© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2017] AATA 227
Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia
2017-02-23
Original judgment source is linked above.
Section 42B of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 - power of Tribunal if a proceeding is frivolous, vexatious etc.
"... In the context of that application [2016/1492], it appears to me that the Tribunal has jurisdiction to consider whether the plan should have been or should be extended, and to also consider the content of that plan and whether this should be changed. I note [counsel for Comcare] accepted those propositions and also accepted that the new application has utility and therefore is not liable to dismissal pursuant to s 42B."
"A rehabilitation authority may make a determination that an employee who has suffered an injury resulting in an incapacity for work or an impairment should undertake a rehabilitation program."
"(a) a person who is employed by the Commonwealth or by a Commonwealth authority, whether the person is so employed under a law of the Commonwealth...or under a contract of service or apprenticeship"
"A reference to an employee in a provision of this Act that applies to an employee at a time after Comcare...has incurred a liability in relation to the employee under this Act includes, unless the contrary intention appears, a reference to a person who has ceased to be an employee." [emphasis added]
"...if...he presently suffers an impairment or an incapacity that traces back to his RSI injury in 1990, then of course s36 exists today for his benefit and continues to give to him that statutory right to request an assessment in terms of s36. If today, however, fortuitously his health has improved to that state whereby he is no longer injured or incapacitated then, of course, there is no need for him to embark upon any form of rehabilitation program. ..." [emphasis added]
"Even without an extended definition of the term 'employee', ...the consequence of such a view of the rehabilitation provisions would be surprising and destructive of the manifest intent of the Act to provide means for the rehabilitation of injured Government employees, as well as for their compensation while they are in an incapacitated or impaired state." [emphasis added]
Section 40 of the SRC Act-Obligation in relation to "suitable employment"
"(1) Where an employee is undertaking, or has completed, a rehabilitation program, the relevant employer[23] shall take all reasonable steps to provide the employee with suitable employment or to assist the employee to find such employment".
"(5) Where an employee is undertaking a rehabilitation program under this section, compensation is not payable to the employee under section 19 or 31 but:
(a) if the employee is undertaking a full-time program--compensation is payable to the person of an amount per week equal to the amount per week of the compensation that would, but for this subsection, have been payable under section 19 if the incapacity referred to in that section had continued throughout the period of the program; or
(b) if the employee is undertaking a part-time program--compensation is payable to the employee of such amount per week as the relevant authority determines, being an amount not less than the amount per week of the compensation that, but for this subsection, would have been payable to the employee under this Act and not greater than the amount per week of the compensation that would have been payable under paragraph (a) if the employee had been undertaking a full-time program."
"There is no ambiguity in subsection 37(5). The subsection provides that compensation is not payable under section 19 and section 31 during a rehabilitation program. That bar does not apply to sections 20, 21, 21A or 22 concerning injured employees who are retired or who are institutionalised, and it does not apply to provisions concerning former employees under Part X. It is tolerably clear that the legislature intended that subsection 37(5) would only apply to injured employees who would, but for the operation of the subsection, have been entitled to compensation payments under section 19. It would have been a simple matter to extend the operation of subsection 37(5) to cover retired, institutionalised or former employees if that had been the intention. But that was not done. Was this an error or omission, as Mr Anforth suggests? I am satisfied that it was not. The clear intention expressed in the provisions to which I have referred is to treat retired, institutionalised and former employees differently, in respect to weekly compensation during a rehabilitation program, than other injured employees.
For example, if a retired employee's weekly incapacity payments are calculated under section 20 and the person undertakes a rehabilitation program under section 37, subsection 37(5) does not apply..."[32]
"However, as pointed out by the Tribunal in Re Daff and Comcare_, subs 37(5) applies only to an employee who would otherwise be entitled to compensation under ss 19 or 31. It does not apply to an employee such as Mr Cook whose incapacity payments would otherwise be calculated under s 20."[33]_
In relation to Application 2016/4632, the Tribunal affirms the decision under review dated 1 July 2016
I certify that the preceding 71 (seventy -one) paragraphs are a true copy of the reasons for the decision herein of Senior Member S Raymond
........................[Sgd]..........................................
[2] Although it is apparent that there was rehabilitation undertaken from August 2013; Exhibit T3 at page 16.
[9] Cook and Comcare (Compensation) [2016] AATA 371, at paragraph [25].
[11] Chang v Comcare (1997) (unreported, FCA 97/823, 25 June 1997).
[12] He also indicated that he objected to job seeking activities in preference to self-employment but indicated that the self-employment is not now viable and that his only employment options are now private sector or Commonwealth employment.
[13] Mr Cook identified that the medical certificate recorded that the condition was to be reviewed again on 11 April 2016 and that that had not occurred.
[15] A File Closure Report was prepared on 26 February 2016 (T1 pages 93 -99) which effectively closes the rehabilitation program. It relevantly, reports that as from 11 January 2016 Mr Cook was certified fit to return to pre-injury duties and he has returned to "full time suitable new employment on a contract role through Drake recruitment".
[18] After considering those provisions and the whole scheme under Part III of the SRC Act.
[19] In Cook v Telstra Corporation Limited the Tribunal states at [17]: "While the liability to compensate the applicant persists, the respondent's obligation to provide rehabilitation under s 37 effectively ends if the applicant elects to accept a redundancy package and leave the respondent's employment of his own volition." The Tribunal is also mindful that in the case of Australian Postal Corporation v Pascoe [2005] FCA 289 the Federal Court held that the obligation to undertake a rehabilitation program under s 37(7) continued after the employee's contract of employment with the Commonwealth had ceased.
[20] In the case of Australian Telecommunications Corporation v Moffat [1992] FCA 105, the Federal Court was considering s 7(4) of the SRC Act and determined that it did include former employees. This is in contrast to the NSW Court of Appeal decision in relation to the Commonwealth Employees Rehabilitation and Compensation Act; Commonwealth of Australia v Holland (1991) 24 NSWLR 198 which was referred to by the Federal Court in Moffat. In Moffat the Court stated that it did not think the Holland decision supported the employer's argument and went on to say that if it does, the Court declines to follow it. The Tribunal notes that Holland was referred to in the decision of Cook [2003] AATA 786.
[21] Chang v Comcare (1997) (unreported, FCA 97/823, 25 June 1997).
[22] Australian Postal Corporation v Pascoe [2005] FCA 289.
[23] The term "relevant employer" is also defined in s 40(2) of the SRC Act and, in this case, relevantly is the Commonwealth.
[24] Department of Defence v Fox [1997] FCA 3; Comcare v Line [2002] FCAFC 321; Telstra v Slater [2001] FCA 149.
[25] Telstra Corporation Limited v Lyons [2003] FCA 1168.
[26] Chang-refer to Footnote 18--although it was referring in that context to s 36 of the SRC Act.
[29] Exhibit T3 at pages 16 and 17. This determination was affirmed in a reconsideration determination made on 1 July 2016 [Exhibit T3 at pages 21-24]. On reconsideration the review officer also referred to the AAT decision of Cook and Comcare [2016] AATA 371.
[31] Where the term employment is referred to in the context of the definition of "employee".
[32] Daff and Comcare [2010] AATA 732, [at paragraphs 20-21].
[33] Cook and Comcare (Compensation) [2016] AATA 371, [at paragraph 18(c)].
Daff and Comcare [2010] AATA 732
Cook and Comcare (Compensation) [2016] AATA 371
Australian Postal Corporation v Pascoe [2005] FCA 289
Australian Telecommunications Corporation v Moffat [1992] FCA 105
Department of Defence v Fox [1997] FCA 3
Comcare v Line [2002] FCAFC 321
Telstra v Slater [2001] FCA 149
Telstra Corporation Limited v Lyons [2003] FCA 1168
Cook v Telstra Corporation Limited [2003] AATA 786
(1991) 24 NSWLR 198