[2003] NSWCA 52
General information, not legal advice.
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2003-03-04
Meagher JA, Santow J, Grove J, Santow JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
Zoe will write a short plain-English brief of this judgment and email it to you: what it was about, what the court decided and why. It can take up to a minute.
General information, not legal advice.
Or create a free account to save it and ask Zoe follow-up questions.
BACKGROUND 4 David Sidney Clampett (the appellant) was grievously injured on 27 February 1972 whilst on a periodic journey between his employment at the Black Stump Restaurant, Pennant Hills and his home. He became, and is, entitled to worker's compensation benefits pursuant to the predecessor of, and the statute just mentioned. The circumstances in which the employer was uninsured can be read in Pennant Hills Restaurants v Barrell Insurances Pty Limited 1981 145 CLR 625 and for all practical purposes the Workcover Authority of New South Wales (the respondent) can be treated as the employer and as having assumed its liabilities. 5 The appellant's injuries rendered him a high level (thoracic 5) paraplegic and injury to his shoulder compromised his use of the right upper limb and he has been medically described as triplegic. Since 18 May 1987 he has resided at 10 Yethonga Avenue, Lane Cove, under a rental agreement with the Department of Housing. He lives there as a single man. He was aged twenty two years when injured and will turn fifty four in November next.
THE CLAIMS 6 The specific claims which are germane to the appeal are identifiable in the grounds of appeal. Ground 1 relates to a proposal to modify the residence pursuant to building recommendations designed by an architect, Mr Hardiman. Ground 2 seeks the cost of lawn mowing and some handyman services at the address and Ground 3 seeks the costs of personal care in connection with the use of a spa facility contemplated as part of the building recommendations. Grounds 1 and 3 focus upon the same arguments and may be dealt with together.
THE STATUTORY BASIS 7 As at the relevant time of judgment in the Compensation Court, s59 provided: "59. Definitions (………) In this Division: …………………. Medical or related treatment includes: ………………….. (f) care (other than nursing care) of a worker in the worker's home directed by a medical practitioner having regard to the nature of the worker's incapacity. (g) the modification of a worker's home ….. directed by a medical practitioner having regard to the nature of the worker's incapacity, …… :" 8 Section 60 provided: "60 Compensation for cost of medical or hospital treatment and rehabilitation etc . (1) If, as a result of an injury received by a worker, it is reasonably necessary that: (a) any medical or related treatment be given … ………………. the worker's employer is liable to pay, in addition to any other compensation under this Act, the cost of that treatment or service …. …………………….. (3) Payments under this section are to be made as the costs are incurred, but only if properly verified. " 9 It can be observed in passing that, although not applicable in the present appeal, amendment to the Act with effect from 6 December 2001 inserted an additional inclusion to the definition of medical or related services in s59, namely " (f1) domestic assistance services" and a qualification to medical or related services in s60(1) "(other than domestic assistance)". Particular provisions are made for compensation for domestic assistance services in a new s60AA.
THE HEARING IN THE COMPENSATION COURT 10 No doubt with s60(3) in view, it was agreed by the parties that the trial should proceed for the purpose of findings being made as to whether proposed expenditure was "reasonably necessary" and fell within ss59 and 60. The learned trial judge adopted this procedure and, having made certain findings, stood the matter over for future mention, granting liberty to apply. Similar procedure was acknowledged with approval in Tennyson Textiles Pty Limited v Telicki 1961 NSWR 171 especially per Walsh J @ pp 178-9. 11 It was contended by the appellant that the judgment in denying his claims in part was not interlocutory. Although I do not find that contention convincing, argument was not advanced in the light of the respondent's stance that leave (if necessary) was not opposed and it was granted accordingly.
MODIFICATIONS - GROUNDS 1 and 3 12 These grounds were expressed:
"1. When holding that the home renovations, as claimed, were not reasonably necessary, His Honour erred in law by holding that the Appellant's interest as a tenant rather than owner of the premises to be renovated and the possibility that the Appellant could be ejected pursuant to NSW Department of Housing policy led to an inescapable conclusion that the home modifications were not reasonably necessary.
"REASONABLY NECESSARY" 18 His Honour sought guidance from two decisions of Burke CCJ dealing with the expression (it also appeared in s10 of the Workers' Compensation Act 1926) namely Rose v Health Commission 1986 2 NSWCCR 32 and Pelama Pty Limited v Blake 1988 NSWCCR 264. 19 In his application of that guidance he looked at a combination of tenure of the property and the amount intended to be expended and stated: "But the problem remains that what is sought is an order compelling the respondent to pay nearly $240,000 to modify a house from which the application (sic) can be ejected pursuant to Department policy on 7 days notice. I regret that such expenditure does not in the circumstances seem to me to be reasonable. That the applicant should rely in submissions on the threat of political action if there was any threat to his occupancy of the house points up the problem." 20 It is convenient to observe at this point that the appellant could also rely upon protections vested by the Residential Tenancies Act 1987 with reference in particular to categorization of his lease under that Act as a lease of "social housing premises". In short, he had legal recourse available to him as well as the political recourse referred to by his Honour. His Honour made reference to correspondence between the appellant's solicitors and the Department of Housing. A document (Exhibit L) to which he specifically referred as setting out the Department's policy was misconstrued in his conclusion that "only minor modifications are contemplated by the document". The misconstruction was not in that observation but in failing to recognize that the document related to modifications to be paid for by the landlord and not to those which may be paid for by the tenant. 21 He also recited part of the content of a letter in which it was stated that allowing the appellant to remain in the property was "in keeping with department policy at the time". In the same regard submissions were made to this Court by the respondent that the appellant was vulnerable to ejection according to the whims and fashions of impermanent governments and their instrumentalities. A complete analysis of the issue should have included attention to a separate letter from the department in which a response to express inquiry was "… as long as (the appellant) is not in breach of his lease there should be no reason for the Department of Housing to ask him to leave". However, as I shall later elaborate, in my view the question of tenure is of limited significance, relevant only to establishing whether particular premises are "a worker's home" within the meaning of s59(f). 22 I return to the expression "reasonably necessary" in s60. Dictionaries stipulate that "necessary" has relevant definition as "indispensable, requisite, needful, that cannot be done without" - (Shorter) Oxford English Dictionary, 3rd Edn and "that cannot be dispensed with" - Macquarie. 23 The essential issue is what effect flows from conditioning such qualities as "reasonably". The consequence is to moderate any sense of the absolute which might otherwise be conveyed by the word "necessary" if it stood alone. In order to contemplate such moderation it is apt to consider surrounding circumstances, but the question to be addressed is whether modification of a worker's home, having regard to the nature of the worker's incapacity, is reasonably necessary. In contemplation of what might be "reasonably necessary" there is this statutory obligation specifically to have regard to the nature of the worker's incapacity. It provides emphasis towards moderating the meaning of "necessary" in this context. 24 The statute does not inhibit inquiry as to what may be thought reasonable in all of, or in any, particular circumstances but its terms clearly point to predominant attention being paid to the nature of the worker's incapacity. In my opinion, to reject the appellant's proposal on the basis that expenditure is to be made on premises of which he is a weekly tenant is an elevation rather than a moderation of the meaning of "necessary". 25 I do not consider that it is practicable to place defined boundaries about the surrounding circumstances which may relevantly be contemplated but the governing concept should be the appropriateness of any proposal having regard to the nature of the worker's incapacity.
"A WORKER'S HOME" 26 "Home" is a word which can be used in multiple senses but the context makes it clear that it refers to a dwelling in which the worker habitually lives and regards as his proper abode. I shall refer to this in another context later. The terms upon which possession of a dwelling is held may be relevant to establishing that the premises are such proper abode or to rebut any suggestion that they are no more than temporary shelter, or transitorily occupied or the like. 27 It is apparent that considerable attention was devoted at trial to the tenure of 10 Yethonga Avenue and the weekly tenancy became central to his Honour's conclusion. However, in my view, the inquiry required by the statute is as indicated above, namely, are the premises to which modification is proposed "the worker's home", that is, is it his habitual and proper abode. 28 An implication of the respondent's contention was that, if modifications were done and the appellant's lease was terminated (by either party) applications might subsequently be made to modify other premises as well. That speculation would be available in respect of any premises in the sense that even the holder of an estate in fee simple might quit them by choice, by compulsory acquisition for some public purpose authorized by statute, or by default under a mortgage. Those examples are not intended to be exhaustive. If the mere possibility of change of abode prevented modification from being "reasonably necessary" it is difficult to contemplate that an order could ever be made and that clearly was not the intention of Parliament. 29 The learned trial judge did not address the question whether the premises at Lane Cove were "the worker's home" within the meaning of s59(g) but directed his attention to the security of his tenure thereat.
GROUNDS 1 and 3 SUSTAINED 30 For the foregoing reasons I would find Grounds 1 and 3 made out. Because of the approach taken by his Honour, he did not address whether the proposed modifications were reasonably necessary in terms of their major ingredients, save items (air conditioning and door lock systems) which he did treat individually in favour of the appellant. It is understood to be the desire of both parties that, should the appeal succeed, the matter be returned to the Compensation Court in order, inter alia, for such assessments to be made. The practicality of that course is confirmed by observation that no such work could take place until local council approval has been given and in any event, payment is not required to be made until costs have been incurred and verified: see s60(3).
GROUND 2 - LAWN CARE AND HANDYMAN 31 Ground 2 is in these terms:
ORDERS 49 Pursuant to s52 of the Compensation Court Act 1984 a matter may be remitted for determination in accordance with the decision of this Court but an order for remission would not inhibit amendment or addition to the claim if, for example, it were desired to seek remedy having regard to the supplemented definition provided by s59(f1).
(a) Appeal allowed. (b) The respondent to pay the appellant's costs of appeal. (c) Matter remitted to the Compensation Court for determination in accordance with this decision. **********
Last Modified: 03/21/2003 DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated.
Clampett
Workcover Authority of NSW
CITATION : Clampett v Workcover Authority of NSW [2003] NSWCA 52 HEARING DATE(S) : Tuesday 4 March 2003 JUDGMENT DATE : 20 March 2003
(2003) 56 NSWLR 726
(1997) 14 NSWCCR 164