[2026] WADC 11
General information, not legal advice.
District Court of WA
2026-02-05
Mr J
Original judgment source is linked above.
JURISDICTION : DISTRICT COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
CITATION : BHP NICKEL WEST PTY LTD -v- THIESS PTY LTD [2026] WADC 11
Jurisdiction : WORKERS' COMPENSATION ARBITRATION SERVICE
Appeal - Workers compensation - Whether previous employer is liable to reimburse another employer for compensation for a disease - Whether delayed post-traumatic stress disorder was contracted during employment with previous employer
Bonnington Castings Ltd v Wardlaw [1956] UKHL 1; [1956] AC 613
Streamline Smash Repairs v Griffiths (Unreported, CM-223/02 (Brown IG) 7 July 2003)
(a) The Learned Arbitrator found at paragraphs [34] and [79] of his reasons that the Second Respondent did not meet the criteria for PTSD until after she had left employment with the Appellant and after an incident in the course of her employment with the First Respondent;
(b) The Learned Arbitrator found at paragraph [95] of his reasons that the Second Respondent's employment with the First Respondent which post-dated employment with the Appellant significantly contributed to the contraction of the Second Respondent's PTSD which was an injury from her employment with the First Respondent;
(c) Implicit in the Learned Arbitrator's findings as to the contraction of the Second Respondent's PTSD, being the assessed injury for the purposes of compensation being payable pursuant to section 17 of the WCIMA 2023, is that the PTSD would not have occurred absent her employment with the First Respondent.
(a) The Learned Arbitrator failed to consider his finding that the criteria for the Second Respondent's determined PTSD was not established as a result of her employment with the Appellant and was only established after a subsequent event which occurred in the course of her employment with the First Respondent;
(b) Accordingly, the PTSD 'injury' as found could not be established as an injury from the Second Respondent's employment with the Appellant where its contraction was conditional on her subsequent employment with the First Respondent.
An employer is liable for compensation if a worker suffers an injury from employment with the employer.
injury means an injury from employment that is -
(b) a disease, or the recurrence, aggravation or acceleration of a pre-existing disease.
(2) A personal injury by accident is an injury from employment if the injury arises out of or in the course of the employment or while the worker is acting under the employer's instructions.
(3) Unless otherwise provided in this Act, a disease, or the recurrence, aggravation or acceleration of a pre-existing disease, is an injury from employment if -
(a) the disease is contracted, or the recurrence, aggravation or acceleration is suffered, in the course of the employment, whether at or away from the place of employment; and
(b) the employment contributed to a significant degree to the contraction of the disease, or the recurrence, aggravation or acceleration of the pre-existing disease.
(4) In determining whether particular employment contributed to a significant degree to the contraction of a disease, or to the recurrence, aggravation or acceleration of a pre-existing disease, account must be taken of the following -
(b) the nature of, and particular tasks involved in, the employment;
(c) the likelihood of the disease, or the recurrence, aggravation or acceleration of a pre-existing disease, occurring despite the employment;
(d) the existence of any hereditary factors relating to the occurrence of the disease;
(e) matters affecting the worker's health generally;
(f) activities of the worker not related to the employment.
(1) Except as provided in subsection (8), this section applies when -
(a) a worker makes a claim under section 25 for compensation from the employer who last employed the worker in employment in which the worker claims the worker's injury was suffered (the last employer); and
(b) the last employer's insurer or the self-insurer gives the worker a liability decision notice under section 28 or 29 accepting that the employer is or may be liable to compensate the worker for the injury to which the claim relates but indicating there are 1 or more liability questions in relation to the acceptance.
(2) A liability question is a question as to any of the following -
(a) whether another employer (a relevant employer) is wholly or partly liable to compensate the worker because the injury is or may be from employment during a period with another employer or more than 1 other employer;
(b) how the liability to compensate the worker is to be apportioned between employers;
(c) which insurer is liable to indemnify an employer liable to compensate the worker.
(3) The last employer is liable to deal with the claim and make payments of compensation as if the last employer were wholly liable and the last employer's insurer must indemnify the last employer for the payments.
(4) Each relevant employer is liable to make to the last employer any contributions as, in default of agreement, may be determined by an arbitrator.
(5) If the worker or last employer applies for determination by an arbitrator of a liability question -
(a) the last employer may join as a party to the dispute any employer who may be wholly or partly liable to pay the compensation; and
(b) the arbitrator may determine that an employer who is a party to the dispute is wholly or partly liable to compensate the worker; and
(c) the arbitrator may make 1 or more of the following orders -
(i) an order requiring the payment of compensation by the last employer or a relevant employer;
(ii) an order requiring reimbursement of compensation paid by the last employer or a relevant employer;
(iii) an order for the apportionment of liability for compensation between employers.
In my view, the cross-examination is capable of giving rise to an inference that had Ms Jacobsen been assessed by a forensic psychiatrist after the 2021 BHP MVA but before the 2022 Thiess MVA, she probably would not have been clinically diagnosed with PTSD at that time because criteria B might not have been met. But such an inference is of low probative value because the claimed injury is PTSD. As an inner limit, Criteria F means a diagnosis of PTSD cannot be made within 1 month of relevant event(s). There is no outer limit on when PTSD can be diagnosed, merely that if the criteria are not all met until more than 6 months after the event(s), the PTSD is of 'delayed expression'. Because there is no outer limit on when PTSD can express, the inference above does not get us very far in resolving the actual issues to fall to be determined in this case. Put another way, just because Ms Jacobsen might not have had clinically diagnosable PTSD after the 2021 BHP MVA, does not mean the 2021 BHP MVA was incapable of being a traumatic event (by itself or in combination with other traumatic events) for a subsequently expressed PTSD.
(original emphasis)
These are symptoms such as low mood, nightmares and bed-wetting, ruminations about the 2021 BHP MVA and 2022 Thiess MVA incidents, anxiety, difficulty leaving the house, and fear of driving.
Dr Cheng's views on the part each event played in causing PTSD differs slightly from Dr Shub and Dr Lee although the difference is explainable by Dr Cheng assuming a fact that I have not found proven, and I prefer Dr Shub and Dr Lee's opinion on that discreet [sic] issue.
... the serious accident that occurred on 22 July 2021 was the precipitant for the development of her psychiatric condition however in Ms Jacobsen's case, the full expression of her symptoms was delayed and she remained functional for quite some time after this incident.
It is impossible to speculate upon the trajectory of her clinical state in the absence of the second accident at Thiess, however it is possible that this could have improved over time, such that she was less vulnerable to re-traumatisation or aggravation of her symptoms. Thus it could be argued that it was her employment at Thiess (and the accident encountered there) that was the cause of her psychopathology and associated functional impairment.
Dr Lee's opinion was that there was an isolated symptom of PTSD following the 2021 BHP MVA, being hypervigilance around safety, and then a significant escalation of symptoms following the 2022 Thiess MVA resulting in a diagnosis of PTSD. That opinion led Dr Lee to conclude that:
I am of the same view as Dr Shub in terms of causation being from both incidents; that had she not experienced one or the other of 2021 or 2022 incident that she unlikely would have developed the PTSD and therefore unlikely to suffer from sequalae which has caused the major depression.
I accept Dr Shub and Dr Lee's opinion and that [sic] I find that the relevant traumatic events for the DSM-V Criteria are the 2021 BHP MVA and the 2022 Thiess MVA. I find that Ms Jacobsen did not meet the DSM-V Criteria for PTSD until after the 2022 Thiess MVA, but once she did, the symptoms listed in the Criteria relate to both the 2021 BHP and 2022 Thiess MVA.
One of the causes of the PTSD was the 2021 BHP MVA but PTSD didn't express itself until after another of the causes, being the 2022 Thiess MVA, occurred. The DSM-V Criteria for PTSD was not met until after the 2022 Thiess MVA, but once the Criteria was [sic] met, the diagnosable PTSD related to both accidents.
To be compensable, s 6(3) requires Ms Jacobsen's PTSD to be contracted in the course of employment (with BHP), whether at or away from the place of employment, and for the employment to have contributed to a significant degree to the contraction of the PTSD.
Taking into account all the above matters, I determine that Ms Jacobsen's employment with BHP contributed to a significant degree to the contraction of her PTSD because the 2021 BHP MVA materially contributed to the contraction of PTSD.
(a) an injury is not established during a period of employment with one employer; but
(b) where that employment might be seen as a causative factor in any injury which is established after further events with a subsequent employer; and
(c) where the determined injury would not have been contracted absent further events occurring during the 'subsequent employment'.
I certify that the preceding paragraph(s) comprise the reasons for decision of the District Court of Western Australia.
Bonnington Castings Ltd
Wardlaw