© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[1998] VSCA 77
Court of Appeal (Vic)
1998-10-15
ORMISTON, PHILLIPS and KENNY, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
CIC Insurance Ltd. v. Barwon Region Water Authority
INSURANCE - Property insurance - "Industrial Special Risks Policy" - Claim for flood damage to three structures - Whether two were "bridges" within meaning of exclusion clause - Clause providing "declared values" to form part of a policy for purpose of "co-insurance clauses" - Further provision requiring "value of property insured" to be declared after end of policy period for adjustment of premium clause - None of the three structures made subject of declarations for either clause during period of cover - Whether non-declaration breach of duty of "utmost good faith" within meaning of ss.12-14 of (C'th) (in absence of any defence based on non-disclosure) - Operation of co-insurance and premium clauses - Authority's network of pipes also not subject of declaration - Counter-claim for premiums payable on pipes and three structures for three years policy in effect - Whether insurer entitled to recover - Non-disclosure not relied upon on either claim or counter-claim.
(2) The Queen's Park Bridge pipeline, at Geelong; and
(3) The Queen's Park Suspension Pipe Bridge, also at Geelong.
The three structures differed in construction in that each of the first and third was owned by the Authority and was constructed and maintained to carry the Authority's pipelines across a watercourse. The second was a pipeline controlled by the Authority and attached to and forming part of a more substantial bridge, the Queen's Park Bridge, used by the public, which supported the pipeline across the Barwon on bearers extending out on one side only from the superstructure.
"Anywhere in Australia, where the Insured has property or carries on business has goods or other property stored or being processed or has work done (including whilst in transit)."
Secondly, although "The Premium" is stated specifically to be $112,016.22 (for year 1993-4) it is also said to be "provisional and shall be adjusted" under the Policy, as in fact it was for each renewal. Finally "Declared Values" in the Schedule (but cf. the further clause set out in para.7 below) reads:
"In the event of any physical loss, destruction or damage (hereinafter in Section 1 referred to as 'damage' with 'damaged' having a corresponding meaning) not otherwise excluded happening at the Situation to the Property Insured described in Section 1 the Insurer(s) will, subject to the provisions of this Policy including the limitation on the Insurer(s) liability, indemnify the Insured in accordance with the applicable Basis of Settlement."
Likewise in the next clause it is only necessary to set out the first paragraph of the effective definition of the "Property Insured":
"All real and personal property of every kind and description (except as hereinafter excluded) belonging to the Insured or for which the Insured is responsible, or has assumed responsibility to insure prior to the occurrence of any damage, including all such property in which the insured may acquire an insurable interest during the Period of Insurance."
A note to the definition states that the term should be understood to include "money", "cheques", "postage stamps" and the like and an "Endorsement" some 33 pages later extends cover to include all "property insured" whilst in transit within Australia. It should be noted that there is no dispute that all the property for which the respondent had made a claim was property belonging to it or for which it was responsible.
"BASIS OF SETTLEMENT (a) On buildings, machinery, plant and all other property and contents (other than those specified below); the cost of reinstatement, replacement or repair in accordance with the provisions of the Reinstatement and Replacement and Extra Cost of Reinstatement Memoranda as set out herein."
Paragraph (a) also contains a proviso, which need not be set out and which deals in part with an "Extra Cost of Reinstatement Memorandum". However, it should be noted that paras.(b) to (i) make provision for settling claims for a variety of items, including "raw materials, supplies and other merchandise", "finished goods", "computer systems", "records", "securities", "moulds and dies", "glass" and "employees' clothing".
"The Schedule of Declared Values at each location (in accordance with the applicable Basis of Settlement) attaches to and forms part of this Policy for the purpose of the application of Co-Insurance."
There is an "Endorsement" relating to this clause stating that the values should not include "any allowances for Extra Cost of Reinstatement", and the like.
"The basis upon which the amount payable is to be calculated shall be the cost of reinstatement of the damaged property ... For the purpose of the insurance under this memorandum 'reinstatement' shall mean: (a) Where property is lost or destroyed: ... the replacement thereof by similar property ... (b) Where property is damaged; the repair of the damage and the restoration of the damaged portion of the property to a condition substantially the same as, but not better or more extensive than, its condition when new."
The clause continues with a number of qualifications and explanations, most importantly in sub-clause (iii) which makes the property insured subject to a "Co-insurance clause". This is a reference to the sub-clause apparently appearing at p.11 of the policy, but that is in fact made subject to an endorsement appearing some 31 pages later which substitutes the following provision, which in turn and on the following page of the policy is varied by the insertion of the words emphasised below:
"The property insured under this Memorandum is separately subject to the following Co-insurance clause: In the event of damage to property insured hereunder at any situation caused by any event hereby insured against, the Insurer(s) shall be liable for no greater proportion of such damage than the total amount of the Insured's declaration of value of property at all situations on the day of commencement of the Period of Insurance or any relevant renewal period bears to the sum representing eighty-five (85) per cent of the cost which would have been incurred in reinstatement if the whole of such property had been destroyed on that day, but not exceeding the Limit of Liability expressed in the Schedule; provided that ... Provided further that the above clause shall not apply if the amount of the damage does not exceed five (5) per cent of the amount of the Insured's declaration aforementioned."
I should add that the substance of this provision, strictly speaking, does not apply in this case because it is agreed on both sides that the amount of the claim is less than five per cent of the relevant value, howsoever that should be calculated.
"This Policy does not cover physical loss, destruction of or damage to the following property or loss under Section 2 resulting therefrom: ... 8. land, provided that this exclusion shall not apply to structural improvements on or in the land if such structural improvements are not otherwise excluded in this Policy. 9. bridges, canals, roadways and tunnels, railway tracks (other than on the premises occupied or used by the Insured), dams and reservoirs (other than tanks) and their contents ... "
It also should be noted that there follows a series of "Perils Exclusions" of which one, on the face of the policy, might appear to have been relevant in that it excluded loss destruction or damage occasioned by "flood", but, as is characteristic of this policy, the particular exclusion is deleted by an endorsement appearing some 22 pages later whereby there is substituted an exclusion for damage resulting only from "water from or action by the sea etc.".
"ADJUSTMENT OF PREMIUM (a) The Premium shown is provisional and is calculated on the Declared Values of : (i) Property Insured, (ii) Gross Profit and Insured Pay-Roll, on the day of commencement of each Period of Insurance. (b) The Insured undertakes to declare to the Insurer(s) within a reasonable time after the day of expiry of the Period of Insurance: (i) the value of Property Insured on the day of expiry of the Period of Insurance. For the purpose of this declaration, stock in trade and/or merchandise shall be taken at its average value during the Period of Insurance; (ii) the amount of the Gross Profit earned and Pay-Roll paid ... (c) The provisional premium should be adjusted by payment to the Insurer(s) of an additional premium or by allowance to the Insured of a return premium, as the case may be, calculated at the agreed rate on: (i) Fifty per cent (50%) of the difference between property declared in accordance with clauses (a)(i) and (b)(i); ..."
"Ordinarily, therefore, it appears, under-insurance, so far from being regarded as material non-disclosure justifying the avoidance of the policy, results instead in averaging, or indeed in full recovery without penalty."
Cf. Appleman: Insurance Law and Practice, vol. 4A revd. (1969) paras.2604.10 and 3866. Thus in my opinion a decision by an insured to undervalue the property covered or, possibly, not to set out every item for which cover is sought in an "all property" policy is a matter to be dealt with (if at all) under the law relating to non-disclosure, reliance upon which was specifically disavowed at all stages of this proceeding by the appellant insurer. It will be a matter to be considered again in relation to the claim of want of good faith, but the point here to be made is that, unless the failure arises in circumstances which can be characterised as fraudulent (cf. s.28(2)), under-valuation and non-disclosure will not ordinarily prevent recovery and, in particular, the scope of an "all property clause" definition will not thereby be read down.
"Even if a failure to act with utmost good faith need not always be attended by dishonesty, I do not consider that there is in this case any failure by Barwon Water to act fairly and reasonably or any act by Barwon Water contrary to community standards of decency and fair dealing."
Nothing put forward on behalf of the appellant would deny the conclusion there reached by the learned judge. The grounds relating to want of good faith have not been made out.
Were any of the structures "bridges" under exclusion 9_?_
"A structure spanning a river, chasm, road, or the like and affording passage."
His Honour also saw the definition in the Oxford English Dictionary as having a similar effect, as it was expressed:
"A structure forming or carrying a road over a river, ravine, etc., or affording passage between two points at a height above the ground ...".
Counsel for the respondent seemed willing to concede that, as the judge had held, each of the two structures in question was a bridge in ordinary Australian usage.
"Bridges, canals, roadways and tunnels; railway tracks (other than on the premises occupied or used by the insured); dams and reservoirs (other than tanks) and their contents."
Such a means of approaching the interpretation of the exclusion was not resisted on either side.
Costs related to removal of debris at Wormbete Syphon
CIC Insurance Ltd
Barwon Region Water Authority [1998] VSCA 77