[2023] QSC 225
General information, not legal advice.
Supreme Court of Queensland
2023-10-16
Wilson J
Original judgment source is linked above.
A party may withdraw an admission made in a pleading or under rule 187 only with the court's leave."
[45] Whilst the discretion to grant leave is a broad one, the following factors can be relevant in determining whether to exercise the discretion to grant leave:
(a) there is no principle that admissions made, or deemed to have been made, may always be withdrawn "for the asking", subject to payment of costs;
(b) sworn evidence is generally required verifying the circumstances justifying the grant of leave;
(d) "whether the subject matter of the admission is truly contested";
it is not enough for the applicant "simply to assert that a dispute exists";
(e) evidence surrounding the issues the subject of the admission;
(f) "an admission may be withdrawn if the admission is contrary to the actual facts";
(g) whether there is likely to be a real dispute about the evidence, including detailed particulars of the issue or issues which the party would raise at trial if the admission was withdrawn;
(h) any delay in making the application for leave to withdraw the admission and if that delay is explained; and
(a) distinguished between the evidence that may be required in respect of an application for leave to withdraw express admissions as opposed to deemed admissions; and
(b) noted that in exercising the discretion to give leave there is no "a priori rule as to what evidence is required in every case. Nor is that an a priori rule that an affidavit generally verifying a proposed defence will not be enough."
[47] The discretion to withdraw an admission is to be guided by rule 5 UCPR.
[48] In Davies v Davies (No 1) Bradley J, referring to the analogous discretion in rule 367 UCPR wrote:
"[45] The court has a broad power to make 'any order or direction about the conduct of a proceeding it considers appropriate' that may be engaged to grant leave to withdraw an admission. The interests of justice are paramount in determining whether an order or direction should be made. The broad power is to be applied with the objective of 'avoiding undue delay, expense and technicality' and facilitating 'the just and expeditious resolution of the real issues ... at a minimum of expense.' The court's inherent power to control and supervise proceedings extends to granting such leave where that is an 'appropriate action to prevent injustice'.
[46] A party seeking leave to withdraw an admission should identify the reason for the withdrawal, explain how the admission came to be made, and identify any prejudice that may be caused if the application is refused. The stage of the proceeding, the prospects of the party succeeding on the issue if the admission is withdrawn, any prejudice to other parties if the admission is withdrawn, and any other matter affecting the administration of justice should be considered to determine how the interests of justice may be served, consistently with the express objective of the rules. All of these matters may inform the exercise of the discretion under r 367 or the court's inherent power"."
(a) the subject matter of the admission is truly contested; and
(b) reasonable inquiries have been made to find out whether the allegation is true or untrue.
"[15] It is no doubt true that the UCP Rules are meant to expedite litigation and to limit disputes to issues that are genuinely in contest, but it must, in my respectful opinion, remain the case that the rules do not operate so as to prevent the trial of issues that are genuinely in dispute.
[16] The first consideration, therefore, in an application to withdraw admissions must be whether the subject matter of the admission is truly contested. Often, if not always, that determination will be informed by the circumstances in which the admission was made. It is usually a good indication that a fact is not in dispute that the party against whom it is made admits it to be true. This, I apprehend, is why the cases emphasise the need for an explanation as to the making of the admission. If an applicant cannot demonstrate that there is a real dispute about the subject matter of the admission no other consideration need be examined."
"[16] The rules acknowledge that a party's pleading may contain an allegation of fact which is outside the knowledge of the opposing party, and that even after reasonable inquiries the opposing party may still not know whether such fact is true or untrue. In such cases, they permit the opposing party to plead a nonadmission, so long as it is accompanied by a direct explanation for the opposing party's belief that it cannot be admitted.
[17] There is no warrant for restricting the circumstances in which leave to withdraw an admission may be granted to those in which the applicant wishes to plead a denial and can provide a "direct explanation" for his or her belief that the allegation is untrue.
[18] There may be facts solely within the knowledge of the party who pleads them. Where, however, a party ("A") pleads a conversation between him or her and a third party ("X"), the opposing party ("B") will seldom be entitled to plead a non admission simply on the basis that he or she was not a party to the conversation and its contents are within the knowledge of A. In most cases it would be reasonable to expect B to make inquiries of X to ascertain the truth or untruth of what has been pleaded. Similarly, where A pleads facts about his or her own occupation or use of land, B will seldom be entitled to plead a nonadmission simply on the basis that those facts are within the knowledge of A. In most cases it would be reasonable to expect B to make inquiries to ascertain the truth or untruth of what A has pleaded about him or herself. Of course, such inquiries may not be fruitful, and thus B may be justified in pleading a nonadmission.
[20] I consider that where a party wishes to withdraw an admission and instead to plead a non admission, he or she should not usually be given leave to do so in the absence of sworn evidence of inquiries made to find out whether the allegation is true or untrue, and the Court's being satisfied that those inquiries were reasonable in all the circumstances."
(a) is entitled to a total permanent disability benefit (TPD benefit);
(b) is entitled to two benefits for income protection:
(i) first, that he was entitled to be paid a monthly income protection benefit (monthly IP benefit) until he elected to receive a lump sum income protection benefit (lump sum IP benefit);
(ii) second, the lump sum IP benefit;
(c) would not have had to pay the premium for the financial year 2021.
(a) first, an hours-based assessment which requires (among other things) the plaintiff, solely because of sickness or injury, to be unable to work for more than 10 hours per week in his regular occupation, unable to perform important income producing duties of his regular occupation for more than 10 hours per week and be under the care of a medical practitioner in relation to the sickness or injury; and
(b) second, a duties-based assessment which requires (among other things) the plaintiff, solely because of sickness or injury, to be unable to perform one or more important income producing duties of this regular occupation, under the care of a medical practitioner in relation to the sickness or injury and not working.
How did the defendant make these deemed admissions?
"72. When drafting the defence, I was aware of the existence of rule 166 of the Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 1999 (Qld) (the UCPR). I read the rule. I noted the requirement that a denial or non-admission be accompanied by a direct explanation for the defendant's belief. I thought that the requirement for a direct explanation for a denial or non-admission in one paragraph was met if it was accompanied by other paragraphs which contained a pleading of the defendant's case on the issue, for example paragraphs 74 and 80 of the defence, which addressed the defendants reasons for declining the IP and TPD Benefit Claims respectively.
(A) The defendant did not need to provide a direct explanation for each and every denial and non-admission directly after the denial and non-admission;
(B) That the rule would be complied with if the defence traversed the issue somewhere clearly within the defence."
(a) the meaning of 'sickness' under the policy;
(b) the reasonableness of the defendant's determination to decline the TPD claim;
(c) the reasonableness of the defendant's determination to decline the income protection claim;
(d) whether the plaintiff was, as at the date of the determinations, sick or otherwise unable to return to work as a financial advisor; and
(e) whether the plaintiff met the requirements of the Own occupation TPD definition outlined in the Policy.
(a) the allegation in paragraph 19 of the statement of claim about the plaintiff's occupation conceivably requires evidence going back to April 2013 when the plaintiff first took out insurance with the defendant;
(b) the allegation about Mr Churchill being under the 'regular care' of Dr Fenelon in paragraph 38 of the statement of claim goes back to 4 September 2015; and
(c) the allegation in paragraph 51 of the statement of claim, about the decrease in the rate of Mr Churchill's writing of policies, relates to the period between 2014 and 2016.
(a) paragraph 31 of the statement of claim relates to something told to Mr Churchill in January 2015; and
(b) paragraph 43 concerns, amongst other things, a conversation between a Ms Kalantzis and Mr Churchill in November 2015.
(a) not having to prove the admitted matters; and
(b) having to prove them with the risks associated with the passage of time.
"... exacerbated levels of stress and anxiety are triggered every time the plaintiff is advised about a step in the proceeding and has to provide instructions that require him to recall or think about the events the subject of the claim."
"19. The only occupation that Mr Churchill was regularly engaged in at any material time was that of a financial adviser specialising in life insurance products (Life Insurance Adviser)."
"19. In response to paragraph 19 of the Amended Claim, the Defendant:
(a) says that the relevant occupation in which the Plaintiff was regularly engaged for the purposes of the Policy was the occupation of financial advisor; and
(b) denies that the plaintiff's occupation for the purposes of the "total disability" and Own occupation TPD definitions in the Policy is limited to a specialisation in life insurance products."
"19. In response to The defendant denies paragraph 19 of the statement of claim, on the denial basis, because Amended Claim the Defendant:
(a) says that the relevant occupation in which the plaintiff was regularly engaged for the purposes of the Policy was the occupation of financial advisor; and
(b) denies that the plaintiff's occupation for the purposes of the "total disability" and Own occupation TPD definitions in the Policy was not limited to a specialisation in life insurance products."
(a) the only occupation that Mr Churchill was regularly engaged in at any material time (emphasis added);
(b) was that of a financial adviser;
(c) specialising in life insurance products (Life Insurance Adviser).
"MR MAY ...the evidence that the defendant relies upon is evidence where there's a reference to Mr Churchill working as a financial advisor. That is not evidence suggesting a genuine dispute about him specialising - working as a financial advisor specialising in life insurance. Evidence that he works as a financial advisor is consistent with him working as a financial advisor specialising in life insurance unless there's some evidence to be pointed to - or some inquiries made indicating either some other occupation or some different specialisation or not having that specialisation."
"MR MAY: ... So the defendant could've asked its related entity, "What sort of work was Mr Churchill doing? Did Mr Churchill do any advice - did - do any financial advising that wasn't life insurance work?" The defendant could've asked other entities which 10 it has identified Mr Churchill having provided advice for information about what advice he provided or what kind of work he was doing to address this allegation. But there's no evidence of any inquiries of that kind, and in that circumstance, in my submission, this really isn't in the category of something that's in genuine dispute."
"38. From 4 September 2015, Mr Churchill has been under the regular care, and following the advice, of Dr Fenelon in relation to his mental health."
"38. In response to paragraph of 38 of the ASOC, the defendant:
(a) admits that the plaintiff has attended appointments with Dr Fenelon between 4 September 2015 and 24 October 2019 as particularised;
(b) says that it has not been provided with Dr Fenelon's consultation records after 24 October 2019, does not know and does not admit the attendances after 24 October 2019
(c) says that the advice referred to is not identified and the Defendant therefore does not know and does not admit that the Plaintiff has been following it, or whether the Plaintiff has been under the 'regular care' of Dr Fenelon;
(d) says that not all of the appointments particularised were for care and advice in relation to the plaintiff's mental health.
(ii) 3 November 2016 (severe left chronic ATFL Rupture);
(iv) 20 February 2017 (impact to foot from cricket ball / x-ray);
(vii) 5 April 2019 (ankle and hip pain after moving house)."
"38. In response to paragraph of 38 of the statement of claim ASOC, the defendant:
(b) denies, on the denial basis, that the plaintiff attended the following appointments with Dr Fenelon prior to 24 October 2019 in relation to his mental health because the purpose of the appointment was as stated in brackets:
(i) 26 February 2016 (pain in toe / right intra-articular injection 1st MTPJ);
(ii) 3 November 2016 (severe left chronic ATFL Rupture);
(iv) 20 February 2017 (impact to foot from cricket ball / x-ray);
(vii) 5 April 2019 (ankle and hip pain after moving house); and
(c) otherwise, does not admit the allegations on the non-admission basis.
(b) says that it has not been provided with Dr Fenelon's consultation records after 24 October 2019, does not know and does not admit the attendances after 24 October 2019
(c) says that the advice referred to is not identified and the Defendant therefore does not know and does not admit that the Plaintiff has been following it, or whether the Plaintiff has been under the 'regular care' of Dr Fenelon;"
"[8] The rules concerning nonadmissions differ from the rules concerning denials. Fryberg J's conclusions cannot be applied to the pleading in this case. Rule 166(4) requires a direct explanation for the party's belief that the allegation can not be admitted: Cape York Airlines Pty Ltd v QBE Insurance (Australia) Ltd [2008] QSC 302; [2009] 1 QdR 116 at 121-122 [22], but it would be mere pedantry to insist that a pleaded expression of that belief is defective merely because it does not precisely adopt the words used in the rule. Barker v Linklater [2007] QCA 363; [2008] 1 QdR 405 is inconsistent with any such requirement. In that case, Muir JA (with whose reasons Jerrard JA, who gave additional reasons, and Douglas J agreed) held that a non-admission "on the grounds that the defendants are unable to attest to the truth or otherwise" of specified allegations, amounted to a non-admission which was accompanied by the necessary "direct explanation for the party's belief that the allegation ... can not be admitted" - albeit that the explanation "paid scant heed to grammatical rules and was not felicitously expressed": at 419-420 [47]-[48]. The respondent's pleading should not be held to be defective merely because it might have been expressed more elegantly."
"MR MAY: They need to speak to Dr Fenelon and ask him.
HER HONOUR: But what doc - is Dr Fenelon say? "He came. I did all these things. He came again and he did all these things." Did he follow the advice? How will that - how could that be ascertained?
MR MAY: Well, in my submission, that could be ascertained. Dr Fenelon would - and, in particular, what Dr Fenelon, if it were the case, could provide to the defendant is information suggesting that Mr Churchill has not followed his advice, but there's nothing of that character. Your Honour's quite right that it may be that the investigations might not have gone anywhere, but what the cases say is that the party needs to do the investigations and put on the evidence of the investigations.
MR MAY: - - - and that - and the explanation given by the defendant for not having asked Dr Fenelon is that Dr Fenelon "wouldn't have told us", and that doesn't withstand scrutiny, given the authority that my client gave."
(i) Clearview Financial had robust compliance procedures;
(ii) he had complied with Clearview Financial's compliance procedures;
(iii) he had complied with all relevant compliance requirements applicable to a Life Insurance Adviser;
(iv) ASIC's Concerns were baseless;
(v) ASIC were acting capriciously in pursuing ASIC's Concerns in the sense that Mr Churchill believed that:
(A) in some respects, ASIC's demands were not possible to meet due to limitations of Clearview Financial's software or unavailability of information from insurers;
(B) in all respects, ASIC's demands would not have any material impact on client outcomes;
(C) ASIC intended to pursue its concerns regardless of whether they were baseless or not;
(vi) it would be futile to contest ASIC's Concerns;
(vii) he had no option but to give the undertaking sought by ASIC;
(viii) he was bullied into providing the undertaking sought by ASIC;
(b) Mr Churchill was distressed, depressed, frustrated, upset and anxious about those matters; and
(c) in particular, Mr Churchill was distressed, depressed, frustrated, upset and anxious because he believed that, no matter what he did:
(i) he would never be able to achieve what ASIC considered to be compliant conduct; and
(ii) he would always be at risk of ASIC raising concerns about compliance that would be futile to contest as he would again be bullied into not contesting such concerns."
"42. In response to paragraph 42 of the ASOC, the defendant:
(a) says that the Plaintiff's belief as to the matters alleged in sub-paragraph 42(a) is not relevant to the Plaintiffs cause of action against the Defendant in these proceedings; and
(b) does not know, has no means of ascertaining and does not admit the matters alleged in sub-paragraphs 42(a), (b) and (c)."
"42. In response to The defendant does not admit paragraph 42 of the statement of claim on the non-admission basis. Amended Claim, the defendant:
(b) does not know, has no means of ascertaining and does not admit the matters alleged in sub-paragraphs 42(a), (b) and (c)."
"44. The matters pleaded in paragraph 43 strengthened Mr Churchill's belief about the matters pleaded in paragraph 42 above and his distress, depression, frustration, upset and anxiety about those matters."
"44. In response to paragraph 44 of the Amended Claim, the defendant:
(a) says that the Plaintiff's belief about the matters alleged in paragraph 42 of the Amended Claim is not relevant to the Plaintiff's cause of action against the Defendant in these proceedings;
(b) does not know, has no means of ascertaining and does not admit the matters alleged in paragraph 42."
"44. In response to paragraph 44 of the statement of claim Amended Claim, the defendant:
(a) does not admit the allegations on the non-admission basis says that the Plaintiff's belief about the matters alleged in paragraph 42 of the Amended Claim is not relevant to the Plaintiff's cause of action against the Defendant in these proceedings; and
(b) objects to the allegations on the irrelevancy basis does not know, has no means of ascertaining and does not admit the matters alleged in paragraph 42."
"MR MAY: And can I accept that of the ones we challenge, these are the ones that I have the most difficult argument in respect of, they being allegations about my client's belief. The point I make about them is that the things that Mr Churchill alleges that he believed are, in many respects, things that follow from allegations elsewhere in the pleading which are admitted, and I've referred to that in my written submissions. Now, it is true, because these allegations about Mr Churchill's belief, that the only way to know for certain whether those allegations are true or not is by asking Mr Churchill, even then, what is truth and so on. But you can investigate the subject matter of the alleged belief to show contrary indications which would suggest that Mr Churchill couldn't have believed that, for instance. And the only point I make about 42 and 44 is that there's no evidence of that kind of investigation to identify things...
Arguably paragraph 42 of the defence does not contain a deemed admission because the defendant pleads: does not know, has no means of ascertaining and does not admit the matters alleged in sub-paragraphs 42(a), (b) and (c)."
"does not know, has no means of ascertaining and does not admit the matters alleged in sub-paragraphs 42(a), (b) and (c)."
"does not know, has no means of ascertaining and does not admit the matters alleged in sub-paragraphs 42."
"51. By about January 2016, the rate at which Mr Churchill wrote new life insurance business had decreased substantially from what it was prior to the ASIC Investigation."
"51. In response to paragraph 51 of the Amended Claim, the defendant:
(a) admits that the rate at which Mr Churchill wrote new life insurance decreased;
(b) does not know and does not admit the extent of the decrease; and
(c) insofar as it is alleged that the decrease was caused by the Undertaking Publicity does not know, has no means of ascertaining and does not admit that the decrease was caused by the Undertaking Publicity."
"51(b). otherwise does not admit the allegations on the non-admission basis. does not know and does not admit the extent of the decrease; and"
"[21] Not only need there be an understanding of the difference between material facts and the evidence by which they are to be proved but also material facts and particulars of those facts. Although particulars are part of the pleading and may be struck out for the same reason, r 162, it is a well-established principle of pleading that particulars are not to be pleaded to, Turnover v Bulletin Newspaper Pty Ltd [1973] HCA 60; (1974) 131 CLR 60 at 80 per Barwick CJ. His Honour said
"The defendant by not canvassing the particulars does not admit them, nor does he admit their relevance to the establishment of a cause of action or any part of it."
With that in mind para 6 of the statement of claim contained only one material statement of fact and that was that the plaintiff sustained personal injuries as a consequence of the motor vehicle collision. The enumerated injuries, as is the usual fashion in such a pleading, appear as particulars. The longstanding rule of practice that particulars are not to be pleaded to is an answer to any complaint which would seek to apply r 166(5). Even so, there are only three responses to the particulars 8.1, 8.2 and 8.6 which are denials without further elaboration. The other responses sufficiently comply with the requirement of a direct explanation."
"By about January 2016, the rate at which Mr Churchill wrote new life insurance business had decreased substantially from what it was prior to the ASIC Investigation."
(a) in 2014 the plaintiff wrote 'approximately 200 new life insurance policies'; and
(b) in 2016 the plaintiff wrote 'approximately 10-15 new life insurance policies'.
"158. At paragraph 51 of the ASOC, the plaintiff alleges that the rate at which the plaintiff wrote life insurance business decreased 'substantially', including with particularised reference to a decrease in meetings conducted and new business written when comparing his activities in 2014 and 2016.
(a) the defendant, via his financial advice business, was writing policies for multiple insurers;
(b) the defendant does not have all of the policies written from other insurers, and the defendant is only able to determine the 'new business' / new policies written with respect to it;
(c) from the policies that the plaintiff wrote for the defendant, the number of life insurance policies written decreased from 252 in 2014 to 16 in 2016."
"Section 15: Privacy/personal information use and declaration
By providing your personal information you consent, acknowledge and declare that,
We can collect and use your personal information for the following purposes: to process your current and any subsequent transaction request, and to administer your policy;
For the above purposes we can collect your personal information from, and disclose it on a confidential basis to: our related entities; government departments and agencies; investigators; lawyers; advisers; and the agent of any of these; and
Where you provide personal information to us about another person, you are authorised to provide information to us, and that you will inform that person, (unless doing so would pose a serious threat to the life or health of any individual) who we are, how we use and disclose their information, and that they can gain access to that information.
In all circumstances where our contractors, agents and outsourced service providers become aware of personal information, confidentially agreements apply. Personal information may be used by our agents, contractors and outsourced serviced providers for our purpose.
I hereby declare that the information in this claim form is true, correct and complete.
I understand and agree that if I make any false or fraudulent statements or fail to advise ClearView Life Assurance Limited of any relevant information regarding my claim, ClearView Life Assurance Limited may refuse to pay, and cancel my claim."
"MR DOUGLAS: .... We don't know the position in relation to the other insurers, and we don't have full disclosure from the plaintiff. Your Honour, it's one thing to say, "Yes, we should go and ask the other insurers", but we know one other insurer that may or may - only which - who may or may not be able to assist us. The problem the plaintiff advances is he doesn't plead his case in such a way which enables readily - ready response. One would've expected, perhaps, a proper plea would entail the plaintiff pleading, "Well, I suffered a reduction in this regard by reference to all of my insurance portfolios, including CommInsure, etcetera, etcetera. So my reductions for CommInsure was this much. My reductions for ClearView was that." It - it's an imprecise plea, and that's part of the problem for the plaintiff. The decrease acknowledged by the defendant in relation to life insurance policies written for it (252 down to 16) is plainly substantial."
"70. On or about 29 May 2018, or alternatively on or about 9 November 2020, Mr Churchill made a claim under the Policy for the IP Lump Sum Benefit (IP Lump Sum Benefit Claim).
(1) The IPD Lump Sum Benefit Claim was implicitly made by the TPD Benefit Claim.
(2) Alternatively, the IPD Lump Sum Benefit Claim was made by Mr Churchill in writing by a document titled `Submissions in response to preliminary assessment in relation to TPD Benefit Claim' sent by his legal representatives (Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers) to Ms Lee-Ann Barnard on about 9 November 2020, a copy of which is [GW.001.001.2861]."
"70. In response to paragraph 70 of the Amended Claim, the Defendant:
(b) says that the Plaintiff made the claim prior to March 2020.
(c) The Defendant acknowledged that the Plaintiff's application for potential entitlements to further monthly income protection payments to be converted into a lump sum TP payment in its letter to the Plaintiff dated 11 March 2020, re "Policy: Total and Permanent Disablement, Claim No 8295" (TPD Procedural Fairness Letter), first paragraph on page 1."
"70. In response to paragraph 70 of the statement of claim Amended Claim, the defendant:
(b) denies, on the denial basis, that the claim was made on 9 November 2020 because says that the Plaintiff made the claim was made prior to March 2020;
(i) The defendant acknowledged that the plaintiffs application for potential entitlements to further monthly income protection payments to be converted into a lump sum TPD payment in its letter to the plaintiff dated 11 March 2020, re "Policy: Total and Permanent Disablement, Claim No 8295" (TPD Procedural Fairness Letter), first paragraph on page 1.
(c) does admit that the claim was made on 29 May 2018 on the non-admission basis;"
(a) on or about 29 May 2018; or
(b) on or about 9 November 2020.
(a) "March 2020" emerges from a letter sent by the defendant to the plaintiff responding to the claim dated 11 March 2020; and
(b) there is a TPD benefit claim form of on or about 29 May 2018.
"MR DOUGLAS: Implicit effect. Not as a direct effect. And that's the contest between the parties set up by the defence. Now, again, this is not something which is a revelation. We did plead in the existing defence to that document by reference to the later date of November 2020. What we didn't do was plead that, yes, you did make a claim in 2018 as you say you did, and we admit that, but we say it has a particular legal effect. Not the effect that you say."
(a) Admits that on or about 29 May 2018 the plaintiff made a claim for payment of the TPD benefit but says:
(i) him making a claim for such TPD benefit did not constitute, under the policy, the making of a claim for the TPD benefit Lump Sum Option;
(ii) nor does that fall to be inferred implicitly given that the TPD Lump Sum Option would result in the cessation of ongoing monthly IP payments, which payments the plaintiff continued to claim and receive until IP payments were refused in January 2020;
(iii) there was no indication within the TPD benefit claim form, including in the "Other Comments" section, of the plaintiff's intention to claim the TPD Lump Sum Option, resulting in cessation of IP benefits; and
(iv) pursuant to the terms of the policy, the opportunity to receive TPD Lump Sum Option benefits was not initiated by the claim made 29 May 2018, but rather by the plaintiff having satisfied the "Own Occupation TPD" definition, being made an offer by the defendant and with the plaintiff then confirming to the defendant that he accepted the offer in writing.
[1] DJ & MA Hose Pty Ltd ATF Hose Family Trust v Wide Bay Insurance Broking Pty Ltd ATF Wide Bay Business Trust [2022] QSC 191 at [44] - [48].
[2] Hanson Construction Materials Pty Ltd v Davey & another [2010] QCA 246 at [15] - [16].
[3] Hartmann v Pilkington & Ors [2012] QSC 254.
[4] Hartmann v Pilkington & Ors [2012] QSC 254 at [16] - [18], [20].
[5] Brisbane South Regional Health Authority v Taylor [1996] HCA 25; (1996) 186 CLR 541.
[6] Aimtek Pty Ltd v Flightship Ground Effect Pte Ltd [2014] QCA 294 at [8] (Holmes and Morrison JJA agreeing).
[7] See Aimtek Pty Ltd v Flightship Ground Effect Pte Ltd [2014] QCA 294.
[8] Ballesteros v Chidlow No 2 [2005] QSC 285.
Churchill
Clearview Life Assurance Ltd [2023] QSC 225
(1996) 186 CLR 541
(1992) 26 NSWLR 738
(1974) 131 CLR 60