austlii:cth/ARTA/2025/1565
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2025-08-29
Mr P
Original judgment source is linked above.
Smith and Australian Securities and Investment Commission [2025] ARTA 1565 (29 August 2025)
Respondent: Australian Securities and Investment Commission
(a) Sets aside the decision under review.
(b) Orders pursuant to section 70 of the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 (Cth), the documents filed in the Tribunal, the transcripts and recordings of the hearing, or any documents tendered as evidence in the hearing, are prohibited from publication or disclosure, except by leave of the Tribunal.
................[Sgnd]............................................
ASIC - FINANCIAL SERVICES - BANNING ORDER - Banning order under ss 920A and 920B of the Corporations Act - applicant banned by ASIC from providing financial services for 18 months - whether applicant contravened s 920A(1)(e) - decision set aside
Corporations Act 2001 (Cth)
Australian Securities and Investments Commission v Adler [2002] NSWCA 483
Australian Securities and Investments Commission v DOD Bookkeeping Pty Ltd (in liq) [2023] FCA 1622
Australian Securities and Investments Commission v McCormack [2017] FCA 672
Australian Securities and Investments Commission v NSG Services Pty Ltd [2017] FCA 345
Australian Securities and Investments Commission v Ultiqa Lifestyle Promotions Limited (in liq) [2022] FCA 561
Australian Securities and Investments Commission v Westpac Securities Administration Ltd [2019] FCAFC 187
McDonald v Director-General of Social Security (1984) 1 FCR 354
Rich v Australian Securities and Investments Commission [2004] HCA 42; (2004) 220 CLR 129
Schroeder and Australian Securities and Investments Commission [2021] AATA 3519
Australian Securities and Investments Commission Regulatory Guide 98: ASIC's powers to suspend, cancel and vary AFS licences and make banning orders (November 2022)
ASIC Regulatory Guide 175 ‐ Licensing: Financial product advisers - Conduct and disclosure (December 2012, October 2013, March 2017, June 2021)
(a) Mr Smith (the applicant). > > (b) Mr M (a client of Mr Smith) (Mr M). > > (c) Mr H (a client of Mr Smith) (Mr H). > > (d) Mr P (a client of Mr Smith) (Mr P). > > (e) Mr C (a client of Mr Smith). (Mr C) > > (f) Mr T (a client of Mr Smith) (Mr T). > > (g) Mrs S (a client of Mr Smith) (Mrs S). > > (h) Ms Jodie McInnes (a financial planner who has audited and mentored Mr Smith since the Banning Order; she additionally gave opinion evidence as an expert financial planner) (Ms McInnes). > > (i) Mr Dawson (a financial planner in the employ of ASIC who gave opinion evidence as an expert financial planner) (Mr Dawson).
(a) Is the power under s 920A(1) of the Corporations Act enlivened? > > (b) If so, should Mr Smith be prohibited from providing financial services? > > (c) If so, for what period should Mr Smith be prohibited from providing financial services?
Preliminary Issue - Contravention Allegations of non-compliance with ss 947C and 947D of the Corporations Act
(a) Chapter 7 of the Corporations Act is concerned with financial services and markets and provides the objects of the chapter is to promote, amongst other things, informed consumers being provided suitable financial products in 'fair, orderly and transparent markets for financial products' that reduces systemic risk and provides for 'fairness, honesty and professionalism' by financial services providers. > > (b) The statutory requirement for financial services providers to act in the best interests of their clients is at s 961B of the Corporations Act. This section has a procedural requirement, not a qualitative one[13]. It provides: > > > (i) At ss (1) that 'The provider must act in the best interests of the client in relation to the advice'. > > > > (ii) At ss (2) that the provider satisfies the duty in ss (1) if the provider proves that they have done each of the listed requirements in the sub-section. Described as a 'safe harbour' provision, ss (2) means 'The Provider can effectively prove that their purpose or object was to act in the best interests of the client by doing each of the matters in s 96B(2), each of which is essentially procedural'.[14] > > > > (iii) But, 'it does not follow from a failure to prove one or more of the matters set out ins s 961B(2) that a failure by the provider to act in the best interests of the client has been established'.[15] > > > > (iv) Rather, a breach of ss (1) 'depends upon all the circumstances including the nature and extent of the failure to comply with s 961B(2)'.[16] > > (c) Section 961G provides that the resulting advice from s 961B must satisfy the conclusion 'that the advice is appropriate to the client, had the providers satisfied the duty under s 961B to act in the best interests of the client'. > > (d) Section 961J requires that priority is given to the client's interests over those of the provider of advice where 'the provider knows, or reasonably ought to know, that there is a conflict between the interests of the client and the interests of' defined parties in ss (1). > > (e) ASIC has the power in s 920A(1)(e) of the Corporations Act to make a banning order 'where a person has not complied with a financial services law' or 'ASIC has reason to believe that the person is likely to contravene a financial services law'. > > (f) When making a banning order, s 920B of the Corporations Act provides that ASIC may specify the person is prohibited from doing certain conduct and such prohibitions to be for specified periods, or permanently.
(a) maintain, facilitate and improve the performance of the financial system and the entities within that system in the interests of commercial certainty, reducing business costs, and the efficiency and development of the economy; and
(b) promote the confident and informed participation of investors and consumers in the financial system.
Are Contraventions of s 920(1)(e) of the Corporations Act Established
(a) Retain their existing superannuation funds (reasons listed are risk and return, quality and costs). > > (b) Replace their existing term life insurance policies held with Colonial First State (CFS) in the amount of $954,849 for Mr M and $953,621 for Mrs M with policies to be held with AIA of $1,000,000 each because 'Premium cheaper at 1 Million'. > > (c) Replace their existing term total permanently disabled (TPD) insurance policies held with CFS in the amount of $954,849 for Mr M and $953,621 for Mrs M with policies to be held with AIA of $1,000,000 each because 'Premium cheaper at 1 Million'. > > (d) Establish trauma insurance policies with AIA for each of them in the amount of $50,000 (that amount based on the Ms' nomination of that level of cover). > > (e) Replace Mr M's income protection insurance with CFS ('stepped policy' with $40,488 per annum cover with an annual premium of $2,461) to AIA income protection insurance ('level' policy with $100,000 per annum cover with an annual premium of $3,685). > > (f) Establish income protection insurance for Mrs M with AIA (level policy with $19,800 per annum cover with an annual premium of $995).
(a) s 961B(1) of the Corporations Act because Mr Smith:[28] > > > (i) failed to adequately identify client objectives; > > > > (ii) did not sufficiently identify the M's financial situation; > > > > (iii) did not complete an insurance needs analysis; > > > > (iv) did not consider the impact of insurance premiums on superannuation; > > > > (v) did not consider existing superannuation; > > > > (vi) did not consider relevant health status; > > > > (vii) did not investigate existing policies; and > > > > (viii) did not assess the M's risk profile. > > (b) s 961G of the Corporations Act because:[29] > > > (i) Mr Smith's advice to Mr M to apply for TPD and income protection insurance was inappropriate as such application was declined in circumstances that Mr Smith was in breach of s 961B by not properly identifying and investigating Mr M's health circumstances. > > > > (ii) Mr Smith's advice that recommended that Mrs M's insurance premiums be deducted from her superannuation account because the premiums consumed the entire employment contribution and almost all of the investment growth and because Mr Smith was in breach of s 961B by not properly identifying the impact of insurance premiums upon Mrs M's superannuation balance. > > > > (iii) The asset allocation in the M SoA was based on an aggressive risk profile in circumstances where the Ms had been previously identified as having a growth risk profile and as such it was inappropriate to advise the Ms to continue to invest their superannuation with an aggressive risk profile. > > (c) s 961J of the Corporations Act because: > > > (i) There is a conflict between the interests of a financial adviser and a client where there is a commission payable to the adviser if the client acts on the advice, citing Downes J in ASIC v Ultiqa Lifestyle Promotions Ltd (in liq) [2022] FCA 561 (Ultiqa) at [87], [90]. > > > > (ii) If the Ms acted on the M SoA, Mr Smith would benefit by an upfront commission of $7,591 and ongoing commission of $1,855. > > > > (iii) In the circumstances, Mr Smith knew, or ought to have known, that there was such a conflict between the interests of the Ms and his own interests. > > > > (iv) Mr Smith was in breach of s 961B and s 961G and as such it is open to the Tribunal to also find that Mr Smith preferred his own interests over those of the Ms, in contravention of s 961J.
Mr Smith failed to adequately identify client objectives
Strictly, section 961B does not state that a financial advice provider must record the process taken to comply with the obligation to act in the best interests of the client. However, as a practical matter, it renders the best interests obligation a nonsense for the advice provider to simply state that the process was carried out in his or her head. In those circumstances, significant doubt may arise as to whether the process of the advice provider has sufficiently identified relevant circumstances and carried out necessary investigations in order to meet the obligation under section 961B(1).
(a) Mr Dawson defining the client's objectives as the starting point of the advice process and this was not focussed on a financial product but those objectives.[33] Mr Dawson stated that when reviewing insurance, the adviser needs to understand why they want to review that insurance.[34] > > (b) Ms McInnes that understanding the objectives of the client was 'absolutely' important because the adviser needs to understand what the client wants and needs so as to form the basis of the advice.[35]
If you are unable to identify exactly what the client is coming to ask you or achieve in terms of the goal, if that's - it's the premise of the (indistinct). It's the starting point. If you get that wrong, it is likely that the advice would be misdirected or inappropriate or incorrect. So it is the most important part of the advice process and needs to be done properly.
(a) ASIC's language of Mr Smith's alleged breaches of s 961B(1) does not 'map onto the statutory language of s 961B(1), nor the "safe harbour" steps in s 961B(2)'. > > (b) There was no statutory obligation at the time of the M SoA for Mr Smith to keep records in respect of advising clients and that Mr Smith in providing advice did the intellectual exercise 'in his head' and did not reduce that necessarily to a document. > > (c) The changes to the Corporations Act requiring record keeping from 20 October 2016:
are immaterial to the allegations of past breaches of the law, and in relation to any risk of future breaches of the law, ASIC have not sought to make a case that Mr Smith' past lawful conduct now precipitates a risk that he will be non-compliant in light of the changes to the law.
(d) The statutory requirement in s 961B(2)(a) was to identify the objectives of the client:
that were disclosed to the provider by the client through instructions.
(e) ASIC was obliged to prove that the M's had provided in their instructions some objective to Mr Smith that was not included in the M SoA. ASIC cannot prove that fact.
(f) Nothing in Mr M's evidence at the hearing, including cross-examination by ASIC:
indicated that Mr Smith as the provider failed in his duty under s 961B(1) at all, let alone failed to identify [Mr M's] objectives.
(g) The allegation is:
unintelligible as an allegation of a contravention of s 961B(1), and ... by reference to s 961B(2)(a) - ASIC have not identified anything that Mr (or Mrs) [M] had as objectives that was not identified.
(a) The requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural[41] and not qualitative. > > (b) The Tribunal accepts that for a provider to rely on the 'safe harbour' of s 961B(2) to meet the duty in s 961B(1), that a proper consideration is compliance with the relevant ASIC regulatory guide. > > (c) There was no statutory obligation at the time of the M SoA for Mr Smith to keep records in respect of his provision of personal financial advice. The lack of record keeping requires that further evidence is necessary to determine whether Mr Smith has met his duty to act in the best interests of the Ms. > > (d) The Tribunal does not accept that to meet the best interests of the client in s 961B(1) the provider is obliged to provide objectives that are specific, measurable and why the insurance was required because such an obligation is inconsistent with the clear language in s 961B(2)(a). > > (e) The undisputed evidence before the Tribunal was that the objectives as stated in the M SoA accorded to the instructions provided by the Ms and they were not asking Mr Smith to go beyond them. > > (f) The objectives in the M SoA identified the objectives that were disclosed to Mr Smith in the Ms' instructions to him.
Mr Smith did not sufficiently identify the Ms' financial situation
(a) ASIC's language of Mr Smith's alleged breaches of s 961B(1) does not follow the statutory language of s 961B(1), nor s 961B(2). > > (b) The statutory requirement in s 961B(2)(a) was to identify the financial situation of the client 'that were disclosed to the provider by the client through instructions'. > > (c) ASIC 'does not identify anything that has been disclosed to the provider the by the client through instructions, in relation to the client's financial situation, which the provider has not identified (or recorded)'. > > (d) The scope of s 961B(2)(c) that provides 'where it was reasonably apparent that information relating to the client's relevant circumstances was incomplete or inaccurate, made reasonable inquiries to obtain complete and accurate information' read with the definition of 'the client's relevant circumstances' (s 961B(2)(b)(ii)) are words of limitation - and it is contended that 'the provider does not have any free ranging duty to inquire, but only to the extent of the advice sought on a topic'.
(a) As found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative. > > (b) As found above, there was no statutory obligation at the time of the M SoA for Mr Smith to keep records in respect of his provision of personal financial advice. The lack of record keeping requires that further evidence is necessary to determine whether Mr Smith has met his duty to act in the best interests of the Ms. > > (c) Mr Smith's written evidence was that he did not include details of the Ms expenses when he completed the fact finding and he was instructed by the Ms to provide quotes on insurance costs for them to assess the costs and their capacity to meet them. Mr Smith states the Ms 'specifically did not wish to complete updated budget information and I complied with their instructions'[46]. > > (d) Mr M in his written statement states:[47]
We never used to talk to Brad about our financial position, because he was not giving us financial advice. Brad only dealt with our superannuation. Details about our daily budget was never his job.
...
When I had an accident, I became self-employed, that is when I told Brad that I wanted income protection, but I wanted the cost of that to come out of my superannuation. I did not want to get billed to get the coverage. I knew that money would be coming out of my superannuation to pay for the extra cover.
Because I had a work accident, changing insurance there was an issue for me. We looked at a few options, one came back with the premium set really high, the other one Brad recommended he told me that they would not touch me, so on Brad's recommendation I stayed where I was in terms of insurance cover.
I remembered speaking with Brad about an agreed value policy versus an indemnity policy. As I did not want to pay more for insurance, we decided on an indemnity policy.
(e) ASIC did not cross-examine Mr M as to whether he had provided Mr Smith instructions on their expenses.
(f) The undisputed evidence before the Tribunal that the Ms did not, or want to, provide instructions to Mr Smith in respect to their expenses, and further that any recommended insurance premiums were to be paid from superannuation and not funded from their income.
(g) The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that Mr Smith cannot rely on the safe harbour of s 961B(2).
(h) The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied Mr Smith met his Clients Circumstances Duty because the Ms expressly limited the information available to Mr Smith to prepare the M SoA in an informed way.
Mr Smith did not complete an insurance needs analysis
So you look at - usually it's tied back to goals and objectives. And say for example let's make it really simple: income protection, right. You would just need to know how much the person's earning, right. Now, if you've going to do an insurance needs analysis for life cover or total permanent disability cover, you would go through and have a look at what are you actually covering for. What - you know, if this insurable event happens, does it mean you got a loan, did you need to pay this loan out, are there dependents. You know, if you're not here, then how are the people that are still here, how are you going to be able to support them. Or if you're totally and permanently disabled, how are you going to support yourself. And so it's understanding what that number potentially looks like, and then, you know, substantiate to the client, 'Look, I've thought about this. You're concerned about' - you know, 'If you're not here, you've got kids, you've got a loan, you want to leave something behind. This is where that number's come from'. And this is why I recommend that you would insure for, you know, $500,000 of life cover.
(a) As found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative. > > (b) As found above, there was no statutory obligation at the time of the M SoA for Mr Smith to keep records in respect of his provision of personal financial advice. The lack of record keeping requires that further evidence is necessary to determine whether Mr Smith has met his duty to act in the best interests of the Ms. > > (c) As discussed above, the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that Mr Smith cannot rely on the safe harbour of s 961B(2). > > (d) ASIC did not cross-examine Mr M as to the instructions he had provided Mr Smith on their insurance requirements. > > (e) The undisputed evidence was that it was the Ms who determined the level of insurance they required and that they were satisfied their current level was adequate but would consider a proposal that the same level of cover 'can be done better or cheaper'.[53] > > (f) The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied Mr Smith met his duty because the Ms expressly limited the scope of the advice to Mr Smith to prepare the M SoA in an informed way and there is nothing in the evidence, inferred or otherwise, that the levels of insurance cover were not in the best interests of the clients.
Mr Smith did not consider the impact of insurance premiums on superannuation
undertake a projection of the impact of premiums on the clients' superannuation balances and has further stated that he certainly would undertake such a projection if giving advice to clients now'.
So what I would suggest is sometimes it's important to actually consider how much impact insurance would have on balance or time in savings and then put back to the client to say, 'Yes, we're putting it in your super, but this is the impact on your super fund'.
(a) As found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative. > > (b) As found above, there was no statutory obligation at the time of the M SoA for Mr Smith to keep records in respect of his provision of personal financial advice. The lack of record keeping requires that further evidence is necessary to determine whether Mr Smith has met his duty to act in the best interests of the Ms. > > (c) As discussed above, the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that Mr Smith cannot rely on the safe harbour of s 961B(2). > > (d) Mr Smith's written evidence was that he did discuss with the Ms the impact on their superannuation balances by having insurance premiums drawn from inside their superannuation accounts. Mr Smith states the Ms: [60]
looked at it from a different perspective, that the level of cover was definitely required and if not funded via their super they would not have it. This was their priority. [Mr M] had advised he had made lump sum contributions to his super which more than covered the insurance premium, whilst [Mrs M] had employer contributions being made.
(e) ASIC did not cross-examine Mr M as to whether Mr Smith had the discussion with him above.
(f) The undisputed evidence before the Tribunal that the Ms understood the effect of insurance premiums being paid from their superannuation accounts and accepted that on an informed basis.
(g) The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied Mr Smith met his duty because the Ms expressly instructed Mr Smith that they wanted any insurance premiums to be paid from their superannuation in an informed way and there is nothing in the evidence, inferred or otherwise, that such instructions were not in the best interests of the clients.
Mr Smith did not consider existing client superannuation
(a) As found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative. > > (b) As found above, there was no statutory obligation at the time of the M SoA for Mr Smith to keep records in respect of his provision of personal financial advice. The lack of record keeping requires that further evidence is necessary to determine whether Mr Smith has met his duty to act in the best interests of the Ms. > > (c) As discussed above, the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that Mr Smith cannot rely on the safe harbour of s 961B(2). > > (d) Mr Smith's written evidence was that: [63]
The Ms asked me to examine their current product to determine whether or not the insurance coverage they wanted could be funded by their current superannuation.
I had in my mind the knowledge of current superannuation funds available in the market and in doing so that I knew their superannuation was appropriate and there was no need for me to revisit the super fund.
(e) ASIC did not cross-examine Mr M in respect to the above.
(f) The undisputed evidence before the Tribunal that the Ms did not ask Mr Smith to conduct a broader review of their superannuation fund, rather to specifically review for suitability for insurance purposes and Mr Smith did that as well as conducting a mental exercise in satisfying himself that their existing superannuation fund was appropriate.
(g) The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied Mr Smith met his duty because the Ms expressly instructed Mr Smith to limit his scope of advice to insurance in an informed way and there is nothing in the evidence, inferred or otherwise, that such instructions were not in the best interests of the clients.
Mr Smith did not consider relevant health status of clients
process was to give the advice and then allow the insurance provider to seek and assess the relevant health circumstances during the insurance application process. That is, after the advice has been provided and while the recommendation are being implemented.
the appropriate course in these circumstances was for the Applicant to carry out a pre-assessment with the underwriter which would then inform the provision of the financial advice and avoid the risk of switching to an inferior policy or affecting the future ability to claim.
(a) Mr Smith gave evidence that insurers and their underwriters have their own approach to health issues, and thus an efficient approach is to make the application for the financial product and let the insurer/underwriter trigger their health assessment process, and see what 'comes back', deal with it at that stage; and > > (b) In substance, there is no relevant difference identified by ASIC as between these two approaches. There is a faint suggestion in CS [58] that a person might somehow end up with an inferior policy, although that it is not said how this might come about. Overall ASIC's position is that Mr Smith's practice was not what ASIC considers optimal, but ASOC does not identify how Mr Smith's practice contravenes the law.
Mr Smith did not investigate existing client policies
a comparison between not only the fees, but also the features and benefits of those two products. This needed to be done as a "like for like comparison" to ensure that the adviser was "comparing apples to apples, as opposed to apples and pears.
(a) Mr Smith did do a comparison but did not reduce all of that comparison to writing. > > (b) ASIC does not suggest that Mr Smith is lying and the Tribunal should be satisfied that 'Mr Smith's mental exercise of comparison is sufficient to meet s 961B(1)'. > > (c) 'Mr Smith does not have a duty to satisfy ASIC, or the Tribunal, of anything. It is for ASIC to satisfy the Tribunal that Mr Smith did not compare the Ms existing products with the recommended new products'. > > (d) ASIC acknowledges that Mr Smith did set out a comparison in the M SoA and he 'obviously "investigated" the existing policy to this extent. There is no reason to doubt Mr Smith's evidence that he otherwise held a general fund of knowledge about products in the market and drew on this in giving his advice to the [Ms]. It is notable that Ms McInnes opines that Mr Smith is knowledgeable about such matters'.
(a) as found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative; > > (b) as found above, there was no statutory obligation at the time of the M SoA for Mr Smith to keep records in respect of his provision of personal financial advice. The lack of record keeping requires that further evidence is necessary to determine whether Mr Smith has met his duty to act in the best interests of the Ms; > > (c) the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that Mr Smith cannot rely on the safe harbour of s 961B(2) where he did not reduce to writing in the M SoA a full comparison of the insurance products. > > (d) the Tribunal finds as a fact that Mr Smith: > > > (i) had knowledge of the products, he was advising on in the M SoA. That finding is consistent with the unchallenged evidence of Mr Smith and Ms McInnes's opinion; > > > > (ii) did a comparison 'in his head' of the products he was advising on in the M SoA; and > > > > (iii) reduced some of the mental comparison he did into writing in the M SoA. > > (e) The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied Mr Smith met his duty because there is no evidence, or any inference, that the comparison that is contained in the M SoA is wrong or missing particular details that, if included, would have shown that the Ms would have been better informed of any difference between the insurance policies.
(a) The M SoA records the risk profile of the Ms as 'Aggressive' and consistent with that profile 'recommends an asset allocation of 3.41% of defensive assets and 96.59% in growth assets'. > > (b) Mr Smith's evidence was that the risk profile in the M SoA was derived from a 2008 SoA[71] (2008 SoA). > > (c) The 2008 SoA states 'I have established your approach to investing (that is, risk profile) as Growth' and provides the appropriate strategy for that risk profile is 20% income assets and 80% growth assets.[72] > > (d) Mr Dawson's evidence was that Mr Smith 'ought to have undertaken a new risk profile assessment which documents and clearly confirms the clients risk tolerance before making investment recommendations'.[73] > > (e) As that did not occur in the M SoA, the recommendations were inconsistent with the risk profile in the 2008 SoA.
(a) 'It is unclear what the actual concern is'. > > (b) 'The M SoA sets out a recommended allocation of assets as between the various investment classes - Cash, Australian Equities, International Equities, Property Securities. "Defensive Assets" must be a reference only to cash, whereas "Growth Assets" must be a reference to the remaining categories'. > > (c) Mr Smith's evidence was that the allocation was not within his control as it was the product provider's allocation. > > (d) Mr Smith was not advising on the Ms' superannuation choices and only whether it was compatible with the insurance recommendations.
Did Mr Smith breach s 961G
(e) Mr Smith's advice to Mr M to apply for TPD and income protection insurance without a health pre-assessment; and > > (f) Mr Smith's advice that recommended that Mrs M's insurance premiums be deducted from her superannuation account because the impact of those premiums upon Mrs M's superannuation balance.
Did Mr Smith breach s 961J
(a) At [5], that the purpose of the material provided to the sales agents 'was to maximise the prospect of a sale of an interest in the Scheme'. > > (b) At [79], that the sales agents did not take the steps in s 961B(2) and at [81] that the sales agents 'did not comply with their obligations to act in the best interests of the pleaded consumers and thereby contravened s 961B(1)'. > > (c) At [87], 'In this case, there was a conflict between the interests of the authorised representatives and the respective consumers within the meaning of s 961J(1)(a) of the Act. That is because a commission was payable to the Ultiqa authorised representative if the consumer acted on the advice and acquired interests in the scheme'. > > (d) At [89], 'There was also a conflict of interest between the consumers and Ultiqa, which was the financial services licensee of which the authorised representative was a representative. That is because ...the authorised representatives were recommending an in-house product which had been developed internally within the Ultiqa group of companies. This conflict of interest fall within s 961J(1)(c) of the Act and each authorised representative knew or ought to have known there was such a conflict. > > (e) At [91], _'_That they gave such priority also manifested by the authorised representatives engaging in tactics to pressure the consumers to sign up at the presentation, including (in one instance) preventing the consumer from obtaining external advice, (in two instances) misleading the consumers by representing that the interest in the Scheme was not a time-share scheme, in generally not giving the consumers sufficient privacy and time to discuss and debate the proposed acquisition of interests in the Scheme, and by offering inducement to the consumers to sign up at the presentation'.
(a) Mr D rollover his existing superannuation into a CFS superannuation account; and > > (b) Mr D and Mrs S cancel their existing life, TPD and income protection insurance and obtain life, TPD, trauma and income protection insurance with Clearview.
(a) s 961B(1) because Mr Smith:[92] > > > (i) did not consider relevant health status; > > > > (ii) did not sufficiently verify Mr D's income; > > > > (iii) did not adequately consider risks of income protection held in superannuation. > > > > (iv) did not consider existing superannuation; > > > > (v) did not investigate existing policies; and > > > > (vi) did not assess the M's risk profile. > > (b) s 961G because:[93] > > > (i) Mr Smith's advice to Mrs S to replace her existing life, TPD and income protection insurance was inappropriate as such application was declined due to her medical history and thereby Mr Smith was in breach of s 961B by not properly identifying and investigating Mr M's health circumstances and it was not appropriate to advise Mrs S to replace her existing insurance policies. > > > > (ii) Mr Smith's advice that recommended an agreed value income protection policy to be held in superannuation because to obtain the benefit of the policy, Mr D would need to verify his income and Mr Smith had failed in his duty under s 961B(1) in that respect. By holding an agreed value policy (and therefore more expensive) in superannuation, the income payable could not be more than what Mr D was earning before triggering the policy and the ability to claim the full benefit and the additional cost of having the benefit was lost. > > > > (iii) The purpose of income protection is to supplement Mr D's income when he is unable to work, not to top up his superannuation. The advice was not appropriate because of the risk of not meeting that purpose. > > (c) s 961J because: > > > (i) There is a conflict between the interests of a financial adviser and a client where there is a commission payable to the adviser if the client acts on the advice.[94] > > > > (ii) In the circumstances, Mr Smith knew, or ought to have known, that there was such a conflict between the interests of the Ms and his own interests. > > > > (iii) Mr Smith was in breach of s 961B and s 961G and as such it is open to the Tribunal to also find that Mr Smith preferred his own interests over those of the Ms, in contravention of s 961J.
Mr Smith did not consider relevant health status of clients (2)
Mr Smith did not sufficiently verify Mr D's income
In this case, the Applicant proceeded to the financial advice to [Mr D] concerning income protection insurance in circumstances where he had not yet determined a central item of information required to give that advice.
There is an intrigue in relation to Mr [D's] income, although it appears to be [Mr D's] own creation. Mr Smith's evidence was that the income of $36,000 was used for [Mr D] as that would avoid having to reveal to an insurer that [Mr D] had a declining income, and also, that income of $36,000 per year was an adequate statement of [Mr D's] income for IP insurance that was sought.
This appears to have involved a "work around" to help [Mr D] navigate the issue of his declining income. Far from a breach of s 961B(1), it placed [Mr D] in the best possible position to secure insurance.
The fact find disclosed [Mr D'] income as $54,000 - this was based on information received from [Mr D] at the time. i.e his estimation of his gross income.
The 2016 tax return and financial year payment summary disclosed a gross income of $54,801.70 and $54,738.71 - income protection is determined on taxable income of $35,959;
The 2017 fortnightly payslips indicate earnings of approximately $65,000 per annum - income protection is determined on Taxable income of $28,651;
Mr D's income was captured as $36,000 in the SOA - this was the figure that was calculated that the insurer would accept for income protection.
Mr D's income was stated as $44,500 in the insurance application - this is incorrect, the implemented Clearview application clearly stated $36,000.[102]
(a) as found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative; > > (b) the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that Mr Smith cannot rely on the safe harbour of s 961B(2); > > (c) Mr Smith took steps to ensure that Mr D's best interests were protected by not cancelling his existing insurance policies until the new policies were accepted by the insurer; and > > (d) the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied Mr Smith met his Clients Circumstances Duty because Mr Smith made reasonable inquiries to determine Mr D's income and the application for income protection insurance is consistent with those inquiries and as disclosed in the DS SoA.
Mr Smith did not adequately consider risks of income protection held in superannuation
correct that there is a risk that some portion of an agreed value IP policy will be "trapped" in superannuation if it is called upon (since superannuation rules allow for the release of a maximum of 75% of pre-injury earnings), it is not certain that such money will be so trapped - there is every chance that it will be able to be paid out entirely.[109]
I do not fully understand the allegation at [48(d)]. I do not understand what ASIC means by "condition of release". I do know I recommended the product because the policy wording was better, more generous and easier to apply. That is, the product I recommended has a generally different wording making it more advantageous come claim time. It provides an agreed value, within the superannuation rules. Any amount unable to be released due to these rules, will be retained within superannuation, which is still beneficial as discussed and explained to the clients.
Under a "level premium" structure premiums are generally the same every year for the same level of cover. Usually a level premium will be higher than stepped premiums in the early years of a policy but over the long-term will be cheaper.
(a) as found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative; and > > (b) Mr Smith did, in a minimum way, meet the procedural requirements of identifying the risks and benefits of an agreed value policy held within Mr D's superannuation.
Did Mr Smith breach s 961G (2)
(a) Mr Smith's advice to Mrs S to apply for life, TPD and income protection insurance without a health pre-assessment; and > > (b) Mr Smith's advice that recommended that Mr D's income protection insurance be an agreed value policy held within his superannuation.
Did Mr Smith breach s 961J (2)
(a) Rollover certain funds from an existing superannuation account (and keep the remainder of the balance in that account) into a new CFS superannuation account. > > (b) Withdraw $52,077 from an existing managed investment fund and combine with cash funds totalling $63,000 (totalling $115,077) to invest into a First Choice Wholesale Investment managed fund.
The fact find noted that [Mr T] wanted to consolidate his superannuation but did not have a preference for keeping any particular fund, other than his Australian Super Fund because it was a recipient of his salary sacrifice. The fact find also noted that he wanted access to direct shares in his superannuation. This forms part of the basis of the recommendation ultimately made in the SOA. However, a direct investment option was available through Australian Super which was less expensive than the CFS product ultimately recommended.[121] The Applicant has previously accepted that he did not identify that Australian Super had a direct investment option and was unaware of that option at that time[122].
(a) as found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural[130] and not qualitative; > > (b) Mr Smith evidence that there were advantages to the recommended CFS superannuation fund in respect to Mr T, beyond the ability to make direct investment in shares, were not challenged in cross-examination of Mr Smith; > > (c) the fees payable by Mr T were for the advice provided by Mr Smith, and the mode of payment of those fees was an election by Mr T to pay out of pocket or out of superannuation; and > > (d) the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that Mr Smith carried out an adequate investigation into Mr T's existing superannuation and the recommended CFS superannuation fund.
(a) rollover his existing superannuation into a FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super account; and > > (b) obtain life, TPD and income protection insurance.
(a) s 961B(1) because Mr Smith:[133] > > > (i) did not adequately identify client objectives; and > > > > (ii) did not consider existing superannuation. > > (b) s 961G because:[134] > > > (i) Mr Smith's advice that recommended an agreed value income protection policy to be held in superannuation because to obtain the benefit of the policy, Mr P would need to verify his income. By holding an agreed value policy (and therefore more expensive) in superannuation the income payable could not be more than what Mr P was earning before triggering the policy and the ability to claim the full benefit and the additional cost of having the benefit was lost. > > > > (ii) The purpose of income protection is to supplement Mr P's income when he is unable to work, not to top up his superannuation. The advice was not appropriate because of the risk of not meeting that purpose. > > (c) s 961J because: > > > (i) There is a conflict between the interests of a financial adviser and a client where there is a commission payable to the adviser if the client acts on the advice.[135] > > > > (ii) In the circumstances, Mr Smith knew, or ought to have known, that there was such a conflict between the interests of the Ms and his own interests. > > > > (iii) Mr Smith was in breach of s 961B and s 961G and as such it is open to the Tribunal to also find that Mr Smith preferred his own interests over those of the Mr P, in contravention of s 961J.
(a) The allegation was 'unintelligible viz s 961B(1) and 961B(2)'. > > (b) Identifying objectives (s 961B(2)) 'runs only as far as they are disclosed by the client in instructions, and making further inquiries runs only as far as is reasonable to ensure there is complete and accurate information'. > > (c) 'A provider does not need to delve into the depths of a client's life as to assist them to articulate "life objectives" before the articulating "financial objectives"'. > > (d) Mr Smith correctly recorded what Mr P wanted to achieve. > > (e) Mr P wanted an aggressive risk profile to his investments. > > (f) The allegation that the comparison of superannuation funds was not on a 'like for like' basis was in circumstances where Mr P 'had already determined that he wished to switch out of his "balanced" (ie, lower yield) fund. It makes little sense to spill ink over something that is not in play'. > > (g) Because Mr P had already determined he wanted to move out of his existing superannuation fund the criticism of not providing a comparison of 'fees, features and benefits' was redundant.
(a) Explained the risks and benefits of the CFS geared superannuation fund and its performance over 20 years. Mr P decided, knowing the risk involved, to move to that fund and 'ultimately I have benefitted from the higher returns of the geared fund'. > > (b) Explained the difference between an agreed versus indemnity income protection policy, and having considered that Mr P chose an agreed value policy based on his consideration of his employment circumstances.
(a) as found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural[145] and not qualitative; > > (b) as found above, the Tribunal does not accept that to meet the best interests of the client in s 961B(1) the provider is obliged to provide objectives that are specific, measurable and why the insurance was required because such an obligation is inconsistent with the clear language in s 961B(2)(a); > > (c) the undisputed evidence before the Tribunal was that the objectives as stated in the T SoA accorded to the instructions provided by Mr T and he was not asking Mr Smith to go beyond them; > > (d) the objectives in the T SoA identified the objectives that were disclosed to Mr Smith in Mr T's instructions to him; > > (e) the Tribunal does not accept the contention of ASIC that the characterisation of the objectives was product focussed as they recorded Mr T's aggressive risk profile and his requirement to have comprehensive insurance cover; > > (f) in any event, the Tribunal does not accept that a valid objective cannot be specific to a type of insurance product (ie, life, TPD, trauma or income protection) or incorporate a risk profile, provided that is subject to consideration in the advice and the recommendations made by the provider; and > > (g) Mr P had independently made the decision that he no longer wanted to remain in his existing superannuation fund and expressed a strong preference for the recommended fund based on his consideration of its results.
(a) Mr B withdraw $95,000 from his existing superannuation account and $46,000 from their CFS managed investment to contribute into Mrs B's Sunsuper account. > > (b) Mr B rollover the remainder of his existing superannuation into a CFS - FirstChoice Wholesale pension fund.
(a) did not adequately identify client objectives; and > > (b) did not consider existing superannuation.
Did Mr Smith adequately identify client objectives
(b) as found above, the Tribunal does not accept that to meet the best interests of the client in s 961B(1) the provider is obliged to provide objectives that are specific, measurable because such an obligation is inconsistent with the clear language in s 961B(2)(a);
(c) the undisputed evidence before the Tribunal was that the objectives as stated in the B SoA accorded to the instructions provided by Mr and Mrs B and they were not asking Mr Smith to go beyond them; and
(d) the objectives in the B SoA identified the objectives that were disclosed to Mr Smith in Mr and Mrs B's instructions to him.
Did Mr Smith consider existing superannuation
(a) as found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative; > > (b) as found above, there was no statutory obligation at the time of the M SoA for Mr Smith to keep records in respect of his provision of personal financial advice. The lack of record keeping requires that further evidence is necessary to determine whether Mr Smith has met his duty to act in the best interests of Mr and Mrs B; > > (c) Mr Smith in cross-examination stated he did do the comparison of the existing and recommended superannuation funds and was not challenged except that the criticism was that there was not documentary evidence of that comparison;[155] > > (d) As considered above, the payment of the advice fee was at the election of Mr and Mrs B as to whether it was to be paid out of pocket or out of superannuation and there was no evidence contesting that fact; and > > (e) the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied on the evidence that Mr Smith did conduct a comparison of the existing and recommended superannuation funds and met his duty under s 961B(1).
(a) Mr C retain his life and TPD cover with AMP Super and obtain additional life and TPD cover with AMP Super; > > (b) Mr C cancel his income protection insurance with AMP Super and establish a new income protection and trauma policy; > > (c) Mrs C retain her income protection insurance with Qsuper and obtain additional income protection and a trauma policy; and > > (d) Mrs C cancel and replace her existing Qsuper life and TPD cocer.
(a) s 961B(1) because Mr Smith: [158] > > > (i) did not identify financial situation. > > > > (ii) did not consider the impact of insurance premiums on superannuation. > > > > (iii) did not consider existing insurance. > > (b) s 961G because: > > > (i) Mr Smith's advice was inappropriate because of the impact of insurance premiums on Mrs C's superannuation balance; and > > > > (ii) Superannuation is not a funding source for insurance premiums, rather the purpose is to provide benefits to member upon retirement. > > (c) s 961J because as Mr Smith is in breach of s 961B(1), it is open to the Tribunal to also find that Mr Smith preferred is own interests over those of Mr and Mrs C in contravention of s 961J.
Mr Smith did not sufficiently identify Mr and Mrs C's financial situation
It is strange that ASIC maintains an allegation that Mr Smith did not adequately identify [Mr and Mrs C's] financial position when...Mr Smith says - and he was not challenged about this - that [Mr and Mrs C] did not want to provide Mr Smith with that information and would determine affordability themselves.
(a) as found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative; > > (b) Mr Smith's written evidence was that he did not include details of Mr and Mrs C expenses when he completed the fact finding as he was instructed by Mr and Mrs C to provide quotes on insurance costs for them to assess the costs and their capacity to meet them. Mr Smith states the Mr and Mrs C 'declined my request for them to complete a cash flow position as they felt they were in a better position to determine affordability'[163]; > > (c) ASIC did not cross-examine Mr C as to whether he had provided Mr Smith instructions on their expenses; > > (d) the undisputed evidence before the Tribunal that Mr and Mrs C did not, or want to, provide instructions to Mr Smith in respect to their expenses; > > (e) the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that Mr Smith cannot rely on the safe harbour of s 961B(2); and > > (f) the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied Mr Smith met his Clients Circumstances Duty because Mr and Mrs C expressly limited the information available to Mr Smith to prepare the C SoA in an informed way.
Mr Smith did not consider the impact of insurance premiums on superannuation
failed to adequately consider the impact of paying insurance premiums from within superannuation. Ms C has a low balance in her superannuation account and the first year insurance premium would substantially deplete that balance.
(a) as found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative; > > (b) Mr and Mrs C's insurance premiums were already being paid out of their superannuation and insurance was a priority for them[166]. > > (c) The Tribunal accepts that Mr Smith's advice was appropriate because it did not impact on their after-tax income to be put to saving for a house. > > (d) In cross-examination of Mr C, he said that he and Mrs C knew that the premiums would be paid from their superannuation.[167] > > (e) The undisputed evidence before the Tribunal that Mr and Mrs C understood the effect of insurance premiums being paid from their superannuation accounts and accepted that on an informed basis. > > (f) The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied Mr Smith met his duty because Mr and Mrs C knew insurance premiums were being paid from their superannuation already and the advice to continue to do so was in an informed way and there is nothing in the evidence, inferred or otherwise, that such instructions were not in the best interests of the clients.
Mr Smith did not consider existing client insurance
(a) as found above, the requirements of s 961B(2) are procedural and not qualitative. > > (b) The Tribunal finds as a fact that Mr Smith: > > > (i) had knowledge of the products, he was advising on in the C SoA. That finding is consistent with the unchallenged evidence of Mr Smith and Ms McInnes's opinion. > > > > (ii) did a comparison 'in his head' of the products he was advising on in the C SoA; and > > > > (iii) reduced some of the mental comparison he did into writing in the C SoA. > > (c) The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied Mr Smith met his duty because there is no evidence, or any inference, that the comparison that is contained in the C SoA is wrong or missing particular details that, if included, would have shown that the Ms would have been better informed of any difference between the insurance policies.
The contraventions of sections 961B, 961G and s 961J set out above demonstrate several failures by the Applicant to comply with his obligations over a period of several years. The numerous past contraventions raise the real prospect that the Applicant will contravene these provisions in the future.
5. In my opinion, Mr Smith has good product and strategy knowledge. However, he initially had some issues in documenting the information contained within the file notes, Fact Find and file into the advice document by way of objectives and scope.
6. In discussions with Mr Smith, it became apparent he knew and understood a lot about the clients. Discussions and coaching sessions were provided to assist him with transferring this information on to paper in the file. There was many hours of coaching and mentoring completed to assist Mr Smith on how he should document the clients' objectives and scope to ensure it was clear and represented what the client was looking for from the advice, post education.
7. Both audit and Prevet discussions were lengthy, (approximately 1 - 1.5 hours per meeting). This provided Mr Smith the opportunity to discuss current and potential future clients, he was open and curious in our discussions, he asked questions and listened to the responses. He stated on occasions he wanted to make sure he got this right. He has shown initiative and has contacted me to ask questions outside of these set meetings if he has a certain question or if he wants to check the appropriateness of advice documentation.
8. I believe Mr Smith has strong strategy and product knowledge as well as experience as a financial adviser. He understands that all client information needs to be documented on file and the information that reflects the steps he has taken to reach his recommendation. He knows how to review an advice document received by a Paraplanning Business and understands the research requirements. He also, now, has a Paraplanner with a strong compliance background and knowledge.
General deterrence is a key factor in determining whether to make a banning order in this matter. General deterrence is a fundamental issue in determining whether to impose a disqualification order and if so for what period. The Tribunal is bound to consider whether making a banning order would maintain public interest or confidence in the financial services industry.
can be achieved by imposing a sufficient penalty that tells the person how the decision maker has evaluated the conduct complained of so that the person penalised will understand that a repetition of such conduct will be punished no less severely in the future.
On 27 April 2021, I was given a banning order by ASIC, which - if upheld - will prohibit me from providing financial services for a period of eighteen (18) months.
I immediately applied to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) to have the decision reviewed and set aside. No date for the hearing has been set.
On [date of stay order], the AAT granted me a stay of the banning decision. This allows me to continue to provide financial services to you, pending the outcome of the AAT review. One of the conditions of the stay was that I write to you, to inform you of these matters, [given that I currently provide financial services to you / given that you propose to engage me to provide financial services to you]. This allows you to ask me any questions you may have, and of course to allow you to make a decision regarding whether or not you wish to retain me as your financial adviser.
I will inform you of the outcome of the AAT review and any impact that the AAT's decision may have on my ability to continue to provide you with financial services.
(a) the Tribunal found that Mr Smith had breached s 961B(1) on one occasion, namely the 'aggressive' risk profile contained in the M SoA, was not in the best interests of the client because it was not clear that there was informed consent to that level of risk when considering all of the evidence. The Tribunal found that the 2008 SoA did contain a reference to the clients adopting an 'aggressive' risk profile but contrasted with an assessment that they had a 'growth' risk profile in the same document; > > (b) the Tribunal found that Mr Smith's breach of s 961B(1) led to a breach of s 961G because the quality of the advice in the M SoA was tainted by that breach (the Breaches); > > (c) the Tribunal considers the Breaches were a result of the inadvertence and accepted lax record keeping by Mr Smith; > > (d) The Tribunal finds that Mr Smith did not make any personal gain from the Breaches. > > (e) the Tribunal finds that Mr Smith has not been dishonest in any regard to his conduct subject of these proceedings; > > (f) otherwise, no other breaches of the Corporations Act were made out. This is significant because of the number of breaches alleged by ASIC across the 6 client files; > > (g) the Tribunal took into consideration that Mr Smith called clients as witnesses from across the 6 client files who all gave favourable evidence and largely confirmed his own evidence of the circumstances of providing advice to them; > > (h) the Tribunal prefers the evidence of Ms McInnes as to Mr Smith's present understanding of his obligations to comply with the Corporations Act because she has had direct oversight of him since the Banning Order was imposed and was a compelling witness of opinion and fact; > > (i) the Tribunal takes into consideration the conditions upon which the Tribunal has imposed on Mr Smith since July 2021 in staying the Banning Order, some 4 years ago, in respect to his requirement to notify his clients (existing and new) and the hardship that has imposed on him; > > (j) the Tribunal is satisfied that there is no risk to the public in not making a banning order or in respect to the objects of the Corporations Act and the ASIC Act; > > (k) the Tribunal is satisfied in the circumstances, the objectives of general deterrence and specific deterrence have been satisfied; > > (l) the Tribunal is satisfied that no financial losses have been proven in respect to Mr Smith's conduct in respect to the Breaches; > > (m) the Tribunal is satisfied that Mr Smith has taken positive steps to mitigate the risk of him breaching the Corporations Act in the future by hiring a para-planner and having Ms McInnes conduct audits of his client files and mentor him.
Banning Order under ss 920A and 920B of Corporations Act
Notice of Hearing under s 920A of the Corporations Act
Attachment B to the Notice - List of Document upon which concerns are based
Transcript of administrative hearing of Mr Smith pursuant to s 920A of the Corporations Act
Current Company Extract - Mr Bradely Smith Financial Services Pty Ltd ACN 124 602 179
Australian Financial Services Representative Bradley Wayne Smith AFS Representative No 000235639
Advice Evolution Adviser Training and Monitoring Program
20170531 C - AIA signed application + Beneficiary Nom.pdf
The Ms' Business Trust - 2013 Financial Statements.pdf
The Ms' Business Trust - 2011 Financial Statements.pdf
The Ms' Business Trust - 2012 Financial Statements.pdf
Colonial First State First Choice on the list of worst performing funds
ASIC Regulatory Guide 175 ‐ Licensing: Financial product advisers - Conduct and disclosure
ASIC Regulatory Guide 175 ‐ Licensing: Financial product advisers - Conduct and disclosure
ASIC Regulatory Guide 175 ‐ Licensing: Financial product advisers - Conduct and disclosure
ASIC Regulatory Guide 175 ‐ Licensing: Financial product advisers - Conduct and disclosure
ASIC Regulatory Guide 98 ‐ ASIC's powers to suspend, cancel and vary AFS licences and make banning orders
Advice Evolution Australian Financial Services Licence No: 342880
Affidavit of Bradley Smith affirmed 24 June 2021 and annexed documents
Exhibits to Affidavit of Bradley Wayne Smith affirmed 2 March 2022
Exhibits of Affidavit of Bradley Smith sworn 6 July 2022
Sergius Dawson Compiled Reports including: Statement of Sergius Dawson dated 12 May 2022; Appendix 1 - Statement of Sergius Dawson dated 12 May 2022; Client File Assessments for Bradley Smith - Sergius Dawson; Statement of Sergius Dawson dated 20 July 2023; Attachment 1 - Request for Supplementary
Report dated 29 May 2023; and Supplementary Report by Mr Dawson dated 19 July 2023
Material produced by Advice Evolution Pty pursuant to the Summons dated 22 July 2024
Further material produced by the Applicant - Adviser Training & Mentoring Program - Advice Evolution 2025
[2] On 14 October 2024, the AAT became the Administrative Review Tribunal (the Tribunal). Under the transitional provisions in the Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024 (the Transitional Act), applications for review to the AAT that were not finalised before 14 October 2024 are taken to be an application for review to the Tribunal. The Transitional Act gives the Tribunal the authority to continue and finalise any aspect of the review not already completed by the AAT. This decision and statement of reasons is made by the Tribunal.
[12] ASIC CS at [14]-[17], [21]-[24].
[13] Australian Securities and Investments Commission v NSG Services Pty Ltd [2017] FCA 345
[14] Australian Securities and Investments Commission v Westpac Securities Administration Ltd [2019] FCAFC 187 (Westpac) per Jagot J at [301].
[15] Australian Securities and Investments Commission v DOD Bookkeeping Pty Ltd (in liq) [2023] FCA 1622 (DOD Bookkeeping) per Goodman J at [156].
[20] McDonald v Director-General of Social Security (1984) 1 FCR 354 per Woodward J at 10.
[22] Dawson supplementary report at [21].
[40] Applicant's Closing Submissions dated 26 April 2025 (Applicant's CS) at [7]-[11]; [22]-[26].
[44] cf Mr Dawson, transcript p 52, line13 to 15.
[45] This is consistent with Westpac and DOD Bookkeeping.
[46] Exhibit 113, annexure A, at [19]- [20]; see also Exhibit 115, at [42].
[50] Transcript p 55-56, line 36 to 47, 1 to 19.
[57] Applicant's Submissions dated 26 April 2023 (Applicant's Submissions) at [38].
[58] Transcript p 317, line 19 to 25, line 40 to 46.
[65] Exhibit 127 at [14(f)], Dawson supplementary report at [28]-[31].
[68] Transcript p 313, line 4 to page 314, line 5.
[71] Exhibit 114, annexure BSW5, p 173.
[72] Exhibit 114, annexure BSW5, p 153.
[73] Exhibit 127, Dawson Report at [14(i)]; Dawson Supplementary Report at [38]-[41].
[75] Exhibit 113, annexure A, at [37].
[77] Transcript p 237, line 35 to 34, p 238, line 1-11.
[78] Exhibit 114, annexure BWS5, at 11.
[79] Exhibit 114, annexure BWS5, at 32.
[81] ASIC CS at [65]; Dawson Report at [17(d)].
[85] Exhibit 113, Annexure A, at [63].
[98] Smith Witness statement at [22(c)]
[104] Transcript p 249, line 33 to 41.
[105] Transcript p 250, line 31 to 39.
[106] This is consistent with Westpac and DOD Bookkeeping.
[108] Exhibit 127, Dawson Report at [46(h)]; Dawson Supplementary Report at [103]-[1-7].
[115] Exhibit 127, Dawson Report at [49(b)].
[123] Exhibit 127, Dawson Report at [58(b)]; Dawson Supplementary Report at [136]-[137].
[125] Applicant's CS at [69]-[70].
[129] Transcript p 258, line 11 to 45.
[141] Applicant's CS at [72]-[77].
[143] Transcript p 320, line 17 to 26.
[150] Applicant's CS at [82]-[85].
[155] Transcript p 277, line 37 to 44.
[169] Transcript p 281, at line 36 to 44.
[170] Transcript p 282, at line 5 to 10.
[171] Transcript p 282, at line 16 to 24.
[172] ASIC CS at [118]; citing Schroeder and Australian Securities and Investment Commission [2021] AATA 3519 at [99].
[175] Australian Securities and Investments Commission v McCormack [2017] FCA 672
[179] Order of Deputy President McCabe dated 2 July 2021.
Australian Securities and Investments Commission
Adler
(1984) 1 FCR 354
(2004) 220 CLR 129