austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/626
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-11-24
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) from 12 February 2025 to 30 March 2025 at the rate of $2,523 per week;
(b) from 1 April 2025 to 30 September 2025 at the rate of $2,569.60 per week, and
(c) from 1 October 2025 to date and continuing at the rate of $2,604.80 per week.
A brief statement is attached setting out the Commission's reasons for the determination.
(a) injury to the lumbar spine;
(b) whether injury to the cervical spine is ongoing;
(c) entitlement to weekly compensation (both generally and with respect to the respondent's insurer's work capacity decision), and
(d) entitlement to medical expenses.
(a) whether injury to the cervical spine is ongoing;
(b) entitlement to weekly compensation (both generally and with respect to the respondent's insurer's work capacity decision), and
(c) entitlement to medical expenses.
PROCEDURE BEFORE THE PERSONAL INJURY COMMISSION
(a) Application to Resolve a Dispute and attached documents;
(b) applicant's Application to Lodge Additional Documents dated 17 July 2025;
(c) Reply and attached documents;
(d) respondent's Application to Lodge Additional Documents dated 8 August 2025;
(e) respondent's wages schedule dated 1 October 2025;
(f) respondent's Application to Lodge Additional Documents dated 7 October 2025, and
(g) applicant's wages schedule dated 8 October 2025.
"Weekly compensation during total or partial incapacity for work
If total or partial incapacity for work results from an injury, the compensation payable by the employer under this Act to the injured worker shall include a weekly payment during the incapacity."
10 February 2025. Dr Wallace accepted that the applicant suffered injury to his cervical spine on 7 August 2023. He noted that he did not immediately undergo medical treatment but eventually saw his general practitioner and was referred for conservative treatment and a corticosteroid injection to the cervical spine. At the time of the assessment in February 2025 he was continuing with exercise physiology and using Panadeine Forte. 4. Dr Wallace considered the applicant suffered a minor cervical spine injury however the mechanism of injury was not consistent with causing significant cervical spine pathology. He considered the minor injury would have settled within a week of the incident and that the residual symptoms were due to pre-existing degenerative change. 5. The respondent also submitted that the symptoms in the cervical spine following the injury were minor demonstrated by the fact that the applicant continued to work not only for the respondent but also as an Uber driver. 6. The respondent does not dispute that the injury on 7 August 2023 occurred as alleged by the applicant nor was any submission made that I would not accept the evidence of the applicant. 7. The applicant relies on a statement dated 10 March 2025. With respect to his cervical spine, he states that on 8 August 2023 while stepping onto a scissor lift, he struck his head on a beam above him which caused immediate significant pain to his neck. He states that he reported the injury to the respondent 'but later discovered that it was not reported as required'. He continued working but due to the physically demanding role and being in severe discomfort he could not continue and resigned on 8 December 2023. 8. This is consistent with a person who sustained an injury and thought he could continue working until such a point that the symptoms became too much. He also states that he ceased the Uber driving as it was not financially viable. 9. The evidence of the applicant with respect to why he continued working following the injury through to 8 December 2023 is coherent, logical and consistent. I do not accept the respondent's submission that it supports the opinion of Dr Wallace that the injury sustained by the applicant was minor and resolved within one week. 10. He notes that he has been diagnosed with C3/4 cervical radiculopathy and C5/6 facet joint injury with ongoing pain, stiffness and reduced range of motion in his neck. He states that his sleep is disturbed due to pain (although it is not clear whether the pain emanates from his neck or his back and shoulder which are now not subject to the claim). 11. The applicant was assessed at the request of his solicitors by Dr Porteous on 9 December 2024 with a report being provided dated 23 December 2024. 12. At that time Dr Porteous recorded that the applicant reported "neck/right shoulder pain rated 5-9/10". Examination revealed reduced range of motion in the cervical spine. Dr Porteous diagnosed the applicant with an aggravation or exacerbation of early underlying degenerative change in the cervical spine although noted that probably C4 radiculopathy had settled. 13. Dr Porteous noted the history provided by the applicant that he had been well before the accident and that the conditions started at work and have been present since. It is on this basis that Dr Porteous expressed the opinion that employment was the main contributing factor to an aggravation injury to the cervical spine. He noted that his prognosis was guarded and the applicant had chronic cervical pain. 14. The applicant has been under the care of his occupational physician, Dr Crowie since April 2024. In a report of 19 April 2024, Dr Crowie noting there were ongoing complaints of cervical pain. On 14 June 2024 it was noted the applicant continued to wake multiple times per night with cervical spine pain. 15. The records of the applicant's general practitioner, Dr Herrman, are also before the Commission. The records are extensive dating back to September 2010 with the applicant attending on Dr Herrman and others at the practice regularly. During submissions I was not taken to any complaints recorded by the general practitioner with respect to the cervical spine prior to the work injury, which is consistent with the history provided to Dr Porteous that he was well prior to the injury. 16. Dr Herrman's records indicate ongoing complaints of pain and restriction in the cervical spine from his first attendance on 12 December 2023 through until the records cease in February 2025. 17. Dr Herrman noted on 3 February 2025 that his condition was "stable, injuries chronic, unable to fine work" although the final note did not distinguish between the injury to the cervical spine and the injuries to the lumbar spine and shoulder which have not been pressed by the applicant in the proceedings. 18. Dr Herrman continued to issue certificates of capacity up to 3 February 2025 with respect to the cervical spine certifying the applicant fit for suitable duties on reduced hours. Dr Herrman issued a further certificate certifying the applicant totally unfit for work from 3 March 2025. There are no clinical notes before the Commission with respect to the basis for the decrease in capacity from 3 March 2025 onwards nor does the applicant provide any details other than to state "On 3 March 2025, I attended upon Dr Herrman for consultation. He completed my certificate of capacity, certifying me as having no capacity for work". 19. Having regard to the statement evidence of the applicant, the records of the applicant's general practitioner Dr Herrman and the treating records of Dr Crowie it is evident that the condition in the applicant's cervical spine, including ongoing symptoms and reduced function is ongoing. The records of Dr Herrman and Dr Crowie are consistent with the statement evidence of the applicant and are supported by the opinion of Dr Porteous that the applicant suffered from chronic cervical pain with a guarded prognosis. 20. For these reasons I am satisfied the applicant did not have cervical spine symptoms prior to his injury and that the symptoms in his cervical spine continue as a result of the work injury. 21. The applicant is therefore entitled to ongoing weekly compensation (subject to the operation of the 1987 Act) and medical expenses in accordance with s 60 of the 1987 Act.
"37 Weekly payments during second entitlement period (weeks 14-130)
(1) The weekly payment of compensation to which an injured worker who has no current work capacity is entitled during the second entitlement period is to be at the rate of 80% of the worker's pre-injury average weekly earnings.
(2) The weekly payment of compensation to which an injured worker who has current work capacity and has returned to work for not less than 15 hours per week is entitled during the second entitlement period is to be at the lesser of the following rates--
(a) 95% of the worker's pre-injury average weekly earnings, less the worker's current weekly earnings,
(b) the maximum weekly compensation amount, less the worker's current weekly earnings.
(3) The weekly payment of compensation to which an injured worker who has current work capacity and has returned to work for less than 15 hours per week (or who has not returned to work) is entitled during the second entitlement period is to be at the lesser of the following rates--
(a) 80% of the worker's pre-injury average weekly earnings, less the worker's current weekly earnings,
(b) the maximum weekly compensation amount, less the worker's current weekly earnings."
'current work capacity' if the worker has a present inability arising from the injury such that the worker is able to return to the worker's pre-injury employment, or is able to return to work in suitable employment, but the weekly amount that the worker has the capacity to earn in any such employment is less than the weekly amount that the worker had the capacity to earn in that employment immediately before the injury.
'no current work capacity' if the worker has a present inability arising from an injury such that the worker is not able to return to work, either in the worker's pre-injury employment or in suitable employment."
"'suitable employment', in relation to a worker, means employment in work for which the worker is currently suited--
(i) the nature of the worker's incapacity and the details provided in medical information including, but not limited to, any certificate of capacity supplied by the worker (under section 44B), and
(ii) the worker's age, education, skills and work experience, and
(iii) any plan or document prepared as part of the return to work planning process, including an injury management plan under Chapter 3 of the 1998 Act, and
(iv) any occupational rehabilitation services that are being, or have been, provided to or for the worker, and
(v) such other matters as the Workers Compensation Guidelines may specify, and
(i) whether the work or the employment is available, and
(ii) whether the work or the employment is of a type or nature that is generally available in the employment market, and
(iii) the nature of the worker's pre-injury employment, and
Dr Herrman when he placed restrictions on the applicant's medical certificates. There is no suggestion that he undertook the extensive functional testing undertaken by Actual Rehab in November 2024. Given the specificity of the assessment and report, I prefer the functional assessment by Actual Rehab over the opinion expressed in the certificates by Dr Herrman. 8. A review of the 1 November 2024 work capacity decision was undertaken on 21 March 2025. Despite holding the functional assessment, it does not appear the respondent's insurer considered it when re-considering the 1 November 2024 decision. 9. I accept the applicant's submission that working as a picture framer generally requires standing at a work bench and looking down at the bench while undertaking framing work. I accept that the applicant's ability to look down while working and his ability to stand for extended periods is impaired as demonstrated by the Actual Rehab vocational assessment and the opinion of Dr Porteous. 10. While I appreciated that the role had been identified as suitable by Dr Herrman, I am not satisfied that Dr Herrman's opinion was supported by functional testing nor had he been asked to comment on the Actual Rehab functional assessment. Further, the findings in the functional assessment are inconsistent with the basis for the opinions expressed in the earlier vocational assessment and labour market analysis by Actual Rehab. 11. For these reasons I do not accept that work as a picture framer is suitable employment for the applicant having regard to the available medical and rehabilitation material. 12. As far as the additional roles identified by Actual Rehab were advanced as being suitable employment by the respondent, having regard to the issue identified with the inconsistency between the applicant's functional capacity as set out in the functional report and the functional capacity which formed the basis for the opinions expressed in the vocational report and labour market analysis I am not satisfied that these roles amount to suitable employment for the applicant. 13. There is no evidence before the Commission with respect to any other roles which may be suitable for the applicant and as such I am not satisfied the applicant is capable of working in suitable employment and therefore has 'no current work capacity'. 14. As such, the applicant is entitled to weekly compensation on the basis he has no current work capacity.
Cabacas
Precision Cut Services Australia Pty Ltd