© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2018] ACAT 47
ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal
2018-04-24
Original judgment source is linked above.
GORE AND ANOR v QBE INSURANCE (AUSTRALIA) LIMITED (Civil Dispute) [2018] ACAT 47
Catchwords: CIVIL DISPUTE - claim for damages under insurance policy - prior to Tribunal application applicants submitted same complaint to Financial Ombudsman Service - Financial Ombudsman Service Terms of Reference - Determination made which was binding on Financial Services Provider - tripartite contract - applicants dispute acceptance of Determination - Financial Services Provider paid consideration pursuant to Determination to applicants - consideration accepted by Applicants - summary dismissal application granted
Legislation cited: ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal Act 2008 s 32
Corporations Act 2001 (Cth) s 912A
Cases cited: Goldie Marketing Pty Ltd v Financial Ombudsman Service Limited & Anor [2015] VSC 292
Mickovski v Financial Ombudsman Service Limited & Anor [2012] VSCA 185
Savellis v Financial Ombudsman Service Limited & Anor [2016] NSWSC 1771
Wayne Tank & Pump Co Ltd v Employers Liability Assurance Corp Ltd [1974] QB 57
Clause 8.7(b) A determination is a final decision and is binding upon the Financial Service Provider if the Applicant accepts the Determination within 30 days of receiving the Determination.
Clause 8.8 Applicant acceptance of a Recommendation or Determination
In order to accept a Recommendation of Determination, the Applicant must provide the Financial Services Provider)if the Financial Services Provider so requests) with a binding release of the Financial Services Provider from liability in respect of the matter resolved by the Recommendation or Determination The release must be for the full value of the claim the subject of the Dispute, even if this amount exceeds the amount of the remedy decided upon by FOS. The Release shall be effective from the date on which the Financial Services Provider fulfils all of its obligations under the Recommendation or Determination.
Clause 8.9 Consequences of an Applicant refusing to accept a Recommendation or Determination
If an Applicant does not accept a Recommendation or a Determination in relation to the Applicant's Dispute, the Applicant is not bound by the Recommendation or Determination and may bring an action in the courts or take any other available action against the Financial Services Provider.
Whilst it is apparent that you have sought remedial action and that the replacement of the roof and the addition of downpipes appears to have resolved the issues, the terms and conditions of cover contained in the PDS are specific in this regard.
An "event" is a happening or an incident. Where a series of damages occurs they must first stem from a 'happening of that one event'.
No "one event" has been established by you that gave rise to roof damage resulting in water ingress in each subsequent rain event.
You have not established that the "resultant damage" component of repairs you are seeking were proximate upon one event.
On your own admissions you have been experiencing the ingress over several years and, rather than seek indemnity from your Insurer, accepted liability for the roofing repairs and improvement to the guttering etc.; undertaking the work prior to submitting the claim to CHU.
In this regard there has been a breach of the policy terms and conditions of cover specifically stated on Pages 16 to 17 [of the policy] whereby you did not immediately inform CHU of conditions that may give rise to a claim when you were clearly aware of the water ingress over an extended period of time; CHU was not afforded the opportunity to inspect the damage in the first instance or approve the repairs.
You accept that the manner in which the damage occurred (long term seepage due to design and construction of the roof) is excluded from cover under the policy. However, you claim that CHU should acknowledge resultant damage.
Under the terms of the policy, the exclusions relied upon by CHU apply to all damage caused by the excluded factors, including both immediate and resulting damage.
Therefore, CHU is entitled to deny the Lot Owner's claim for damage to the individual lot at this time.
The (roofing) works were not undertaken by a CHU approved builder, nor were the works approved by CHU. The contract for works were those between yourself and the roofing contractor. CHU has no liability in this regard. (emphasis in original)
Please see the attached fact sheet on the full process your dispute will follow. You can also find other fact sheets and policies, such as on handling personal information and resolving disputes, on our website: www.fos.org.au
A Determination is our final decision. FOS will progress to a Determination when we consider this is appropriate.
Our Determination is binding if you accept it within 30 days. You cannot appeal a Determination. If you do not accept our Determination you can still pursue your dispute in another forum such as a court.
Our TOR set out the types of disputes FOS can consider, and the methods we use to investigate and resolve disputes.
As the dispute is not resolved it will progress directly to our final stage and an Ombudsman will issue a final decision called a Determination.
We will consider all of the submissions and information provided by both parties when making our final decision.
Our Determination is final and binding on QBE if you accept it within 30 days. You cannot appeal it, but are not bound by it and can still pursue the dispute elsewhere.
Further information about our Terms of Reference is available at www.fos.org.au
QBE is entitled to deny the applicants' claim because the material provided establishes that although the interior of the applicants' property was damaged by water ingress after rain, the proximate cause of the loss was the defective build and installation of the roof. Such cause of loss is excluded by the policy terms and conditions; and
The applicants are entitled to compensation. The claim was not complex and yet too much time was taken to make a claims decision and review the claims decision which caused physical inconvenience and interfered with the applicants' expectation of enjoyment and peace of mind.
We need to know if you accept the Determination
You must now decide whether or not to accept the Determination.
You will need to tell me within 30 days of receiving the Determination whether you accept or reject the Determination.
You may accept the Determination by return email or letter confirming that you accept the Determination in full and final settlement of the issues raised under case number 415496.
If you accept the Determination QBE must comply with the terms of the Determination.
If you do not accept the Determination, QBE is not required to comply with the terms of the Determination. You retain whatever rights you might otherwise have to pursue your dispute in another place such as the courts.
While we maintain that there were a number of significant flaws in the consideration that led to the adverse decision in the subject claim, we are now determined to draw a line under this very unhappy affair and to get our lives back on track. To do this we are firstly required to gather the monies required to meet the forthcoming repair and replacement costs as outlined in our claim and thus the offer of a $500 cheque is accepted.
In all, it is not difficult to assess CHU/QBE/FOS approach as being wholly adversarial and of intending to employ whatever means, however questionable, to deny this claim.
To this might be added a well-founded suspicion that the tactics of delay, more delay and still more delay might resolved the claim as we, an elderly couple, are approaching the end of our days.
(1) This section applies if the tribunal considers that an application, or part of an application is--
(d) made by a person who has been dealt with by a court or tribunal in Australia as frivolous or vexatious.
(2) The tribunal may, by order, do 1 or more of the following:
(a) refuse to hear the application or part of the application;
(b) dismiss the application or part of the application;
_(c) direct that the person who made the application not make a subsequent application to the tribunal of the kind stated in the direction - _
Note If the application is for review of a decision under the Heritage Act 2004, the Planning and Development Act 2007 or the Tree Protection Act 2005, the tribunal may also order the applicant to pay costs (see s 48 (2) (d)).
(3) The tribunal may make an order under subsection (2) on its own initiative or on application by a party.
_(4) The tribunal may vary or revoke a direction given under subsection (2) (c) - _
(b) on application by the person who is the subject of the order.
Note The tribunal must observe natural justice and procedural fairness (see s 7).
[16] There is no dispute between the parties that the Terms of Reference constitute a tripartite contract. Therefore, FOS is governed and constrained by its contractual obligations.
[17] It is common ground that the court is not conducting a merits review of FOS's decision nor is it acting in an administrative law capacity. This case purely centres around the construction of the Terms of Reference.
What constitutes the contract between the parties?
[19] The Terms of Reference constitute the contract between the parties.
...there was a tripartite contract between Mr Mickovski, MetLife and FOS in accordance with the terms of reference...[18]
The making of a complaint to FOS changes the position. It seems to me that a tripartite contract was established between Mr Mickovski, as complainant, MetLife as respondent, and FOS, as the decision maker of the complaint, upon a complaint being made pursuant to the facility for alternative dispute resolution. Mr Mickovski is not a current member of FOS and is not ordinarily bound by its terms, however the terms of reference invited him, and entitled him, to make a complaint, and upon the making of the complaint he became bound to comply with the terms of reference to the extent to which they applied to him and, correspondingly, became entitled to expect the rules to be applied correctly.[19]
35 To start with, we agree with his Honour that, upon Mr Mickovski and MetLife agreeing to submit their dispute to the processes of FOS, they became bound in contract to observe the rules of the process and entitled as a matter of contract to require that FOS proceed in accordance with those rules.
36. We reject the respondent's submission that the agreement was not supported by sufficient consideration. As we see it, the consideration which moved from Mr Mickovski was his submission to the processes of FOS and the consideration which moved from the FOS and the respondent respectively, was their promise to arbitrate the dispute in accordance with the terms of reference and be bound by FOS' decision. It does not detract from that conclusion that, under the terms of reference, it was open to Mr Mickovski to withdraw from the arbitration before it was completed or to elect not to be bound by the determination once completed. It was enough that, so long as Mr Mickovski submitted himself to the process of the FOS dispute resolution service and conformed to the terms of reference, he was entitled to have FOS and the respondent perform their parts of the process in accordance with the terms of reference.
The FOS resolves certain insurance disputes between consumers and insurers and will provide an independent review at no cost to you. We are bound by the determination of the FOS but the determination is not binding on you.[21]
You may accept the Determination by return email or letter confirming that you accept the Determination in full and final settlement of the issues raised under case number 415496.
[1] Response filed 4 September 2017 at [2] and [3]
[3] "...we believe lack of maintenance to the property has resulted in these damages. The decay to the timber framing would have been visible by the way of the deforming of the flat timber staining. This would have been visible and noticed when carrying out general cleaning. The cracking of the plasterboard wall/ceiling junctions is a result of the recent works in the removal and replacement of the roofing materials.
The cover provided under the abovementioned policy is in respect of an accident or event happening to the insured property and does not extend to cover damage which results through deterioration over a period of time."
[14] Wayne Tank & Pump Co Ltd v Employers Liability Assurance Corp Ltd [1974] QB 57
[15] The Hately report - which states that the defective construction of the roof allowed water ingress
GORE AND ANOR
QBE INSURANCE