austlii:tas/TASCAT/2025/173
General information, not legal advice.
TASCAT
2025-09-15
Original judgment source is linked above.
BT v The State of Tasmania (Department for Education, Children and Young People) [2025] TASCAT 173
The State of Tasmania (Department for Education, Children and Young People) (Employer)
Worker's final written submissions in reply - 2 July 2025.
Entitlement to compensation - Failure to make a claim within time - Determination of preliminary issue - Whether failure to make a claim occasioned by mistake or other reasonable cause.
L. v The State of Tasmania (Department of State Growth) [2022] TASCAT 104;
State of Tasmania v Muir-Wilson [2001] TASSC 30;
Tanase v ACME Engineering (Tas) Pty Ltd [2006] TASSC 100;
The decision has been anonymised for the purpose of publication.
32. Notice of injury and claim for compensation
(1) Subject to this Act, a person shall not be entitled to compensation under this Act for an injury to a worker unless -
(a) notice of the injury has, as soon as practicable after the occurrence of the injury and before the worker has voluntarily left the employment in which he suffered the injury, been given to the employer of the worker or a person referred to in section 33 (1) (b) ; and
(b) a claim for compensation with respect to the injury has been made within 6 months after the date of the occurrence of the injury, or where the injury results in the death of the worker, within 6 months after the date of the death.
(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to industrial deafness, but proceedings for the recovery under this Act of compensation in respect of industrial deafness are not maintainable unless the claim for compensation is made while the worker is still in the employment of the employer or within 6 months after the termination of that employment.
(2A) For the purposes of this Part, where a mining employee -
(a) suffers from silicosis, pneumoconiosis or fibrosis of the lungs within 12 months after ceasing to be a mining employee; or
(b) suffers from silicosis within 5 years after ceasing to be a mining employee, and since ceasing to be engaged in mining operations he or she has not engaged in any occupation in which he or she would be exposed to contamination by industrial dust; or
(c) suffers from lead poisoning or cadmium poisoning within 3 months after ceasing to be a mining employee; or
(d) suffers from lead poisoning within 6 months after ceasing to be a mining employee, and since ceasing to be engaged in mining operations he or she has not exposed himself or herself to contamination by lead in any form; or
(e) suffers from dermatitis caused by work within 2 months after ceasing to be a mining employee -
a claim for compensation is to be made no later than 6 months after the relevant period specified in this subsection or, where the disease results in the death of the mining employee, within 6 months after the date of the death.
(3) An employer who receives a claim for compensation shall be deemed to have been given notice of the injury to which it relates.
...
38. Effect of failure to make claim
(1) The failure to make a claim for compensation within the period prescribed by section 32(1)(b) , section 32(2) or section 32(2A) does not affect the validity of the claim if the failure was occasioned by mistake, absence from the State of the worker, or other reasonable cause.
(2) Without limiting the generality of the expression reasonable cause in subsection (1) , that expression includes -
(a) the making of a payment to a worker that he believes to be a payment of compensation under this Act; and
(aa) a failure by the worker's employer to comply with section 33A in relation to the injury to which the worker's claim for compensation relates; and
(b) any representation that is made to a worker that he believes is made by or on behalf of his employer to the effect that compensation under this Act will or will not be payable.
(3) Any dispute relating to the failure of the worker to make a claim for compensation within the period prescribed by section 32(1)(b), section 32(2) or section 32(2A) may be referred by either party to the dispute to the Tribunal for determination.
Through the ordeal I have faced this year I have sought support from seven EAP sessions and four PWS sessions with a psychologist. I have been referred to my GP and have had an appointment today. All three health professionals agree that [the] Primary School is not a safe working environment for me. This saddens me no end, but with the delay in the provision of support for me from the learning service, I have no other option but to follow my GP's direction and take a period of stress leave effective immediately.
Mr McKenzie: Am I right in understanding that that change in classification occurred underneath a sick leave certificate of [the general practitioner]. > > Worker: That is correct. > > Mr McKenzie: In your conversation with [the general practitioner] about your prebooked long service leave and your sick leave do you consider that your desire to use that leave to recover was a reasonable option to take. > > Worker: Yes
Ms Zito: Thank you, did you improve when you were away? > > Worker: I had a strong desire to improve. I had a strong desire through all of this to return to work. > > Ms Zito: And I am sure you still do but... > > Worker: Absolutely. > > Ms Zito: Did you when you were away? Did you improve? > > Worker: I didn't find myself improving unfortunately. > > Ms Zito: Ok thank you. So you continued to have the symptoms when you were away? > > Worker: Yes. > > Ms Zito: Ok and you wouldn't say there had been a resolution of those symptoms whilst you were away? > > Worker: No.
Mr McKenzie: And in terms of those appointments, at the time - and I know it is challenging to put yourself two years back - knowing now that you haven't recovered but at the time, you still had a plan to return to work? > > Worker: Yes. > > Mr McKenzie: And continued to believe that your time away under that sick leave certificate would enable you to return to work? > > Worker: Yes. > > Mr McKenzie: And it wasn't until much later in 2023, after some further assessment that it became apparent to you that it wasn't going to happen? > > Worker: Correct. So, it wasn't until November 2023 when I had an appointment for an assessment with a psychiatrist which I was referred to by [the general practitioner] because my symptoms weren't getting better. I then realised the significance of my injury and the seriousness of it and she certainly made me more aware of my symptoms and how it was affecting my capacity to work. > > Mr McKenzie: But up until the middle of... at least the middle of 2023, you continued to hope that the prebooked leave would enable you to return to work? > > Worker: Correct. > > Mr McKenzie: And you wouldn't need to make a claim? > > Worker: Correct.
(a) His general practitioner's advice;
(b) The worker's belief he would get better with rest due to leave for the following reasons which included, but are not limited to:
(i) His longer period of leave was not specifically organised to provide relief from stress but was long service leave due and being available to him which had accrued due to his years of service with his employer;
(ii) He only thought he required a short period of sick leave before his pre-planned trip would commence;
(iii) He was still on leave interstate when his six months' time expired.
(iv) He was optimistic in recovery and was supported by his general practitioner in that hope.
(v) He thought the symptoms would resolve with a break from work and would not warrant making a claim.
(vi) He was mistaken about the severity of his symptoms and the lack of meaningful effect of his prebooked time away from work.
Mistake by the respondent as to the severity of her injury or as to the likely longevity of its symptoms would have been just as much a mistake as a mistake as to whether or not the injury had been suffered or a mistake as to whether her neck injury was the cause of her upper limb symptoms. > > One can make a mistake in relation to a question of degree ... > > It is significant that s 37(1)(a) does not say "reasonable mistake", but "mistake". When a failure to give notice at the appropriate time is occasioned by a genuine or honest mistake it does not matter how reasonable or unreasonable a worker's mistake is. Thus a worker might be entitled to the benefits of s 37 of the basis of the mistake which, viewed objectively, would not amount to a reasonable cause". The worker referencing the recent decision of L v Tasmania (Department of State Growth) [2022] TASCAT 104 also considered the decision of Tasmania v Muir-Wilson referencing its interpretation of mistake, but usefully also referenced Underwood CJ in Tanase v ASME Engineering (Tas) Pty Ltd [2006] TASSC 100 drawing attention to the Australian Digest Extract in Garratt v Tooheys Limited [1949] 23 WCR 80 (New South Wales Compensation Commission) held: > > Mistake means a fault in an opinion or judgment or an unintended error of conduct: It could include misconception of the requirement of notice or claim. Ignorance is not the same as mistake, the latter conception comates mental processes revolving around some facts or circumstances and an onus or believe or act resulting therefrom. In short, there cannot be a mistake without some knowledge. Not to know the law simpliciter, not to know the requirement of notice or claim, is insufficient excuse. The mistake contemplated by the statute may be one of law or fact or mixed law and fact. The line between not knowing and being mistaken is finer than the finest gossamer thread.
(a) What occasioned the failure to make a claim within six months; and
(b) That what occasioned the failure was relevantly, a mistake, absence from the State, or other reasonable cause; and
(c) That what occasioned the failure covered the entire six month period following the suffering of the injury.
The words "cause" and "occasioned" as enacted in the Act, s38, are words of wide meaning and ordinary use. I see no reason not to apply the principles expressed in the leading case on causation in the law of damages, March v E & M H Stramare Pty Ltd [1991] HCA 12; (1991) 171 CLR 506, namely what was the cause of injury and/or damage is to be determined according to ordinary "common sense principles", this being a value judgment by the fact-finder.
BT
The State of Tasmania
(1991) 171 CLR 506