© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2008] NSWDC 153
District Court of NSW
2008-06-19
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION: Bridgeman v Victims Compensation Fund Corporation [2008] NSWDC 153
JURISDICTION: District Court Civil Jurisdiction
The Summons (and the Notice of Motion which preceded it) are dismissed. DECISION: 2. Leave to appeal is refused. 3. The determination of the Victims Compensation Tribunal of 30 January 2008 is affirmed. 4. The Appellant is to pay the costs of the Respondent on the ordinary basis.
CATCHWORDS: VICTIMS COMPENSATION - appeal on question of law from decision of Victims Compensation Tribunal - whether late evidence should have been received by the Tribunal - whether the Tribunal gave adequate reasons - whether the Tribunal's decision was so unreasonable on the facts as to amount to an error of law
LEGISLATION CITED: Victims Support and Rehabilitation Act 1996
Advanced Gaming Technologies Pty Limited v Ahearn [1999] NSWSC 45 Associated Provincial Picture Houses Limited v Wednesbury Corporation [1948] 1 KB 223 Beale v Government Insurance Office of New South Wales (1997) 48 NSWLR 430 Buckley v Victims Compensation Fund Corporation [2004] NSWSC 513 Cook v Midpart Pty Limited [2008] NSWCA 151 CASES CITED: Eastside Scaffolding v Kazic [2008] NSWCA 146 Madden v New South Wales Ministerial Corporation [1999] NSWSC 196 Maksoudian v J Robins & Sons Pty Limited (1993) 9 NSWCCR 642 Skalkos v Assaf [2002] NSWSC 1221 Southern Tableland Health Service v Solomon (1999) NSWCCR 235 Victims Compensation Fund Corporation v Hill [2000] NSWCA 75 Wilson v The Prothonotary [2000] NSWCA 23
PARTIES: Caroline Bridgeman (Appellant) Victims Compensation Fund Corporation (Respondent)
COUNSEL: Mr R Quickenden (Appellant) Mr McAteer (Respondent)
SOLICITORS: Brazel Moore Lawyers (Appellant) Victims Compensation Fund Corporation (Respondent)
The proceedings and the issues
The neighbour's conduct was held by the Victims Compensation Tribunal to constitute an "act of violence" sufficient to make Ms Bridgeman a "primary victim" within the meaning of the Victims Support and Rehabilitation Act 1996: s 5(1) and s 6(a). It was further held that her psychological condition was a "compensable injury", thus making her eligible for statutory compensation under the Act: s 7(1).
Ms Bridgeman lodged an application for compensation under the Act. The ensuing proceedings resulted in two assessments by compensation assessors, and two appeals to the Victims Compensation Tribunal. The issue in the second of those appeals was whether the chronic psychological or psychiatric disorder from which Miss Bridgeman was suffering was "moderately disabling" (a Category 1 disorder) or "severely disabling" (a Category 2 disorder): see Schedule 1 of the Act in the Table at p 9 of 12.
In a decision delivered on 30 June 2008, the Tribunal determined that the appellant's disorder was not "severely disabling". The decision was couched in the following terms: "...it is my view that the evidence is not sufficient to establish, on the balance of probabilities, that the Appellant's chronic psychological or psychiatric disorder has resulted in severe impairment in her ability to function in her usual day to day activities. Whilst her chronic disorder is disabling, I am not satisfied, on the balance of probabilities, that her chronic disorder is severely disabling.
I am not satisfied that the evidence is sufficient to establish the compensable injury of 'Category 2 chronic psychological or psychiatric disorder that is 'severely disabling' in that, the evidence is not sufficient to establish the disorder is 'severely disabling'.
The appeal will be dismissed and the assessor's determination will be affirmed."
Ms Bridgeman now seeks leave to appeal to this court on a question of law from the decision of the Tribunal: s 39(1). She seeks an order that the determination be set aside and the matter remitted to be considered and determined again by the Tribunal on the question of law concerned: 39(5)(b).
The questions of law on which it was sought to appeal were: (i) inadequate or insufficient reasons of the Tribunal; (ii) failing to comply with procedural fairness; (iii) applying the law to the facts and reaching an unreasonable conclusion.
It is to be noted that for the purposes of an application to this court "a determination of whether a compensable injury is of a particular description specified in Schedule 1" is not a question of law: s 39(3)(a).
The grounds upon which the appellant relied were set out in the affidavit of Peter Moore dated 26 February 2008 at paragraph 5. At the hearing the appellant only relied on some of those grounds, but also relied upon an additional, fresh ground, as to which the defendant took no objection.
In the result the issues for determination, as distilled, were: (a) whether the Tribunal erred in law by failing to take into consideration, on appeal, an undated letter from Ms Bridgeman attached to the Notice of Appeal (Exhibit 1 at Tab 2); (b) whether the Tribunal gave adequate reasons; (c) whether the Tribunal's decision was wrong in law because it was an unreasonable conclusion on the facts.
Should the Tribunal have taken the appellant's letter into account? 8. On appeal from a determination of a compensation assessor, the Tribunal may receive further evidence and material if it considers that special grounds exist or if the evidence or material concerns matters occurring after the determination appealed against: s 38(3).
It was not suggested that the letter contained evidence or material occurring after the determination by the compensation assessor giving rise to the appeal to the Tribunal. In fact the appellant did not set out any basis in the grounds of appeal in the Notice of Appeal to justify the reception by the Tribunal of the letter as further evidence. It was, however, submitted for the appellant that there were "special grounds" for its reception by the Tribunal, namely that it contained relevant material and helped explain the significance of the appellant's disorder and its severity.
The Tribunal considered the legal principles applicable to the consideration of whether 'special grounds' existed for reception of the appellant's letter. It referred to the decisions in Victims Compensation Fund Corporation v Hill [2000] NSWCA 75 at [26] to [31] and Wilson v The Prothonotary [2000] NSWCA 23 at [47]. Having distilled the relevant principles from those decisions the Tribunal concluded: "Unless special grounds are shown to exist (or exceptional circumstances are established), or the further material concerns matters occurring after the assessor's determination, and the appeal should be determined on the evidence and material that was before the compensation assessor when the determination was made on 6 November 2006 and 15 May 2007.
I am not satisfied that the Appellant's statement could not, with reasonable diligence, have been provided to the compensation assessor for consideration. It appears to be credible. There is not a high degree of probability that the reception of the statement would result in a different verdict, on the issue of the compensable injury of 'Category 2 chronic psychological or psychiatric disorder that is severely disabling', as it is the report of the authorised report writer that must be used for the purposes of establishing such disorder (Clause 5 of schedule 1 of the Act).
I am not satisfied that the Appellant has established that special grounds exist for leave to be given for the reception of her statement. I am not satisfied that exceptional circumstances have been shown to exist. In the exercise of my discretion, I decline to give leave for the reception of the statement."
It was not suggested that the Tribunal applied an incorrect test, or that it misapplied the test. Indeed in my view, no such suggestions could be made. In short, there was no convincing basis proffered for criticism of the Tribunal's decision not to receive the letter nor were any additional grounds suggested that might affect the exercise of the discretion: see also Maksoudian v J Robins & Sons Pty Limited (1993) 9 NSWCCR 642; Southern Tableland Health Service v Solomon (1999) NSWCCR 235 at [58].
For these reasons I find that the Tribunal made no error of law by declining to give leave to the appellant for the reception of her undated letter, or in failing to give consideration to it.
All of that having been said, there was nothing to prevent the Tribunal, nor indeed this Court, if appropriate, from treating certain parts of the letter as a set of submissions from the appellant in support of her appeal (as opposed to receiving it as containing some new evidence or material not before the compensation assessor).
Did the Tribunal give adequate reasons? 14. It was submitted for the appellant that the reasons given for its conclusion that her condition was not "severely disabling" were inadequate. It was contended that it was inadequate to simply state that the evidence was insufficient to establish the appellant's condition was 'severely disabling', and that the Tribunal failed to explain why, or what facts it took into account in reaching that conclusion.
The costs and delays involved in litigation today are problems which have attracted enormous public attention, a plethora of government inquiries and the attention of the Australian Law Reform Commission. In the end, the balancing act which needs to be undertaken in considering the sufficiency of a statement of reasons involves the adoption of, at the least, a minimum standard which places the parties in a position to understand why the decision was made sufficiently to allow them to exercise any right of appeal." See also Madden v New South Wales Ministerial Corporation [1999] NSWSC 196 at [16]; Skalkos v Assaf [2002] NSWSC 1221; Advanced Gaming Technologies Pty Limited v Ahearn [1999] NSWSC 45; and Cook v Midpart Pty Limited [2008] NSWCA 151 at [55-56].
Was the Tribunal's decision unreasonable on the facts? 19. It was submitted for the appellant that the determination of the Tribunal that her disorder was not 'severely disabling' was contrary to the evidence and that the decision was so unreasonable as to be incorrect as a matter of law. Counsel referred to the decision in Associated Provincial Picture Houses Limited v Wednesbury Corporation [1948] 1 KB 223, and Buckley v Victims Compensation Fund Corporation [2004] NSWSC 513.
Disposition 24. It follows from my reasons that the Tribunal made no error of law in making its determination of 30 January 2008 and that there is no basis for setting that determination aside.
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated.
Bridgeman
Victims Compensation Fund Corporation
(1997) 48 NSWLR 430
(1993) 9 NSWCCR 642