austlii:cth/ARTA/2026/580
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2026-04-10
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) Whether the impairment that caused Ms Hartikainen's incapacity for work from 2011 constituted a new or further permanent impairment distinct from that which existed prior to 1 December 1988; > > (b) Whether s 39(14) of the 1971 Act permanently bars entitlement to lump sum compensation where total incapacity did not arise until many years after service; > > (c) Whether the unintended consequences of the 1987 patellectomy give rise to a compensable injury under s 6A(2) of the 1971 Act; > > (d) Whether the transitional provisions of the DRCA prevent compensation, or whether compensation is available for a further impairment arising after 1 December 1988; > > (e) Whether compensation should be provided for the unpaid lump sum offer made by DVA on 26 June 1988, based on Dr Brian Davie's opinion [provided in 1987].
Further compensable injuries following patellectomy
Does s 39(14) bar compensation when total incapacity did not arise for many years after 1988
A person is not entitled to compensation under section 24 or 25 in respect of a permanent impairment...being an impairment...that occurred before the commencing date [1 December 1988], if:
(b) the person was not entitled to receive compensation of a lump sum in respect of that impairment...under the 1971 Act as in force when the impairment...occurred.
The amount of compensation (if any) that a person is, by virtue of this section, entitled to receive under section 24 or 25 in respect of a permanent impairment, ... being an impairment ... that occurred before the commencing day, shall be the same as the amount of the compensation that would have been payable to that person, if this Act had not been enacted, under...the 1971 Act as in force when the impairment ... occurred.
An amount of compensation referred to in this section is not payable in respect of an injury so long as the employee is, or is likely to become, totally incapacitated for work where the incapacity for work results, or, if it occurs, will result, in whole or in part from that injury.
Was the impairment claimed in 2020 a different impairment from the permanent impairment recognised in September 1988?
(a) An employee can be assessed for compensation under s 24 of the DRCA if they suffered an impairment before 1 December 1988 which did not become permanent until after 1 December 1988 (Comcare v Levett (1995) 60 FCR 14, 23); > > (b) An employee with a pre-DRCA permanent impairment can be assessed under s 24 of the DRCA if they suffered a different permanent impairment after 1 December 1988 (Department of Defence v West (1998) 85 FCR 491); > > (c) Where a change in a permanent impairment occurring after the commencement date is such that, quantitatively and qualitatively, it is properly to be characterised as a further or new impairment occurring after the commencing date it can be assessed under s 24 of the DRCA (Department of Defence v West (1998) 85 FCR 491, 512) > > (d) a change in the underlying patho-physiology of a condition or a significant worsening of an impairment which is likely to have come about as a result of that change might be a relevant factor in determining whether the permanent impairment that the respondent suffered at the point of assessment was the same permanent impairment as that which he or she had suffered as at or prior to 1 December 1988 (Department of Defence v West (1998) 85 FCR 491, 506); > > (e) Mere worsening of, or an increase in symptoms, will not constitute a new or distinct impairment (Comcare v Maida [2002] FCA 1284, [28]).
Post operative course was characterized by unexpectedly prolonged post-operative pain and discomfort. On removal of the cast there was gross wasting of the muscles of the thigh and calf ... preventing ... LCPL Hartikainen having complete control of her leg. She also complained of quite extreme pain in the knee with flexion.[19]
Prior to the knee accident in August 1986 when she was playing Netball with the Army the knee clicked while running and she developed a pain over the antero-medial part of the knee and the same day she saw a doctor who applied a cold compress and examined her. At the time this accident occurred in Melbourne and the knee became very swollen and she went back to the Country and attended her Local Doctor. The knee recovered fairly quickly and in particularly the swelling went down but she continued to have pain under the knee cap and she eventually saw an Orthopaedic Surgeon in Albury who carried out an Arthroscopy and told her that portion of the inner cartilage had been removed. > > ... > > After the arthroscopy the pain continued around the knee-cap and there were times when she had to sit down and burst in to tears because of pain. She saw another Orthopaedic Surgeon who carried out a patellectomy on the 10 April 1987. She said that after this operation she slipped over about three weeks after the operation and the knee became stiff and painful again and she had difficulty in regaining movement and a manipulation to the knee was done towards the end of June 1987. > > When seen on the 14 December 1987 she complained that she was unable to run and the knee continued to give way. There was pain over the front of the knee and some swelling but the range of movement was good. She was unable to play sport but she was working and doing a desk job as a Travel Agent in the Army... > > On examination...the medial, lateral and cruciate ligaments were satisfactory and there was a full range of movement in the knee but the quadriceps bulk was diminished. > > This lady appears to suffer from the condition of anterior knee pain due to sub-luxation on the patella. This would have been a condition present prior to the accident. The effects of the accident in 1986 did produce considerable pain and swelling and therefore would have aggravated this underlying condition of the patella. The Defence Department would appear to be liable for her problems as an aggravation of pre-existing problem. The effects of the condition continued to operate and in fact the patella has been removed. In my opinion she is fit to work doing clerical duties and I wouldn't place any restrictions on this type of work. She would be unable to play active sport or to do strenuous Army activities involving running, jumping or squatting.[23]
Patellectomy results in a permanent weakness in the knee such that the disability is in the order of 20% loss of function in the affected lower limb.[24]
Pain Lt Knee joint, gives way without aggravation.[29]
[Ms Hartikainen] joined the Army in 1984 and her work was largely involved in organising travel but in 1986 she was ordered to play a netball game even though she was reluctant to do so in view of her past knee injury. Nevertheless she did play and recalls experiencing a pop in her left knee. It quickly swelled and she had to have an arthroscopy done but the knee remained painful and in 1987 she had a left patellectomy. > > Since that time she has been very much worse. > > She recalls having a fall soon afterwards because the knee buckled under her and she had to have another arthroscopy done. > > She finally left the Army in 1989 and trained as a Nurse working in nursing in spite of her ongoing left knee problems. > > ... > > She is in constant severe pain with the left knee feeling weak and often buckling under her. For the last ten months she had been using a cane to walk about and she takes large amounts of analgesics every day.[36]
Since my knee cap was removed in April 1987 I have a markedly reduced tolerance for mobility related activities. I am restricted in the distances I can walk and stand and have to be cautious when driving due to the effects of the pain medication I take, and therefore I am always reliant on other people to travel...I require my partner's assistance when traversing stairs or uneven surfaces and have to be especially careful of slippery surfaces. It would be more often than not I require his assistance to gently manipulate my injured knee to loosen it sufficiently for me to get out of bed as my leg stiffens due to the long term effects of the injury to my knee.[38]
It is my view that the condition [the applicant suffered from in 2011] was the same knee condition [suffered prior to December 1988].[41]
Considering all the medical evidence, I would believe the permanent impairment that resulted in Ms Hartikainen's aggravation of recurrent subluxation of left patella leading to patellectomy from 2011 onwards represented a gradual worsening of the impairment that was permanent before 1 December 1988...I would believe the osteoarthritis and quadriceps deficiency contributed causally in leading to a progressive decline in Ms Hartikainen's left knee and represented a gradual worsening of the aggravation of recurrent subluxation of left patella leading to patellectomy.[43]
If the accepted claim was recurrent subluxation of left patella and the netball injury was classed as an aggravation leading to patellectomy, then this condition would be distinct from the condition causing progressive decline following 2011 which would be instead osteoarthritis and progressive quadriceps deficiency. This decline would represent a new and distinct permanent impairment resulting from the 1987 patellectomy.
(a) An employee can be assessed for compensation under s 24 of the DRCA if they suffered an impairment before 1 December 1988 which did not become permanent until after 1 December 1988 (Comcare v Levett (1995) 60 FCR 14, 23); > > (b) An employee with a pre-DRCA permanent impairment can be assessed under s 24 of the DRCA if they suffered a different permanent impairment after 1 December 1988 (Department of Defence v West (1998) 85 FCR 491); > > (c) Where a change in a permanent impairment occurring after the commencement date is such that, quantitatively and qualitatively, it is properly to be characterised as a further or new impairment occurring after the commencing date it can be assessed under s 24 of the DRCA (Department of Defence v West (1998) 85 FCR 491, 512) > > (d) a change in the underlying patho-physiology of a condition or a significant worsening of an impairment which is likely to have come about as a result of that change might be a relevant factor in determining whether the permanent impairment that the respondent suffered at the point of assessment was the same permanent impairment as that which he or she had suffered as at or prior to 1 December 1988 (Department of Defence v West (1998) 85 FCR 491, 506); > > (e) Mere worsening of, or an increase in symptoms, will not constitute a new or distinct impairment (Comcare v Maida [2002] FCA 1284, [28]).
If the accepted claim was recurrent subluxation of left patella and the netball injury was classed as an aggravation leading to patellectomy, then this condition would be distinct from the condition causing progressive decline following 2011 which would be instead osteoarthritis and progressive quadriceps deficiency. This decline would represent a new and distinct permanent impairment resulting from the 1987 patellectomy.[48]
When I met Judith in 2005, we shared what I would describe as a normal family life. She was largely independent in her daily activities. She worked full-time, drove independently, did the shopping, cooked our meals, maintained our home, and we cared for our dogs together.
From 2005 to around 2010, Judith managed the residual issues from her knee surgery with determination and without significant complaint. She was able to undertake household tasks, run errands, participate in social activities, and engage fully in family life.
During this period, we enjoyed regular walks with our dogs and weekend outings together. While she had some ongoing knee discomfort, it did not significantly limit her activities or quality of life.
Around 2010, I began to notice that Judith's symptoms were worsening progressively. The pain in her left knee increased in both frequency and intensity. Swelling occurred more often, particularly after any period of activity.
She developed a noticeable limp after walking or standing for extended periods. What had previously been manageable discomfort became persistent pain that affected her daily function.
I observed that the biomechanics of walking without a kneecap in her left leg were causing her gait to become increasingly abnormal. This was not merely a cosmetic issue - the altered gait pattern was placing abnormal stress on other parts of her body.
By approximately 2011-2012, Judith was struggling with prolonged standing and walking distances that we had previously managed together without difficulty.
I began taking primary responsibility for walking and exercising our dogs, which had previously been a shared activity that we both enjoyed. This was a significant loss for Judith, as she loved our dogs dearly and took pride in caring for them.
In her nursing work, Judith had increasing difficulty with tasks that involved prolonged standing, manual handling, and patient transfers. These were core components of her role as a Registered Nurse.
Where possible, Judith sought lighter duties or reduced her hours. However, nursing is an inherently physical profession, and when such adjustments were unavailable, her ability to participate became severely limited. Judith was a proud and dedicated professional. The progressive inability to perform her nursing duties caused her significant distress and contributed to her declining mental health.
The Tribunal was required to consider not only whether the impairment was permanent before 1 December 1988, but also whether it was the same permanent impairment the subject of the 2011 claim. The [Tribunal's] reasoning at [66]-[67] reflects that the Tribunal only considered permanency before 1 December 1988. The Tribunal did not make a finding as to whether the impairment the subject of the claim was suffered before 1 December 1988. (emphasis in original)
(a) Ms Hartikainen had a permanent impairment of her left lower limb prior to 1 December 1988 as a result of her netball injury and subsequent surgery; > > (b) No new impairment developed after 1 December 1988; > > (c) The permanent impairment from which Ms Hartikainen suffered prior to 1 December 1988 gradually worsened after 1988 until she was totally incapacitated for work; > > (d) As a consequence of Ms Hartikainen being totally incapacitated for work when the claim for permanent impairment was submitted, she had no entitlement to permanent impairment compensation by s 124(3) and the amount Ms Hartikainen was entitled to receive as lump sum compensation under the 1971 Act in respect of her impairment was nil as a result of s 124(4) (see the exclusion in s 39(14) in the 1971 Act); > > (e) Section 124 of the DRCA thus operates to exclude the applicant from any entitlement to compensation under the DRCA.
Dates of Hearing 27 January 2026 and 6 February 2026
Respondent's solicitor Australian Government Solicitor
[8] Lees v Comcare [1999] FCA 753.
[9] Amended Statement of Issues, Facts and Contentions of the Applicant - (Left Knee - Patella/Patellectomy), [17]; Respondent's Statement of Facts, Issues and Contentions dated 14 January 2026, [109].
[10] See amended Statement of Issues, Facts and Contentions of the Applicant, [30]-[36].
[11] A view favoured by Sackville J in Razmovski.
[14] T Documents (2022/2106), T5, 71; T11, 89.
[18] Report of Dr Christopher Bell concerning left knee condition dated 19 November 2025 [6], [14].
[20] Ibid, 21-23, 28, 31, 40, 81-82. Extract of s 26 Bundle (2022/2106), 5.
[37] Extract s of s 26 Documents (2022/2106), 7-9.
[41] Supplementary report of Dr Simon Jorneaux dated 8 May 2024 (Hearing book, 209).
[43] Supplementary report of Dr Simon Jorneaux dated 12 January 2026 (Hearing book, 225).
[44] Report of Dr Christopher Bell in relation to left knee condition dated 19 November 2025 (Hearing book, 83)
Comcare
Levett
Comcare v Maida [2002] FCA 1284
Lees v Comcare [1999] FCA 753
(1998) 85 FCR 491
(1995) 60 FCR 14
(1997) 75 FCR 390