austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2026/191
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2026-04-02
Original judgment source is linked above.
Graham v Redflex Traffic Systems Pty Ltd & Ors [2026] NSWPIC 191
WORKERS COMPENSATION - Workers Compensation Act 1987 (1987 Act); (1998 Act); claim for benefits in respect of the death of a worker; liability admitted by first respondent to pay lump sum pursuant to section 25(1)(a); apportionment of lump sum needed pursuant to section 29; consideration of dependants' statements, claim correspondence, and factual material; consideration of who was dependent for support on the worker; considered; consideration of appropriateness of apportionment agreed between the parties; consideration as to interest awards under section 109 of the 1998 Act; no other persons but the applicant, the second respondent, the third respondent, and the fourth respondent were dependent for support on the worker; apportionment of the lump sum payable under section 25(1)(a) of the 1987 Act as agreed between the parties approved; interest as agreed between the parties ordered; awards entered in favour of the applicant, the second respondent, the third respondent, and the fourth respondent in relation to their apportioned entitlements and interest to the lump sum payable under section 25(1)(a) of the 1987 Act.
The Personal Injury Commission (Commission) determines:
(a) applicant - 70% - $657,020;
(b) second respondent - 10% - $93,860;
(c) third respondent - 10% - $93,860, and
(d) fourth respondent - 10% - $93,860.
(a) applicant - $7,000;
(b) second respondent - $1,000;
(c) third respondent - $1,000, and
(d) fourth respondent - $1,000.
A brief statement is attached setting out the Commission's reasons for the determination.
(a) that a lump sum pursuant to s 25(1)(a) of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (the 1987 Act) in the amount of $938,600 be paid by the first respondent - as apportioned (in accordance with s 29 of the 1987 Act) between herself, the second respondent, the third respondent, and the fourth respondent;
(b) that the worker's funeral expenses be paid pursuant to s 26 of the 1987 Act, and
(c) that relevant orders for payment be made in accordance with s 85A of the 1987 Act.
(a) who was dependent for support on the worker;
(b) how should the amount of $938,600 be apportioned between those dependants, pursuant to s 29 of the 1987 Act;
(c) are the dependants entitled to interest on the amounts awarded to them, pursuant to s 109 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act), and
(d) how are the amounts awarded to the dependants to be paid in accordance with ss 85 and 85A of the 1987 Act.
PROCEDURE BEFORE THE PERSONAL INJURY COMMISSION
(a) the parties agreed to the claim in the ARDW pursuant to s 26 of the 1987 Act being discontinued;
(b) the first respondent conceded liability to pay the amount of $938,600 pursuant to s 25(1)(a) of the 1987 Act;
(c) the applicant, the second respondent, the third respondent, and the fourth respondent had come to an agreement (subject to my approval) regarding apportionment of the amount payable pursuant to s 25(1)(a) of the 1987 Act - the agreement was:
(i) applicant - 70%;
(ii) second respondent - 10%;
(iii) third respondent - 10%, and
(iv) fourth respondent - 10%;
(d) an agreement had been reached between all the parties regarding interest to be paid by the first respondent pursuant to s 109 of the 1998 Act, should I approve the apportionment agreement - the agreement regarding interest was that the first respondent would pay:
(i) $7,000 to the applicant;
(ii) $1,000 to the second respondent;
(iii) $1,000 to the third respondent, and
(iv) $1,000 to the fourth respondent, and
(e) the applicant, the second respondent, the third respondent, and the fourth respondent all requested that amounts awarded to them be paid directly to them - in accordance with s 85A of the 1987 Act.
(a) the ARDW and attached documents;
(b) the applicant's Application to Lodge Additional Documents dated
6 February 2026 (applicant's first ALAD) and attached documents;
(c) the applicant's Application to Lodge Additional Documents dated 6 March 2026 (applicant's second ALAD) and attached documents;
(d) the applicant's Application to Lodge Additional Documents dated 24 March 2026 (applicant's third ALAD) and attached documents;
(e) the first respondent's Reply (first Reply) and attached documents;
(f) the second respondent's Reply (second Reply) and attached documents;
(g) the third respondent's Reply (third Reply) and attached documents, and
(h) the fourth respondent's Reply (fourth Reply) and attached documents.
"(1) If death results from an injury, the amount of compensation payable by the employer under this Act shall be-
(a) the amount of $750,000 (the 'lump sum death benefit'), which is to be apportioned among any dependants who are wholly or partly dependent for support on the worker or (if there are no such dependants) paid to the worker's legal personal representative..."
The amount of $750,00 has been indexed, and the parties have agreed that the correct amount to be awarded as at 25 October 2024 is $938,600.
"'dependants' of a worker means such of the members of the worker's family as were wholly or in part dependent for support on the worker at the time of the worker's death, or would but for the incapacity due to the injury have been so dependent..."
"'member of a family' means spouse (including wife or husband), father, mother, grandfather, grandmother, stepfather, stepmother, son, daughter, grandson, granddaughter, stepson, stepdaughter, brother, sister, half-brother or half-sister."
(a) the applicant - dated 4 December 2025 (found at page 1 of the ARDW),
2 February 2026 (found at page 1 of the applicant's first ALAD), and
17 March 2026 (found at page 1 of the applicant's third ALAD);
(b) the second respondent - dated 16 January 2026 (found at page 5 of the second Reply);
(c) the third respondent - dated 19 January 2026 (found at page 1 of the third Reply), and
(d) the fourth respondent - dated 10 March 2026 (found at page 1 of the fourth Reply).
"Either way, I am going to be studying and working and not earning much money for the foreseeable future...I intend to stay living at home because I can't afford to move out of home, pay rent and living expenses and work full time and study."
"Mum and Dad raised the three of us to not go without. They provided us with an education and a happy home to grow up in, and provided us with clothing, computers, phones, holidays, that kind of thing. We had all we needed."
"As my brother and my sister have finished high school and we will be remaining at home, Mum's expecting us all to pitch in more around the home. Mum said [she] will still provide for us including usual living expenses as the board I pay will go somewhat towards those costs, including groceries, power, water, utilities."
"My upbringing was that in a normal family environment. Mum and dad collectively looked after myself and my siblings in the normal way. They paid for everything we needed, and we lived in a happy and secure environment...Dad (as well as Mum) would give me pocket money and would watch me play sport and provided emotional support during my formative and teenage years...Dad's passing is a devastating tragedy and sincerely difficult for us all to take...We are a close family and always stuck together. We miss him greatly...Mum and dad have always supported each other as well as Christopher, Genevieve and myself...I have no doubt that they would have continued to support us into the future the best they could in relation to living expenses and help out in any way they could financially and emotionally."
"I always expected that my father would have assisted me as fathers generally do for their children. For example, when I'm needed to move out of home I am sure that my father would have assisted me with moving of my furniture and the like and would have assisted with any task that might have needed to be completed around any premises that I owned in the nature of handyman work."
(a) the worker's parents and grandparents are all deceased - see the applicant's
2 February 2026 statement;
(b) the worker had two siblings, Meredith Brown and Tony Graham - see the applicant's 2 February 2026 statement;
(c) Meredith Brown declares (in a statutory declaration on 20 March 2026 - found at page 4 of the applicant's third ALAD) that she was not financially or otherwise dependent on the worker at the date of the worker's death or at any other time;
(d) Tony Graham declares (in a statutory declaration on 19 March 2026 - found at page 2 of the applicant's third ALAD) that he was not financially or otherwise dependent on the worker at the date of the worker's death or at any other time;
(e) the worker had not been married, other than to the applicant - see the applicant's 17 March 2026 statutory declaration;
(f) the worker only had three children (being the second respondent, the third respondent, and the fourth respondent) - see the applicant's 17 March 2026 statutory declaration, and
(g) the worker had no grandchildren - see the applicant's 17 March 2026 statutory declaration.
How should the amount of $938,600 be apportioned between the applicant, the second respondent, the third respondent, and the fourth respondent, pursuant to s 29 of the 1987 Act
"(1) The compensation payable under this Division to each dependant of a deceased worker may be apportioned by the Commission or by the NSW Trustee.
(1A) The lump sum death benefit payable under this Division is not to be apportioned if a deceased worker leaves only one dependant (whether wholly or partly dependent on the worker for support) and the whole of the lump sum death benefit is to be paid to that one dependant.
(1B) In apportioning the lump sum death benefit payable under this Division between 2 or more dependants, the whole lump sum death benefit is to be apportioned among those dependants (so that the sum of the apportioned amounts equals the full lump sum death benefit)."
(a) applicant - 70%;
(b) second respondent - 10%;
(c) third respondent - 10%, and
(d) fourth respondent - 10%.
Are the applicant, the second respondent, the third respondent, and the fourth respondent entitled to interest on the amounts awarded to them, pursuant to s 109 of the 1998 Act
"(1) In any proceedings before the Commission, the Commission may order that there is to be included, in any sum to be paid, interest at such rate as the Commission thinks fit on the whole or any part of the sum for the whole or any part of the period before the sum is payable, subject to the limitations imposed by this section.
(a) on any compensation payable under Division 4 of Part 3 of the 1987 Act, or
(b) on any compensation payable under this Act for any period before a claim for the compensation was duly made, or
(c) on any compensation payable under this Act for any period during which proceedings before the Commission were adjourned on the application of the claimant for the compensation or pursuant to section 102.
(a) authorise the giving of interest upon interest, or
(b) apply in relation to any debt upon which interest is payable as of right whether by virtue of any agreement or otherwise."
"It provides an ancillary power akin to an order for costs, and its purpose is to aid the court to do more complete justice between the parties than is otherwise possible ... It is not designed to compensate a plaintiff for loss arising out of the cause of action, but to provide compensation where it is otherwise appropriate to do so for the circumstance that a sum of money has been outstanding to him for a period of time."
How are the amounts awarded to the applicant, the second respondent, the third respondent, and the fourth respondent to be paid in accordance with ss 85 and 85A of the 1987 Act
"(1) The following compensation shall be paid to the NSW Trustee in trust for the benefit of the persons entitled to the compensation--
(a) compensation payable in respect of the death of a worker (unless paid to a worker's legal personal representative or a particular person in accordance with this Act or an award),
(b) compensation payable to a person who is mentally ill (unless the Commission otherwise orders),
(c) compensation payable to a worker under the age of 18 years if the worker agrees or the Commission directs that the compensation be paid to the NSW Trustee,
(d) a lump sum commutation payment which the worker agrees or the Commission orders to be paid to the NSW Trustee.
(2) Any money so paid to the NSW Trustee may be invested, applied, paid out or otherwise dealt with by the NSW Trustee in such manner as the NSW Trustee thinks fit for the benefit of the persons entitled to the money.
(3) If a surviving spouse (including widow or widower) (over 18 years of age and not mentally ill) is the only person entitled to compensation paid to the NSW Trustee in respect of the death of a worker, the compensation shall be paid out to the surviving spouse in one or more lump sums determined by the NSW Trustee.
(4) A reference in subsection (3) to the surviving spouse of a deceased worker includes a reference to a dependant of the worker who is the de facto partner of the worker.
(5) In the case of a lump sum commutation payment, the NSW Trustee shall exercise its powers under this section in accordance with the agreement or order under which it was paid to the NSW Trustee.
(6) The Commission may, for any sufficient cause, vary the manner in which the NSW Trustee invests, applies, pays out or otherwise deals with money under this section.
(7) The NSW Trustee may apply for any such variation.
(8) The receipt of the NSW Trustee is sufficient discharge in respect of any money paid to the NSW Trustee under this section."
"(1) Despite section 85, the Commission may authorise the payment of compensation referred to in section 85 (1)--
(a) to the person who is entitled to the compensation, or
(b) to such other person, for the benefit of the person entitled to the compensation, as the Commission thinks fit.
(2) Any such payment is to be made in the manner authorised by the Commission."
Graham
Redflex Traffic Systems Pty Ltd & Ors [2026] NSWPIC 191;
(1987) 8 NSWLR 486