austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/476
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-09-12
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) building works;
(b) ongoing physiotherapy, and
(c) home and maintenance.
(a) a letter from CTP Care dated 21 May 2025 approving car washing [10][2] and the claimant says they are paying for one wash a month whereas the claimant has had his two cars serviced every fortnight [12];
(b) a letter from CTP Care dated 23 May 2025 declining to pay for solar panel cleaning and bathroom cleaning [11];
(c) a decision from CTP Care dated 26 May 2025 approving "various services" for a 16 week period only "despite the evidence our client's condition is chronic" [13] and that he relies on a walking stick and has mobility issues [14];
(d) slow healing of his fractured femur [16], further surgery in July 2025 [19] and ongoing pain in the right leg, back, left knee, left shoulder and neck [21] - [25]. The claimant says Dr Moonapar has recommended ongoing physiotherapy and massage and the claimant may need distal femoral replacement [26]. The claimant says he cannot do the gardening, outdoor maintenance and heavy cleaning due to his disabilities [27];
(e) the claimant says at [28] he asks that CTP Care reimburse him for the cost of building works and pay for physiotherapy on an ongoing basis "without the need for constant reviews and constantly declining treatment and reimbursement", and
(f) the claimant refers at [31] and [39] to extensive renovation projects and handyman work he used to do and says at [38] that CTP Care "will not reimburse me for the building works I paid tradespersons to complete" as he could no longer do it. He relies on a report from Dr Endrey-Walder as support for the claim for reimbursement of the expenses incurred.
30 July 2024 and at [20] a decision made on 27 August 2024 and says that NRMA had declined to pay these. On internal review, NRMA says at [21] that it sought particularisation from the claimant and that the claimant provided receipts for the labour portions of the repairs in the sum of $31,800. NRMA says at [22] it conducted the internal review and affirmed the original decision. 7. The insurer says at [27] and [28] that the backyard works are not home modifications and they are not everyday tasks within the meaning of attendant care services and refers to the cases of BLI v Allianz Australia Insurance Limited[3] and Ellis v AAI Limited t/as GIO[4]. The insurer says at [35] that the backyard works are a project and that the tasks involved in that project are not frequent, ordinary, common place and so on and therefore not everyday attendant care tasks. 8. The insurer asks that the expenses be properly verified as paid [51] - [53].
(a) building works - reimbursement of the cost of building works that the claimant has already paid tradespersons to complete and which were completed before
3 December 2024;
(b) ongoing physiotherapy not yet provided - with no limit and no end date after
May 2025, and
(c) home and maintenance not yet provided:
(i) car washing for more than one car, more frequently that once a month;
(ii) solar panel cleaning;
(iii) bathroom cleaning, and
(iv) services beyond the period referred to in a letter of 26 May 2025.
(a) the insurer was to upload a message by 2 September 2025 indicating whether the insurer agreed the claimant was entitled to costs;
(b) by 3 September 2025 the claimant was to lodge submissions addressing the substantive issue and costs, and
(c) the decision would be issued by 17 September 2025. The parties agreed that it was appropriate for the matter to be determined on the papers.
(a) the claimant sought costs in the sum of 16 monetary units [2];
(b) the claimant sustained serious injuries and has had treatment including surgery [3] - [10];
(c) the claimant has ongoing issues with the unhealed right femur fracture and requires further treatment, ongoing physiotherapy and domestic assistance and help with household activities [11];
(d) the claimant had further surgery on29 July 2025 [15] and has pain in his left knee and lower back, left shoulder and neck [16] - [19];
(e) the claimant asks the insurer to reimburse him for the cost of the labour costs associated with the backyard works as the claimant cannot do that work himself and has evidence that "but for the injury he would have conducted the work himself" [22] - [29];
(f) Dr Endrey-Walder in a report dated 29 October 2024 supports the claim for help with the building works which is reasonable and necessary [30], and
(g) the claimant says the works were necessary to ensure the integrity and safety of the yard and deck so that the claimant can safely manoeuvre through the property [31].
"should be regarded as rehabilitation or modifications that are clearly related to and required to assist with our client's day to day living and to reduce the risks of further injury."
(a) in 2004 he demolished the backyard and excavated it for the pool, did the drainage work and electrical work associated with the pool, built the retaining wall, paths, steps and installed the above ground pool, decking and built an outdoor toilet;
(b) in 2012 he removed lawn at the front of the property, levelled the ground, added drainage, purchased rock, broke it and laid crazy paving;
(c) in 2013 he cut stone and built a border for a centre garden and added a drain and power supply for a water feature;
(d) in 2013 he built cabinets and a bench in the garage;
(e) in 2016 he bought an investment property and rebuilt it (he had sold his business and worked full time on this);
(f) in 2016 he stripped a vehicle down, fabricated components and rebuilt and reassembled the vehicle (a few years in the making between other projects);
(g) in 2017 he repaired a shower with new lower tiles and renewed grout, and
(h) in 2017 he built a granny flat at the rear of the investment property and did work on the driveway and paths.
(a) for the "corroded and leaning above ground pool", and
(b) concerning the "failing retaining wall and deck".
(a) the works are not related to the accident, and
(b) the works are not home maintenance but home improvements due to wear and tear and not reasonable and necessary.
(a) a copy of the invoice from a landscaping firm to dismantle an old leaning wall and take it to the skip bin; prepare the area for a new retaining wall; supply and install a new block wall and wall drainage at a cost of $21,263, which is noted as "paid in full";
(b) an additional receipt for "extra works" not identified further in the sum of $3,000 other than 24 hours of labour for two men and materials at a cost of $850;
(c) an invoice from a pool company to "remove and replace rested sterns on an above ground pool in the sum of $5,000 noted as paid;
(d) a quote from a patio company for 42 square metres of composite decking with aluminium frame and internal and external step in the sum of $24,200 with "estimated labour $12,000" and "2K deposit paid 24 June 2024, and
(e) an invoice for the labour cost for the decking only in the sum of $12,000.
(a) the works "are maintenance related due to material and age";
(b) he was planning to do this work before the accident (five years ago at the time this email was written);
(c) about 3.5 years ago he had the deck sanded back and the top of the retaining wall tied back to stop it leaning further, and other work was done on the retaining wall;
(d) he was planning to rectify this when he had recovered;
(e) walking on the decking is a trip and injury hazard as are the wall and pool, and
(f) had he not been injured he would have done the work himself as he had done before.
"An injured person is entitled to statutory benefits for the following expenses (treatment and care expenses) incurred in connection with providing treatment and care for the injured person"
(a) the reasonable cost of treatment and care;
(b) the cost of travel and accommodation to obtain treatment and care, and
(c) if the claimant is a minor or otherwise needs a carer, the travel and accommodation costs of the parent or carer who takes the claimant to obtain treatment and care.
(a) medical treatment (including pharmaceuticals),
(b) dental treatment,
(c) rehabilitation,
(d) ambulance transportation,
(e) respite care,
(f) attendant care services,
(g) aids and appliances,
(h) prostheses,
(i) education and vocational training,
(j) home and transport modification,
(k) workplace and educational facility modifications,
(l) such other kinds of treatment, care, support or services as may be prescribed by the regulations for the purposes of this definition,
but does not include any treatment, care, support or services of a kind declared by the regulations to be excluded from this definition."
Are the backyard building works home modifications?
Are the backyard building works part of the claimant's rehabilitation?
"the process of enabling or attempting to enable the person to attain and maintain -
(b) full physical, mental, social and vocational ability, and
(c) full inclusion and participation in all aspects of life."
Are the backyard building works a form of attendant care?
"services that aim to provide assistance to people with everyday tasks, and includes (for example) personal assistance, nursing, home maintenance and domestic services."
[1] The original liability notice dated 20 March 2020 is at page 116 of the claimant's application and the internal review decision is at page 123 of the claimant's bundle.
[2] Numbers in square brackets are a reference to the paragraph number of the submission.
[3] [2024] NSWPIC 436 (BLI v Allianz).
[4] [2025] NSWPIC 162 (Ellis v GIO)
[6] There is another statement dated 10 February 2020 at page 80 of the claimant's bundle which deals primarily with the circumstances of the accident.
[10] Based on the timeline provided in his statement, the retaining wall, pool and deck were built in 2004 which was 20 not 25 years before.
[11] From page 37 of the insurer's bundle.
[14] The new car was however allowed on the basis that Mr Fowler was still in the rehabilitation phase after his accident, and the new car would allow him to maximise his participation in social events, work and independent living.
Abdo
Insurance Australia Limited t/as NRMA Insurance [2025] NSWPIC 476;