Patient A's accounts of the consultation
- The consultation on 6 July 2016 between Dr Wilcox and Patient A took about two hours.
- On the evidence before us, Patient A gave the following accounts of the consultation on 6 July 2016 prior to the hearing:
1. On 3 August 2016, a verbal account to her lawyer in the workers compensation matter, Mr Ohm.
2. On 3 August 2016, a verbal account to her general practitioner, Dr Paul Singh.
3. On 4 August 2016, a 4 page written account by email to the Medical Council.
4. On 5 August 2016, a 3 page written account dated 3 August 2016 was received by the HCCC, together with a letter dated 4 August 2016 from Patient A.
5. On 5 August 2016, a 5 page statement to the NSW police. Patient A subsequently submitted amendments to this statement, probably on 18 August 2016.
6. On 18 March 2017, a 4 page statement to the NSW police.
7. On 31 August 2017, a statement to the HCCC.
- In the course of the hearing before us, Patient A gave a further account of parts of the consultation.
- Patient A claimed, in the course of her evidence, that she had, on 30 July 2016, received a telephone call from a case manager at the insurer, whose name was Melissa. Patient A said that she complained about Dr Wilcox's conduct to Melissa in that telephone call. The 30 July 2016 was a Saturday. Further, an email was adduced in the respondent's case from Melissa to Patient A, dated 8 August 2016, from which we infer that the first notice the insurer (and Melissa) had of Patient A's complaint about Dr Wilcox was the written account provided 2016 to the insurer with Patient A's letter of 4 August 2016. Melissa died some time prior to the hearing in this matter. We reject Patient A's evidence that she complained of Dr Wilcox's conduct to Melissa in a telephone call on 30 July 2016.
- Patient A and her husband both gave evidence that Patient A complained to her husband of Dr Wilcox's conduct in the evening of 6 July 2016. Their accounts were significantly different from each other. In addition, Patient A's husband, in evidence, gave further conflicting accounts.
- Patient A's husband provided a statement to the HCCC, dated 14 July 2018, which was slightly more than two years after the consultation between Patient A and Dr Wilcox.
- In evidence, Patient A's husband agreed that he did not make any notes of his conversation with Patient A in the evening of 6 July 2016. In evidence, he denied reading any of Patient A's statements to assist in the writing of his own statement in 2018. We are satisfied, however, that the content of his statement was taken from one of Patient A's statements, either directly, or with Patient A's assistance. This is suggested by the language of his statement, the events highlighted and the level of detail, including dates, that it contains despite having been prepared more than two years after the event.
- Patient A's husband gave some of his evidence with his statement in front of him and some of his evidence without the use of his statement. When he stopped looking at his statement, his evidence about the period of time around 6 July 2016 was limited to what he could remember of his statement. Perhaps unsurprisingly, he seemed to have little to no independent recollection.
- Patient A's husband said that he was unaware that Patient A had made a complaint to the police. He also said that he was unaware that Patient A had been paid compensation in the sum of $37,000 by the insurer in the month before the hearing.
- We do not accept the account of Patient A, or the account of Patient A's husband, as to the conversation between them in the evening of 6 July 2016. When giving evidence, Patient A exhibited a marked tendency to launch into stories about events in the past at a level of detail which was unlikely to have been retained by her memory. She was evasive and discursive. She frequently sought to steer her evidence to matters she deemed important and favourable to her. In an email of 8 August 2016 to Melissa at the insurer, Patient A wrote, in relation to the events that she was alleging occurred at the consultation on 6 July 2016:
"I didn't even tell my husband as I was ashamed and he would have got very angry …"
- We find that Patient A first complained of Dr Wilcox's behaviour on 3 August 2016 after she read his report on 2 August 2016.
- The five written statements produced by Patient A are all different. In each of them, a different story about the consultation is told in which Dr Wilcox behaved in an inappropriate manner, ranging from touching Patient A without any clinical reason to do so, to attempted and actual sexual assault.
- Some of the differences in Patient A's five written statements are minor, and could, perhaps, be explained by the passage of time between the giving of the statements. However, a significant number of the differences are major, and many of these major differences relate to Patient A's allegations as to what Dr Wilcox did in the course of examining her. For example, there are a number of allegations of inappropriate sexualised behaviour levelled against Dr Wilcox in Patient A's statement of 31 August 2017 which do not appear in any of the previous statements. There are a number of inconsistencies in Patient A's accounts; for example, in her statement to the police on 5 August 2016, Patient A states specifically that Dr Wilcox never put his hand inside her bra. Patient A then contradicts this in the subsequent statement to the police of 18 March 2017 and her statement to the HCCC dated 31 August 2017.
- In evidence, Patient A said that she believed that the statement of 31 August 2017 was the most accurate statement, because it was made after she had a course of therapy from a psychologist. Patient A mentioned having been 'blocked'. There was no medical or psychological evidence to support Patient A's belief in this regard. Her statement of 31 August 2017 was the furthest away, in time, from the consultation and, as we have said, contained some new allegations against Dr Wilcox.
- In evidence, Patient A indicated that, when she was giving her statement of 31 August 2017, she felt 'rushed', but her account of how long the giving of that statement took, and the circumstances of the giving of it, changed during her evidence.
- In evidence, Patient A said that she did not read her statement of 5 August 2016 properly before signing it on every page because she felt embarrassed giving her statement to a man she did not know and she felt traumatised. She indicated that this was the reason for all the discrepancies.
- Patient A's first written statement in relation to the consultation was made the day after she received a copy of Dr Wilcox's 15 page report, dated 11 July 2016, which was unfavourable to her claim for workers compensation. We do not consider that any of Patient A's accounts of the consultation of 6 July 2016 is reliable and where her account is contradicted by other evidence, including the evidence of Dr Wilcox, we prefer that evidence.