austlii:vic/VBAB/2025/81
General information, not legal advice.
VBAB
2025-06-18
Original judgment source is linked above.
It is noted and agreed that Section 2. Third Party Liability extends to indemnify the Named Insured for all amounts which the Named Insured becomes legally liable to pay as compensation for:
a) Property Damage to the Adjoining Property as a result of an Occurrence in connection with Protection Work conducted by the Insured during the Construction Period.
b) Personal Injury and Property Damage incurred by occupiers of the Adjoining Property and members of the public as a result of an Occurrence in connection with Protection Works conducted by the Named Insured during the insured Construction Period and for a period of twelve (12) continuous months after the end of the insured Construction Period.
Provided further that our liability under this endorsement will not extend to loss or damage to property which is listed on any heritage, historical or national trust listing unless specifically agreed in writing by Us, prior to the commencement of the Building Work.
No cover is provided under this endorsement unless the owner of the Adjoining Property has:
a) agreed to Protection Work;
b) agreed to the terms and conditions of this endorsement, and
c) provided Protection Work Response Notices prior to the Building Work commencing.
The protection work endorsement includes the following definitions:
Cover provided by this endorsement is limited For the purposes of this endorsement:
"Adjoining Property" means the adjoining property identified in the Protection Work Response Notices made under the Building Act 1993 provided by you to us.
"Building Work" means the building work identified in the Protection Work Response Notices.
"Protection Work" means the protection work specified in the Protection Work Response Notices.
"Protection Work Response Notices" means Form 3 and Form 4 made under regulations 602(2), 602(3), 602(4) and 602(5) of the Building Regulations 2006 (Vic).
This endorsement is subject to the terms, conditions, exclusions and definitions of the policy to which it is attached.
- represent an insurance contract or confer rights to the recipient;
Insured: NEX Building Group Pty Ltd (and others as per quote slip) and/or its/their subsidiary and/or related bodies corporate, as defined in the Corporations Act 2001, (including those acquired or incorporated during the Period of Insurance) for their respective rights and interests.
Policy Wording: Aon/Allianz Annual Construction and Liability Wordings - based on expiring and as agreed.
The list of Endorsements does not include any s 93 Policy endorsement or reference to the endorsement document.
THE SUBMISSIONS OF THE APPLICANT (in summary form)
(a) The insurance policy 99-0007045CMD for the period 31 October 2023 to 31 October 2024 is not a contract of insurance in accordance with s 93 of the Act against damage caused by the protection work, by the Respondent's and/or Interested Party to the Adjoining Property and against liabilities likely to be incurred to adjoining occupiers and members of the public during the carrying out of the building work by the Interested Party.
(b) In particular the Applicant notes the following:
(i) A certificate of currency was provided and there was no reference whatsoever to the protection work or the Adjoining Property.
(ii) The Respondents and Interested Party still proceeded with the protection work despite not providing a copy of the contract of insurance. The Applicant sought a copy of the contract of insurance on multiple occasions.
(iii) The Applicant objected to the Interested Party's insurance policy, partly due to the Interested Party's continual refusal to provide a full copy of the insurance policy including the Schedule and the insurance policy failing to comply with s 93(1)(a) of the Act, mandating that the protection works insurance must be insurance
under which the owner of the damaged property can themselves directly claim, being "first party" indemnity insurance. The Applicant relies on the Court of Appeal decision in Colonial Range Pty Ltd v CES-Queen (Vic) Pty Ltd and another[2].
(iv) Pursuant to an Order of the BAB the Interested Party sent a schedule for year 2, certificate of insurance for year 2, endorsement and Insurance Policy. However, parts of the policy schedule were redacted including 'deductibles' payable in the event of a claim.
(v) The Certificate of Insurance for Year 1 neither expressly nor impliedly covers the Protection Work, nor does it identify any adjoining owners as interested parties. Accordingly, the Certificate of Insurance for Year 1 provides no identifiable cover under which the Applicant could make a claim in respect of any damage to the Applicant's Property caused by the Protection Work during the period 31 October 2023 to 31 October 2024.
(vi) Certificate of Insurance for Year 2 dated 25 March 2025 confirms the Applicant's Property and address together with an endorsement. The limit of construction works is not specified.
(vii) Based on the endorsement contained in the policy schedule (extracted above) neither the Applicant nor Respondents are listed as 'insured' under the policy schedule. The insurer on the policy schedule for year 2 is listed as AFC&S a division of Allianz Insurance Australian Ltd.
(viii) The definition of 'Insured' in the MDA Insurance Policy does not reference the Applicant.
(ix) Existing Property is specifically excluded under the MDS Insurance Policy unless an amount is specified against this item in the schedule. Schedule for Year 2 states no cover beside the existing property. The Adjoining Property would therefore not be covered.
(x) The insured party differs between the MDA Insurance Policy and the certificates of currency. As does the description of cover referenced in the Policy Schedule and terms outlined in the MDA Insurance Policy.
(xi) The Applicant relies on Tran v Santiago [2024] VBAB 130
(xii) The MDA Insurance Policy and Schedule for Year 2 do not contain any protection works endorsements.
(xiii) The endorsement does not identify that it forms part of the MDA Insurance Policy.
(xiv) There is no first party indemnity coverage on which the Applicant could claim directly under the policy if their property is damaged.
(c) The Applicant seeks a contract of insurance which complies with s 93 of the Act prior to completion of protection work and that a fully copy of such insurance is provided to the Applicant.
(d) The Applicant further says that the Respondents failed to provide a copy of the contract of insurance prior to commencing protection work.
THE SUBMISSIONS OF THE RESPONDENT (in summary form)
THE SUBMISSIONS OF THE INTERESTED PARTY (in summary form)
(a) The Interested Party provided a copy of the construction insurance and liability policy (99-0007045) in respect of 31 October 2024 to 31 October 2025 (24-25 Policy) which included:
(i) A certificate of currency dated 25 March 2025
(ii) The policy schedule (24-25 Schedule)
(iii) A protection works endorsement (PW Endorsement) and
(iv) Policy wording for the 24-25 Policy.
(b) Protection work is now complete save for the minor works noted in paragraph 2.3.
(c) No provision of the Act requires the agreement contemplated by s 93 of the Act to be in writing or in any particular form. The Interested Party's position is that by signing the protection works notice the Applicant agreed to the 23-24 Policies.
(d) The 2024-2025 Policy clearly provides adequate cover for any losses suffered by the Applicant noting both its scope and coverage limit.
(e) The authorities relied on by the Applicant are distinguishable from the current matter. The Interested Party submits those cases should not apply as:
(i) The cases are distinguishable from the matter at hand, as the risks involved in the relevant protection work are much greater than the construction of a retaining wall approximately 1.7m from a residential dwelling and there are no complex geotechnical or other such engineering or construction risks; and
(ii) The cases extend the meaning of section 93 of the Act beyond what is reasonable and achievable by contractors in the residential building sector or available in the insurance market for residential works such as those the subject matter of this Application.
(iii) If the Applicant's position were to be accepted, in circumstances where the Interested Party submits such a product is not readily available, the cost of coverage would also render any smaller construction project of this nature commercially unviable
(f) No event has occurred which would trigger an insurance claim, and the Applicant has not sought to bring any claim against either the 2023-2024 or 2024-2025 policies.
Preliminary Issue: did the Applicant previously consent to the insurance?
(a) Section 84 of the Act provides for the giving of a notice to outline the proposed building work and the proposed protection work as well as any other prescribed information.
(b) Section 85 states that the adjoining owner, not later than 14 days after service of the notice, give to the owner a notice agreeing or disagreeing with the proposed protection work.
(c) Regulation 114 of the Building Regulations 2018 (Regulations) confirms the notice required to be given by the adjoining owner for agreeing, disagreeing or requiring more information in relation to the proposed protection must be in the form of a Form 8.
(d) The prescribed Form 8 contained in Schedule 4 of the Regulations provides the following possible responses for the Applicant:

(i) underpinning, including the provision of vertical support, lateral support, protection against variation in earth pressures, provision of ground anchors and other support for adjoining property; or
(iii) overhead protection for adjoining property; or
(iv) other work designed to maintain the stability of adjoining property or to protect adjoining property from damage from building work; or
(b) any work or use of equipment necessary for the provision, maintenance and removal of work referred to in paragraph (a) -whether or not the work or equipment is carried out or used on, over, under or in the air space above the land on which the building work is or is to be carried out or the adjoining property.
(a) The requirement of insurance pursuant to s 93 of the Act;
(b) The scope of cover provided under s 93(1)(a) and (b) of the Act; and
(c) The terms of the contract of insurance and whether it complies with the requirements of s 93 of the Act.
The requirement of insurance pursuant to s 93 of the Act
adjoining property means land (including any street, highway, lane, footway, square, alley and right of way) which is so situated in relation to the site on which building work is to be carried out as to be at risk of significant damage from the building work;
(1) Before any protection work is commenced in respect of an adjoining property, an owner must ensure that a contract of insurance is in force, in accordance with this section, against -
(a) damage by the proposed protection work to the adjoining property; and
(b) any liabilities likely to be incurred to adjoining occupiers and members of the public during the carrying out of the building work and for a period of 12 months after that building work is completed.
The scope of cover provided under s 93(1)(a) and (b) of the Act
A form of indemnity insurance protecting the insured against loss of or damage to property. Damage to property means disturbance of the physical integrity of the subject property... "Property" has been held to include money: ... It is presumed that an insured, under a contract of property insurance, intends to protect only his or her own interest. The presumption may be rebutted if the insured is under a duty to insure on behalf of others, or if it is shown that the insured's intention was to insure on behalf of others: ...
A form of general insurance providing cover in respect of the insured's liability for loss or damage to another person: ... Under a contract of liability insurance, the insurer has no obligation to indemnify the insured until he or she becomes subject to a liability covered by the policy: ... The liability must be enforceable by law: ....
A contract of general insurance that provides insurance cover in respect of the insured's liability for loss or damage caused to a person who is not the insured.
A form of general insurance providing cover in respect of the insured's liability for loss or damage to another person: (CTH) Insurance Contracts Act 1984 s 11(7). Under a contract of liability insurance, the insurer has no obligation to indemnify the insured until he or she becomes subject to a liability covered by the policy: Distillers Co Bio-Chemicals (Aust) Pty Ltd v Ajax Insurance Co Ltd[1974] HCA 3; (1974) 130 CLR 1; 2 ALR 321. The liability must be enforceable by law: Smit Tak Offshore Services v Youell [1992] 1 Lloyd's Rep 154; (1991) 7 ANZ Ins Cas 61-091.
(a) that the Act allows an Adjoining Owner to be either named in the contract or identified as an insured under s 48 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) (ICA). A contract in which the Adjoining Owner is not specifically named as an insured will not, for that reason alone, fail to comply with s 93(1)(a). However, an insurance contract upon which the Adjoining Owner was unable to recover would necessarily fail to comply with s 93(1)(a) for it would not indemnify the Adjoining Owner against loss. It was the Court's opinion that s 93(1)(a) requires that the Adjoining Owner be insured under the contract.
(b) to comply with s 93(1) an insurance policy must cover:
(i) damage by the proposed protection work to the adjoining property (s 93(1)(a)). This element of the Act is concerned with protection work; and
(ii) any liabilities likely to be incurred to adjoining occupiers and members of the public during the carrying out of the building work (s 93(1)(b)). This element of the Act is concerned with building work.
(c) as s 93(1)(b) is liability insurance it follows that the adjoining owner is not the insured under the contract since the adjoining owner is the person who may be covered by any liability payable.
Do the terms of the contract of insurance comply with s 93 of the Act
- represent an insurance contract or confer rights to the recipient;
Form 3 and Form 4 made under regulations 602(2), 602(3), 602(4) and 602(5) of the Building Regulations 2006 (Vic)
"Personal Injury and Property Damage incurred by occupiers of the Adjoining Property and members of the public in connection with Protection Works conducted by the Named Insured during the insured Construction Period and for a period of twelve (12) continuous months after the end of the insured Construction Period."
(b) any liabilities likely to be incurred to adjoining occupiers and members of the public during the carrying out of the building work and for a period of 12 months after that building work is completed.
No cover is provided under this endorsement unless the owner of the Adjoining Property has:
(b) Agreed to the terms and conditions of this endorsement.
[1] Clause 17 of Schedule 3 to the Building Act 1993 provides: 'Unless the Building Appeals Board otherwise determines, a party to a proceeding before the Board must bear his, her or its own costs'.
[3] See Section 38 Definitions of the Acts Interpretation Act 1984 (Vic) which states the definition of 'land' in all Acts and subordinate instruments (unless the contrary intention appears) includes buildings and other structures permanently affixed to land.
�Coney
Singh & Anor [2025] VBAB 81;
DISPUTE - Dispute referred pursuant to s 152 of the Building Act 1993 (the Act) between an owner and an adjoining owner about the nature of cover to be provided under the proposed contract of insurance or about the amount to be insured under that contract pursuant to s 93 of the Act - Colonial Range Pty Ltd v CES Queen (Vic) Pty Ltd [2016] VSCA 328 and Hronopoulos v Building Appeals Board [2022] VSC 376 considered and applied.
(1974) 130 CLR 1