© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2023] NSWCA 230
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2023-07-31
Meagher JA, Leeming JA, Mitchelmore JA, Black J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Solicitors: Firths (Appellant) Moray & Agnew (Respondent) File Number(s): 2022/286577 Publication restriction: Nil Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court Jurisdiction: Equity Citation: [2022] NSWSC 1157; [2022] NSWSC 1251 Date of Decision: 31 August 2022; 15 September 2022 Before: Black J File Number(s): 2022/77139
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.]
HEADNOTE [This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] The respondent insurer, MetLife, issued a group life risk insurance policy to a superannuation fund of which the appellant, Ms Hart, was a member. Under that policy, the definition of total and permanent disablement (TPD) has two limbs: first, that an insured member be absent from work for six consecutive months; and, second, that the insurer be satisfied that the member has become incapacitated to such an extent that he or she is unlikely ever to work again. MetLife's policy terminated on 30 September 2011 and was replaced by a subsequent policy issued by a different insurer. MetLife remained "on risk", however, for certain claims made after that takeover, such as a TPD claim arising from an injury or illness which had caused a member to be "not at work" on 30 September 2011. Ms Hart was "not at work" on 30 September 2011 and then absent from work for a six-month period between December 2014 and June 2015. She thereafter made a claim under the policy to a TPD benefit from MetLife. MetLife denied that it was "on risk" for this claim, which was said to be unrelated to the back injuries that caused her to be "not at work" on 30 September 2011. Ms Hart's case was that she was "not at work" because of those back injuries and her psychological illnesses, which injuries and illnesses also caused her subsequent absence from work for six months and her TPD. In response to Ms Hart's statement of claim seeking declaratory relief and the payment of the TPD benefit, MetLife applied for the determination of separate questions. The Court ordered the determination of three questions, which in substance asked whether MetLife's denial of, and subsequent failure to reconsider, Ms Hart's TPD claim involved breaches of its duties to act in good faith and fairly. The primary judge found that MetLife's conduct did not breach those duties, and, with the agreement of the parties, dismissed the whole of the proceedings. Ms Hart challenges the primary judge's answers to those separate questions and, following a request for further submissions from this Court, the making of the order dismissing the proceedings. In the light of those further submissions, the principal issues in the appeal are: (i) whether the primary judge's answers to the separate questions were capable of disposing of the whole of Ms Hart's claims for relief; and (ii) whether the primary judge erred in making an order disposing of the whole of the proceedings, including in circumstances where the parties agreed to the separate hearing of the three questions and the making of that final order. The Court (Meagher JA, Leeming and Mitchelmore JJA agreeing) allowed the appeal, holding: As to issue (i): (1) MetLife's denial of Ms Hart's claim did not turn on its formation of an opinion under the second limb of the TPD definition as to whether she was incapacitated to the relevant extent. Rather, it denied the claim on the basis that the first limb was not satisfied because Ms Hart was not absent from work for six consecutive months due to any injury or illness for which MetLife remained "on risk". In those circumstances, the well settled legal principles relevant to challenges to a life insurer's opinion as to incapacity were not engaged: Meagher JA at [1]-[5], [34], [37], [41]; Leeming JA at [95]; Mitchelmore JA at [96]. Edwards v The Hunter Valley Co-op Dairy Co Ltd (1992) 7 ANZ Ins Cas 61-113; Hannover Life Re of Australasia Limited v Sayseng [2005] NSWCA 214; (2005) 13 ANZ Ins Cas 90-123; TAL Life Ltd v Shuetrim; MetLife Insurance Ltd v Shuetrim (2016) 91 NSWLR 439; [2016] NSWCA 68; Hannover Life Re of Australasia Ltd v Jones [2017] NSWCA 233; MetLife Insurance Ltd v Hellessey [2018] NSWCA 307; Shuetrim v FSS Trustee Corporation [2015] NSWSC 464; Burke v MetLife Insurance Ltd [2019] NSWSC 177, distinguished. (2) Whether MetLife remained "on risk" for Ms Hart's claim depended upon the resolution of matters of fact and medical opinion. These coverage issues could only finally be determined by a court, and MetLife's formation of an opinion about them did not constitute or result in a decision that was or purported to be legally binding. As the separate questions were directed to alleged breaches of duty by MetLife in its handling of the claim rather than these coverage issues, there was no basis on which the answers to those questions could substantially dispose of Ms Hart's claim other than as to the declaratory relief sought: Meagher JA at [7], [10], [46]-[59], [82]-[88]; Leeming JA at [95]; Mitchelmore JA at [96]. Edwards v The Hunter Valley Co-op Dairy Co Ltd (1992) 7 ANZ Ins Cas 61-113, distinguished. As to issue (ii): (3) In circumstances where the answers to the separate questions did not substantially dispose of Ms Hart's claim, the order dismissing the whole of the proceedings could only be justified if there was a binding compromise between the parties. There was no such compromise. The parties' agreement to the dismissal of the whole of the proceedings was the result of their shared misapprehension as to the legal principles relevant to the resolution of the claim. The parties' consensus did not have the consequence that there was no error in the primary judge's dismissal of the proceedings: Meagher JA at [65]-[67], [88]-[90]; Leeming JA at [95]; Mitchelmore JA at [96]. Fidelitas Shipping Co Ltd v V/O Exportchleb [1966] 1 QB 630; O'Toole v Charles David Pty Ltd (1991) 171 CLR 232; [1991] HCA 14, referred to.
JUDGMENT
The TPD cover
MetLife's limited continuing cover
Physical injuries and psychological illnesses
Ms Hart's claim on TAL
Ms Hart's claim on MetLife
Complaint to Superannuation Complaints Tribunal and Federal Court appeal
Ms Hart's continuing claim on MetLife
Underlying proceedings
Separate questions
The primary judge's reasons
Grounds of appeal (including proposed amendment) and notice of contention
Disposition of the application for leave to amend and the appeal
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 28 September 2023
Hart
MetLife Insurance Limited
[2001] QCA 317
[1991] HCA 14
(2007) 235 CLR 1
(1991) 171 CLR 232
(2016) 91 NSWLR 439