the effect of a contract of insurance would, but for this section, be that the insurer may refuse to pay a claim, either or in whole or in part, by reason of some act of the insured or of some other person, being an act that occurred after the contract was entered into but not being an act in respect of which subsection (2) applies, the insurer may not refuse to pay the claim by reason only of that act but the insurer's liability in respect of the claim is reduced by the amount that fairly represents the extent to which the insurer's interests were prejudiced as a result of that act. (2) Subject to the succeeding provisions of this section, where the act could reasonably be regarded as being capable of causing or contributing to a loss in respect of which insurance cover is provided by the contract, the insurer may refuse to pay the claim. (3) Where the insured proves that no part of the loss that gave rise to the claim was caused by the act, the insurer may not refuse to pay the claim by reason only of the act. (4) Where the insured proves that some part of the loss that gave rise to the claim was not caused by the act, the insurer may not refuse to pay the claim, so far as it concerns that part of the loss, by reason only of the act. (5) Where:
(a) the act was necessary to protect the safety of a person or to preserve property; or
(b) it was not reasonably possible for the insured or other person not to do the act;
the insurer may not refuse to pay the claim by reason only of the act.
(6) A reference in this section to an act includes a reference to:
(a) an omission; and
(b) an act or omission that has the effect of altering the state or condition of the subject-matter of the contract or of allowing the state or condition of that subject-matter to alter."
Suncorp Metway Insurance Limited v Clonmel Pty Ltd
" In cases where a writ is issued against the first tortfeasor and he serves a third-party notice against the second tortfeasor, the notice is convenient machinery, but it does not mean that he then has a cause of action. His cause of action only arises when judgment is given against him ascertaining his liability."
In Suncorp Metway defendants to a pending action in tort were seeking to use s 601AG to join as a third party the insurer of a company which was alleged to have been liable prior to its deregistration to make contribution if the plaintiff succeeded against the defendants. The authorities to which Muir, J referred made it clear that this could not be done under s 601AG because, since the plaintiff had not obtained judgment against the defendants, the defendants had no cause of action for contribution against the deregistered company; and, thus, prior to its deregistration the company could not have a liability to the defendants within subs (a) of s 601AG. The authorities cited by Muir, J show that while a judgment debtor may have a cause of action for contribution, a defendant against whom there is no judgment has not; and that, therefore, while there is no judgment a potential third party cannot be said to be "liable" to the defendant in the sense in which that word is used in subs (a) of s 601AG.
"If a worker suffers injury in respect of which compensation under this Act is payable in circumstances conferring a right of action for damages in respect of the injury against the worker's employer who -
(a) has died; or
(b) being a corporation, has ceased to exist; or
(c) cannot be served with process
a person who might have obtained judgment for damages against the employer in respect of the injury may recover by action against the board, as if the board were the employer, the sum that would have been payable by way of damages to that person by the board under section 183 (1) had judgment been given against the employer." [My emphasis]
The similarity of this provision to s 601AG will be apparent. It confers a cause of action against a third person ("the board") where, for one of the reasons in (a), (b) or (c), it is impossible or impracticable to proceed against the worker's employer.
"If there is any remaining doubt about the correctness of that conclusion, it is to my mind put to rest by s 601AG of the Corporations Law."
He then set out the terms of the section, and continued:
"Under the Workers Compensation Act 1990, the obligation of an employer was to insure and remain insured with the board under a policy covering the employer's liability at common law to his employee: see s 44 (1)(b). Under such a policy the employer is indemnified by the board against legal liability for damages payable in respect of the injury suffered by the employee or worker: s 183 (1). It appears to follow that, within the meaning of s 601AG, the company Croway Pty Ltd, which was formerly the plaintiff's employer, was, before it was deregistered, a company that "had a liability" to the plaintiff; and also that, immediately before deregistration, the insurance policy or contract with the defendant board "covered that liability". In these circumstances the only question would be whether the plaintiff could under s 601AG have recovered from the board as insurer of Croway Pty Ltd an amount that was payable to him from the statutory insurance fund. Section 601AG speaks of "the amount that was payable to the company under the insurance contract", which is not really apt to describe the statutory insurance regime in Queensland under which the amount is payable directly out of the insurance fund to the employee, and not to his corporate employer as envisaged by s 601AG."
From this passage it will be observed that McPherson, JA provides no support for the insurer's contention in this proceeding that, for the "liability" of the company to the plaintiff to be within s 601AG, it must be liability under a judgment; indeed, he does precisely the opposite. The only reason for excepting the operation of s 601AG in Pagnon was that, by force of the statute which required the insurance, the amount payable by `the board' as insurer was not payable to the employer but to the employee.
"The legislative policy underlying s 601AG is, however, not open to doubt. It is to `short-cut' the need to reinstate the company, and to do so by enabling the ultimate recipient of the insurance proceeds to sue the insurer direct where the company has been dissolved, without imposing the additional trouble and expense of first applying to have it reinstated."
"15.22 At present, a person wishing to make a claim against a deregistered company may need to apply to a court for the reinstatement of the company in order to bring an action against it. The Bill enables a person to proceed directly against the insurer of a company that is deregistered, without seeking the company's reinstatement (Bill, s 601AG). Comparable rights have previously been provided in other legislation, for example, section 6 of the Law Reform (Miscelleaneous Provisions) Act 1946 (NSW). 15.23 The Bill enables a third party to recover directly from the insurer of the deregistered company an amount payable under their contract of insurance if 2 preconditions are met: (a) the deregistered company had a liability to the third party; (b) the insurance contract covered that liability (Bill s 601AG)."
"avails the present appellants nothing, because it was only enacted by Act No 61 of 1998 which came into operation on 1 July 1998. It is not merely a procedural provision. It enacts a completely new cause of action."
This is non-controversial. No claim had been made against the insurer under the section and it could have no impact on the outcome of the appeal. Further, it was clear that, whatever (if any) the means by which the plaintiffs could seek to claim directly against the insurer, such a claim would be subject to the insurer's failing to make good its refusal to indemnify the company on the ground that the events giving rise to the plaintiffs' claims involved a breach by the company of a fundamental safety requirement. In other words, it was a case in which the insurer would rely on s 54(2) of the Insurance Contracts Act (supra, [18]). In that context, the use of s 601AG would be no more appropriate than the various means employed by the plaintiffs to that time. This, in my view, explains the observations made by Olsson, J in the following paragraph [94] which, if read in isolation with the passage I have quoted from paragraph [93] of the judgment, otherwise might suggest that s 601AG could not be used save with respect to a cause of action against an insured arising on or after 1 July 1998 - a conclusion which would clash with the clear inference to the contrary in Pagnon. The observations to which I refer were as follows:
"What it [the section] does assist in underlining is that, in the instant cases, the appellants will only be able to enforce their rights by first seeking to reinstate [the company] on the register, and then pursuing the rights via that entity. This, if it occurs, may give rise to a need to revisit issues of joinder in those proceedings and a potential reframing of pleadings."
"(E)ven where it is open to a party to proceed under section 601AG, if the party applies for reinstatement the Court should look favourably on the application."
For ASIC and the Court to adopt such an approach would be to undermine the effect and intended operation of s 601AG; and neither should feel able to conduce to such an outcome.
Factors favouring an order under s 601AH in this proceeding
Hutchinson
Australian Securities and Investments Commission [2001] VSC 465