© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2016] NSWCA 254
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2016-06-08
Ward JA, Gleeson JA, Payne JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
Background facts
Legal proceedings against the appellants in the United States
Claims on each of the policies of insurance
The Deed between Global and the appellants
Decision of the primary judge
Issues on the appeal
Issue one - Whether the proceedings were commenced prematurely, in the sense that the appellants had not complied with the conditions precedent to the QBE Policy
Appellants' submissions on prematurity
Conclusion on prematurity
The fence-sitting claim
The further evidence claim
The Missouri settlement
The 24 underwriters' reports and the bill narratives
Should the underwriters' reports be admitted?
Should the bill narratives be admitted?
The significance of these rulings on the further evidence
The remaining issues debated by the parties on the appeal
Issue two - did s 45 of the Insurance Contracts Act render the QBE "other insurance" clause void?
Whether s 45 requires the insured to have "entered into" both contracts of insurance
The primary judge's finding as to whether the appellants "entered into" both the Global Policy and the QBE Policy
Did the appellants "enter into" the QBE Policy?
Did the appellants "enter into" the Global Policy?
Issue three - if s 45 of the Insurance Contracts Act did not render the QBE "other insurance" clause void, whether that clause and the "other insurance" clause in the Global Policy cancel each other out
Issue four - whether payments made to or on behalf of the appellants by Global under the Deed precluded the appellants from claiming indemnity under the QBE Policy
Issues between the appellants and the first respondent which do not need to be decided in this appeal
Conclusion about the case between QBE and the appellants
The appellants' claim against the second and third respondents (Amended Notice of Appeal Grounds 16 and 17)
The "use" or "operation" issue
The "exception" issue
Conclusions and orders
Amendments 09 September 2016 - "This policy does not apply:" inserted at [118] 19 September 2016 - In catchwords, "insured" changed to "insurer" DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 19 September 2016
Lambert Leasing Inc.
QBE Insurance
Company of the Midwest 594 SE 2d 582 (Va 2004) Stewart v Australian Crime Commission [2012] FCAFC 151 Sydney Turf Club v Crowley (1971) 1 NSWLR 724 Sydney Turf Club v Crowley (1972) 126 CLR 420 The Daniels Corporation International Pty Ltd v Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (2002) 213 CLR 543; [2002] HCA 49 Tjiong v Tjiong [2012] NSWCA 201 United States Fire Insurance Company v Parker 463 SE 2d 464 (Va 1995) Zurich Australian Insurance Ltd v Metals & Minerals Insurance Pte Ltd (2009) 240 CLR 391; [2009] HCA 50 Texts Cited: M A Clarke, The Law of Insurance Contracts (5th ed 2006, Informa) W I B Enright and R M Merkin, Sutton on Insurance Law (4th ed 2015, Thomson Reuters) Category: Principal judgment Parties: Lambert Leasing, Inc. (First Appellant) Saab Aircraft Leasing, Inc. (Second Appellant)
Solicitors: Marque Lawyers (First and Second Appellants) Norton White (First Respondent) Holman Webb Lawyers (Second and Third Respondents) File Number(s): 2015/284753 Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court of New South Wales Jurisdiction: Equity Citation: [2015] NSWSC 750 Date of Decision: 12 June 2015 Before: Rein J File Number(s): 2011/86506
headnote [This headnote is not to be read as part of the Judgment] The appellants sold an aircraft to the second and third respondents (the Partnership), who then leased the aircraft to a third party. The aircraft subsequently crashed and tragically all on board died. The relatives of the passengers and crew commenced proceedings in the United States claiming compensation from the appellants. There were two insurance policies which arguably covered the appellants' costs and liabilities in respect of the US proceedings. Both policies contained "other insurance" clauses which purported to reduce each insurer's liability where there was more than one policy covering the same risk. The first policy was the Global Policy, under which the "Insured" was SAAB AB and its subsidiaries. The appellants were subsidiaries of SAAB AB. The appellants made a claim on the Global Policy. The insurer, Global, indemnified the appellants and has not withdrawn that indemnity. Subsequently, the appellants and Global discovered the existence of the second policy, the QBE Policy. This policy was required by the agreement which effected the sale of the aircraft (the Purchase Agreement). Under the Purchase Agreement the Partnership was obliged to indemnify the appellants and maintain an insurance policy in respect of that indemnity. In performance of this obligation the Partnership procured a policy with QBE, the first respondent. Under the QBE Policy the "Insured" was the lessee of the aircraft and the "Additional Insured(s)" included the appellants. The QBE Policy contained conditions precedent, as well as a provision requiring that the appellants provide QBE with all documents and information that QBE required to determine whether those conditions precedent had been met. After discovering the existence of the QBE Policy the appellants made a claim on that policy. QBE declined to indicate its position on indemnity and has maintained that position until the appellants provide certain documents which it contends are relevant in determining whether the conditions precedent were met. Those documents were reports from the appellants' US lawyers to Global updating Global on the progress of the US proceedings (the underwriters' reports). The appellants claimed the reports were privileged. After the trial the US proceedings settled and the appellants sought to tender the underwriters' reports as evidence on the appeal. Having made a claim on the QBE Policy, the appellants then entered into a deed with Global (the Deed). The Deed sought to characterise as a loan past and future payments made by Global to discharge the appellants' liabilities in respect of the US proceedings. The appellants commenced proceedings in the Supreme Court of New South Wales seeking declarations that they were entitled to indemnity under the QBE Policy. They also sought declarations that they were entitled to indemnity from the Partnership under the Purchase Agreement, which would only be owed if the costs and liabilities in respect of the US proceedings resulted from the Partnership's "use or operation" of the aircraft. The primary judge dismissed the proceedings. The issues on the appeal were: (1) Whether the appellants commenced the proceedings prematurely. (2) Whether s 45 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) rendered the QBE "other insurance" clause void. (3) If not, whether the two "other insurance" clauses cancel each other out. (4) Whether the payments made to or on behalf of the appellants by Global provided an indemnity which precluded the appellants from claiming indemnity under the QBE Policy. (5) Whether the appellants were entitled to indemnity from the second and third respondents arising out of their "use of operation" of the aircraft. Held per Payne JA (Ward and Gleeson JJA agreeing): As to (1): The appellants did not establish that the underwriters' reports were the subject of a valid claim for legal professional privilege in Australia or the United States: [57]-[62]. Having found that QBE was entitled to require production of the documents under the QBE Policy and that the appellants held fears that disclosure of these reports to QBE may prejudice them in the US proceedings, it was not an error to conclude that the proceedings were premature in the sense that the Court was not able to conclude whether or not conditions precedent to cover had been met. The primary judge did not err in finding that the proceedings were commenced prematurely: [78]-[81]; [114]. The appellants failed to make out special grounds for the admission of the underwriters' reports on the appeal: [100]-[104]. Supreme Court Act 1970 (NSW), s 75A As to (2): Section 45 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) requires that the "insured" must have "entered into" both contracts of insurance mentioned in the section: [131]-[134]. Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth), ss 45, 48, 76; Zurich Australian Insurance Ltd v Metals & Minerals Insurance Pte Ltd (2009) 240 CLR 391; [2009] HCA 50 (applied) The appellants did not "enter into" either the QBE Policy or the Global Policy: [144]-[147]; [162]-[173]. CE Heath Underwriting Insurance Ltd v Grey (1993) 32 NSWLR 25 (distinguished) As to (3): The "other insurance" clauses in the two insurance policies cancel each other out and the appellants were entitled to elect which of the insurers they required indemnity from: [174]-[178]. As to (4): Where two insurance policies cover the same matter, the insured is unable to claim indemnity from one insurer if they have previously been indemnified by the other insurer: [184]; [188]-[190]. Sydney Turf Club v Crowley (1971) 1 NSWLR 724 (applied); Sydney Turf Club v Crowley (1972) 126 CLR 420 (applied) Global was obliged to indemnify the appellants and did in fact do so; and the Deed's attempt to re-characterise that indemnity as a loan does not alter this conclusion: [202]-[215]. Therefore QBE was not liable to indemnify the appellants. Global's rights to contribution from QBE were not the subject of the appeal. As to (5): The word "use" has no particular or special meaning under Virginian law (the law of the Purchase Agreement): [245]. "Use" requires a sufficient degree of control, which is not satisfied by either leasing the aircraft or paying for its maintenance pursuant to a contractual obligation: [248]-[250]; [258]-[260].
(1994) 34 NSWLR 155
(1969) 121 CLR 342
(1993) 32 NSWLR 25
(2007) 235 CLR 1
(1997) 188 CLR 501
(2007) 230 CLR 89
(1976) 135 CLR 674
(1971) 1 NSWLR 724
(1972) 126 CLR 420
(2002) 213 CLR 543
(2009) 240 CLR 391
[2002] HCA 49