austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/318
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-07-03
Original judgment source is linked above.
Albertsen v Westpac Banking Corporation [2025] NSWPIC 318
WORKERS COMPENSATION - Workers Compensation Act 1987; applicant claims permanent impairment compensation payable under for psychological injury sustained in course of employment; respondent does not dispute psychological injury but disputes the deemed date of injury and percentage of whole person impairment (WPI) claimed; by consent, claim referred to Medical Assessor for assessment of WPI with provisional deemed date of injury of 9 February 2023; Held - deemed date of injury sustained in course of employment is 9 February 2023.
Ms Albertson alleges the deemed date of her injury is 21 May 2024 and with reliance on s (1)(a)(i) of the 1987 Act, Westpac alleges the deemed date of Ms Albertson's injury is
9 February 2023. 2. The parties agree that the following issues remain in dispute:
(a) the deemed date of Ms Albertson's injury, and
(b) percentage whole person impairment (WPI) resulting from the injury.
PROCEDURE BEFORE THE PERSONAL INJURY COMMISSION
10 March 2025, Mr McManamey of counsel appeared for Ms Albertson and Mr Doak of counsel appeared for Westpac. Counsel's instructing solicitors were present, and
Ms Albertson was present. 4. I am satisfied that the parties to the dispute understand the nature of the application and the legal implications of any assertion made in the information supplied. I have used my best endeavours in attempting to bring the parties to the dispute to a settlement acceptable to all of them. I am satisfied that the parties have had sufficient opportunity to explore settlement and that they have been unable to reach an agreed resolution of the dispute. 5. While the parties agreed the disputed issue of deemed date of injury could be determined 'on the papers' following receipt of written submissions, Ms Albertson sought in the first instance for the question of law relevant to the deemed date of injury to be referred to the President for determination. 6. The parties agreed Ms Albertson should attend assessment by a Medical Assessor for the purpose of assessment of WPI resulting from the injury with a provisional deemed date of injury of 9 February 2023. 7. The parties' written submissions relevant to (a) referral or otherwise of the question of law relevant to the deemed date of injury to the President for determination and (b) the disputed issue of deemed date of injury have now been received. 8. The Medical Assessment Certificate relevant to the Medical Assessor's assessment of
Ms Albertson on 16 May 2025 issued on 3 June 2025. The Medical Assessor assessed
Ms Albertson with 19% WPI resulting from the injury sustained in the course of her employment with Westpac. I understand an Application to Appeal Against the Decision of the Medical Assessment has recently been lodged.
(a) Application to Resolve a Dispute and attached documents;
(b) Application to Lodge Additional Documents dated 6 January 2025 and attached documents lodged by Westpac;
(c) Application to Lodge Additional Documents dated 24 January 2025 and attached documents lodged by Westpac, and
(d) Application to Lodge Additional Documents dated 4 March 2025 and attached documents lodged by Ms Albertson (with statement of Christian Sadler dated
3 March 2025 and statement of Songa Woodhouse dated 4 March 2025 removed).
Should the issue of the deemed date of Ms Albertson's injury be referred to the President for determination?
"In the new dispute resolution regime applying to this State, it is incumbent upon the Commission's Arbitrators, who deal with a wide range of disputes, to determine all cases any questions of jurisdiction, to make findings of fact, to interpret relevant statutory provisions (not just those of the NSW Workers Compensation legislation), to determine the applicability of such provision to the facts so found and then, in appropriate instances, to apply them.
The Question of Law procedure envisaged by s 351 is not designed for the determination of matters such as whether a particular Applicant in a particular set of circumstances can successfully argue that the Commission has jurisdiction to deal with a claim for compensation, or that a particular piece of legislation might apply to the facts of the case.
The fact that the determination of such issues in particular cases may be regarded as difficult or 'complex' or indeed may be 'novel' to particular decision-makers, is not sufficient to attract the provisions of s 351. They fall for determination by the Arbitrator assigned the particular case and cannot be 'abdicated' to the President pursuant to s 351.
Once all the Arbitrator's functions are carried out, and a determination made by him or her of entitlements under the NSW Workers Compensation legislation, the aggrieved party to the proceedings may avail itself of the legislation's appeal provisions as appropriate."
Mr McManamey considered required reconciliation does not raise a question of law that is either novel or complex. Mr Doak further submitted the mere fact that my determination of Ms Albertson's claim cannot be the subject of appeal to a presidential member under s 352 of the 1998 Act does not render the question of law I am required to be determined either novel or complex. 2. I have carefully reviewed the legislative provisions and authorities referred to above, and I have carefully reviewed counsel's submissions. While I accept my determination of
Ms Albertson's claim cannot be the subject of an appeal to a presidential member under s 352 of the 1998 Act, I am inclined to agree with Mr Doak that the issue I am required to determine in Ms Albertson's claim, being the deemed date of the injury she sustained in the course of her employment with Westpac is a question of law that is neither novel nor complex in that a number of Members have considered the application of both s 15 and s 16 of the 1987 Act following Haddad without recourse to s 315 of the 1998 Act, and I should do the same. 3. I decline to refer the issue of the deemed date of Ms Albertson's injury to the President for determination because I am of the view that a number of Members have considered the application of the disease provisions in s 15 and/or s 16 of the 1987 Act following Haddad, including Principal Member Harris in Ellis v Dontarna Pty Ltd[3], Member Isaksen in Razmovski v NIB Health Funds Ltd[4] and Member Batchelor in Gray v United Disability Care Pty Ltd[5] and Boyd v Costco Wholesale Australia Pty Ltd[6], and I am not of the view the issue I am required to determine is either novel or complex. Furthermore, the application of the disease provisions in s 15 and/or s 16 of the 1987 Act following Haddad have also been considered by the President in Scalabrini Village Limited v Sanders[7] and a Deputy President in Razmovski v NIB Health Funds Ltd[8] with the Deputy President's decision in Razmovski 2 dealing with a claim for permanent impairment compensation, as is Ms Albertson's claim before me.
What is the deemed date of Ms Albertson's injury?
"(1) If an injury consists in the aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of a disease -
(a) The injury shall, for the purposes of this Act, to be deemed to have happened -
(i) at the time of the worker's death or incapacity, or
(ii) if death or incapacity has not resulted from the injury - at the time the worker makes a claim for compensation with respect to the injury."
[1] [2024] NSWCA 135 (Haddad).
[3] [2024] NSWPIC 513 (Ellis).
[4] [2024] NSWPIC 540 (Gray).
[5] [2024] NSWPIC 648 (Boyd).
[6] [2024] NSWPIC 668 (Razmovski 1).
[7] [2024] NSWPICPD 36 (Sanders).
[8] [2025] NSWPICPD 9 (Razmovski 2).
[9] [1999] NSWCA 234 (Antaw).
[10] [2011] NSWCA 326 (O'Keefe).
[11] [2000] NSWCA 214 (Alfonzo).
[12] [2004] NSWCA 277 (Stone).
Albertsen
Westpac Banking Corporation [2025] NSWPIC 318;