austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/495
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-09-23
Original judgment source is linked above.
Encourage Group Pty Ltd v Workers Compensation Nominal Insurer (iCare) & Anor [2025] NSWPIC 495
WORKERS COMPENSATION - ; application pursuant to by the applicant (an uninsured employer) for a determination as to its liability to reimburse the Workers Compensation Nominal Insurer for payments it made in respect to injury to the second respondent; - the second respondent sustained injury to her left wrist pursuant to while in the employ of the applicant; the applicant concedes it did not have a policy of workers compensation insurance for injury; the applicant is liable to reimburse the Workers Compensation Nominal Insurer for the payments it has made as claimed pursuant to in the amount of $23,878.87.
A brief statement is attached setting out the Commission's reasons for the determination.
11 September 2023. It is agreed that at that time the applicant did not have a policy of workers compensation insurance. 2. The Workers Compensation Nominal Insurer, the first respondent, issued a Notice pursuant to s 145(1) of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (the 1987 Act) dated 17 June 2024 seeking reimbursement by the applicant for payments it had made to and on behalf of
Ms Gerahty in the sum of $23,878.87 comprised of weekly compensation in the period
12 February 2024 to 2 June 2024 in the amount of $19,747.37 and treatment expenses of $4,131.50 for services between 21 November 2023 to 3 June 2024. 3. The Generic Application has been filed by the applicant pursuant to s 145(3) of the 1987 Act seeking a determination of its liability in respect of the payments set out in the Notice.
PROCEDURE BEFORE THE PERSONAL INJURY COMMISSION
(a) Generic Application and attached document;
(b) Reply and attached documents filed by the first respondent;
(c) Reply filed by the second respondent;
(d) Application to Admit Late documents (AALD) dated 20 November 2024 filed by the first respondent;
(e) Application to Lodge Additional Documents (ALAD) dated 5 December 2024 filed by the applicant;
(f) ALAD dated 17 December 2024 filed by the second respondent;
(g) ALAD dated 3 February 2025 filed by the second respondent;
(h) ALAD dated 6 March 2025 filed by the first respondent, and
(i) ALAD dated 10 March 2025 filed by the applicant.
Ms Mostert, albeit later, support such an inference. He submits if there is capacity for employment at the time then it should be found there was capacity for employment in all periods. I find this submission does not have merit because just the act of leaving one's home with a child does not support such a finding. Mr Macken can submit about the bank records as he sees fit but I find the observation by Ms Mostert nine months after the period for which the WCNI seeks reimbursement is not relevant. I have an obligation to deal with the real issues in dispute and I find this statement does not deal with those issues. Furthermore, the statement is lodged very late in the proceedings and there is no explanation why it was only filed two days before the hearing, noting it deals with Ms Mostert observing Ms Gerahty on 18 March 2025. 3. Paragraph 4 of the statement is an opinion of Ms Mostert and as Mr Mrsic submitted she is not qualified to provide opinion evidence about Ms Gerahty's capacity for employment. 4. For these additional reasons, the statement was not admitted into evidence. 5. The balance of the documentary evidence is set out below, where relevant, when considering counsel's submissions.
"Ms Gerahty had an ultrasound on 21st September 2023 which confirmed the presence of De Quervain's tenosynovitis. She had treatment with a hand physiotherapist with minimal improvement. She had subsequently seen an interventional pain management specialist, Dr Lewis Holford, on the 21st of March 2024 who diagnosed Ms Gerahty with complex regional pain syndrome type 1. Ms Gerahty underwent a series of three stellate ganglion blocks between 30th of October 2024 and 27th of November 2024."
"The certificate indicated that the patient had no current capacity for work, the patient has however indicated that she has worked professionally as a babysitter in the past. Do you consider that the patient would have some capacity to work as a babysitter notwithstanding the condition diagnosed?"
(a) whether 11 September 2023 is the correct date of injury because he argues this injury falls under the disease provisions, and
(b) even if the date of injury is 11 September 2023, whether the payments made by WCNI are as a result of that injury or as he submits a subsequent injury on
24 October 2023.[1]
"Throughout the journey the child was hitting, punching, spitting, twisting, pulling and generally being disruptive as I was trying to hold her wrist so that we could safely walk to the park without her running off or putting herself in danger. I only needed to do this after she threw herself on the ground on the road and I had to help direct her to the footpath. The rest of the walk I used my body placement to ensure we could walk safely. At one stage my mobile phone was thrown across the road.
At the time and throughout the rest of the day I experienced some mild pain in my left wrist, but I did not think much of it at first. I finished the shift and later completed another shift.
The next day when I woke up, I noticed that my left wrist and hand had swollen to what seemed like double its normal size. It was extremely painful. Whenever I moved it, it became much more painful.
I wrapped my left wrist it in a compression bandage and splinted my lower hand and wrist. I applied ice to numb it and help with the swelling. Even though it was very swollen and painful, I still expected it would recover within a day or so."
Ms Gerahty went to Dr Khoo on 18 September 2023 who organised for her to have an X-ray and ultrasound of her left wrist and advised her not to return to work until the results were received. Ms Gerahty says she telephoned Ms Mostert to inform her of this. 2. She was off work from 18 September to 3 October 2023. Ms Gerahty says she telephoned Ms Mostert shortly after seeing Dr Khoo on 22 September 2023, who recommended she have a cortisone injection, and Ms Mostert said she would cover the costs privately.
Ms Gerahty states that she suggested putting the matter through insurance but Ms Mostert said this was only necessary if she had a fracture. 3. Ms Gerahty returned to work on 4 October 2023 with her wrist bandaged and, in a splint, and she says she was in extreme pain. She says Ms Mostert was very supportive and tried to accommodate her injury by placing her with younger non-aggressive children. After being told by Dr Watson that she needed an MRI she contacted Ms Mostert on 19 October 2023 to ask if she should put this through insurance, a copy of this email is attached to her statement.[3] Ms Mostert responded the next day and informed her because the injury had not been notified within 24 hours a claim could not be lodged with insurance. Ms Gerahty contacted SIRA who informed her she could make a claim and so she attended Dr Khoo and obtain a Certificate of Capacity, which she sent to Ms Mostert on 22 October 2023, a copy of this email is attached to her statement.[4] On 23 October 2023 Ms Mostert called Ms Gerahty and said she would pay for the MRI privately to avoid delay in dealing with icare. 4. Ms Gerahty says on 24 October 2023 she aggravated her left wrist at work when a girl hit and pushed her left wrist, causing her pain. Ms Gerahty says she reported this in a voicemail to Ms Mostert and completed a report in the Splose system, a copy of this incident report is attached to her statement.[5] Ms Gerahty attended Royal North Shore Hospital Emergency Department for treatment and the next day emailed Ms Mostert the discharge summary from the hospital. 5. Ms Gerahty sets out in detail the treatment she has received for her left wrist injury. I have not summarised this part of her statement as below I summarise the medical documentation. 6. From [50] to [56] in her statement Ms Gerahty comments on the contents of Ms Mostert's statement dated 5 December 2024 and refutes various assertions contained therein. 7. Ms Gerahty sent an SMS message to Ms Mostert on 3 October 2023 saying she was allowed to return to client sessions the next day. She advises that her wrist had improved a lot with pain only occurring some of the time so she says she will be careful with it but she no longer needs to keep it entirely rested. She states she has attached a doctor's note.[6]
Ms Mostert has never recanted from the answers in that document. I accept these submissions. In that statutory declaration Ms Mostert says the date of injury is 11 September 2023 and "Caitlin notified Naydene that there was behaviour on 11/09/2023. No injury was reported on the 11/09/2023. Completed an incident report on 14/09/2023. Naydene was on leave until 18/09/2023 when she became aware of the injury." The next question is "did the claimant have to stop work because of the injury?" and the reply is "yes, she has". 2. At [9] of her statement she asserts that if Ms Gerahty had issues at about that time it is more likely to be related to the personal matter of which she was preparing a report in respect of physical abuse on 9 September 2023. 3. I have read the material in the ALAD of 3 February 2025 and I will not summarise it as it refers to notifications made by Ms Gerahty to the Department of Communities and Justice about children with suspected harm to them including a notification on 9 September 2023. I do not consider this material is relevant to my determination. It does not provide evidence of physical abuse being perpetrated on Ms Gerahty. 4. Furthermore, Ms Gerahty has lodged copies of the correspondence with Ms Mostert and given evidence in her statement about Ms Mostert's incorrect advices about making a workers compensation claim and that Ms Mostert offered to pay for her treatment privately. Ms Mostert has not challenged this evidence. In the email sent on 19 October 2023
Ms Gerahty informed Ms Mostert that her wrist has not been improving and she says, "the pain has in fact been increasing". She informs Ms Mostert she was given a referral for an MRI as her specialist is very concerned. Ms Gerahty says she wanted to check in with
Ms Mostert as up to this point she has covered the situation privately and she asks if she now wishes to use her insurance. On 20 October 2023 Ms Mostert responded with incorrect information about making an insurance claim. 5. Weekly payments were not made by WCNI until the period commencing 12 February 2024 yet in the bank statement there are payments from Naydene Mostert including on
18 December 2023 for $1,936.55 which says, "workers comp", and on 27 December 2023 for $973.13 with words "workers comp".[8] A further payment from Naydene Mostert was made on 12 February 2024 for $1,754.26 but no explanatory words are included. These payments are not referred to in Ms Mostert's statement. I mention these payments for completeness sake. I have not based my decision on them as they were not the subject of submissions. 6. Because the medical documents are scattered through the various bundle of documents lodged in the Commission I have summarised them briefly below in chronological order.
"was hit by a child at work on 11/9/23- sore L. wrist
Discussed, refer of XR and U/S, analgesia scripts given, pt also taking Mobic
R/V after imaging to decide if she wants to start a WorkCover claim- pt notified her boss on the day it happened" [9]
Ms Gerahty's email to Dr Watson 18 October 2023
"On the 11th of September I was injured at work by being punched repeatedly on the left wrist by a teenage client. It was initially slightly painful but I was able to go about the rest of my day. When I woke up on the 12th my entire wrist and hand had swollen to double their size and all movement was extremely painful. I wrapped it in a compression bandage (including immobilising the thumb) and splinted the lower hand and wrist, hoping it would recover on its own with rest. I also iced it frequently. continued working (with clients no older than approximately 8 years old) between 11/09/23 and 17/09/23. I was then off of work from 18/09/23 to 03/10/23 and returned to work 04/10/23. I saw the GP on the 18th of September as the pain was increasing and if I removed the compression bandage and splint, it would dramatically swell within 5 minutes and be extremely painful. I was referred to an ultrasound and x-ray, which showed minor tendonitis. The technician who performed my ultrasound said that while she could see damage she was not seeing enough damage to explain my symptoms or level of pain and recommended an MRI. My GP did not give me a referral for an MRI. It has been almost 5.5 weeks since the injury and it is still causing extreme pain, I remain unable to remove the bandage or the splint for more than a few minutes before I can no longer tolerate the pain. Even wrapped as it is, I often have to walk with my left wrist resting on my right shoulder/chest as the motion of my arm swinging while walking is too painful. I am unable to bear weight and cannot hold the weight of my phone in my left hand for more than a minute or two. The pain is the worst on the top of the hand/wrist, and the inner (thumb side) wrist and thumb but on occasion moving my other 4 fingers also causes extreme pain. As far as I can tell my range of motion for my wrist, fingers and thumb is normal however any movement is severely painful. I have been prescribed mobic and panadeine forte. I took mobic for the first 2 weeks and have begun taking it daily again since 14/10/23.1 typically have quite a high pain tolerance and will rarely take pain medication however over the last week to week and a half I have had to take panadeine forte at least once on most days."[13]
20 October 2023 has the date of injury 11 September 2023 and that she was first seen on
18 September 2023 for the injury with the description of injury "hit by client at work". The diagnosis given was "left wrist de Quervain's tenosynovitis". The doctor certified in this certificate that from 4 October 2023 to 17 November 2023 she had capacity for some work for 8.75 hours for four days per week and from 18 September 2023 to 3 October 2023 she had no current capacity for any work.[16]
"Pt was hit another client today, specifically on her sore L. wrist. Discussed, new Cert of Capacity given for her to take the next 2 weeks off.
Pt due to see Dr Stuart Watson following an MRI-await results and opinion."[18]
Dr Khoo's referral to Dr Stuart Watson 25 October 2023
Dr Watson have suggested she not return to work yet. She was referred to Sabrina Dibble in addition to seeing the hand physiotherapist and referred to pain management specialist and a certificate of capacity was given.
13 February 2024, 11 March 2024, 8 April 2024 and 6 May 2024. They all certify she has no current capacity for any work, with the last covering the period up to 3 June 2024. They all refer to the date of injury of 11 September 2023.
Ms Gerahty had worked up to then. He argues the deemed date of injury is therefore not
11 September 2023. He says the first certificate of capacity, as distinct from a medical certificate, is dated 18 October 2023 and the date of incapacity referred to in that certificate is 8 September 2023. He submits that non-insurance is only conceded for the date of injury set out in the s 145 notice, 11 September 2023, and on any view of the evidence this is not a correct date of injury. Mr Macken submits that on this basis alone the reimbursement to WCNI must fail. 2. Mr Stiles argued, when one considers Ms Gerahty's statement, what occurred on
11 September 2023 was a discrete "frank" injury. He refers to the paragraphs of her statement which I have set out above. I accept this submission and find that this injury falls within s 4(a) of the 1987 Act. In the case of Rail Services Australia v Dimovski & Anor[35] at [68] of the Court of Appeal decision Hodgson JA found:
"If there is an event that satisfies paragraph (a) of the definition of injury, and if that is the injury relied on and proved, the circumstance that it aggravated the disease and thus could have supported a case under paragraph (b)(ii) does not mean that this injury "consists in" the aggravation of a disease."
Mr Stiles also submitted that Dr Khoo had certified Ms Gerahty as having no capacity for employment from 18 September 2023 to 3 October 2023.[37] He submits, and I accept, this evidence refers to trauma to the left wrist at work on 11 September 2023. 3. Mr Macken in his submissions in reply submits that Ms Gerahty in her statement refers to the 16-year-old child was hitting her as they were walking to the park. He argues it was a series of events on that day and it was not one event. He says this is the nature and conditions of employment on the 11 September 2023. He submits that Dimovski does not apply because this was not one event. He argues this injury comes with in the disease provisions and the date of injury is not 11 September 2023 because it was not the date of first incapacity. I do not accept this submission. The fact that Ms Gerahty was struck multiple times on her left wrist on 11 September 2023 does not equate to her suffering a disease of gradual onset. 4. I find while she may have been hit multiple times that day that does not amount to a so-called nature and conditions injury. The mechanics of the injury are relevant to consider. This is not a case where a worker was using her left wrist repetitively such as in process work involving using her wrist to perform manual tasks repetitively. She was hit by a 16-year-old intellectually disabled child and all the assaults occurred on 11 September 2023 within her work shift. I find even though Dr Khoo described tenosynovitis as a disease that does not mean that Ms Gerahty on 11 September 2023 sustained a disease injury for the reasons set out in Dimovski. Multiple traumata, as suffered by Ms Gerahty, I find still come within the definition of personal injury in s4(a) rather than a disease injury under s4(b) of the 1987 Act. 5. Mr Macken also relies on the Royal North Shore Hospital discharge summary because it has the date of injury on 24 October 2023. However, the hospital discharge summary says it was a "flare up". 6. Mr Macken submitted that the second issue, as far as injury is concerned, is while
Ms Gerahty alleges an incident or incidents on 11 September 2023, the medical evidence shows that she had recovered and returned to work in October. He submits there is a subsequent injury in October which then results in Ms Gerahty ceasing employment. He argues that if it is to be said that there is compensation payments made in respect of
11 September 2023 the only compensation payments which the applicant could be liable for would be in the period 18 September 2023 and 20 October 2023. He submits, however, in the s 145 notice list of payments none of the payments relate to that period at all, as the first payment of weekly compensation was on 12 February 2024. He submits that any payments after this date relate to a different injury and do not form part of the recovery notice. 7. I find that the evidence does not support a finding that Ms Gerahty had recovered when she returned to work on 4 October 2023. This is evident from the medical evidence pre-dating the second incident of 24 October 2023 including the contents of Dr Khoo's consultation on
20 October 2023, Dr Watson's finding on 19 October 2023 that she still had severe swelling and pain and the fact that he ordered the MRI scan before the second incident. In addition, and I find most powerfully is the email Ms Gerahty sent to Dr Watson on 18 October 2023, which I find sets out in detail the continuing problems Ms Gerahty was having with the left wrist. 8. Mr Macken referred to Dr Holford's report dated 21 March 2024 submitting it specifies the injury without referencing the date.[38] This is not correct as the report states that he reviewed Ms Gerahty regarding her left wrist and upper limb pain, "Caitlin's symptoms developed following a work related injury on 11 September 2023. In her role as a Behavioural Therapist working with children with special needs, Caitlin was repeatedly hit on the left wrist by a 16 year old girl with whom she was working." 9. Mr Macken says in this report from Dr Holford he states that Ms Gerahty has not worked since the time of her injury. He argues this can only be a reference to the injury in October and it cannot be a reference to injury in September, because she had worked from
11 September, went off on 18 September 2023 and had worked again on 4 October. He submits the only injury for which Ms Gerahty has "not worked since" is that of 24 October 2023. I do not accept this submission that "clearly this is what the specialist is referring to" because Dr Holford identified the date of injury in the opening paragraphs of his report and he also details that she underwent and X-ray and ultrasound on 21 September 2023 which showed tenosynovitis. I find just because the doctor has not precisely recorded the days that Ms Gerahty did not work after 11 September 2023 does not undermine his opinion that she suffered an injury on 11 September 2023 in the form of tenosynovitis of the left wrist. 10. Mr Macken also submitted that Dr Beard in his report dated 25 March 2024 refers to
Ms Gerahty being injured in September 2023 and again in October. He argues that Dr Beard does not distinguish between the two and that all the payments in the s 145 notice post-date the October injury. However, Dr Beard does relate details about the injury, that she was repeatedly punched and hit over a four-hour period in September and then received a number of jabs in October.[39] What he does not do is offer an opinion about causation to support the applicant's argument. 11. I find that just because payments made by WCNI post-date October 2023 does not mean they were not causally related to the incident on 11 September 2023. This argument ignores the fact that Ms Gerahty experienced the symptoms she sets out in her statement and received treatment before 24 October 2023. Mr Macken did refer to X-ray in September as being normal and argues the subsequent radiology on 29 October 2023 does seem to provide evidence of pathological alteration. However, the ultrasound showed tenosynovitis and Dr Watson observed on 19 October 2023 she had recurrent severe swelling and pain. 12. Mr Macken also referred to a report from Dr Watson dated 15 March 2024 who discusses a number of sites with regard to musculoskeletal pain. Mr Macken says his client is not responsible for these other areas. No one has asserted that payments were made by WCNI for any condition apart from related to the left wrist injury. I note Dr Watson in that report also refers to Ms Gerahty's left wrist and records that she is seeing a chronic pain specialist about that and he asked to be kept informed of any treatment plan. There is no suggestion in
Dr Watson's report that he was asserting the other areas he mentioned were part of the injury. He did note that her left wrist was still in a brace.[40] 13. Mr Macken submitted that the report of Dr Beard dated 10 May 2024 supports his argument that Ms Gerahty suffers from a disease process in the left arm which is progressing. He says that Dr Beard's history illustrates this because the doctor states that she has developed quite significant numbness and has pins and needles beginning some months ago, which are progressively worse over the past few weeks.[41] He says compensation for such a disease is not payable. I reject this submission for the reasons I gave for finding Ms Gerahty sustained a s 4(a) injury. The fact that it worsened does not detract from that finding. Dr Watson has expressed the view her pre-existing hypermobility condition makes her vulnerable to developing problems with an acute injury. 14. Mr Macken referred to Dr Khoo's clinical notes for 18 September 2023 and then stated that on 25 October 2023 Dr Khoo records that Ms Gerahty was hit by another client that day "specifically on her sore L. wrist. Discussed, new Cert of Capacity given for her to take the next 2 weeks off".[42] He submitted that all time off work subsequent to that date is as a consequence of an injury which is not the subject of this s 145 notice and Application. 15. However, Mr Macken did not refer to the consultation notes for 22 September 2023 which state "PT informed of XR and U/S results- mild de Quervain's. PT still in a fair amount of pain. Discussed, refer for cortisone inj. Letter given to inform her employer". 16. He also did not refer to the entry on 20 October 2023 which states "Pt's L. wrist de Quervain's symptoms not better. Will proceed as a WorkCover case. PT has spoken with her sports physician Dr Watson-awaiting MRI and opinion RE cortisone inj. Cert of Capacity given."[43] 17. Mr Macken submitted the report by Dr Khoo to Dr Watson dated 25 October 2023 was done on the day of the second incident and so it is consistent with the payments of compensation being paid for that incident.[44] I do not agree with such an interpretation because Dr Khoo refers to the ultrasound showing mild De Quervain's and it is clear from the records this ultrasound was performed after the incident on 11 September 2023 and before
24 October 2023. 18. The applicant relies on the SMS message sent by Ms Gerahty to Ms Mostert on
3 October 2023 in which she writes that the pain in her wrist has improved a lot with pain only occurring some of the time. She states, "so I will continue to be careful with it but no longer have to keep it entirely rested". Mr Macken says this message shows there has been recovery, return to work and only intermittent problems and he says the second injury, which is not covered in the recovery notice, removes her capacity for work. He says the evidence does not support any connection between the payments made and the date of injury set out in the notice. He says this means the recovery action should fail. Mr Stiles submits that this message does not support a finding that her condition has resolved. I accept this submission from the contents of the message itself but also because this conclusion is supported by the medical evidence occurring before the second incident on 24 October 2023 which I have summarised above. 19. Mr Stiles referred to Ms Gerahty's statement that her employer tried to accommodate her on her return to work so she could only work with young children and she states she continued to wear a splint and bandage. He argues that her condition had not resolved when she returned to work on 3 October 2023. I accept this submission as I find Ms Gerahty's statement to be reliable evidence as it is consistent with the medical evidence. 20. Mr Stiles submits that Ms Gerahty says in her statement that on 24 October 2023 the incident with the child aggravated her wrist, which she felt occurred because the child noticed the bandage on her left wrist. Mr Stiles also referred to Dr Watson's report after the second incident in which he referred to her having a "flare up". In the report dated 2 November 2023 Dr Watson says she needs to avoid a repetition of the assault as it would likely flare up her symptoms. The Royal North Shore Hospital discharge summary also refers to the incident on 24 October 2023 being a "flare up of tenosynovitis". I find these references in the medical evidence support the finding that Ms Gerahty sustained an injury on 11 September 2023, which did not heal, and she was thereafter vulnerable to suffering flare ups should her left wrist suffer an impact. I find the second incident was a "revelation" of her symptoms from her ongoing injury from 11 September 2023 and not the genesis of another injury. In Kerr at [60] His Honour Judge Phillips quotes a passage cited by Judge Neilson in Lyons v Master Builders Association of NSW Pty Ltd[45] that Windeyer J in the High Court of Australia found that "the Court is concerned with genesis rather than revelation". 21. I find there is no break in the causal chain because of the incident on 24 October 2023. I find that the medical evidence immediately before that date confirms that Ms Gerahty had a significant ongoing injury to her left wrist. Mr Macken submitted in reply there was no finding on the radiology before the second injury and the subsequent MRI scan showed pathological change. I do not accept the logic of this submission. The ultrasound before the second incident did reveal tenosynovitis, which despite treatment became worse. The fact is that there was no MRI before the second incident to compare the pathology before and after that incident. I find it is fallacious to accept that just because the MRI post-dated the second incident the changes shown on it occurred from that second incident. Clearly they equally could have pre-dated the second incident and while I cannot determine that point one way or another, what is significant is that Dr Watson was concerned in his clinical judgement, when considering Ms Gerahty's injury on 11 September 2023, that he ordered she undergo the MRI before the second incident occurred. 22. I regard the pain Ms Gerahty experienced in the second incident was a flare up; a revelation of symptoms. In the text of 3 October 2023 Ms Gerahty made it clear that she was aware that she had to be careful with her wrist so as to avoid such flare-ups. This is why her employer gave her lighter duties, dealing with younger children. The Royal North Shore Hospital discharge summary refers to the second incident as a flare up. The fact that they refer to a "date of injury" as 24 October 2023 I find is not determinative. The applicant has the onus of proof it has not put on an expert report to consider causation to offer an opinion that it was the second incident that caused injury to Ms Gerahty and the payment of compensation, as distinct from the injury on 11 September 2023. 23. In relation to the question of capacity, Mr Macken submitted that Ms Gerahty's CV shows she has considerable experience carrying out childcare or babysitting activities, both personally and corporately. He says there are payments made in 2023 in the bank statements of payments to Ms Gerahty which are not explained. However, in a s 145 matter the authorities establish that the uninsured employer has the onus of proof. Mr Macken did not seek to cross-examine Ms Gerahty and with the payments being unexplained, I do not accept I can infer from these records that Ms Gerahty has been working or has a capacity to earn. 24. Mr Stiles relied upon the medical certificates issued by Dr Khoo which certify her as having no capacity for employment. I accept that this evidence is consistent with Dr Khoo's oral evidence. Dr Khoo has been Ms Gerahty's longstanding treating general practitioner and I find he is well placed to judge her capacity for employment. I am satisfied that the payments made by WCNI for weekly compensation were appropriately paid for Ms Gerahty's incapacity employment causally related to her injury on 11 September 2023. 25. Mr Mrsic adopted Mr Stiles' submissions. He also submitted that Mr Macken did not cross-examine Ms Gerahty and the contents of her statement is very detailed. He also submitted that Dr Khoo confirmed in his oral evidence that Ms Gerahty was incapacitated for employment. 26. Ironically, Mr Macken responded to Mr Mrsic's submission that Ms Gerahty was not cross-examined by submitting that this is not the practice in the Commission, yet I gave him leave to cross-examine Dr Khoo. If a party wishes to raise credit issues an application can made to cross-examine a witness. This was not done in this case. For the reasons, set out above I find I cannot draw any inferences from the deposit entries in the bank statements. I find to do so would be engaging in speculation. 27. I find and determine in accordance with s 145(3) of the 1987 Act that the applicant has liability for the payments made as advised in the Notice dated 17 June 2024.
[1] The second incident date occurred on 24 October 2023 but it is sometimes referred to as on 25 October 2023.
[15] ALAD 5 December 2024 pp 28 and 29.
[35] [2004] NSWCA 267, Dimovski.
[36] [2024] NSWPICPD 56, Kerr.
[37] WCNI Reply p 4 in certificate dated 20 October 2023.
[43] ALAD 5 December 2024 pp 28 and 29.
[45] (2003) 25 NSWCCR 422, Lyons.
Encourage Group Pty Ltd
Workers Compensation Nominal Insurer
(2003) 25 NSWCCR 422