[2025] ICQ 28
General information, not legal advice.
Industrial Court of Queensland
2025-12-01
Mr J
Original judgment source is linked above.
INDUSTRIAL LAW - QUEENSLAND - WORKERS' COMPENSATION - APPEAL TO INDUSTRIAL COURT OF QUEENSLAND - where proceedings to obtain Workers' Compensation - appeal against review decision of Workers' Compensation Regulator - where Queensland Industrial Relations Commission dismissed appeal - whether Deputy President erred at law in determining the injury nominated under s 132A of the WCR Act is for the same injury as the s 132 application for compensation under the WCR Act - whether s 132A(1) of the WCR Act is invoked and whether appellant is entitled to apply for assessment of degree of permanent impairment pursuant to s 132A of the WCR Act
Industrial Relations Act 2016 (Qld), s 561
Anderson v Aged Care Employers Self Insurance [2011] QSC 101
Gay v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2024] QIRC 141
Langridge v Workers Compensation Regulator [2021] QIRC 251
Rooke v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2024] ICQ 021
Workers' Compensation Regulator v Langridge [2025] ICQ 008
Mr J.A. Greggery, KC and Ms L Dawson of Counsel for the appellant instructed by Organic Legal
Mr S.A. McLeod, KC for the respondent directly instructed by the Workers' Compensation Regulator.
Having correctly construed s 132A of the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 (WCR Act), the Commissioner (sic) erred at law in determining whether the appellant suffered the injury alleged in his application under s 132A of the WCR Act and his earlier application for compensation under s 132 of the WCR Act.[3]
Relevant provisions of the WCR Act
(1) An application for compensation must be made in the approved form by the claimant.
(2) The application must be lodged with the insurer.
(a) a certificate in the approved form given by -
(i) a doctor who attended the claimant; or
(ii) if the application relates to a minor injury - a nurse practitioner who attended the claimant and who is acting in accordance with the workers' compensation certificate protocol; and
(b) any other evidence or particulars prescribed under a regulation.
(4) A registered dentist may issue the certificate mentioned in subsection (3)(a) for an oral injury.
(5) If the claimant can not complete an application because of a physical or mental incapacity, someone else may complete it on the claimant's behalf.
132A Applying for assessment of DPI before applying for compensation
(1) This section applies to a worker who has not made an application under section 132.
(2) The worker may apply to the insurer to have the worker's injury assessed under section 179 to decide if the worker's injury has resulted in a DPI.
(i) a certificate in the approved form given by a doctor who attended the worker; and
(ii) any other evidence or particulars prescribed under a regulation.
(4) A registered dentist may issue the certificate mentioned in subsection (3)(c)(i) for an oral injury.
(5) If the worker can not complete an application because of a physical or mental incapacity, someone else may complete it on the worker's behalf.
(1) An insurer may decide, or a worker who has made an application under section 132 may ask the insurer, to have the worker's injury assessed to decide if the worker's injury has resulted in a degree of permanent impairment.
(2) The insurer must have the degree of permanent impairment assessed -
(a) for industrial deafness - by an audiologist; or
(b) for a psychiatric or psychological injury - by a medical assessment tribunal; or
(c) or another injury - by a doctor.
(3) The degree of permanent impairment must be assessed in accordance with the GEPI to decide the DPI for the injury, and a report complying with the GEPI must be given to the insurer.
(4) If the worker sustains permanent impairment from multiple injuries sustained in 1 event -
(a) the degree of permanent impairment for the injuries, other than a psychiatric or psychological injury, must be assessed together to decide the DPI for the injuries; and
(b) the degree of permanent impairment for the psychiatric or psychological injury must be assessed separately to decide the DPI for the injury.
(a) the nature and location of the injuries as being, "lower back, trauma to muscles/tendon not classified";
(b) the date of injury as being 9 August 2014 (all parties agree the correct date is 14 August 2014); and
(c) the injury having occurred when lifting filing cabinets.
[114] An incident report records an event occurring at 8am on 14 August 2014 which is considered further below.
[115] Mr Gay was rostered to work on 14 August 2014. Mr Gay gave evidence that he recalled suffering a back strain when lifting a filing cabinet at work that day. His evidence was as follows:
[116] As 14 August 2014 was a Saturday, Mr Flynn, Mr Gay's manager, was not working and came into the office after being told of the incident by Mr Gatcliffe, in order to assist Mr Gay to complete the incident report.[4] (citations omitted)
[80] This information was confirmed and expanded on in a conversation with a WorkCover representative on 3 September 2014. The notes from that conversation record the following:
Are you wishing to proceed with your WorkCover Claim? YES
- YES full time worker - Worker is a furniture removalist - Been with company for 4 years
- Worker was picking up a small 3 drawer filing cabinet, as turning it over to place on top of another filing cabinet
- Worker felt "same pain as last time" when your back goes
Injury sustained? Lumbar back pain with right leg pain (Unsure if disc of muscular at this stage)
When did event occur? 09/08/204 What time? 8am (Worker starts at 6am)
Who did you report the incident? Manager - Jason Flynn (DOI)
- Worker did not go to the GP immediately as thought is [sic] would be okay
- Worker has back pain on and off (been removalist for 30 years)
- Worker advised that [he] was at home on 23/08/2014 and took a step down and jarred his back and was taken to hospital in an ambulance
What are the symptoms you are currently experiencing?
- Pain in lumbar back, cannot stand up or lie down for too long
Have you ever experienced these symptoms prior to DOI?
[81] On 1 October 2014, WorkCover rejected Mr Gay's s 132 application for compensation.
[82] Mr Gay signed the s 132A application on 31 March 2016 and it was submitted by his legal representatives to WorkCover on 10 October 2016.
[83] The s 132A application included the following information:
(a) that the event resulting in the injury occurred over a period of time commencing on 28 July 2014 and ending on 10 August 2014;
(b) those symptoms first began on 9 August 2014;
(c) that Mr Gay first consulted a medical practitioner on 23 August 2014 when he attended the Townsville Hospital;
(d) that the injury said to have been sustained was located in Mr Gay's lumbar spine and the nature of the injury was a soft tissue injury; and
(e) that the specific incident was not reported to his employer.
[84] Mr Gay provided the following description of the event causing the injury in the s 132A application as follows:
Between 28 July 2014 and 10 August 2014 the Applicant was required, together with his co-workers, to dissemble, package, transport and reassemble pianos to and from various locations in Townsville for use in performances during the Australian Festival of Chamber Music ("the task").
On each workday during the above period, the Applicant and his co-workers generally moved at least 5 or 6 pianos, and on occasions, up to 20 pianos per day.
The pianos were a combination of upright, baby grant, grant and a concert grand piano, each of which weight between approximately 250kgs and 750kgs.
As a consequence of the repetitive and excessive physical strain involved in the task, the Applicant suffered injuries to his lower back.
The appellant contends in arriving at this conclusion, the Deputy President erred by engaging in the substantive factual questions of whether the appellant suffered the injury the subject of the Application and the earlier application for compensation under s 132 of the Act. In adopting this approach, the Deputy President acted contrary to s 132A.
The correct approach was to determine the exclusionary question created by s 132A(1) of the WCR Act (which is focussed on the concept of compensation) by comparing the terms and content of any application for compensation with the terms of the Application. That is by asking whether the applicant would have been entitled to compensation for the injury the subject of the Application, in the event the application for compensation was successful. This approach is consistent with the purpose of the related sections, and the administration of the Workers' Compensation scheme generally and the threshold entitlements to commence pre-court proceedings for a claim for damages.[8]
Without indicating which of the competing contentions premised on the construction of s. 132A were correct or why it was necessary to determine whether the appellant in fact suffered the injury alleged in the Application on the proper construction of s. 132A, the Deputy President proceeded to determine that fact. That analysis led to the ultimate finding set out above in paragraph 4.
In doing so the Deputy President erred at law. The issue was not capable of determination in the QIRC appeal but was a question of fact for determination by medical experts under the process of assessment pursuant to s. 179 of the Act. For the reason that the Application related to a different injury to his application for compensation, WorkCover was required to refer the applicant for assessment under s. 179.[9] (citations omitted)
And put in the way in which the Act phrases the question, has Mr Gay made an application under section 132 for compensation in relation to the injury the subject of the application for assessment of permanent impairment. That's the question. The question is not whether he suffered one injury, in fact. It's a question of whether the application for compensation related to the same injury and those are two very significant questions - - - [12]
[74] The parties differ in terms of how such an assessment occurs.
[23] An injury is not the means by which damage is inflicted, but is the effect on the person of the worker of an event, as can be readily seen when the schedules to the WCR Regulation are perused. In common parlance one might speak of being injured by lifting a heavy load. But in terms of the WCRA definitions, lifting the heavy load is the event, the injury is what results from that, say a back strain.
[24] Ms Andersen's application for compensation was for one injury within the meaning of the WCRA. That injury was described by her as "L5/S1 prolapsed disc" and ACES (self-insurer) accepted it as a "strain of lower back with aggravation of pre-existing degeneration of the lumbosacral disc", in accordance with the description of its doctor, Dr McPhee.
Ms Andersen's of statement 11 September 2007 was manifestly about one injury, as defined, see the underlined parts extracted above. It described one set of symptoms: pain in her lower back and down her right leg, first temporarily, and then more permanently. It described her attendance on her doctor for that injury when the pain from it persisted, and the doctor's diagnosis of it. The statement says that Ms Andersen did not know what had caused her injury, but suggested two events within the meaning of the WCRA - on 22 and 23 August 2007 - as possibilities. Dr Martin thought the earlier event the likely cause; Dr McPhee the later. The point is, both of them assessed one injury, and this is evident from the underlined parts of their reports, above.
(a) be satisfied that the applicant had not made an application under s 132; and
(b) be satisfied the application was in the approved form, together with the documents prescribed in the Regulation that support the application.
[157] In the context of this history and the medical evidence, I consider that Mr Gay suffered one injury, as diagnosed by Dr Maguire, which he sustained during the 2014 injury period.
[22] The decision in Langridge has been appealed to the Industrial Court of Queensland. The decision of the Court is yet to be published. When determined, the decision will be authoritative with respect to the construction of s 132A and the approach to be taken by the insurer on receipt of a s 132A application. However, in the absence of that decision, I will consider the statutory construction of s 132A. It is necessary to do so at the outset of this appeal, in order to determine whether it is necessary to consider the evidence called and relied upon going to the issue of whether Mr Gay suffered an injury within the meaning of s 32 of the WCR Act.
[65] Therefore, in order to comply with the statutory command to assess the "worker's injury", the insurer must determine whether the request is made by a "worker" who has an "injury". The fact that an assessment of compensation is ultimately performed under s 179 or s 180 does not mean that the insurer is not obliged to determine whether the person seeking an assessment is entitled to do so. The fact that s 237 entitles a person who holds an assessment under s 179 to commence a claim for damages does not obviate the obligations of the insurer to determine whether the person who is seeking the assessment is entitled to do so; that the person is a "worker" who has an "injury".
[60] In order to determine whether s 132A(1) applies, it will be necessary to consider the subject matter of the s 132 application for compensation and the s 132A application. This will necessarily include consideration of what the 'worker's injury' is in each of the applications.[25]
(2) The main provisions of the scheme provide the following for injuries sustained by workers in their employment-
(a) Compensation
(b) Regulation of access to damages.
[155] To adopt the language of her honour Dalton J in Anderson, there is an artificiality of the exercise to attempt to separate the cause of one injury to the lower back into separate injuries based on separate events occurring within a period of time. I note relevantly, in this appeal Mr Gay only attempts to separate the two events of the music festival and the filing cabinet incident, presumably due to his assertion that they occurred whilst he was working.
[156] I am satisfied that this view of the medical evidence is consistent with the Appellant's evidence. Mr Gay had a long history of back pain he says arising out of his employment as a furniture removalist. He had previously lodged, inter alia, claims relating to his lower back in 2013. He had time off work because of this. He said he continued to experience pain and stiffness. He managed this by taking pain relief and utilising leave and taking time off to rest his back. Mr Gay's evidence was that his back deteriorated during the period of the music festival. It is relevant that during that period Mr Gay did not exclusively work at the music festival but continued to perform other jobs as a furniture removalist. On the final day of the music festival, the evidence was that Mr Gay felt pain whilst at work and rested for some time on the job but then resumed his duties that day, lifting lighter weights. Mr Gay worked the following day but says he stayed at home on 13 August 2014 in order to lie on the ground and rest his back. The following day Mr Gay attended work and experienced pain whilst lifting a filing cabinet. The response of Mr Gay and others implies that this incident was treated more seriously by him and his work colleagues as he was driven back to the office, an incident report was completed and he was told to stay at home and rest his back. On 18 August 2014, Mr Gay returned to work and worked intermittently until 23 August 2014. As noted already, Mr Gay experienced sharp pain at home and was taken to hospital by ambulance on 23 August 2014.
[157] In the context of this history and the medical evidence, I consider that Mr Gay suffered one injury, as diagnosed by Dr Maguire, which he sustained during the 2014 injury period.[28]
2. The respondent file and serve any written submissions and affidavits in support on the question of costs by 4.00 pm on 15 December 2025.
3. The appellant file and serve submissions and any affidavits in support on the question of costs by 4.00 pm on 5 January 2026.
4. Either party may by 4.00 pm on 12 January 2026 give notice to the other and to the Industrial Registry of an intention to make oral submissions on costs
5. In the absence of notice being given pursuant to order 4, the question of costs will be determined on the basis of any written submissions received and without further oral submissions.
[1] Gay v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2024] QIRC 141 ('Primary Decision').
[3] Notice of Appeal filed 21 June 2024.
[6] Appellant's submissions filed 25 July 2024, [9]-[10].
[8] Appellant submissions filed 25 July 2024, [6]-[7].
[13] Respondent's submissions filed 22 August 2024, [17]; Primary Decision, [157].
[14] Respondent's submissions filed 22 August 2024, [18]-[20].
[26] Workers' Compensation Regulator v Langridge [2025] ICQ 008.
[27] [2024] ICQ 021, [42].
Gay
Workers' Compensation Regulator [2025] ICQ 28