austlii:vic/VBAB/2025/133
General information, not legal advice.
VBAB
2025-10-23
Gillard J, Bell J
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) Legal invoice (itemised) dated 2 May 2025 in the amount of $4,970.40
(b) Legal invoice (itemised) dated 12 May 2025 in the amount of $5,940
(c) Legal invoice (itemised) dated 21 May 2025 in the amount of $4,884.
(d) Legal invoice (itemised) dated 30 May 2025 in the amount of $3,960
(a) In the decision made in Mornington Peninsula SC v Mattieson Pty Ltd, [referenced in the BAB case of Davison v Molinaro (No 4)[5], the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT) confirmed that the purpose of an award of costs is to compensate a party who has incurred costs in circumstances where it would be unfair to require them to be liable for these costs. Where costs were avoidable, it would be unfair to require a party to be liable for costs.
(b) The Applicant notes that the case of Davison v Molinary (No 4)5 at paras 10 and 11 note the BAB may consider s 109 of the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal Act 1998 (VCAT Act). The Applicant says that there are several circumstances set out under s 109(3)(a)(i), (ii), (b) and (c) of the VCAT Act that apply in this proceeding. In particular;
(i) the Applicant identified and articulated deficiencies in the insurance policy.
(ii) the Applicant was required to engage a solicitor to advise and prepare her application challenging the adequacy of the insurance policy based on legal principles and the insurance contract.
(iii) the Interested Party was legally represented since September 2024. The Interested Party had an obligation to prevent or minimise costs incurred by the Applicant.
(c) The Applicant requested a full copy of the insurance policy on multiple occasions and the Interested Party failed to provide a full copy of same. This unreasonably delayed the time taken for the Applicant to refer this dispute.
(d) The Applicant's solicitors informed the Respondents and Interested Party that the insurance policy failed to comply with s 93 of the Act for the same reasons set out in paragraph 37 of the BAB determination.
(e) Further, the Applicant's solicitors later identified in their letter dated 16 April 2025 that the terms of the insurance policy were a clear breach of the principles set out in the Supreme Court of Appeal decision Colonial Range Pty Ltd v CES-Queen (Vic) Pty Ltd[6]. The Respondents and the Interested Party had no reasonable defence to the Applicant's position. The Applicant submits the Interested Party would have received advice from its solicitors that their defence was hopeless and without cause. The Interested Party continued to defend on meritless grounds without reference to relevant legal principles.
(f) The Applicant submits that the Respondents and Interested Party failed to comply with multiple timelines set by the BAB in this proceeding including:
(i) Filing submissions and response to submissions. Originally the orders were to exchange submissions on 22 April 2025 but this was later amended from 2 May 2025 to 16 May 2025. However, the Respondents and Interested Party did not file their submissions until 23 May 2025 and 26 May 2025 respectively.
(ii) No justification for their failure to comply with the deadlines was provided. This created additional costs caused by having to correspond with the BAB (see email dated 23 May 2025).
(a) The claim does not meet the threshold to establish there are special circumstances to justify a departure from the each bear their own costs.
(b) The decision of Davison v Molinaro (No. 4)[7] stated that costs may only be awarded where special circumstances exist. This requires more than mere success or procedural inconvenience. It requires unjustifiable, unreasonable or obstructive conduct by the other party that directly caused unnecessary legal expense.
(c) The Respondents responded to the Applicant's request for clarification engaging in site meetings and over 100 emails (including a certificate of currency) addressing the Applicant's concerns. After receiving information, the Applicant originally withdrew the BAB appeal in case number 455802 on 10 April 2024 and signed the protection work notice.
(d) The Respondents had the Applicant sign a written agreement dated 8 April 2024 prepared by the Applicant's legal representative confirming all protection work had been addressed. Further, the Respondents paid for legal fees relating to the Protection Work Notice and a good faith amount of $5,000.
(e) The present costs claim seeks compensation for the very same issues already resolved, compensated and contractually settled.
(f) The Applicant acknowledged satisfaction with the information and supporting documents provided at the time, including the insurance documents. It was only after construction commenced that the Applicant reignited objections, contrary to the written agreement, contrary to her prior consent, and after having accepted monetary payment in resolution.
(g) There is no evidence that the Respondents failed to comply with BAB directions or caused any procedural delays.
(h) The minor delay in submission filing (23 May instead of 16 May) was non-prejudicial and promptly addressed. No directions were breached intentionally or maliciously.
(i) The Applicant refused to mediate through the Dispute Settlement Centre of Victoria. Legal costs incurred following that refusal should be borne by the Applicant.
(j) The Applicant should not receive legal costs for proceedings based on or in part on the inadmissible evidence of Dr Barraclough of Barrason's Group.
(k) There was no damage to the Applicant's property.
(l) The insurance dispute is the responsibility of the builder.
(m) The Respondents have acted reasonable and in good faith to resolve the matter amicably.
(a) There is no basis for a costs order against the Interested Party.
(b) Costs were sought on an indemnity basis which is unreasonably high and without sufficient detail.
(c) Any costs order should be made against the Respondent as the owner of the building site, beneficiary of the work and the party with the statutory obligation to provide a compliant insurance policy.
(d) No event has occurred which might trigger a claim under the insurance policy required by s 93 of the Act or the insurance obtained by the Interested Party on behalf of the Respondents. The question of the validity of the insurance policy is therefore academic and this is relevant to a question of costs.
(e) The Interested Party also notes the decision in Davison v Molinaro (No 4)6 and relies on the principles of this case (outlined above in the Respondent's submission). It further accepts that it is appropriate for the BAB to consider s 109 of the VCAT Act.
(f) In relation to s 109 of the VCAT Act the Interested Party notes the following:
(i) With regard to s 109(3)(a) there is no suggestion that the Interested Party conducted the proceeding in a way that unnecessarily disadvantaged the Applicant.
(ii) With regard to s 109(3)(b) there is no suggestion that the Interested Party has unreasonably prolonged the proceeding.
(iii) There is no suggestion the Interested Party took positions that were untenable in relation to the findings in the insurance decision.
(iv) There is nothing in the nature of complexity of the proceeding which would displace the general rule. It is an application that the BAB is called on to address and was in the contemplation of the Parliament in enacting the general rule.
(v) The Applicant does not point to any other matter in particular that would justify displacing the general rule.
(g) The Applicant states that costs of the proceedings were avoidable but this, in substance, says costs should follow the event which is insufficient to displace the general rule in BAB proceedings.
(h) There is no suggestion in the Insurance Decision that the position taken by the Respondent and/or Interested Party was unmeritorious. Absent such a finding, there is no basis for a claim for costs.
(i) All parties were legally represented, this does not displace the general rule relating to costs.
(j) A copy of the insurance policy referred to as the 24-25 Policy was provided on 25 April 2025 prior to the filing of the Applicant's points of claim on 1 May 2025. The fact the Applicant stated its position that the policy did not comply with s 93 of the Act in correspondence is irrelevant and is similar to suggesting costs follow the event.
(k) A suggestion that the Respondent and Interested Party's positions were meritless conflates success of the application with whether it was unmeritorious. There is nothing within the Insurance Decision or finding to that effect. Whilst the Insurance Decision did find the insurance policy did not satisfy s 93 of the Act, this was completed after careful analysis of the insurance documentation, the Building Act and authorities. The matter was not a foregone conclusion.
(l) The Insurance Decision notes the late filing (by 6 working days) of the submission from the Interested Party and that no prejudice was suffered.
(m) The Interested Party also considers that the costs are unreasonably high. The durations for each itemised cost was not entered and descriptions are vague. It is insufficient to determine if the costs were reasonably and necessarily incurred in respect of the Applicant's application. Further, the BAB cannot assess the 'without prejudice' entries as the offers were not disclosed. It cannot be known if the offers were unreasonably rejected by the Respondent and/or Interested Party.
(n) The Interested Party obtained insurance from a reputable broker and was in no better position that the Applicant or Respondent to know whether the insurance was likely to be outside the requirements of s 93 of the Act. It is further the owner who has the responsibility for providing the compliant insurance policy.
(o) There are no findings by the BAB against the conduct of the Interested Party such that it was unreasonable. Nor does the Applicant allege specific unreasonableness on the part of the Interested Party. Given this, there are no grounds for costs against the Interested Party. The Interested Party has further incurred significant costs in defending the proceeding.
(a) Special circumstances arise where a party acts unreasonably, obstructively or compels another to incur unnecessary legal expense.
(b) The Respondents claim that the responsibility to procuring compliant insurance rested with the Interested Party was contrary to the determination made and the legislation. This defence had no tenable legal foundation.
(c) The Applicant put her concerns to both the Respondents and Interested Party regarding the insurance policy prior to commencing the proceeding in the BAB.
(d) The Applicant wrote to the Respondents noting defects in the Interested Party's revised insurance policy in proceeding number 456412. There has been no reply or remedial steps taken. This silence demonstrates a continuing pattern of disregard for statutory duties. The Davison case confirms costs may be awarded where a party unreasonably prolongs proceedings or advances positions with no reasonable prospect of success.
(e) There was a misplaced reliance on the Form 8 and private agreement which was misconceived. The Determination held that signing the Form 8 does not amount to consent to an insurance contract, particularly when the Applicant had not seen the contract. Section 93 of the Act imposes a mandatory duty which cannot be waived.
(f) A mediation could not resolve whether the insurance complied with s 93 of the Act and the Respondents failed to mitigate costs by obtaining a compliance insurance policy.
(g) The proceeding related to statutory interpretation of the insurance documents and did not depend on any contested reports.
(h) Insurance is required prior to protection work commencing irrespective of whether damage eventuates. There is current and future risk of damage until the works are completed.
(i) The Interested Party's attempt to minimise its obligation on the basis that it was only 'minor' protection work remains as having no legal foundation.
(j) The Interested Party's claim that the Applicant has not claimed on the defective policy contradicts findings by the BAB that the Applicant cannot claim directly.
(k) The Respondents and Interested Party have demonstrated a pattern of adverse conduct:
(i) commencing works without compliant insurance
(ii) withholding and redacting insurance documents
(iii) relying on outdated regulations
(iv) advancing arguments contrary to binding authorities
(v) late filing of submissions without valid excuse
(vi) procuring possible second defective policy after the BAB determination
(vii) ignoring solicitor's letter dated 6 August 2025 creating a compliance issue.
(viii) Demonstrating disregard for mandatory legal requirements.
(l) It is common practice for a costs lawyer to be engaged only after a costs order is made. The Applicant cannot reasonably be expected to incur further expense without confirmation of entitlement. As observed in _Davison v Molinaro (No 4)_6 May 2025) [para 41], in K.S.J.A.D Nominees Pty Ltd v Goubran & Ors [2022] VBAB 78 [para 102], the BAB observed that 'There is no scale of costs applicable to proceedings before the Board. Determining the appropriate quantum of costs is at the discretion of the Board, which will consider what is just in the circumstances...'.
(m) The costs are proportionate given the extensive defects in the insurance policy, unnecessary submissions and meritless arguments which lengthened the proceeding.
(a) factors which make it just in the circumstances to award costs and;
(b) has the Applicant established an award for costs should be made?
Factors which may indicate it is just in the circumstances to award costs
(a) whether a party has conducted the proceeding in a way that unnecessarily disadvantaged another party to the proceeding by conduct such as -
(i) failing to comply with an order or direction of the Tribunal without reasonable excuse;
(ii) failing to comply with this Act, the regulations, the rules or an enabling enactment;
(iii) asking for an adjournment as a result of (i) or (ii);
(iv) causing an adjournment;
(v) attempting to deceive another party or the Tribunal; and
(vi) vexatiously conducting the proceeding;
(b) whether a party has been responsible for prolonging unreasonably the time taken to complete the proceeding;
(c) the relative strengths of the claims made by each of the parties, including whether a party has made a claim that has no tenable basis in fact or law;
(d) the nature and complexity of the proceeding; and
(e) any other matter the Tribunal considers relevant.
(f) ...An award [for] costs over and above the ordinary is reserved for cases where the losing party[9] has engaged in unmeritorious, or deliberate or high-minded or other improper conduct such as to warrant the Court showing its disapproval and at the same time preventing the successful party being left out-of-pocket; and
(g) encompassed in unmeritorious or improper conduct is the unsuccessful party proceeding where, properly advised, they should have known that they had no real prospect of success, or allegations were made which ought never to have been made or the undue prolongation of a case by groundless contentions. In such cases, the action must be presumed to have been commenced or continued for some ulterior motive, or because of some wilful disregard of the known facts or the clearly established law.[10]
(a) unduly prolonging the proceeding;
(b) a failure to comply with the Act and regulations;
(c) vexatiously litigating proceedings; and
(d) the relative strengths of the claim made by each party and whether a party maintained an untenable position in fact or law.
Has the Applicant established an award for costs should be made?
(a) No tenable basis in fact or law does not refer to cases which are:
(i) tenuous[12]
(ii) weak or merely weak[13]
(iii) where after hearing and analysis, VCAT was able to reach a firm or comprehensive conclusion.[14]
(b) The word 'claim' in the expression 'a claim that has no tenable basis in fact or law' has been construed as extending beyond claims, cross-claims and counterclaims to include 'claims made by way of a defence'.[15]
[9] As noted earlier in these Reasons, unlike the Supreme Court, there has to be something more than being a successful party in a costs bear own jurisdiction to make an adverse costs order against that losing party.
[11] Clause 16(2) and 17 of schedule 3 to the Building Act 1993
[12] Fuggle v Murrindindi SC [2007] VCAT 494 [12].
[13] Thirty Fourth Enterprise Pty Ltd v Leggetts Tennis and Squash Centre Pty Ltd (No 2) [2000] V ConvR 58-541; [1999] VCAT 27.
[14] unChain St Kilda Inc. v Port Phillip CC & Ano [2009] VCAT 2509 [7].
[15] Thirty Fourth Enterprise Pty Ltd v Leggetts Tennis and Squash Centre Pty Ltd (No 2) [2000] V ConvR 58-541; [1999] VCAT 27.
�Coney
Singh & Anor
APPLICATION FOR COSTS - An application for costs of and incidental to the proceeding pursuant to cl 16(2) of Sch 3 to the Building Act 1993 - whether it is just to make an order for costs - Stewart v Building Practitioners Board & Anor [2001] VSC 349 and Martin v Fasham Johnson Pty Ltd [2007] VSC 54 considered.