austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2026/8
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2026-01-12
Original judgment source is linked above.
Chdid v A New Image Rendering (NSW) Pty Ltd [2026] NSWPIC 8
WORKERS COMPENSATION - Workers Compensation Act 1987 (1987 Act); (1998 Act); claim for compensation for industrial deafness; nature of the dispute between the parties; - referred to Medical Assessor under section 321(1) of the 1998 Act.
The Personal Injury Commission (Commission) determines:
(a) the nature and extent of the hearing loss suffered by the applicant, and
(b) whether hearing aids are reasonably necessary medical treatment as a result of any injury suffered in the employ of the respondent (with the deemed date of any injury being 13 March 2024).
(a) Application to Resolve a Dispute;
(b) Reply, and
(c) this Certificate of Determination.
A statement is attached setting out the Commission's reasons for the determination.
5 March 2024. Dr Tamhane noted that Mr Chdid had undergone surgery to his left ear. He recorded that Mr Chdid had worked in noisy employment for about 25 years, and that he was self-employed for some of that time. Dr Tamhane undertook an audiogram which he said showed moderate to severe high tone sensorineural hearing loss in the right ear. In the left ear, he said that Mr Chdid had profound sensorineural hearing loss with no response at 3000Hz and 4000 HZ at 110dB. Dr Tamhane said that the tendencies, incidents and characteristics of the employment gave rise to a real risk of noise-induced hearing loss. 4. Dr Tamhane attributed the loss at 2000Hz, 3000Hz and 4000Hz in Mr Chdid's right ear to noise induced hearing loss. On the basis that "[h]earing loss as a result of noise exposure is always symmetrical and affects both the ears similarly", Dr Tamhane attributed the same percentage loss to Mr Chdid's left ear. He assessed 23.04% binaural hearing loss (after a deduction under s 323 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act)) which he converted to 12% whole person impairment (WPI). Dr Tamhane recommended hearing aids. 5. New Image's insurer, EML, obtained a report from Dr Howison, ear, nose and throat surgeon, dated 12 July 2024. Based on the history of Mr Chdid's duties with New Image, Dr Howison concluded that the noise to which he was exposed would be sufficient to cause industrial deafness so that New Image was Mr Chdid's last noisy employer. He recorded that Mr Chdid suffered total loss of hearing in his left ear many years ago and that he had had surgery to his right ear. Dr Howison said that Mr Chdid does not have noise induced hearing loss because the "total loss of hearing in the left ear is never noise induced and noise induced hearing loss is never conductive in type". He said that the loss in Mr Chdid's right hear as a mixture of conductive and sensorineural hearing loss and that the bone conduction studies of the right ear showed a lesser loss at 4000 Hz than at 3000Hz and 2000Hz which is not conducive with noise induced hearing loss. Dr Howison observed that Mr Chdid's treating doctor, Prof Fagan, had never commented that he had industrial deafness and that Dr Tamhane's audiograms were not consistent with noise induced hearing loss. 6. The insurer issued two notices under s 78 of the 1998 Act on 31 July 2024 - one in respect of the claim for permanent claim and one in respect of the claim for s 60 expenses. There is no material difference in the matters relied on in each of two notices bearing the same date for disputing the payment of the relevant compensation. 7. The insurer had obtained reports from Prof Fagan who said on 11 May 2007 that there was no hearing in Mr Chdid's left ear due to a trauma many years ago and that there is fluctuating hearing loss in the right ear. The insurer said:
"Based on the assessment of Dr Howison, I dispute that your injury occurred in the course of your employment with A New Image Rendering NSW Pty Ltd or that your injury is covered by workers compensation."
PROCEDURE BEFORE THE PERSONAL INJURY COMMISSION
"O'Grady DP held that the question of whether a worker had suffered a 'further loss' of hearing was properly characterised as a factual dispute which needed to be determined before any referral for assessment to an approved medical specialist and relied on the decision in Haroun -v- Rail Corporation of NSW [2008] NSWCA 192 in which Handley JA stated (at 141):
'The scheme for the settlement of compensation disputes established by the 1998 Act read with the Workers Compensation Act 1987 . . . is to have factual and legal issues resolved by an Arbitrator subject to an appeal to a President or Deputy President, and to have certain medical issues decided by an AMS subject to an appeal to a Panel'."
"deems industrial deafness to have occurred as if in 'one blow' on the last day of relevant noisy employment. Liability attaches to the last noisy employer once it is established that such employment had the tendencies, incidents or characteristics capable of causing industrial deafness. It is not necessary for a worker to prove actual causation or to apportion responsibility between employers, subject to limited exceptions."
"It follows from these authorities [Smith v Mann [1932] HCA 30; (1932) 47 CLR 426; Tame v Commonwealth Collieries Pty Ltd [1947] NSWStRp 9; (1947) 47 SR (NSW) 269 and Commonwealth v Bourne [1960] HCA 26; (1960) 104 CLR 32] that in determining whether, at the time when notice of injury was given, Mr Lobley was 'employed in an employment to the nature of which the injury was due', attention must be directed not to whether the employment then engaged in actually caused the injury but whether the 'tendencies, incidents or characteristics' of that employment were of a type which could give rise to the injury in fact suffered."
medical dispute means a dispute between a claimant and the person on whom a claim is made about any of the following matters or a question about any of the following matters in connection with a claim -
(a) the worker's condition (including the worker's prognosis, the aetiology of the condition, and the treatment proposed or provided),
(c) the degree of permanent impairment of the worker as a result of an injury,
(d) whether any proportion of permanent impairment is due to any previous injury or pre-existing condition or abnormality, and the extent of that proportion,
(e) the nature and extent of loss of hearing suffered by a worker,
(g) whether the degree of permanent impairment of the injured worker is fully ascertainable."
"However, that is not to say that there is no scope for an approved medical specialist or Appeal Panel to make findings of fact necessary for the performance of the function that they are given under the Management Act. Questions of causation are not foreign to medical disputes within the meaning of that term when used in the Management Act. A medical dispute is a dispute about or a question about any of the matters set out in s 319. Those matters include the degree of permanent impairment of a worker as a result of an injury, and whether any proportion of permanent impairment is due to any previous injury or pre-existing condition or abnormality. The words in bold in relation to each of those matters call for a determination of a causal connection. Thus, the language of causal connection is squarely within the definition of 'medical dispute'. Having regard to the conclusive effect of s 326, it is desirable to avoid drawing a rigid distinction between jurisdiction to decide issues of liability and jurisdiction to decide medical issues. There is no bright line delineating causation from medical evidence. Issues of causation may well involve disputes between medical experts that must be resolved by an approved medical specialist or by an Appeal Panel (see Zanardo v Tolevski [2013] NSWCA 449 at [35])."(emphasis in original)
"The injury 'in fact suffered' in the present case is a 'further loss' of hearing. I accept the respondent's argument that there exists a factual dispute as to whether the 'tendencies, incidents or characteristics' of Mr Manuel's employment were such that they could give rise 'to the injury in fact suffered'. That dispute arises by reason of the evidence of Dr Seymour, which contradicts that of Dr Tamhane. The dispute concerns the very question posed by Cole JA in Lobley.
I am of the opinion that the dispute between the parties may properly be characterised as a factual dispute as addressed in Haroun and is one which needs to be determined before any referral for assessment to an AMS: s 321(4)(a) of the 1998 Act."
[2] Commissioner for Railways v Bain [1965] HCA 5; Blayney Shire Council v Lobley (1995) 12 NSWCCR 52 (Lobley); Rico Pty Ltd v Road Traffic Authority (1992) 28 NSWLR 679; A & G Engineering Pty Ltd v Civitarese (1996) 41 NSWLR 41.
[4] [2014] NSWCA 264 at [110].
Chdid
A New Image Rendering
(1932) 47 CLR 426
(1960) 104 CLR 32
(1995) 12 NSWCCR 52
(1992) 28 NSWLR 679
(1996) 41 NSWLR 41