[2002] SAWCT 13
General information, not legal advice.
Workers Compensation Tribunal (SA)
2002-02-21
Original judgment source is linked above.
"We have accepted your claim for soft tissue injuries to back sustained on 6/06/2000. CGU workers Compensation (SA) Pty Ltd as claims agent acting on behalf of WorkCover Corporation has determined that you are entitled to income maintenance payments for the disability you sustained on 6/06/2000 and which subsequently resulted in you having incapacity for work from 22/6/2000 to 15/8/2000. This determination is based on the medical certificates of Drs Zuvela and Papps dated 20/6/2000 and 23/6/2000 respectively ..."
"1 The applicant worker disputes the determination of the managing agent dated 31st July 2000, which accepts the worker's claim for a closed period only namely from 22/6/00 to 15/8/00. A copy of the determination dated 31st July is attached hereto.
On 4 August 2000 the worker filed another claim for compensation for an injury to the lower back, head, bilateral hips and psychological sequelae.
14 The material part of that determination reads:-
"... CGU has rejected your claim for further compensation for a lower back injury as we are satisfied that you have received your full entitlement to compensation by way of weekly payments of income maintenance and medical expenses for lower back injury which was the subject of claim no 8186317/1 and determinations dated 20/6/2000 and 31/7/2000." (Dispute of 4178/00N).
You do not suffer from an injury to your legs. ..."
"... The applicant worker says that the determination is against the evidence and/or the weight of evidence.
The applicant worker says that the determination is contrary to the law as the managing agent has already accepted the worker's claim by way of a determination dated 31 July 2000.
The applicant worker says that it is contrary to the law for the management agent now to reject the worker's claim in total."
(b) In none of the prescribed medical certificates did the doctor certify that the worker would be fit for work on 15 August 2000.
(i) Does the compensating authority have the power to determine what is obviously an ongoing claim for a closed period.
(ii) Can the compensating authority determine such a claim prospectively ie for a period to end at a date later than the determination ie the determination is dated 31 July applicable to a period determined to end on 15 August.
(a) All of the prescribed medical certificates certified the applicant unfit for work up to a future date. Those of Dr Zuvela 13 June to 20 June 2000; Dr Papps 23 June to 27 July 2000.
(b) None of the certificates certify the applicant would be fit for work on the expiry date of the certificate.
(c) Each certificate said the certifying doctor would re-assess the applicant on the date that the certificate expired.
19 The applicant submits that by accepting these claims the agent has accepted an ongoing claim. Hence the applicant has established a right to compensation. That right cannot be terminated or reduced other than in accordance with s 36. The authority for that proposition is said to be Mitsubishi Motors Australia v Sosa (1995) Supreme Court of South Australia 5084 and in particular the celebrated dicta of King CJ at 15 beginning "The legislature in prescribing procedures for the discontinuance or reduction of weekly payments etc."
The applicant submits that the determination does not assert that the worker ceased to be incapacitated for work in consequence of the back disability or specify any other grounds that would justify a discontinuance of weekly payments.
1 Did the applicant sustain an injury in the course of his employment.
(b) Did the disability persist after 15 August 2000.
He started work at about 6.30 am. At about 7.00 am he was taking down a scaffold. He fell 4.2 metres to the floor which was concrete. He was wearing a hard hat. He then lost consciousness. During the fall he was concerned about some stairs close to the path of his fall but he missed them by a few inches. During the fall he made a twisting movement in the air and tried to land "as better as possible". He landed on his back mostly on his left side. He was frightened of the stairs because the edges (of the steps) were sharp. He woke up at the Royal Adelaide Hospital. He was told by the doctor that he had a light ie (minor) back injury and a bit of a head injury. He was told 'You will be alright'. He left the Royal Adelaide Hospital that day at his own insistence even though the staff wanted him to stay in overnight. He left because he wanted a cigarette and needed friends around to talk to him.
The doctor actually said him "I insist you stay in hospital". He replied "I insist I leave hospital". The doctor said "All right. But you must return if you are not right". He was taken home by his cousin at about 3.30 pm. He felt very very bad physically. He could not dress himself. He was experiencing significant pain.
At home he realised something was not right. He had a lump on his head and a very strong headache.
The next day he had a significant headache and considerable pain in the neck and the back so he returned to Emergency at the RAH. There the level of his symptoms had not abated. He had considerable pain and was having extreme difficulty walking.
At the RAH he was told that he could not get crutches. He was told he would have to wait for three hours to see a doctor and that the doctor who saw him the day before was not on duty.
He was told by a nurse to go to a chemist to get crutches.
He therefore left the hospital and made an appointment to see Dr Zuvela. He hired crutches from a chemist. He saw Dr Zuvela either later that day or the next day. Dr Zuvela prescribed Panadeine Forte.
He completed WorkCover claim documents at the Royal Adelaide Hospital on the day he was injured. He went to see solicitors the day he saw Dr Zuvela (this seems to have been 7 June 2000). The solicitor told him to see Dr Papps whom he then saw on 23 June 2000.
He continues to use crutches. The pain in his back has subsided but has not gone away. He continues to have headaches. At the time he saw Dr Papps on 23 June he was having problems with his hips.
He consulted Mr Albert W Russell at the direction of his solicitor. He is seeing a psychologist Mr Maroulis fortnightly and he sees Dr LePage regularly and Dr Papps fortnightly.
Currently he has constant headaches, constant pain in the lower back, pain and weakness in the lower limbs and hips and a sleep disorder. He has also complained of loss of vision. He has a host of physical and psychological problems. He has been victimised by the WorkCover system. He has been left 'hung out to dry'. Because of the physical problems he is no longer capable of coping psychologically.
His statement at TB 129 says "I continued to be totally incapacitated for work and I am suffering from chronic pain problems and other psychological sequelae".
The applicant continues to use crutches and he asserts total physical incapacity. To the extent that the physical incapacity is not the cause of his total incapacity, then the psychological sequelae of the physical injuries combined with the residuum of the physical injuries render him totally incapacitated.
"Mr Begovic has sustained a concussion with an injury to the soft tissues at the top of the head.
He has suffered an injury to his lumbar spine where he has a minor broad based disk bulge at L3/4 and L4/5 levels with facet joint degeneration at L4/5. At L5/S1 he has bilateral pars defect. He has a minor acquired spinal stenosis at L4/5 level. Mr Begovic has suffered depression since the work injury."
"Q What I'm proposing to you that having regard to this man's personal background, his work ethic, cultural factors and all the things that go together to make up his personality this was a sufficient trigger for him to start converting this psychological conflict about his disability into physical symptoms.
"Neuro status improving observe in trauma (room) 4/20.
At 12.30 pm "Complaining of slight back pain mobilise with assistance to toilet. Wants to go home. Cousin at home to aid him. Will return if any problems."
"Plan - observation ? D/C (discharge) later this shift."
At 10.10 am the social worker interviewed the applicant. The notes read in part:-
"Says that he lives with his cousin who has already been in and who will return to get him later. Keen for me to check with his boss re WorkCover."
I find that the plan was to keep the applicant under observation. As early as 9.00 am it was contemplated that he would be discharged that day.
I find his main complaint of pain was minor in the lower back.
I find that he was discharged at 1.00 pm. He returned the next day complaining of back pain and seeking a review and wanting crutches.
80 I find that there is no evidence to support the following propositions, and I reject them:-
(ii) That he discharged himself against the advice of the Royal Adelaide Hospital staff. (Indeed all of the evidence in the notes is to the contrary).
(iii) That at the time he was discharged he suffered or complained about severe pain in the lower back, or headache being severe or otherwise.
(iv) There is no evidence that he was unconsciousness for up to six hours (Mr Albert W Russell).
(v) There was no evidence that he was unconscious between six and twelve hours (Dr LePage).
That sourcing is wrong, Mr Russell said "unconscious for up to six hours" and even as a statement of fact that was wrong - and it was wrong in spite of the fact that it could easily have been checked against the Hospital notes. It is not an insignificant slip of the pen. Being unconscious for 6 - 12 hours is a much different proposition from being unconscious for an hour - semi-conscious for an hour and thereafter orientated.
(i) It is quite inconsistent with the patient being discharged after five hours.
(ii) Such a lengthy period of unconsciousness would surely have called for the early intervention of a staff neurosurgeon.
(iii) It is hardly credible that the RAH staff would willingly release such a patient who has been unconscious for six to twelve hours.
(iv) That statement is flatly in conflict with the hospital notes.
Indeed he told Dr Kalnins "He did not know what had happened." "He was unsure and did not know what had happened."
When his account of what happened there is tested against the objective and undeniable evidence in the RAH notes, his evidence is not persuasive.
The facts of that case are quite different from this case. There, the respondent wished to raise the s 35(2) Hornhardt point that certain work was suitable for an undoubtedly disabled worker (Hornhardt v WorkCover [2000] SAWCT 157). It was held on the facts that the respondent's assertion was not made out. In both Hornhardt and Mason the fact of the disability was not in dispute. In this case it is at the centre of the dispute. I have rejected the proposition that prior to 15 August 2000 the applicant had established an entitlement to weekly payments. An oblique method of testing the contrary would be to ask "What would be the likely outcome of an application to enforce the entitlement or how could the applicant enforce the entitlement?" S 87 and s 87A would be of no assistance. I agree that the whole of the evidence must be examined and I agree that injured workers develop psychiatric conditions in reaction to those injuries - but the facts in Arrowcrest Group Pty Ltd v Nguyen [2000] SAWCT 121 are quite different from those in this case. In Nguyen's Case it was accepted that the worker had suffered severe physical injuries. The debate revolved around whether the worker had to run the gamut of s 30A to succeed on the psychiatric case. Parsons J held that the worker did not have to meet the s 30A criteria. The Full Tribunal upheld this. Nguyen is not an authority for the proposition that was expressed in the written submissions:-
"The Tribunal is also entitled to take judicial notice that where there is an underlying physical disability it is often difficult to discern what aspects of the resultant disability are attributable to the physical consequences of the disability and what aspects are attributable to the psychological consequences of the disability."
"MR DOYLE: What I'm proposing to you is that having regard to this man's personal background his work ethic, cultural factors, all the things that go together to make up his personality, this was a sufficient trigger for him to start converting the psychological conflict about his disability into physical symptoms, given that there was - - -.
Hence I reject the thesis that the psychological problems were the basis of or could explain the worker's physical complaints.
Absent a physical explanation for the applicant's symptoms and absent a finding of malingering - it does not necessarily follow that the explanation for the applicant's condition is some undefined psychological disability attributable to injuries that once existed but do not now exist, and therefore the disability arises from the employment.
Parties are advised that if a party wishes to appeal against any part of this decision which is appealable pursuant to s 86(1) of the Act such appeal must be filed with the Registrar in accordance with the form titled Notice of Appeal within 14 days of the delivery of this decision and must be served on all parties.
Begovic
WorkCover/CGU
(1980) 24 SASR 347