austlii:cth/ARTA/2025/2516
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2025-11-25
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) Decision of the Tribunal on first review - 2024/B192231 (austudy debt) and 2024/B192591 (compensation charge) dated 18 February 2025, marked Exhibit 1;
(b) Documents provided by Ms NBTL on first review (97 pages), marked Exhibit A1;
(c) Ms NBTL's 14 March 2025 application for second review, marked Exhibit A2;
(d) Ms NBTL's 7 July 2025 written submissions, marked Exhibit A3;
(e) Documents provided by Ms NBTL on 30 October 2025 entitled "Systemic harm in Higher Education and Social Services" (76 pages), marked Exhibit A4;
(f) Emails from Ms NBTL of 3 November 2025, marked Exhibit A5;
(g) Document provided by Ms NBTL on 11 September 2025 entitled "ART/Gap Trauma Informed Hearing Request and Statement Services Australia" (19 pages), marked Exhibit A6;
(h) Document provided by Ms NBTL on 15 October 2025 entitled "Legal basis for holistic review application" (11 pages), marked Exhibit A7;
(i) Documents provided by the Respondent pursuant to section 23 of the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 on first review, application 2024/B192231, pages 1 to 386, marked Exhibit R1;
(j) Documents provided by the Respondent pursuant to section 23 of the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 on first review, application 2024/B192591, pages 1 to 336, marked Exhibit R2;
(k) Documents provided by the Respondent pursuant to section 25 of the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024, Documents ST1 to ST5, index and pages 461 to 481, marked Exhibit R3;
(l) Statement of Issues, Facts and Contentions (SIFC) of the Respondent dated 1 August 2025, marked for identification as Exhibit R4; and
(m) Attachment A to the Respondent's SFIC, Documents A1 to A4, index and pages 1 to 45, marked for identification as Exhibit R5.
This application rather, respectfully requests the Tribunal undertake merits review that accounts for:
The part which a governmental policy should ordinarily play in the determinations of the Tribunal is a matter for the Tribunal to determine, in the context of the particular case, informed by considerations of the desirability of consistency of administrative decisions, but balanced against the ideal of justice in the individual case (Hneidi v Minister for Immigration and Citizenship [2010] FCAFC 20: (2010) 182 FCR 115 at [43]). Further, it is well-established that the Tribunal must make the correct or preferable decision in each case on the material before it and that the Tribunal is at liberty to adopt whatever policy it chooses, or no policy at all, in fulfilling its statutory function (Re Drake and Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No 2) (1979) 2 ALD 634 at 642-643 per Brennan J). The important matter is compliance with the terms of the relevant statute itself Minster for Home Affairs v G [2019] FCAFC 79; (2019) 266 FCR 69.
(a) Is Ms NBTL subject to a lump sum preclusion period and resulting charge?
(b) Are there special circumstances in Ms NBTL's case so that it is appropriate to treat the compensation payment, or part of it, as not having been made?
(c) Can any resulting debt to the Commonwealth be written off or waived?
Issue 1 - Is Ms NBTL subject to a lump sum preclusion period and resulting charge?
In order to calculate the lump sum preclusion period, the compensation part of a lump sum payment for the same compensable event must be determined. The 50% rule deems half the lump sum payment as being the compensation part in ALL cases where:
Act reference: SSAct section 17(3) Compensation part of a lump sum
Policy reference: SS Guide 4.13.2.60 Lump Sum Preclusion Period - General
A lump sum compensation payment that includes economic loss due to personal injury, may be decided by a court or tribunal, it may be arbitrated, or it may be agreed by settlement between the parties. Settlement is the most common way that lump sum compensation payments are decided.
The manner in which the matter is decided can affect when the lump sum is deemed to have been received. It can also affect the amount used to calculate the compensation preclusion period, the compensation part of the lump sum, and whether the 50% rule is to be applied.
50% of $79,896/$1,198.70[7] = 33.32610 weeks rounded down to 33 weeks.
Issue 2 - Are there special circumstances in Ms NBTL's case so that it is appropriate to treat the compensation payment, or part of it, as not having been made?
Financial hardship has been considered as a possible component of special circumstances in a number of decisions. It is clear, however, that standing by itself, it would not amount to a "special circumstance" (Re Beadle 6 ALSD 1 at 4). Further the financial circumstances must be more than straitened. They must be "exceptional" (Re Colaiacolo Decision 2109 24 April 1985 at paragraph 19).
Example: Unforeseen and unexpected medical expenses for the person or immediate family member or dependant, which results in financial self-support plans being thwarted.
(a) she had been on long-term parenting payment whilst studying; > > (b) she is impacted by a declared mental illness which is documented with Centrelink back to 1994; > > (c) she is the sole parent of her child (who is now aged 15), the mandated primary parent under Federal and Family Court orders; > > (d) at the end of 2022, her child was going through serious psychosis and also at the time of the accident and time of settlement had a number of issues impacting them; > > (e) her financial situation is severe and is now impacted even further by her father's cancer diagnosis and treatment; > > (f) she has had to use the Home Energy Emergency Assistance Scheme to buy a washing machine; > > (g) she is no longer in receipt of parenting payment and her application for carer assistance was deleted without further inquiry; > > (h) the community centre which provides assistance to her is only able to provide one care package per family per month; > > (i) jobseeker payment and family tax benefit are her sole sources of income other than approximately $480 per month child support she now receives; > > (j) her rent has recently increased, with a resulting increase in the bond of $500 which she has been unable to pay; > > (k) she can only afford third-party insurance on her car; > > (l) she was previously having money deducted from her Centrelink payments and that was keeping her electricity bill down, however something went wrong with that and it is up to a $1,000 bill now; > > (m) when her austudy debt was raised, it stopped her access to advance payments and she had to reduce a number of the automatic deductions she had set up towards bills; > > (n) her expenses still include as set out in the SFC with some increases; > > (o) she buys her groceries from a budget grocer, Fishes and Loaves, and ALDI, but sometimes she just runs out of money; > > (p) the week prior to the hearing, Optus were going to disconnect her phone because she hadn't paid the $200 bill. She explained she needed her phone for the hearing and they let her pay half of the bill so she could keep the phone connected for the hearing; > > (q) she has medical and pharmacy expenses for both her and her child; > > (r) her child was referred out of a public school to a speciality school and she should be paying $275 per term but she is very behind with that - she currently has a $1,000 bill to the school; > > (s) she has an outstanding debt to the Australian Institute of Professional Counselling, separate to the HELP debt, of approximately $4,000; > > (t) the Afterpay debt of $770 noted in her SFC has now been zeroed: the student loan and HELP debts still remain; > > (u) she paid a number of outstanding debts (including education debts, school fees, chemist, medical and dental bills) from the compensation monies, including rental arrears. She also bought and registered a second-hand car to replace a damaged vehicle. She also bought her child a good computer which they needed for studying part-time at school and part-time at home. She paid her parents back $2,000, which included for groceries they had assisted her with after the car accident; > > (v) she has not been able to afford ongoing physiotherapy and psychological support (including CBT therapy recommended for her) to progress her health; > > (w) both she and her child have been diagnosed with ADHD (and ASD). Her diagnosis came about after her child was diagnosed with anxiety, depression, ADHD and attention disorder;[11] > > (x) her child has gender dysphoria and a lot of things associated with that; > > (y) her child was released from the Queensland Children's Hospital's acute mental illness ward in December 2022 and has continuing issues and deserves help, and she cannot afford to pay for it; > > (z) in response to a query from the Respondent, Ms NBTL said that despite discussions with Centrelink about her possibly having access to superannuation on the basis of financial hardship, when she made enquiries, she would only have been able to have accessed $37 so she didn't do that - it wasn't worth it; > > (aa) she has limited family support due to her parents' own financial constraints and health issues; > > (bb) for many years she only received limited child support which has contributed to her ongoing financial hardship; and > > (cc) she has a permanent injury to her cervical spine because of the vehicle accident (in relation to which she received the compensation). > > 1. As regards consideration of Ms NBTL's ill health and special circumstances, the Respondent's submissions included that an injury in relation to which the person has been compensated cannot generally be regarded as a special circumstance and ill health must be more severe than most disability support pension recipients, of which there is no evidence in Ms NBTL's case. It was submitted that it is not unusual for someone who has been in receipt of compensation, or who is putatively in receipt of disability support pension, to have medical conditions of the nature impacting Ms NBTL.[12] The Respondent submitted that there is no evidence of Ms NBTL lodging a claim for disability support pension since being diagnosed with ADHD or for her personal injury despite being invited to do so. Overall, the Respondent submitted that Ms NBTL's ill health does not reach the threshold necessary to constitute special circumstances. > 2. As regards financial hardship, the Respondent submitted that financial hardship of itself does not amount to special circumstances and it must be more than strained - it must be exceptional and, further, needs to be severe and worse than most social security recipients.[13] > 3. The Respondent in their written submissions recognises the grounds of severe financial hardship advanced by Ms NBTL[14] but submitted that a rental arrears priority budget prepared by Ms NBNL[15] shows a fortnightly surplus showing strained financial circumstances rather than exceptional financial circumstances leading to hardship. Further, in written submissions, it was noted that contact with Ms NBTL had suggested that she previously had some money (although the amount was unquantified) in the bank. In oral submissions on behalf of the Respondent, it was recognised that based on Ms NBTL's evidence at hearing, any money she may have had in the bank is now gone and she has not been able to access superannuation. Further, at hearing, Ms NBTL explained that the rental arrears budget comprises two budgets and the one with the surplus doesn't include groceries at the more accurate amount of $300 to $350 per fortnight, which means that she does not have a surplus - in fact, it is the other way around and she is regularly relying on food packages from community organisations. The budgets were prepared with the assistance of Youth and Family Services and the budget with the surplus was prepared initially based on her figures but then it was realised that she had left out a lot of expenses and not allowed enough for groceries. When everything was allowed there was no surplus and the situation was, in fact, the opposite. > 4. As regards health conditions impacting Ms NBTL's child, it was submitted in oral submissions on behalf of the Respondent that, other than Ms NBTL's oral evidence, there is no contemporaneous documentary evidence post November 2022/December 2023 as to what those circumstances are now. > 5. As regards other matters such as sole parenting by Ms NBTL, the Respondent recognises that sole parenting is a situation that may cause financial strain but does not accept it is a circumstance that is unusual, uncommon or exceptional, particularly in circumstances where parenting orders were made by consent. As regards family law proceedings, the Respondent submitted that Ms NBTL's circumstances do not have the characteristics of previously considered matters where special circumstances are found on the basis of, for example, inability to realise assets until the family law proceedings are finalised or where there is liability incurred, or use of compensation payments required, to pay for legal costs of family law proceedings. > 6. I raised with the Respondent's representative at hearing that some of the previous cases referred to, in which special circumstances had been found to exist to exercise the section 1184K discretion, had similar particulars to Ms NBTL's circumstances. It was submitted that what distinguishes Ms NBTL's case from other cases where the discretion has been exercised is that there is no forward-facing preclusion period preventing Ms NBTL's access to income support payments. It was further submitted that the provisions have operated as intended - Ms NBTL received jobseeker payment to assist her when she was awaiting compensation. When she then received compensation, a charge applied to repay jobseeker payment for the period for which she was compensated and she now continues to be in receipt of income support payments. > 7. In closing submissions at hearing, Ms NBTL said that she is only seeking to have part of the compensation considered as having not been received. She said she is not being greedy or unreasonable; it would just help to have a recognition of the difficulty of her circumstances. She submitted that her circumstances should be considered special enough that it is appropriate to consider at least part of the compensation monies as not having been made which would in turn reduce the compensation charge. > 8. The Respondent's representative in response indicated that it had previously been understood that Ms NBTL was seeking that all of the compensation monies be disregarded, that they had no instructions in relation to a partial reduction, and that the Respondent's position remained that the entirety of the compensation should not be disregarded. > 9. I took into account all of Ms NBTL's circumstances. I am satisfied that Ms NBTL has not recklessly expended the compensation monies and rather felt compelled to repay previously incurred debts and to expend money on other understandable purchases such as a modest second‑hand vehicle and a computer for her child's education. I acknowledge the Respondent's submissions in relation to some deficiency in recent corroboratory documentary evidence as to Ms NBTL's and her child's circumstances, including medical and financial. However, I nonetheless have the benefit of Ms NBTL's sworn oral evidence as to her current circumstances, evidence which I accept in full. I found Ms NBTL's evidence as to both her financial and health circumstances, and her child's health and schooling circumstances, to be clear and consistent, neither exaggerated nor inconsistent with the documentary evidence available. I accept that recent corroboratory documentary evidence would be of assistance, including, for example, as to the current medical and associated challenges for Ms NBTL and her child. However, I also recognise the limited resources of Ms NBTL to access and provide such documentation. > 10. I have had regard to all matters, including all matters previously canvassed, particularly:
(a) the continuing strained financial position Ms NBTL is in and has been in for several years, including having to rely upon her parents, and more recently given her parents' own difficulties, placing more reliance on community support including for groceries and meals, forgoing recommended medical treatment for both her and her child, and being indebted for bond increases and in relation to her child's schooling. I am satisfied that notwithstanding being in receipt of income support, Ms NBTL is nevertheless in severe financial hardship including because of outstanding debts, reliance on community welfare and inability to afford recommended medical treatment for both her and her child; and
(b) Ms NBTL's and her child's physical and mental health and related issues. I am satisfied that, as is corroborated in part by documentary evidence, and based on Ms NBTL's oral evidence, that both she and her child are significantly impacted by a number of medical conditions in addition to those resulting from the accident.
... Moreover, since any debt can only arise if a preclusion period applies and, at least in the case of lump sum payments, a preclusion period will almost inevitably have a retrospective operation, the s 1184K discretion is necessarily concerned with the practical waiver of debt obligations. Indeed it may very well be that the initially apparent incongruence between the ss 1178 and 1180 pre-conditions (requiring the Secretary to have first given a debt notice) and the more general "automatic" debt provided for in s 1223(1), is deliberate. Its purpose is to confirm that the s 1184K discretion is intended to permit consideration of the "debt" issues that potentially arise from the existence of a preclusion period. It is also intended to confirm that the s 1184K discretion, unlike the waiver discretion conferred by s 1237AAD, may be exercised in "special circumstances" that are, amongst other things, constituted by financial hardship alone.
It is true that by the time the matter came before the Tribunal the preclusion period claimed to apply had ended. But it is hard to see why that fact, if regarded as of any significance by the Tribunal, was relevant to its exercise of discretion. More importantly, however, I find it impossible to see how the fact that the Government would be required to pay a sum of money to Mr Haidar would be a relevant matter, certainly once the preclusion period had terminated, in deciding to exercise a discretion in a way not overly favourable to Mr Haidar. It is, of course, a consequence of the exercise of the discretion, particularly where the preclusion period applicable, but for the exercise of discretion, had expired and in circumstances where during that preclusion period no pension had been paid, that the Government would be required to pay money to a claimant. But it is hard to see how that would be relevant to the exercise of discretion" (at 157 ALR 365).
Issue 3: Can any resulting debt to the Commonwealth be written off or waived?
The Secretary may waive the right to recover all or part of a debt if the Secretary is satisfied that:
(a) the debt did not result wholly or partly from the debtor or another person knowingly:
(i) making a false statement or a false representation; or
(ii) failing or omitting to comply with a provision of this Act, the Administration Act or the 1947 Act; and
(b) there are special circumstances (other than financial hardship alone) that make it desirable to waive; and
(c) it is more appropriate to waive than to write off the debt or part of the debt.
are not merely directed to the person's own circumstances. Rather, they are directed to those that are "special circumstances ... that make it desirable to waive". That necessarily requires a consideration of the person's individual circumstances but also a consideration of the general administration of the social security system. Waiver of the debt would mean that Mr Davy would have had the benefit of part of his DSP in circumstances in which he was not entitled to it ... He has had the benefit of the money and there is no injustice in requiring him to repay the money of which he has had the benefit but not the entitlement.
The integrity of the social security system relies on recovery of overpayments. In general, if a person has had the use and advantage of the money paid incorrectly to them and has the means to repay it without excessive hardship (e.g. through withholdings), they should do so. In such a case, special circumstances waiver would be appropriate only if the person's particular circumstances made it unjust for the general rule to apply. Their circumstances would need to distinguish their situation from that of the many other people who do have to repay their debts.
I have found that special circumstances exist in Ms NBTL's case as regards the section 1184K discretion with a resulting 50% reduction in the compensation charge, I am not additionally satisfied that those special circumstances make it desirable to waive the remaining debt, referrable to that charge, of $3,244. Section 1237AAD of the Act therefore does not apply.
The Tribunal sets aside the decision under review and remits the matter for reconsideration in accordance with the order that so much of the lump sum compensation monies paid to Ms NBTL are to be treated as not having been made as will result in the compensation charge being reduced to $3,244.
[1] Services Australia delivers social security payments and services and is overseen by the Department of Social Services. The Respondent is responsible for the overall management and administration of the Department of Social Security. Centrelink is the Government Agency that delivers social security payments and services as part of Services Australia and as the Agency with whom pension and benefit applicants/recipients interact, the Respondent may be variously referred to as Centrelink or the Respondent throughout these Reasons.
[2] Guides to Social Policy Law, Social Security Guide, Version 1.333 - Released 3 November 2025.
[3] Paragraph 33 of the Respondent's SFIC, Exhibit R3.
[12] Paragraphs 61, 62 and 67 of Exhibit R4.
[13] Secretary, Department of Social Security and Hill [1995] AATA 351; Re Stubbs and Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services [2003] AATA 729, Byrne and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social services second review) [2021] AATA 4746 and Bolton, Secretary, Department of Social Security [1989] AATA 479.
Angelakos
Secretary, Department of Employment a
Angelakos v Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2007] FCA 25
Davy and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2007] AATA 1114
Dranichnikov and Centrelink [2003] FCAFC 133
Groth v Secretary, Department of Social Security [1995] FCA 1708; (1995) 40 ALD 541
Hajar and Secretary, Department of Social Security [1988] AATA 787; (1988) 47 SSR 614
Massoud and Secretary, Department of Social Services [2017] AATA 1366
MDXJ v Secretary, Department of Social Services [2020] FCA 1767
Naim Haidar v Secretary, Department of Social Security [1998] FCA 994 (20 August 1998)
Re Ivovic and Director-General of Social Services [1981] AATA 57; (1981) 3 ALN N95
Secretary, Department of Social Security v Banks [1990] FCA 317; (1990) 20 ALD 19
Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services v Chamberlain [2002] FCA 67; (2002) 68 ALD 357
Secretary, Department of Social Security and Winterbotham [1990] AARTA 808
(2010) 182 FCR 115
(2019) 266 FCR 69