austlii:cth/ARTA/2025/2576
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2025-08-21
Original judgment source is linked above.
On 18 July 2022, I settled a Deed of Release with [a religious institution] with respect to injury, loss and damage I suffered. I received $600,000 as the settlement amount plus costs and disbursements of $350,000.
I am hoping for your understanding and compassion regarding my difficult situation and request the waiver under ss1237A and 1237AAD Social Security Act 1991 and write off under s1236 Social Security Act 1991 please as I am now in financial hardship due to the difficulty of living on DSP, the rising cost of living has made it virtually impossible to survive on the DSP alone. I live on my own and I don't have any assets. I sincerely regret my actions, unfortunately after my mediation, I was expecting to be feeling relieved, instead I fell into a deep depression as I was then having to grapple with the sexual abuse and coercive control that I had suffered from my ex-husband who was [in a policing role] whom I had reported to regarding the abuse from [the perpetrator from the religious institution]. I naively believed that he was genuine when he said he would help me with my case, I was already severely traumatised, and I didn't have the emotional strength to stand up to him. After mediation, I had lost my support system, I was all alone to deal with the further abuse I had endured from my ex-husband and later on from my daughter in [city] where domestic violence was and is occurring. I have been verbally abused by my daughter and domestic violence taking place between my daughter and her fiancée, she had even tried to choke him, it had taken a toll, I found myself wanting to go to the nursery to self-soothe my emotional pain, it was a trigger for me. I have been trying to protect my two and a half year old who has been developmentally delayed as a result of witnessing this violence.
I am a victim survivor of historical and current abuse and my expenditures have been caused through emotional spending in a way to self-soothe, I am totally aware now of my unfortunate and regretful spending, I have been and I am continuing to have financial counselling which is benefiting me immensely.
My mother passed away on 20/08/2023, she had been bedridden for two years after having fractured her ankle. My sister, who was Mum's full-time carer was physically and verbally abusive towards my poor mother, my sister has a gambling addiction and I found out after our mother had passed away that my sister had transferred Mum's term deposit when it became renewable into a savings account whereby over the two years that Mum was bedbound, my sister was withdrawing amounts amounting to $140,000 over the two year period, this money was used to fund her gambling habit even when Mum was dying in hospital, my sister had a track record of theft including priors of stealing money from Mum amounting to $76,000.
Unfortunately, it was completely unforeseen and unexpected that I would dissipate the compensation money over a period of time to ease emotional pain, it felt like an addiction, at the time, I knew of no other way to deal with this soul-destroying emotional pain. It wasn't until I had reached rock bottom that I realised I had a problem that required addressing urgently, I then took action and contacted [name], a financial counsellor from the [organisation], who I have been having regular appointments with, this has helped me
immensely and has assisted me in getting back on track financially and being more aware of my purchases.
I do feel more financially savvy and more conscious of my purchases, I only purchase items that are needed not wanted to sooth (sic) my emotional pain now. I enrolled and successfully completed the ANZ Saver Plus Program, the program was very interesting and educational and I have been saving the $50.00 per month required deposited into a separate ANZ Bank Account.
The Act contains provisions dealing both where a person, the recipient of social security payments, receives a lump sum compensation payment and where a person who has received a compensation payment subsequently applies for social security.
The Act is focused either on recovery of social security paid, or preventing the payment of social security during the preclusion period. The principle underpinning these provisions is
1 Social Security Guide at Part 4.3.12.60, referenced in Respondent's SFIC at paragraph 4.5.
2 Referenced in Respondent's SFIC at paragraph 4.6.
that "double dipping" should not be allowed, and that a person should not simultaneously obtain the benefit of a compensation payment and also receive the benefit of a social security pension or allowance.
The Commonwealth Parliament enacted legislation with the specific objective of ensuring that if a person receives a compensation payment for economic loss, the recipient should draw on those funds for a reasonable period before again benefitting from social security payments.
This overriding objective was explained by Deputy President Burns in Secretary, Department of Social Security and Winterbotham [1990] AATA 808 as follows:
This particular piece of legislation...was aimed specifically at preventing those people receiving compensation for loss of income because of incapacity for work, from being able also to receive benefit from the public purse...Primary responsibility for the payment of such compensation lies at the feet of those responsible for the compensable injury. Once that responsibility has been met, by way of a settlement sum agreed to by both parties, it is inequitable for the recipient to seek supplementary funds from the taxpayer.
(a) a payment of damages; or
(b) a payment under a scheme of insurance or compensation under a Commonwealth, State or Territory law, including a payment under a contract entered into under such a scheme; or
(c) a payment (with or without admission of liability) in settlement of a claim for damages or a claim under such an insurance scheme; or
(d) any other compensation or damages payment;
(whether the payment is in the form of a lump sum or in the form of a series of periodic payments and whether it is made within or outside Australia) that is made wholly or partly in respect of lost earnings or lost capacity to earn resulting from personal injury.
(3) If neither of subsections (1) and (2) applies, the lump sum preclusion period is the period that:
(a) begins on the day on which the loss of earnings or loss of capacity to earn began; and
(b) ends at the end of the number of weeks worked out under subsections (4) and (5).
set out above, the Tribunal accepted that the Applicant's preclusion period was 438 weeks, that it commenced on 20 April 2011 and that it ran to 10 September 2019. Neither newstart allowance nor disability support pension was payable to the Applicant during this period.
(a) a person (the compensation payer):
(i) is liable to pay compensation to a person (a claimant); or
(ii) where the compensation payer is an authority of a State or Territory, has determined that a payment by way of compensation is to be made to a claimant; and
(b) the claimant has received a compensation affected payment in relation to a day or days in the periodic payments period or the lump sum preclusion period, as the case may be;
the Secretary may give written notice to the compensation payer that the Secretary proposes to recover from the compensation payer the amount specified in the notice.
(a) an insurer is liable, under a contract of insurance, to indemnify a compensation payer against any liability arising from a person's claim for compensation; and
(b) the person has received a compensation affected payment in relation to a day or days in the periodic payments period or the lump sum preclusion period, as the case may be;
the Secretary may give written notice to the insurer that the Secretary proposes to recover from the insurer the amount specified in the notice.
(3) If a compensation payer or insurer is given notice under subsection (1) or (2), as the case may be, the compensation payer or insurer is liable to pay to the Commonwealth the amount specified in the notice.
(4) The amount to be specified in the notice is the recoverable amount under section 1184A.
(5) A notice under this section must contain a statement of the effect of section 1184D so far as it relates to such a notice.
(6) This section applies to an amount payable by way of compensation in spite of any law of a State or Territory (however expressed) under which the compensation is inalienable.
Whether any or all of the compensation payment can be disregarded
(1) For the purposes of this Part, the Secretary may treat the whole or part of a compensation payment as:
(a) not having been made; or
(b) not liable to be made;
if the Secretary thinks it is appropriate to do so in the special circumstances of the case.
3 Comments made within the context of special circumstances considerations relating to debt waiver.
In your professional opinion, what, if any, psychological or other conditions (medical conditions) does [the Applicant] present with?
[The Applicant] initially presented with historical conversion disorder and PTSD. She currently still struggles with PTSD as a consequence of her marital and [religious institution] assaults.
[The Applicant's] most recent score on the posttraumatic stress disorder checklist (PCL5) shows severe PTSD.
[The Applicant's] most recent scores on the DASS21, show severe for depression and anxiety and extremely severe for stress.
This elevation is consistent with [the Applicant's] presentation to me over the last 2 years, following her court case and settlement.
What, if any, link is there between [the Applicant's] spending of the settlement money (and any other money) and her medical conditions? Has [the Applicant's] expenditure been caused, aggravated or otherwise affected by any medical conditions she suffers?
Impulsiveness is a response to stress and anxiety. She has problems with self-regulation and spending would create a false experience of control. There is a potential that she has also developed obsessive compulsive disorder as an extreme expression of anxiety, although this has not been formally assessed at this stage. Compulsive spending can also be a form of addiction or a way to avoid tension and destress and create the illusion of control.
Many of [the Applicant's] expenditures relate to instrumental support of her family as well as gardening costs. [The Applicant] has attempted to the purchase of gifts and clothing for her grandchildren as a means of approximating emotional care, as her current medical condition precludes more direct emotional relating. Her stress and anxiety are so consistently elevated that she has limited access to emotional processing.
[The Applicant] has always seen her garden as a place of stress relief. Her investments in gardening products is directly related to the lack of down regulation and comfort she experiences currently in her garden. Therefore, she purchases more gardening products
as an attempt to generate the relief that she has previously experienced but which her ongoing medical condition precludes.
In my opinion her levels of stress and anxiety have directly influenced her poor decision making in regard to her expenditure. This kind of poor decision making and impulsivity is fairly typical of someone suffering PTSD. There is a consistent pattern of avoidance of internal suffering by engaging in externalising behaviour. Higher levels of gambling, risk taking or substance abuse can be features of unregulated PTSD. In [the Applicant's] case the expression is compulsive spending.
If there is a link between [the Applicant's] spending of the settlement money (and any other money) and her medical conditions, what has been done and or what can be done to ensure that her future spending is not affected by her medical conditions?
She had minimised the extent of her problem with compulsive spending and mentioned it merely as spending on the grandchildren. She has only recently acknowledged the extent of the problem and showed me the outline of her spending as outlined to the tribunal. Her sister is also reportedly a compulsive gambler so there is some family vulnerability potentially.
[The Applicant] has only recently acknowledged the extent of her spending disorder although she has noted that her daughters have commented on it in the past. Whilst not in the scope of my professional knowledge, any form of trust arrangement whereby [the Applicant] needs to justify expenditure, such as a trustee, may be useful. Alternately having income funnelled into property or superannuation where she has less disposable income may be strategies. A full commitment on her part to psychological treatment for her compulsivity is also essential.
Are there any other special circumstances that explain (in full or part) [the Applicant's] spending of the settlement money (and any other money)?
She has spent many years trying to come to terms with the abuse in her marriage and then the grooming and abuse from the [perpetrator]. She has spent many years in litigation which can be both a harrowing and traumatising experience itself. [The Applicant] has had little or no respite from stress and trauma for the last decade or more. She has a number of issues now with her children and their families related to stress and family issues. [The Applicant] would have found it extremely difficult to cope with the level of stress caused by the trauma and the subsequent years of litigation.
[The Applicant] is known to me since 2015. She suffers from Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Chronic Major Depression secondary to domestic violence from her previous marriage, and secondary to sexual and spiritual abuse by the [religious institution].
[The Applicant's] legal case against the [religious institution] was settled out of court. [The Applicant] states she received a lump sum payment of around $600,000 in 2022 after paying legal fees. [The Applicant] states that Centrelink deducted $199,763.45 for the preclusion period. This left [the Applicant] with $343,558.55 after paying further fees.
[The Applicant] states that all of these funds have been spent. [The Applicant] states she has spend (sic) the money on gifts for her family, furniture for her house, her mother's funeral and wake, life and TPD insurance premiums, as well as contributing to her superannuation fund.
Prior to her payout, [the Applicant] demonstrated a pattern of impulsive spending. I believe that shopping has served to soothing difficult emotions experienced by [the Applicant]. I believe this continued after her legal payout, resulting in exorbitant amounts of money being spent. I believe [the Applicant] is vulnerable to being taken advantage of from a financial point of view. I note that [the Applicant] contributed over $50,000.00 to [insurance company] over a 3 year period. It is extremely unfortunate that [the Applicant] stopped seeing me when her legal case was resolved. I may have been able to advert some of the financial damage that has been done.
If the preclusion period payment were to be returned to [the Applicant], I recommend that the funds be held in trust and managed by a financial administrator, to avoid a similar problems recurring.
$120,000, significantly less than the amount of $199,763.45 recovered by Centrelink. When the Applicant had instructed the representative to settle, she believed she would be receiving an additional $60,000 to $80,000. An "unfairness arises from Centrelink misrepresenting the amount repayable due to its failure to make a full and proper disclosure of all benefits received" by the Applicant;
$3,000 from her superannuation for the psychiatrist and her psychologist. She stated that her current superannuation balance is $140 and that this is a superannuation fund she opened in 2002.
$6,000 and gave evidence that the expenses on that date related to homewares and clothing for her granddaughter.
disbursements and costs from her $950,000 settlement. The Applicant then spent a total $393,755.45 in 2 years from her compensation sum and inheritance (total of
$471,617.79) on clothing, gifts, toys, homewares, Christmas decorations, gardening, and other discretionary spending.
$77,862.34 (as of 1 August 2024), has stable accommodation, and is currently receiving the maximum rate of disability support pension of $1,369.20 per fortnight.
Counsel relies on a decision of this Tribunal - Re Krzywak (1987-1988) 15 ALD 690, where Senior Member Dwyer had occasion to review the case law relating to "special circumstances" under the Act. That case involved a degree of hardship vastly greater than any conceivable hardship that may be said to exist in this case. The case is of interest, however, because the learned Senior Member cites Re Tallon (1988) 15 ALD 6 with approval where this Tribunal noted: "To say that the applicant is a spendthrift and foolish with money is an understatement. However, hardship is hardship, even if it is self-inflicted". Senior member Dwyer went on to point out - and I respectfully agree with her observation - that the circumstances out of which hardship arose, and the degree of hardship, are both relevant in deciding whether and how the discretion under the Act should be exercised. Alas, these observations cannot assist this applicant. I find there is insufficient hardship to introduce the discretion, and the circumstances in which Mr Rankin finds himself are the result of a deliberate choice to acquire a number of assets and to dissipate the balance. Thus whilst hardship is a relevant factor, in finding "special circumstances" one must always ask whether circumstances exist which would allow an applicant to retain the double advantage of social security benefits and damages in respect of the same period of incapacity. Applied to this case, I find that, contrary to counsel's submission, that the applicant has deliberately and somewhat recklessly embarked on a course of conduct which has created the circumstances of hardship he now relies on; see Re Ivovic and Director-General of Social Services [1981] AATA 57; (1980-1981) 3 ALN N95.
[2023] AATA 983, the AAT found that (at [85]-[88] & [91]):6
Much of the Applicant's expenditure consists of discretionary expenditure, including loans to friends, purchases of gifts for her children, holiday expenses, and spending on Ubers, Uber Eats, fast food, lottery tickets and gambling. In Secretary, Department of Social Services and Aydin ("Aydin"), the Tribunal considered the respondent's discretionary spending which included amounts spent on Uber Eats and jewellery and made the following observation:
.... Further, his spending... on jewellery and Uber eats leads me to conclude that if he was experiencing financial hardship, he was to a large extent the author of his own misfortune. The Tribunal in Re John Clinton Alver and Secretary, Department of Social Security has previously determined that the cause of an individual's financial difficulties is relevant when considering the exercise of the special circumstances provisions and the Tribunal has previously 'tended to take a hard like where someone has, through extravagance or thoughtlessness, brought about their own dilemma'. The evidence strongly supports a finding that any financial difficulties Mr Aydin may have faced when he claimed JSP or subsequently were brought about by his extravagance.
In Black v Secretary, Department of Social Security ('Black') the Tribunal noted that the reasonableness of the person's expenditure is a relevant consideration in determining 'special circumstances':
The Tribunal has consistently considered the reasonableness of the person's expenditure of compensation payments in determining special circumstances. In particular substantial loans to family members, monies spent on travel and cars, general extravagance have been considered to mitigate against special circumstances.
The Tribunal acknowledges that the applicants are in a difficult financial situation. However, the circumstances leading to such hardship are not irrelevant. In considering the entirety of the applicant's circumstances, the Tribunal is mindful of the nature of the expenditure, and the context in which that expenditure occurred.
In Groom and Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs, the Tribunal examined a catalogue of large-scale discretionary expenditure by the applicant which, the Tribunal found, had led to his being in financial hardship through 'circumstances (which) are entirely of his own making and occurred despite him having received legal advice of the preclusion period and its consequences'.
Significant discretionary expenditure on items such as travel have been highlighted in Tribunal decisions, including in Re Griffiths and Secretary, Department of Social Security. In Re Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services and Szoke the Tribunal
was particularly forthright in relation to the applicant's failure to have regard to the consequences of her behaviour:
....the Respondent's case is that she is now impoverished by her failure to make financial provision for the lump sum preclusion period. That was, on her own case, clearly the result of voluntary actions by the Respondent to dissipate the money received by her in settlement of her compensation claim. She did not experience misfortune, nor did she experience circumstances not envisaged by the legislation.
We are satisfied that the Respondent deliberately spent the money without regard to the consequences of her action. Her behaviour in relation to the money was reckless with no regard to the consequences.
On the basis of the evidence before it, and having regard to the relevant authorities, the Tribunal finds that the Applicant did not prudently manage her finances following receipt of her compensation settlement. She did not seek independent financial advice about how to manage the settlement funds and did not take up the opportunity to speak to a Financial Information Services Officer. She made purchases and loans to friends and family without regard to the consequences, being the reduction in the settlement monies which were to support her for the preclusion period. The Applicant did not experience misfortune, nor did she experience circumstances not envisaged by the legislation. Accordingly, the Tribunal finds that there are no 'special circumstances' which warrant the exercise of the discretion in section 1184K of the Act to reduce the length of the preclusion period.
A further factor that has been considered in various Tribunal determinations is ill health. Whilst ill health is, of itself, not necessarily determinative it can be an important consideration. The width of the discretion is broad and "extends to all the circumstances of the case" including ill health - Secretary, Department of Social Security v Thompson [1994] FCA 1477; (1994) 53 FCR 580 at 586 per Einfeld J.
The Applicant is in bad health, but in most cases involving the preclusion period that would be expected. The fact that an applicant has been injured and received a compensation payout usually results in that person being in ill health during the preclusion period or immediately thereafter. The various Tribunal determinations focus on the consequences of that ill health in making a determination as to special circumstances. In short ill health is the starting point of the exercise, not the determining factor. Further, it is usually the case when determining that ill health is a special circumstance, the ill health being experienced by an applicant is more severe than the majority of DSP recipients.
this evidence that the Applicant has experienced, and is experiencing, ongoing symptoms relating to poor mental health.
the reasons for the Applicant's current situation, the Tribunal has concluded that there are no special circumstances that make it appropriate to treat the whole or part of the compensation as not having been made. The Tribunal declines to exercise the discretion in section 1184K of the Social Security Act on the evidence presented to it in this matter.
(a) the debt is irrecoverable at law; or
(b) the debtor has no capacity to repay the debt; or
(c) the debtor's whereabouts are unknown after all reasonable efforts have been made to locate the debtor; or
(d) it is not cost effective for the Commonwealth to take action to recover the debt.
(a) the debt did not result wholly or partly from the debtor or another person knowingly:
(i) making a false statement or a false representation; or
(ii) failing or omitting to comply with a provision of this Act, the Administration Act or the 1947 Act; and
(b) there are special circumstances (other than financial hardship alone) that make it desirable to waive; and
(c) it is more appropriate to waive than to write off the debt or part of the debt.
Davy and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2007] AATA 1114
Department of Family and Community Services and Rankin [1999] AATA 496
Dranichnikov v Centrelink [2003] FCAFC 133
Groth and Secretary, Department of Social Security [1995] FCA 1708; (1995) 40 ALD 541
KCFY and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social Services second review) [2023] AATA 983
Massoud and Secretary, Department of Social Services [2017] AATA 1366
(1994) 53 FCR 580