© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2019] NSWCA 271
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2019-09-12
Bathurst CJ, Macfarlan JA, Meagher JA, Rees J, Stevenson J
Original judgment source is linked above.
S Donaldson SC / S Sykes (Appellant) A J Sullivan QC / J G Simpkins (Respondent)
Solicitors: Sparke Helmore Lawyers (Appellant) HBM Lawyers (Respondent) File Number(s): 2019/160119 Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court of New South Wales Jurisdiction: Equity - Commercial List Citation: [2019] NSWSC 453 Date of Decision: 24 April 2019 Before: Rees J File Number(s): 2018/236236
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.]
[This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] On 8 September 2009 Mr Thomas Dempsey, a road worker employed by a subcontractor to Baulderstone Hornibrook Pty Ltd ("Baulderstone"), was seriously injured when he was struck by a car in the course of his employment. Baulderstone was insured under two different insurance policies issued by the parties to the proceedings. The first policy was issued by the present appellant ("Allianz") to the Roads and Traffic Authority of New South Wales ("the RTA"). Baulderstone was insured as a contractor of the RTA. This policy ("the Allianz policy") included an "other insurance" provision which converted the cover against loss under the policy into excess insurance in the event that there was other "valid and collectible insurance" (cl 8.20). It additionally provided that the policy would operate as excess insurance if there was "Underlying Insurance" which was a defined term in the Allianz policy (cl 8.17). The second policy was issued by the present respondents, the underwriters at Lloyd's of London ("the Lloyd's Underwriters"), to Bilfinger Berger Australia Pty Ltd ("Bilfinger"), its subsidiaries and related companies. Baulderstone was indemnified under this policy as a subsidiary of Bilfinger. This policy ("the Lloyd's policy") contained an "escape" clause such that it did not cover liability which "forms the subject of insurance by any other policy" (cl 10.5). Section 45(1) of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) did not render the "other insurance" provisions void because Baulderstone had not "entered into" either policy. Mr Dempsey obtained a consent judgment for $1,025,000 in proceedings that he commenced against Baulderstone. Allianz indemnified Baulderstone in respect of that judgment. Allianz then commenced the present proceedings in the Commercial List of the Supreme Court seeking a declaration that the Lloyd's Underwriters were liable to indemnify Baulderstone under the Lloyd's policy and sought equitable contribution from them in respect of the indemnity afforded by Allianz to Baulderstone. On the application of the Lloyd's Underwriters, Stevenson J ordered that the following question be determined separately and in advance of any other question in the proceedings: whether, on the proper construction of both policies, the Lloyd's Underwriters would have been liable to indemnify Baulderstone in respect of the loss arising out of the injury to Mr Dempsey had Allianz not done so. By judgment of 24 April 2019 Rees J determined that a negative answer should be given to that question and that Allianz's proceedings should accordingly be dismissed. Allianz contended on appeal that an affirmative answer should have been given to the separate question. The effect would be that Baulderstone had double insurance in respect of its liability to Mr Dempsey and that Allianz is entitled to equitable contribution from the Lloyd's Underwriters. The Court (Bathurst CJ and Meagher JA, Macfarlan JA dissenting) allowed the appeal: (Per Bathurst CJ and Meagher JA): The effect of cl 10.5 of the Lloyd's policy and cl 8.20 of the Allianz policy is to deny liability under each policy because of the existence of the other. Applying the rule of construction in Weddell v Road Transport and General Insurance Company Ltd, the clauses cancel each other out with the result that both policies respond and Allianz, having met the claim, is entitled to contribution from the Lloyd's Underwriters: [12]; [66]. Lambert Leasing Inc v QBE Insurance (Australia) Ltd (2016) 93 NSWLR 166; [2016] NSWCA 254; Weddell v Road Transport and General Insurance Company Ltd [1932] 2 KB 563, applied. (Per Bathurst CJ and Meagher JA): The Lloyd's policy is not "Underlying Insurance" as defined in the Allianz policy because by virtue of cl 10.5 of the Lloyd's policy the insurance does not provide cover for the risk in question. Clause 8.17 of the Allianz policy therefore has no application in relation to it: [10]; [70]. In re George and the Goldsmiths and General Burglary Insurance Association Ltd [1899] 1 QB 595, referred to. (Per Macfarlan JA, in dissent): There is no double insurance because cl 8.17(c) of the Allianz policy provided indemnity even though (and in fact, because) the Lloyd's policy does not, and the Lloyd's policy does not provide indemnity because the existence of cover under the Allianz policy excludes the Lloyd's Underwriters' liability by reason of the operation of cl 10.5 of the Lloyd's policy: [50].
Judgment
The Allianz policy
The Lloyd's policy
The Judgment at First Instance
Relevant legal principles
Determination of the appeal
The insurance provided by the two policies
The 'other' insurance and 'difference in conditions' clauses
The conclusion of the primary judge
Disposition of appeal
Proposed Orders
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 07 November 2019
Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd
Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's of London Subscribing to Policy Number B105809GCOM0430
(1969) 121 CLR 342
(2016) 93 NSWLR 166
(2005) 221 CLR 522
(2009) 240 CLR 391