© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[1986] FCA 257
Federal Court of Australia
1986-06-30
Davies J
Original judgment source is linked above.
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW - COMPENSATION - appeal from decision
of Administrative Appeals Tribunal ~- whether open to Tribunal to conclude that employee with back injury was not "partially incapacitated for work" ~ meaning of
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL- failure by Tribunal to identify correct decision under review - substance of true issues nonetheless considered by Tribunal - good practice for Tribunal to include material parts of determination under review and legislation in reasons
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) s.44 Compensation (Commonwealth Government Employees) Act
Arnotts Snack Products Pty Ltd v Yacob (1985) 57 ALR 229
AND 2 AUSTRALIAN TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION Respondent
a . newt cipore cr aegrec Ost . m~ 4197 as -ace DOTLDE WALES DISTRICT REST } NO. G.137 st 1935 ; aewogye srytessy , SS ah meVer ios GN AP =a GT AIT VT ors ATT IT FZ Tara GN APPEAL FRoM THE ASMINIS SRA - APPEALS
lement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 rai Court Rules.
FEDERAL COURD OF Ag wo aH, FEDERAL COURD OF AUSTRALIA
This is an appeal from a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal given on 6 June 1985. The decision in substance affirmed a determination of a deisgate of the Commissioner for
Empioyees' Compensation, though it will be necessary for me to
lane apyellant, "irs FLA. Justice, was Zorn on 17 GE Go the date of the decision of the Tribunal. in about 1973, she jceincd
cyplst and continued in 'thet employment for e:ght anc a nal
yeacs. For most of the veriocé of her employmenc, she cacried cut other C€ucvies in addition to typing. On 4 Septerser 1981, Miss
Gecshbacn suffered injury to hey back while sne was stancing on a
nacdes reading meters. The nature of the injury i5 not entirely
Cciear, though one of the treating doctors spoxe oF a lumbar disc iesion. The Tribunal merely Found,
"34. Whether or not the incident on a iacder on September 1981 caused the applicant's 'lumbar Ci lesion', org merely aggravated a pre-eExXistin conéition (compare Dr. Meacnhin''s view with th Dr. Envlich), 10 iS ciear on the evicence &
the Tribunal that, contrary to the view personnel officer, Parkes (=.A. Ren applicant's position was 'cover loaded', ana Tt in combination, the tasxs associated with performing the maii and fi i with her position as a typ2
applicant to develop a dDack concgition from which she was suitfering on the date of her resignation (21 April 1982) and from which she is still suffering. ...".
On 21 April 1982, Miss Gersbach resigned from ner employment. The Tribunal explained this resignation as rolicows :
"20. The applicant returned to work, but found that she was in extreme pain, particularly in ner mail
and filing duties. She said that she was Torced to sell her nouse, because she could no longer manage the gardening. She received some relier
for periods of up to 3 weeks, when Dre. Meacnin gave her injections at the base of tne spine. Finally, on 21 April 1982, she resigned from her employment. In pacticular, she found that she could no longér carry on the filing and nail duties. She continued with the same kind of work right up until the day she resigned.
ermination of 13 April 1984, which gave compensation
Paragraph 1 of the detercminaticn of i3 April 1334 cease :
"(1) In accordance with the provisions of section 45(2A) of the said Act, she is entitled to the payment of compensation at the weekly cate egquivaient to full sick pay, including any relevant salary allowances, in. accordance with prescrided conditions relating to the payments of such allowances Guring periods of sick leave from 30.11.81 to 19.11.81, i hour on 7.12.81, 50 minutes on 9.12.81, 5.2.82 one day, 15.2.82 to 21.2.82, 3 hours 51 minutes on 3.3.82."
On 10 February 1984, a delegate of che Commissioner
Employees' Compensation had made the following determination
"1. On the evidence before me, including specialist medical opinion, i find that on and from 22 Aprii 1982 the personal injury sustained by the said Patricia Anita Gersbach on 4 September 1981 has not prevented her Icom earning in some suitable employment of business a weekiy amount wnich is not less than her average weekly earnings before that injury, calculated in accordance with section 25 of the said Act.
Liability fer the injury was accepted Dy a Ceterminaticn
gate of the Commissioner foc Employees' Compensaticn cated
of che Corpensation (Commo cvern Zuployvees) Act i37i, and ZS cetersninations eviousliy made QtTTEL = meres sere TAAL Le HSCS an Pelec c Commissisn is not i le to vay conpe cocaance with sec nm 45 Ge SséCTi said Act on ana fr 22 Ap¢cii
k 4 1] fu cr (2 Q ra tt ci & @ in cl i fi ct s! ry Ww CcA o ty ty
"The decision of the Tribunal is cto c termination under
paragraph (i) of the de rev , insofar as it relates to the pericc on and From 22 the dat rt
One of the grounds of appeal is that the Tribunai made no
April 1984, though the terms of the determination were not set out therein, and that the decision appears to nave been Grawm with that determination in mind. The Tribunal appears to have assumed that paragraph (1) of the determination of 13 Apri i984 impliedly refused compensation with respect to the period on and from 22 April 1982, a pesiod which that paragraph did not mention. It was, however, the determination or 10 February 1984 which achieved that and, having regard to the substance of the
Tribunal's decision, the Tribunal ought to have affirmed the
This is a matter of technicality which couid be corrected by an ordec of the Court if that were the only issue. It is not
a matter of substance. However, I take this opportunity to
fu cd ef oO is ta fue [a] a=vn- -4- ee 3 WlOoOoN 1. .aW, - Wiad GLiuw ene ADPSa. Wilt. costs. 2.8 ceclsion
preceding pages are a irue copy of the reasons for judgment herein of The Honour- able Mr, Justice J.D, DavieS
Arnotts Snack Products Pty Ltd
Yacob
(1985) 57 ALR 229