[2025] WADC 81
General information, not legal advice.
District Court of WA
2025-11-12
Original judgment source is linked above.
JURISDICTION : DISTRICT COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
CITATION : LHRE GROUP PTY LTD -v- COMPLETE HIRE & SALES PTY LTD [2025] WADC 81
HEARD : 25, 26 & 27 JUNE 2025 WITH SUPPLEMENTARY WRITTEN SUBMISSIONS FILED ON 14 JULY 2025
Building and Construction Industry (Security of Payment) Act 2021 (WA) - Whether contract can be inferred from objective circumstances - Whether Jones v Dunkel inferences can be drawn - Post-contractual silence as admission - Whether ostensible or apparent authority can be relied upon positively by principal - Whether debt was assigned
Aon Risk Services Australia Ltd v Australian National University [2009] HCA 27; (2009) 239 CLR 175
Australian Competition and Consumer Commission v J Hutchinson Pty Ltd [2025] HCA 10
Australian Energy Ltd v Lennard Oil NL [1986] 2 Qd R 216
B Seppelt & Sons Ltd v Commissioner for Main Roads (1975) 1 BPR 9147
Bradshaw v McEwans Pty Ltd (1951) 217 ALR 1
Brambles Holdings Ltd v Bathurst City Council [2001] NSWCA 61; (2001) 53 NSWLR 153
Briginshaw v Briginshaw [1938] HCA 34; (1938) 60 CLR 336
Cargill Australia Ltd v Viterra Malt Pty Ltd (No 28) [2022] VSC 13
Chamberlain v The Queen [1984] HCA 7; (1984) 153 CLR 521
DM Drainage & Constructions Pty Ltd v Karara Mining Ltd [No 6] [2021] WASC 410
Fabre v Arenales (1992) 27 NSWLR 437
Glass v Pioneer Rubber Works of Australia Ltd [1906] ArgusLawRp 120; [1906] VLR 754
Harry S Bagg's Liquidation Warehouse Pty Ltd v Whittaker (1982) 44 NSWLR 421
Haynes v McNeil [1906] WALawRp 51; (1906) 8 WALR 186
Hightime Investments Pty Ltd v Adamus Resources Ltd [2012] WASC 295
Hughes v NM Superannuation Pty Ltd (1993) 29 NSWLR 653
Jones v Dunkel [1959] HCA 8; (1959) 101 CLR 298
Junker v Hepburn [2010] NSWSC 88
La Mela v Franklexis Pty Ltd [2020] WASCA 83
LHRE Group Pty Ltd v Complete Hire & Sales Pty Ltd [2024] WADC 61
Luxton v Vines [1952] HCA 19; (1952) 85 CLR 352
Lysaght Bros & Co Ltd v Falk [1905] HCA 7; (1905) 2 CLR 421
Mirabela Nickel Ltd (in liq) (Receivers and Managers Appointed) v Mining Standards International Pty Ltd [2025] WASCA 82
Nominal Defendant v Owens (1978) 22 ALR 128
OSB Group Pty Ltd v Complete Hire & Sales Pty Ltd [2024] WASC 310
Pacific Carriers Ltd v BNP Paribas [2004] HCA 35
Probuild Constructions (Aust) Pty Ltd v Shade Systems Pty Ltd [2018] HCA 4
Quickway Constructions Pty Ltd v Electrical Energy Pty Ltd [2017] NSWCA 337
Re Swan Services Pty Ltd (in liq) [2016] NSWSC 1724
Reynell v Lewis [1846] EngR 1141; (1846) 15 M & W 517; (1846) 153 ER 954
Sino Iron Pty Ltd v Mineralogy Pty Ltd [2014] WASC 406
Subdivisions Ltd v Payne [1934] SAStRp 48; [1934] SASR 214
Tomko v Palasty [2007] NSWCA 258
Transport Industries Insurance Co Ltd v Longmuir [1997] 1 VR 125
Westgem Investments Pty Ltd in its own right as Trustee for Hossean Pourzand and Jenny Maria Pourzand atf the Helen Trust v Commonwealth Bank of Australia Ltd [No 5] [2019] WASC 310
Winks v WH Heck & Sons Pty Ltd [1986] 1 Qd R 226
(a) the hours and names per person to be included on the invoice;
(b) the invoice to stipulate that the remedial works to the Spinifex Hotel was to rooms 1 - 34;
(d) to ensure that no travel was charged for and if there were claims for material for it to be identified; and
(e) identifying that the payor may need to be changed to the Spinifex Hotel which would be further clarified by Complete personnel.[20]
The plaintiff's pleaded case and the position of the defendant
(a) granting the application had no adverse consequences of delay;
(b) there appeared to be no prejudice to the defendant in granting leave to amend in circumstances where the amendments proposed did not alter the substantive issues requiring determination;
(c) the proposed amendments had no consequential flow on effect in relation to the evidence which would be heard during trial;
(d) the proposed amendments did not necessitate any consequential amendments to the defence nor necessitate the defendant requiring to produce or seek further discovery or necessitate additional witnesses to be called to give evidence at trial; and
(e) the amendments were necessary for the plaintiff to properly articulate its claim in the particular statutory context in which the claim had been brought and relied upon the same pleaded particulars.
(a) oral request made by Mr Dillon to Michael on 17 May 2023 requesting the provision of labour for maintenance work to be performed at the Spinifex Hotel;
(b) in writing, by email, from Kevin on 18 May 2023 to Mr Dillon identifying the available labour;
(c) orally, by telephone, on 26 May 2023 between Complete's project manager, Mr Ian Massey, instructing Kevin to mobilise two carpenters, two labourers, and a plumber to the site and confirming separately by way of email dated 26 May 2023 from Mr Massey to Complete's operations manager, Ms Gemma Lees;
(d) in writing, by email, from Kevin on 29 May 2023 to Mr Massey enclosing labour hire terms and conditions; and
(e) by conduct, through the engagement by Complete of the labour supplied by LHRE commencing on 1 June 2023.
(a) it denies that it entered into an agreement or an arrangement with the plaintiff to supply labour in order to perform remedial works at the Spinifex Hotel;
(b) says further that between 12 and 26 May 2023, Michael and Kevin, acting for and on behalf of OSB Group, communicated with the defendant about works to be performed at the Spinifex Hotel as particularised:
(i) meeting held at the defendant's offices between Mr Dillon and Mr Massey, acting for and on behalf of the defendant and Michael acting for and on behalf of OSB Group on 12 May 2023;
(ii) telephone conversation between Mr Dillon, acting for and on behalf of the defendant and Michael, acting for and on behalf of OSB Group on a date between 12 and 18 May 2023;
(iii) email from Michael, acting for and on behalf of OSB Group to Mr Dillon, acting for and on behalf of the defendant dated 18 May 2023;
(iv) telephone conversation between Mr Dillon, acting for and on behalf of the defendant and Kevin, acting for and on behalf of OSB Group on a date between 18 and 26 May 2023; and
(v) email from Kevin, acting for and on behalf of OSB Group to Mr Massey, acting for and on behalf of Complete dated 26 May 2023;
(c) the defendant therefore denies the plaintiff's entitlement to a payment claim pursuant to the SOP Act;
(d) in the alternative, the defendant pleads that if the parties entered into the contract as pleaded by the plaintiff, then by no later than 2 October 2023 the plaintiff assigned its right, title and interest in and under that contract to Scottish Pacific (BFS) Pty Ltd, including its right, title and interest in any payments the defendant was required to make pursuant to the following particulars:
(i) the assignment is to be inferred from the written statements to the effect contained in invoices issued to the defendant; and
(ii) the emails attaching the invoices constitute notice to the defendant of the assignment pursuant to s 20(1) of the Property Law Act 1969 (WA);
(e) as such the defendant pleads that it was not obliged to provide a payment schedule to the plaintiff nor was it obliged to pay the claim because the relevant statutory requirements are not met and therefore the plaintiff is not entitled to any relief.
We specifically made a point of it because it [LHRE] was owed 3 million, and OSB [Group] was only owed a million.
Please see attached for the labour supply outline [sic] below can you have this fill [sic] out and sent back thanks.
We can't alter an invoice. If they've got signed sheets that are signed by his own party and our party, that is the evidence that you give for an invoice. You can't just go altering invoices to suit someone. It's got to be what's on - that's what you're billing for ... we can't just go along and write whatever we want. If we give an invoice with all the sheets, that is the back up paperwork. It's the same across every contract job that we do. You send evidence which are invoice [sic]. Otherwise you'd have hundreds of invoices.
(a) there were no issues with money and the invoice would be paid; and
(b) he wanted LHRE to reword the invoice so that he could make a claim from the Government Relief Fund for damage to rural businesses from the bad weather that occurred earlier that year.
We hit it off because of the Koodaideri contract, he - he was on that as well with Pindan. We lost 4 million. 3 million was to LHRE. Another million was to OSB, and we talked about Kenneth Baker.
I know, and that is remarkable how he can say that, because it also points to the fact that his project manager - we left that meeting and then were sending emails and he asked for his wife for a job on the 6th, so nobody knew about LHRE. You would have had to have been in that meeting to have known about LHRE. ... in that meeting it was asked as well, 'What does OSB Group stand for? What does LHRE Group stand for?'
Sent from Kevin OSB. LHRE is their labour hire division.
Cos - Sam Rodgers is the contracts administrator, and she administrates the contracts for me.
I can see the words LHRE. I can see it says it's a labour hire division. Yes.
Mate the invoice is one day old.
Wish you mobilised as quick.
We need the hours and names per person on the invoice please.
I need the invoice to say remedial works to the Spinifex Hotel Derby WA hotel rms 1-34.
State the terms on the invoice.
Work with Gemma if you can.
F you do that next 24 hours it will be paid in the next run which is Friday the 14th but I need it done and approved by tomorrow night (please).
Ensure no travel charged for and if you are claiming material we can see what that is also.
Gemma may want it invoiced to spinifex hotel also but she can tell you.
Because it's 4 July - it's - the day - I assumed it was - I never opened it. If - if I got something today, it's a day old.
Counsel: Mr Dillon, we just looked at the invoice together. It was dated 3 July?---Yeah, which would make it two days old.
Counsel: Is that a serious answer, Mr Dillon?---Definitely. Yeah. I mean, if I was born today, and died today, how old was I?
Counsel: Well, Mr Dillon, how did you know the invoice didn't have the hours and the names of the persons, if you didn't open it?---I didn't know it did or didn't. I don't say it didn't. I just - I'm trying to help them get paid.
Counsel: Exactly. You did make it clear it's the matters raised in your 4 July email, none of which concerns LHRE, Mr Dillon?---Cos LHRE didn't exist.
If you can please apply that credit to the invoice, I can run it past Emanuel again for his final sign-off.
Credibility, assessments and findings on disputed facts
(a) When witnesses give inconsistent accounts of discussions and meetings which took place some years earlier in time, their veracity is often tested by reference to the objective facts proved independently of the testimony given, in particular by reference to the contemporaneous documentary evidence, the motives of the witnesses, and the overall probabilities.[169]
(b) When there is inconsistent evidence before the court as to oral discussions which took place some period of time before the trial, the court need only be reasonably satisfied of the salient features of the alleged conversation, that it is more probable than not that words of that substance or effect were spoken. The precise words spoken need not be proved.[170]
(c) When the court is invited to make a finding that a witness has deliberately lied in their evidence, given the potential serious consequences which may flow from allegations of perjury, 'reasonable satisfaction' of such a matter should not be reached by inexact proofs, indefinite testimony or indirect inferences. The civil standard of proof remains the same, but the seriousness of the issue affects the process by which reasonable satisfaction is attained.[171]
(e) The evidence must be considered as a whole, rather than in a piece-meal or selective fashion.[174] The court must consider the weight which is to be given to the united force of all the circumstances put together in determining whether they raise a more probable inference in favour of what is alleged.[175]
(a) that it was provided one day late, namely the invoice was dated 3 July 2023, and it was provided the following day on 4 July 2023;
(b) that the invoice did not provide the hours or the names of the personnel who were supplied;
(c) that the invoice did not state that it was in relation to remedial works in respect to the Spinifex Hotel in Derby, Western Australia, in relation to rooms 1 - 34;
(d) that it did not state the terms on the invoice beyond requiring payment to be made within 30 days;
(e) that it was not invoiced to the Spinifex Hotel; and
(f) that it was not clear on the face of it whether travel had been charged for and whether there was any claim in respect to materials.[184]
The rule in Jones v Dunkel is accepted to be an application of the maxim that evidence is to be weighed according to the proof which it was within the power of one side to have produced and in the power of the other to have contradicted.
There are, however, well established limits to what may be established by a Jones v Dunkel inference. In particular:
(1) The evident purpose of the procedure contemplated by s 25 of the Act is to encourage a respondent to engage with a payment claim.
(2) With the benefit of a payment schedule, the claimant will quickly know whether its claim is accepted or contested (and if contested, the reason why).
(3) The payment schedule serves the important function of informing the claimant of the metes and bounds of the dispute so that the respondent can make an informed choice as to how to proceed.
(4) If the [claimed or scheduled amount owed] is not paid by the due date, the Act creates a statutory debt in favour of the claimant which may be recovered in proceedings before a competent court.
(5) In short, the approach reflects a 'clear parliamentary intention of "speak up or pay up"'.
(a) the emails exchanged between 18 May and 26 May 2023 evidences the scope of works to be carried out as opposed to evincing an objective intention by the parties to be bound immediately and comprehensively;
(b) once the scope of works had been identified, the plaintiff was then in a position to make its offer by proffering its terms and conditions of supply on 29 May 2023 which the plaintiff submits was an offer in the most classical sense;
(c) the plaintiff notes that an offeror may prescribe a method of acceptance, which in this case was the acceptance by the defendant of the labour onsite constituting its agreement to the plaintiff's stipulated terms and conditions;[204] and
(d) once the labour mobilised onsite on 1 June 2023 the plaintiff submits the defendant accepted its terms and conditions and the offer was formally accepted.
(a) the various communications of LHRE material provided to Complete;
(b) the evidence before the court that LHRE supplied and paid for the labour personnel;[206] and
(c) the conduct of Mr Dillon on behalf of the defendant in treating uncontroversial the presence of LHRE as the invoicing party at all times and thus as the legally contracted party.
(a) the pre-contractual written communications, and the written communications by which the contract was formed, were all sent and received on behalf of OSB Group. As such, the defendant submits that a reasonable person would have understood that it was OSB Group who was offering to perform construction work for Complete and who ultimately undertook to carry out that work;
(b) there is no written communication or other form of documentary evidence capable of establishing that Complete's directing mind and will (being Mr Dillon) knew about the existence of LHRE until after the essential terms of the construction contract were agreed with OSB Group (which occurred on 26 May 2023); and
(c) conduct occurring contemporaneously with OSB Group's performance of the work unequivocally supports the conclusion that it was that entity, and not LHRE, that contracted with Complete.
(a) the day worksheets in respect of which the box of OSB Group was ticked, being documents completed by Mr McPherson, who was also described as an employee of OSB Group in contemporaneous correspondence;
(b) Mr Swain's site report of 6 June 2023 which referred to the work being performed by employees of OSB Group;[213] and
(c) the failure of Kevin and Michael at any time to correct references in email correspondence that the labour supplied to the Spinifex Hotel were employees of OSB Group.
(a) any reliance on that document is ill-founded and misplaced in circumstances where Complete did not ask for credit, and nor did it execute the credit application;
(b) the terms and conditions form part of a 4-page document, with pages 1 and 2 being the credit application and pages 3 and 4 appearing to be the terms and conditions regulating the provision of any credit;
(c) it is not in contention that Complete never sought credit, was never provided any credit, nor was party to any terms and conditions in respect to any provision of credit;
(d) in any event the credit application must be executed by the relevant party in order to acknowledge that they have read and understood the attached terms and conditions thus expressly acknowledging not only that the four pages constitute one collective document, but secondly the document takes no effect unless the certification statement is completed as stipulated;
(e) on its plain reading the credit application regulates the provision of credit to the successful credit applicant and stands separately and aside from the contract for the supply of labour which clearly proceeded in the absence of any application for credit being sought or granted;
(f) the credit application was not a separate document to the terms and conditions as evidenced by the fact that the documents are numbered sequentially and given that the terms and conditions were never provided to the defendant in the absence of the credit application;[214] and
(g) whilst the defendant accepts that an offeror can prescribe a mode of acceptance, in this case there was no evidence of a prescribed mode of acceptance in relation to the 4-page document given that neither party conducted themselves in a manner which evidenced that they were bound by it. For example, the defendant notes that LHRE did not provide a schedule of rates as required by cl 3.1, invoices were not issued weekly as required by cl 4.1 and the invoice which was issued was not required to be paid within 14 days (cl 4.2).
(a) examining what the parties said and did in the context in which those statements and actions occurred;
(b) an objective discernment of the import and meaning of relevant contemporaneous documents;
(c) having regard to the surrounding relevant circumstances as found to be known by the parties; and
(d) the genesis, purpose and object of the relevant transaction.[219]
(a) post-contractual conduct is admissible on the question of whether a contract was formed;[221]
(b) subsequent communications may legitimately be used against a party as an admission by conduct of the existence or non-existence, as the case may be, of a subsisting contract, where an issue concerns whether a particular person was a party to the contract;[222]
(c) subsequent communications may be taken into account (including silence in response to a propounded contractual position) as a factor in determining whether prior dealings between the parties gave rise to a binding agreement;[223]
(d) the post-contractual conduct cannot permissibly be used in order to interpret the terms of a contract but rather is confined to the question as to what was the real contract between the parties and what were their beliefs as to the effect of the written contract;[224] and
(e) it is only in cases where the post-contractual evidence is clear that inferences, such as the existence of a contract, will be drawn. Nevertheless, there is nothing in principle which prevents proof of a contract by admissions as long as the admission is made with sufficient clarity and deliberation.[225]
(a) Mr Dillon, the controlling mind and will of the defendant, knew as of 12 May 2023 that the O'Shea brothers operated through two business entities, OSB Group which undertook primarily large mining contracts and LHRE which was its labour supply division;
(b) on 17 May 2023, Mr Dillon, acting as Complete, enquired of Michael labour supply services for rectification works at the Spinifex Hotel. This conversation took place five days after Mr Dillon attended a meeting during which he was informed that LHRE provided that very type of service; and
(c) whilst the defendant certainly received emails in respect of the Spinifex Hotel works on the email address of OSB Group, I note the following:
(i) simultaneously during the relevant period, the defendant was also negotiating with OSB Group in relation to the Onslow Project. The defendant was therefore in communications with both Kevin and Michael utilising the OSB Group email addresses for that separate but simultaneously negotiated arrangement;
(ii) the defendant knew that both OSB Group and LHRE were companies of the O'Shea brothers;
(iii) the unchallenged evidence before the court is that both OSB Group and LHRE operated from the same office premises and shared the same administrative personnel and indeed utilised the same casual labour workforce across their projects. That is, there was fluidity across the organisational structures and operations of those entities as one might expect when both are operated by two brothers;[227]
(iv) it ought to be uncontroversial for the court to recognise that in the current technological world in which individuals operate, and the speed within which they do so, that often the email address from which one chooses to communicate is simply a matter of convenience rather than the conveyance of a level of formality. This is particularly so when individuals have access to multiple email addresses. In the context of this case the O'Shea brothers were already communicating with Mr Dillon using their OSB Group email. As a matter of convenience, it seems logical that they would continue to do so despite extending into communications in relation to a different project.
(a) a standalone document can nevertheless be attached to various documents, relevantly here, to a credit application form, without it forming part of that document. Many such examples exist such as appendices to research or conference papers, schedules to contracts, annexures to legal documents and so on. In such circumstances the appendices or annexures are clearly capable of standing alone despite being numbered consecutively together with the document to which they relate;
(b) on each occasion that the documents were provided to Complete the LHRE standard terms and conditions document was attached separately to the credit form application and entitled 'LHRE labour hire client terms and conditions'. It was only when the contract had been performed that the LHRE credit application form was sent to Complete absent the attachment of the LHRE terms and conditions, for obvious reasons given that the labour to which the terms and conditions purportedly related had by that stage been performed;[237]
(c) the LHRE terms and conditions document makes only a passing reference to the provision of credit (in cl 4.2, 4.3, 4.5, 4.10 and 4.12 which are applicable only if credit has been provided) and does not include any of the standard terms and conditions one would ordinarily expect to exist in relation to credit applications;
(d) rather, the LHRE terms and conditions document set out the very matters one would expect would be standard terms and conditions applicable to a contract for the supply of labour such as:
(i) the requirement for LHRE to provide a schedule of rates applicable to the relevant labour provided (cl 3.1);
(ii) if the labour hire's original duties as specified are changed, before they undertake that further work, notification needs to be provided to LHRE of the change so that it can verify whether the person is trained, competent and qualified to perform the new duties (cl 3.3);
(iii) providing the minimum period of hire of any given day of 4 hours (cl 3.4);
(iv) stipulating the period of notice to terminate the labour supply (cl 3.5);
(v) providing that where an offer of permanent employment is made to the labour supplied, the requirement that a current permanent placement fee is paid to LHRE (cl 4.6);
(vi) the requirement that the client will provide a safe work environment to the labour supplied and other provisions relevant to occupational health and safety obligations (cl 5);
(vii) requiring the client to be responsible for reimbursing LHRE for any and all medical costs associated with the initial placement of any labour supply and any ongoing medical costs associated with the placement (cl 6);
(viii) identifying LHRE obligations including in relation to warrantees in respect to the labour supply (cl 7);
(ix) provisions identifying the client's obligations including in relation to industrial relations, inductions, the maintenance of liability insurance and related matters (cl 8); and
(x) the requirement that the client or the client's representative sign the labour supply timesheets to confirm the hours to be paid are correct and the normal time and extraordinary time allocations are also correct (cl 9). Importantly cl 9.3 identifies that LHRE will invoice based on the timesheets;
(e) whilst the communications in relation to the documents exchanged between the parties were certainly unsophisticated in nature, in my view it was clear when the documents were provided to Complete that they related to the supply of labour the subject of previous communications exchanged between them on 26 May 2023.[238]
(a) it communicated in unequivocal terms to Complete, in circumstances where there had been some ambiguity, that LHRE was the offeror as opposed to OSB Group. Now whilst the formal corporate name of the plaintiff was not identified at that stage (by the omission of 'Pty Ltd'), that has little materiality to the court's finding. This is because it appears that the parties approached such matters with relative informality, perhaps more so on the part of Complete, which appeared to either refuse or certainly failed to provide even a purchase order when requested to do so which would have identified its formal legal corporate name;[239] and
(b) on one analysis, certainly the one proffered by the plaintiff, the provision of the LHRE standard terms and conditions document stipulated the mode of acceptance of the offer by Complete by way of cl 16.4 which provided:
your acceptance of subsequent employment of referred candidates from LHRE will constitute your agreement to these Standard Terms and Conditions.
(a) there was no direct evidence before the court as to who had in fact ticked the OSB Group box on the relevant day worksheets;
(b) even if the court were to draw an inference that the person who did so was Mr McPherson, the evidence before the court was that he was a mere employee used across both corporate entities, namely both the plaintiff and OSB Group, who had no authority to bind either company;
(c) therefore, if the court were to draw such an inference the evidence at its highest would support the court finding that Mr McPherson had a subjective view at the time that he was employed by OSB Group. His subjective view in that regard is of course irrelevant to the objective determination which needs to be undertaken by this court;
(d) each of the day worksheets were reproduced in typed form and those documents did not replicate the selection of OSB Group as the company who performed the works;
(e) all of those documents collectively, the handwritten day worksheet records and the typed versions, were attached to a formal tax invoice clearly issued by the plaintiff; and
(f) the evidence before the court, which was both credible and reliable, was that the practice of ticking the box by an employee onsite was not determinative of which corporate entity performed the work. The evidence was also that the Spinifex Hotel project employees, including Mr McPherson, were employed by the plaintiff at the time and paid by the plaintiff.[260]
(b) Kevin's evidence that he did not see any cause to correct information in an email from Mr Dillon to Michael on 6 June 2023 (which appeared on a chain of emails to which Kevin became a recipient on 8 June 2023) in which Mr Dillon referred to Mr McPherson 'of OSB'.[263] In this regard the defendant submitted that Kevin did not see the need to correct the record because Mr McPherson was an OSB Group employee and was at the time working for that entity which is a finding that the court ought to make.
(a) the site report prepared by Mr Swain was emailed to Mr Dillon and Mr Massey and subsequently forwarded to other personnel of the defendant.[264] It was never provided to the plaintiff and certainly not to Kevin. It is unclear therefore the basis on which Kevin was able to explain why Mr Swain was referring to Mr McPherson as an OSB Group employee, or indeed the relevance in that regard of Mr Swain's subjective belief; and
(b) the email sent by Mr Dillon to Michael on 6 June 2023 which similarly refers to Mr McPherson as an OSB Group employee was not correspondence directed to Kevin.[265] Whilst the communication was forwarded to Kevin the following day, the email of that date did not refer to Mr McPherson as an employee of OSB Group and indeed when Kevin responded to Mr Dillon on 8 June 2023 he also did not refer to Mr McPherson as an employee of OSB Group. Kevin's evidence was that he did not read the email chain at the time, and I found that evidence credible.[266]
(a) the evidence of Kevin as to fluidity of the use of casual labour between the plaintiff and OSB Group and the context in which the communication arose, namely the use of Mr McPherson (and possibly other of the labourers) after the completion of the works at the Spinifex Hotel to be redirected and retained by OSB Group on the Onslow Project;
(b) the communication did not arise in material circumstances of significant legal import in which one would have a reasonable anticipation or expectation that a correction would be made;
(c) in any event such a correction in all the circumstances would perhaps have led to confusion on the part of Mr Dillon given that 10 days later Mr McPherson may well have been retained by OSB Group, given the casual, project driven nature of the employees used across both corporate entities;
(d) Kevin's recollection is that he did not read the full email chain when he received the email from Michael; and
(e) silence in such circumstances does not constitute a clear, unequivocal and deliberate admission that not only was the labour provided to the Spinifex Hotel employed at the relevant time by OSB Group, but that that entity was the contracting party with the defendant in relation to those works.
(a) the knowledge of the defendant of the plaintiff and the nature of its business following which within five days the defendant sought services of that very nature;
(b) the fact that the only formal documents provided to the defendant, including contractual standard terms and conditions, were documents of the plaintiff and the defendant, after receiving those documents, accepted the labour supplied to it;
(c) the evidence that the labour supplied to the defendant was supplied and paid for by the plaintiff; and
(d) the course of conduct of Mr Dillon referred to at [213] - [222] being an admission against interest from which the court draws an inference that the plaintiff was the correct invoicing and contracting party at all material times.
Whether the plaintiff assigned the debt owing to ScotPac
I certify that the preceding paragraph(s) comprise the reasons for decision of the District Court of Western Australia.
[1] Affidavit of Kevin Patrick O'Shea sworn 14 February 2024 (First O'Shea Affidavit), par 4.
[2] First O'Shea Affidavit, pars 1 and 4.
[4] First O'Shea Affidavit, par 6; Affidavit of Michael Anthony O'Shea sworn 28 May 2025 (M O'Shea Affidavit), par 4.
[5] Affidavit of Emanuel Richard Brian Dillon sworn 27 March 2024 (Second Dillon Affidavit), par 4.
[8] Second Dillon Affidavit, pars 6 and 7.
[9] Second Dillon Affidavit, pars 8 and 9.
[10] Affidavit of Kevin Patrick O'Shea sworn 27 May 2025 (Third O'Shea Affidavit), pars 7 and 8; M O'Shea Affidavit, pars 6 and 7.
[11] M O'Shea Affidavit, par 8; First O'Shea Affidavit, par 7; Second Dillon Affidavit, par 15; Amended Trial Bundle document (ATB) 4.
[13] First O'Shea Affidavit, pars 10 - 12; ATB 5, 10 - 12.
[15] First O'Shea Affidavit, pars 15 - 16; Second Dillon Affidavit, pars 25 and 33.
[16] Second Dillon Affidavit, par 25; First O'Shea Affidavit, par 17.
[17] Third O'Shea Affidavit, pars 13 and 14.
[21] ATB 26, 27, 34 - 38, 43, 57, 59 and 60.
[23] Westgem Investments Pty Ltd in its own right as Trustee for Hossean Pourzand and Jenny Maria Pourzand atf the Helen Trust v Commonwealth Bank of Australia Ltd [No 5] [2019] WASC 310 [96] (Tottle J).
[24] Aon Risk Services Australia Ltd v Australian National University [2009] HCA 27; (2009) 239 CLR 175 [111] (Gummow, Hayne, Crennan, Kiefel & Bell JJ).
[25] The principles identified in Aon Risk Services Australia Ltd v Australian National University were considered by Edelman J in Sino Iron Pty Ltd v Mineralogy Pty Ltd [2014] WASC 406 [31].
[26] LHRE Group Pty Ltd v Complete Hire & Sales Pty Ltd [2024] WADC 61.
[27] Briginshaw v Briginshaw [1938] HCA 34; (1938) 60 CLR 336, 361 (Dixon J).
[28] Nominal Defendant v Owens (1978) 22 ALR 128, 132 - 133.
[29] Nominal Defendant v Owens referring to the judgment in Luxton v Vines [1952] HCA 19; (1952) 85 CLR 352.
[32] Third O'Shea Affidavit, par 10; ATB 4.
[38] First O'Shea Affidavit, pars 11 and 12; ATB 10.
[39] First O'Shea Affidavit, par 13; ATB 11.
[49] Third O'Shea Affidavit, pars 27 - 29.
[53] First O'Shea Affidavit, pars 15 and 16.
[59] First O'Shea Affidavit, par 18; ATB 23.
[60] First O'Shea Affidavit, par 18; ATB 24 - 27, 34, 35, 37, 42 and 43.
[66] Third O'Shea Affidavit, par 30; ATB 46; ts 224.
[67] Third O'Shea Affidavit, pars 15 and 16.
[68] Third O'Shea Affidavit, pars 17 - 20; ATB 34.
[69] Third O'Shea Affidavit, par 21; ATB 35.
[85] M O'Shea Affidavit, pars 11 and 12.
[88] ts 151 (Kevin O'Shea); ts 241 (Michael O'Shea).
[89] Second Dillon Affidavit, pars 1 and 4.
[92] Second Dillon Affidavit, par 6; ts 292.
[93] Second Dillon Affidavit, par 6; ts 293.
[95] Second Dillon Affidavit, par 7; ts 294.
[98] Affidavit of Emanuel Richard Brian Dillon sworn 11 June 2025 (Third Dillon Affidavit), par 62; ts 296 - 297.
[101] ts 298; Affidavit of Emanuel Richard Brian Dillon sworn 14 March 2024 (First Dillon Affidavit) (MFI C).
[102] First Dillon Affidavit, pars 11 - 13; ts 298 - 301.
[103] Second Dillon Affidavit, par 14.
[104] Third Dillon Affidavit, pars 5 and 6.
[111]Second Dillon Affidavit, pars 25 and 33.
[143] ts 329 and 330; Second Dillon Affidavit, par 38.
[150] ts 332; Second Dillon Affidavit, par 40.
[169] Re Swan Services Pty Ltd (in liq) [2016] NSWSC 1724 [6] (Black J).
[170] DM Drainage & Constructions Pty Ltd v Karara Mining Ltd [No 6] [2021] WASC 410 (DM Drainage) [62].
[171] Briginshaw v Briginshaw (361) - (363) (Dixon J).
[172] Briginshaw v Briginshaw (360) (Dixon J).
[173] Bradshaw v McEwans Pty Ltd (1951) 217 ALR 1, 5.
[174] Transport Industries Insurance Co Ltd v Longmuir [1997] 1 VR 125, 141.
[175] Chamberlain v The Queen [1984] HCA 7; (1984) 153 CLR 521 [13] - [16].
[176] Third Dillon Affidavit, pars 9 and 10.
[180] Third Dillon Affidavit, par 40; ATB 22.
[183] ATB 15, 16, 17, 22 - 27; ts 314, 319 - 322, 333 and 334.
[188] Jones v Dunkel [1959] HCA 8; (1959) 101 CLR 298.
[189] DM Drainage [69] - [70].
[190] Fabre v Arenales (1992) 27 NSWLR 437, 449 - 450.
[200] OSB Group Pty Ltd v Complete Hire & Sales Pty Ltd [2024] WASC 310 [18].
[202] Probuild Constructions (Aust) Pty Ltd v Shade Systems Pty Ltd [2018] HCA 4 [40] in which the coram of the High Court quoted the New South Wales, Parliamentary Debates, Legislative Assembly, 12 November 2022, 6542: 'cash flow is the lifeblood of the construction industry'.
[210] Mirabela Nickel Ltd (in liq) (Receivers and Managers Appointed) v Mining Standards International Pty Ltd [2025] WASCA 82 (Mirabela Nickel) [193].
[215] Australian Competition and Consumer Commission v J Hutchinson Pty Ltd [2025] HCA 10 [19] - [20].
[216] La Mela v Franklexis Pty Ltd [2020] WASCA 83 [84]; See generally Furmston M and Tolhurst G, Contract Formation: Law and Practice (2nd ed, 2016), 2 - 5.
[217] Haynes v McNeil [1906] WALawRp 51; (1906) 8 WALR 186; Glass v Pioneer Rubber Works of Australia Ltd [1906] ArgusLawRp 120; [1906] VLR 754; Mirabela Nickel [192].
[218] Subdivisions Ltd v Payne [1934] SAStRp 48; [1934] SASR 214 [220]; Brambles Holdings Ltd v Bathurst City Council [2001] NSWCA 61 [71] - [79]; [2001] NSWCA 61; (2001) 53 NSWLR 153 (Brambles).
[222] Tomko v Palasty [2007] NSWCA 258 [68].
[223] Hughes v NM Superannuation Pty Ltd (1993) 29 NSWLR 653, 670 referring to B Seppelt & Sons Ltd v Commissioner for Main Roads (1975) 1 BPR 9147, 9149 and 9154 - 9156.
[224] Winks v WH Heck & Sons Pty Ltd [1986] 1 Qd R 226, 233.
[225] Australian Energy Ltd v Lennard Oil NL [1986] 2 Qd R 216, 237.
[227] ts 249 and 266 (Michael); ts 157 and 188 - 190 (Kevin).
[228] Hightime Investments Pty Ltd v Adamus Resources Ltd [2012] WASC 295 [142] (Edelman J) referring to Reynell v Lewis [1846] EngR 1141; (1846) 15 M & W 517, 526 - 527; [1846] EngR 1141; (1846) 153 ER 954, 958 (Pollock CB).
[229] Defendant's closing submissions, 14 July 2025, par 214.
[230] Lysaght Bros & Co Ltd v Falk [1905] HCA 7; (1905) 2 CLR 421, 427.
[231] Pacific Carriers Ltd v BNP Paribas [2004] HCA 35 [36].
[232] Junker v Hepburn [2010] NSWSC 88 [39] (Hammerschlag J).
[233] Cargill Australia Ltd v Viterra Malt Pty Ltd (No 28) [2022] VSC 13 [3090] (Elliott J).
[234] Harry S Bagg's Liquidation Warehouse Pty Ltd v Whittaker (1982) 44 NSWLR 421, 429 (Powell J).
[238] ATB 15 being an email from Kevin dated 29 May 2023 in which he informed Mr Massey (copied to Mr Dillon) 'Please see attached for the labour supply outline[d] below ...'.
[239] ATB 27; ts 210 and 216 (Kevin); ts 263 (Michael).
[242] ts 220 (Kevin); ts 260 (Michael).
[244] ATB 23 - 27, 34, 37, 38, 42, 43, 52 - 54 and 59.
[245] ATB 23, 24, 27, 34, 37, 38 and 43.
[248] ts 219 (Kevin); ts 244 (Michael).
[253] Second Dillon Affidavit, par 39 and Annexure 'ERD-10'; ATB 52.
[262] Defendant's closing submissions, 14 July 2025, par 122.
[263] ATB 27; Defendant's closing submissions, 14 July 2025, par 124.
[267] Affidavit of Kevin O'Shea sworn 16 April 2024 (Second O'Shea Affidavit), par 16; ts 244 and 255.
[270] Second O'Shea Affidavit, pars 13 - 16; Third O'Shea Affidavit, pars 26 - 29; M O'Shea Affidavit, par 12; ts 220 - 221 (Kevin); ts 255 - 257 (Michael).
[271] Quickway Constructions Pty Ltd v Electrical Energy Pty Ltd [2017] NSWCA 337 (Quickway).
Building and Construction Industry (Security of Payment) Act 2021 (WA) - Whether contract can be inferred from objective circumstances - Whether Jones
Dunkel inferences can be drawn - Post-contractual silence as admission - Whether ostensible or apparent authority can be relied upon positively by principal - Whether debt was assigned
(1992) 27 NSWLR 437
(1993) 29 NSWLR 653
(1959) 101 CLR 298
(1952) 85 CLR 352
(1978) 22 ALR 128
(1951) 217 ALR 1
(2001) 53 NSWLR 153
(1982) 44 NSWLR 421
(1905) 2 CLR 421
(1938) 60 CLR 336
(2009) 239 CLR 175
(1984) 153 CLR 521