© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[1998] VSC 132
Supreme Court of Victoria
1998-11-13
Ashley, J.
Original judgment source is linked above.
Wrongful dismissal - appointment during pleasure - extent of modification of power of dismissal without notice. Wrongful dismissal - reasonable period of notice Wrongful dismissal - damages - whether retrenchment benefits and/or accident compensation payments should be treated as a contra
The further threads of the defendant's case were these:
* There was no term of the plaintiff's contract of employment that he should not be dismissed whilst in receipt of accident compensation payments. The term was said by the plaintiff to derive either from portion of a document described as "State Transport Authority Personnel Policies and Practices", which did not form part of the plaintiff's employment contract; or else from an agreement made between the authority and a number of unions (of one of which the plaintiff was a member) which was not registered in any industrial forum and was no part of the plaintiff's contract. In the latter connection Mr Green relied upon Ryan v The Textile Clothing & Footwear Union of Australia and Another [1996] VicRp 67; [1996] 2 VR 235.
* If, contrary to its primary submission, there was silence as to the circumstances in which the plaintiff's employment could be terminated, a term that reasonable notice be given should be implied. Were such a term implied, notice - two weeks - had in fact been given. That was adequate.
* If reasonable notice was required, and if a reasonable period of notice exceeded two weeks, a period of notice of one year would be the outer limit.
* In any calculation of damages, credit should be given for the (so-called) retrenchment benefits received by the plaintiff. Mr Green relied upon the judgment of Moore J in Black v Brimbank City Council (1998) 152 ALR 491. He submitted that, to the extent that the judgment of Jacobs J in Thorpe v South Australian National Football League (1974) 10 SASR 17 at 36 suggested to the contrary, it should not prevail. He submitted that I should take account of all retrenchment benefits received, not just the non-superannuation component.
* Severance pay, being pay in lieu of notice and redundancy pay - each of which was calculated by reference to years of service;
"We do not believe that the primary reason for the payment of severance pay relates to the requirement to search for another job and/or to tide over an employee during a period of unemployment ... we prefer the view that the payment of severance pay is justifiable as compensation for non transferable credits and the inconvenience and hardship imposed on employees....."
"It must be borne in mind that these observations were made in a context where federal awards generally prescribed that an employee's employment could be terminated on one week's notice: see (1984) 8 IR at 39. This is of some significance in the present case. The Commission, in the preceding extract, was not saying that severance pay could in no way nor in any circumstance be referable to the loss of future income. Rather it was saying that because the community had assumed the burden of making payments to the unemployed whose employment, as a broad generalisation, could be terminated on one week's notice or payment in lieu, the rationale for awarding severance pay had to be founded on considerations other than income maintenance at least as a primary reason. The considerations are those identified in the final paragraph of the preceding extract. However, in rejecting the notion of income maintenance being the primary reason, the Commission cannot be taken to be impliedly characterising the payment of severance payments to an employee on a fixed term contract of considerable length as a payment entirely different in character and unrelated to the income that would have been earned during the residue of the contractual term. It was simply not an issue the Commission was called upon to consider. Indeed, it appears to me that the scheme adopted by the Commission was to confer an entitlement to severance pay in circumstances where the employer had a pre-existing award right to lawfully terminate the employment on short notice which probably, in many if not most cases, would have corresponded with the contractual right to terminate on notice. That is, one week's notice ".
" a period of notice is to give an employee the opportunity to adjust to the change in circumstances which is to occur and to seek other employment".
* The general rule is that a redundancy payment does not fall to be deducted from damages for personal injuries or wrongful dismissal. Save in exceptional circumstances it is within the category of collateral benefits defined in Parry v Cleaver [1969] UKHL 2; [1970] AC 1;
* Where the legal wrong (short notice) led to the plaintiff receiving a redundancy payment he would otherwise not have received, it should be deducted from damages awarded in respect of the wrong.
"Brimbank's liability for damages arises because, it is to be assumed for present purposes, it breached the contract of employment by terminating it other than in the manner contemplated by the contract itself. This act would expose it to damages which, prima facie, are the benefits Mr Black would have derived while employed for the residue of the contractual term. However, the act which constituted the breach was also the act that founded the entitlement of Mr Black to the payment of severance entitlements under the agreement. Had the contract not been breached by its premature termination and it had run its course and the employment terminated by the effluxion of time, there would have been no payment under the agreement. The purpose of compensatory damages, whether in actions in tort or contract, is to place the injured party in the same position he or she would have been in had the contract been performed or the tort not committed: see Haines v Bendall [1991] HCA 15; (1991) 172 CLR 60; 99 ALR 385, Mason CJ, Dawson, Toohey and Gaudron JJ at 63. In contract, that is the embodiment of the principle in Robinson v Harman [1848] EngR 135; (1848) 1 Ex 850: see Commonwealth v Amann Aviation Pty Ltd (1991) 174 CLR at 80; [1991] HCA 54; 104 ALR 1 per Mason CJ and Dawson J, at CLR 98 per Dawson J, at CLR 134 per Toohey J, at CLR 148 per Gaudron J and at CLR 161 per McHugh J. The payment of severance entitlements arose directly from the act which constituted the breach for which compensatory damages are now sought. It would, in my opinion, be inconsistent with the purpose for which compensatory damages are awarded to ignore the payment of severance entitlements. Putting the matter slightly differently the damages are designed to put the party not in default in the same position as he or she would have been had the contract been performed: see Wenham v Ella (1972) 127 CLR 456 at 460 per Barwick CJ and 471 per Gibbs J." and (at 506-507): "In my opinion, there is no reason in principle why severance payments should, in a case such as the present, not be brought to account in assessing damages, even though the rationale for severance payments has been said to be, at least as a primary reason, not to provide income during a period of employment. The awarding of damages at common law for wrongful dismissal (putting aside questions of damages for physical harm arising from psychiatric illness) in relation to a contract for a fixed term has the practical effect of providing the aggrieved employee, who has sought to mitigate his or her loss by seeking other employment, with the income and other monetary benefits that would have been earned or received for the residue of the contractual term but during which the employee was unemployed or underemployed in the sense of employed in less remunerative work. The practical effect of the severance payments to Mr Black in the present case was to provide him with compensation for the loss of a job, with a corresponding loss of the opportunity to earn income, and the associated trauma. It was a job which, in terms, had a finite period to run and for which he would derive finite financial benefits. In my opinion, certain of the payments made by reference to the agreement were made to compensate for losses sufficiently similar in character to the loss for which damages are awarded (and claimed in this case) to warrant those payments being brought to account in assessing damages. They are the severance payment of $114,285.02 (though some discount might need be made for that component in that it is intended to relate to inconvenience and hardship of a non material kind as that component may be materially different in character to the loss for which damages are awarded at common law), the payment of $18,095.13 for unused accumulated sick leave that might have been taken during the residue of the contractual term, the payment of $11,904.69 for a period of notice that otherwise would have been worked had the contract run its course and the payment of $26,760 for loss of motor vehicle usage which would have been enjoyed during the residue of the contractual term, and by reference to which the claimed damages have been calculated. Each of these amounts broadly reflects a component, arising directly or indirectly, in the sum claimed by way of damages".
"...the issue turns on the character and purpose of the particular financial benefit which the plaintiff receives: Was the benefit conferred on him independently of any right or redress against others and so that he might enjoy the benefit even if he enforced the right?"
"In seeking the distinguishing characteristic the courts have looked to the nature (or character) and purpose of the payment. It is necessary to characterise the benefit to see whether it is intended to meet the very loss for which damages are claimed under a particular head; if it is, then it will be deductible; otherwise it will not be."
The last portion of that passage is consistent with the proposition, of general application, that a benefit should be set off only against a particular loss of the same nature which is to be taken into account in the assessment of damages: Public Trustee v Zoanetti [1945] HCA 26; (1945) 70 CLR 266, Bulut v Koksal [1988] VicRp 34; [1988] VR 241 (FC).
It might be thought just and reasonable that severance payments be brought to account in a case where it could be said both that the payments had been made because the employer was in breach of contract; and that the payments would not have been made at all had there been no breach.
* creating a correspondence between the subject matter addressed by the benefit and a possible head of damage by reason of identity of cause of the payment of the benefit and a claim for damages; or,
* accepting that there is no true correspondence of subject matter, but determining that the benefit should nonetheless be taken into account because there is identity of cause, and because it would be just and reasonable to do so.
In my respectful opinion, identity of the subject matter is not to be found in identity of cause; whilst the second possible approach is not consistent with the principles expounded by the High Court.
"I do not think I can now have regard to this offer of a gratuitous additional payment or treat it as compensating for any inadequacy in the period of notice."
"2. By an agreement made on or about 14th January 1971 (the 'Agreement') the Defendant employed the Plaintiff indentured in an apprenticeship to the trade of electrical fitter. It was a term of the Agreement that the Plaintiff would be required to complete his apprenticeship over a period of four (4) years and then work for another five (5) years for the defendant. 3. It was a further term of the Agreement that after a period of two (2) years' satisfactory service the defendant would invite the plaintiff to become a permanent employee and join the superannuation scheme. It was a further term of the Agreement that on becoming a permanent employee the plaintiff would be entitled to a lifetime career subject only to dismissal for cause after due process.
PARTICULARS
The terms set out in paragraph 3 herein were partly in writing, partly oral and partly to be implied. In as much as they were in writing the (sic) were comprised of the Railways Act 1958 No. 6355 which provided inter alia that all positions in the railway service were 'permanent'. The Railways Act 1958 further provided at section 172 that an employee could be dismissed for disciplinary reasons only after his or her case had been heard and determined by a Board known as the Railways Board of Discipline. The Railways Act 1958 was subsequently repealed and replaced by the Transport Act 1983. The Transport Act 1983 provided inter alia that defendant employ the plaintiff on terms and conditions no less favourable than those upon which he had been previously employed. In as much as they were oral they were comprised of conversations which took place between the plaintiff, his father and persons representing the defendant at an interview which preceded his appointment and the making of the agreement. In these conversations the defendant, through its representatives, informed the plaintiff that the job would be a lifetime career with termination only possible through misconduct. In as much as they were to be implied they were to be implied from the fact that no provision for termination of employment by notice or for any reasons other than those set out in the Railways Act existed. 3A. In 1973 the plaintiff was appointed to the permanent staff of the defendant and joined the superannuation scheme. 4. At all times material to this Statement of Claim the Plaintiff was employed as a Signal Maintenance Technician. His conditions of employment were governed by the agreement referred to in paragraph 3 herein. The employment was further regulated by the Railways Metal Trades Grades Award 1953, an award made by the Australian Conciliation and Arbitration Commission, which remained in force at all material times pursuant to the Industrial Relations Act 1988, an act of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia. His conditions of employment were further regulated by the policies and practices of the Defendant as set out in policy documents produced and published by the Defendant which are referred to herein and which were made by the authority given to the Defendant by the Transport Act 1983. He was a member of the Australian Railways Union, an organisation of employees registered pursuant to the terms of the Conciliation and Arbitration Act, 1904 which maintained its registration pursuant to the terms of the Industrial Relations Act 1988. 5. The Defendant was bound by law and by the policies of the Government of the State of Victoria to maintain the status of the Applicant and all prior beneficial conditions of employment.
PARTICULARS
The Transport Act 1983 provided at section 254(2)(a) that the status of the Applicant would be preserved as though the legislation had not been passed. ... 6. In breach of the agreement with the Plaintiff the Defendant unilaterally and without notice purported to vary the conditions of employment of the Plaintiff by including provisions for transfer redeployment and redundancy."
"The Commissioners shall as hereinafter provided from time to time appoint....officers and employees as they think necessary for the purposes of this Act and such persons shall hold office during pleasure only."
"Notwithstanding anything in this Act the Commissioners without giving the public notice required by the last preceding section shall from time to time, without probation but subject to such examinations and restrictions (if any) as are prescribed by regulations under this Act, appoint to a permanent office in the railway service any person who immediately before such appointment is in the temporary employment of the Commissioners and who has been temporarily employed by the Commissioners for not less than two years and elects to be so appointed to a permanent office."
"... the Commissioners may remove ... any officer or employee."
".....investigate hear and determine any charge brought against any officer or employee ... and may ... dismiss him."
" ... if so appointed I fully understand that my tenure of office, whether under the original appointment, or on any promotion or transfer to any other situation, place or office, is only at the pleasure of the Commissioners or their successors in office. I also hereby undertake and agree that, in the event of my being appointed, promoted, or transferred to any situation, place or office in the Railway Service, my services may be dispensed with at any time without previous notice having been given to me, and that I shall have no claim whatsoever against the Commissioners, or their successors in office, in the event of my services being dispensed with at any time, or in consequence of their being dispensed with without my having received previous notice, and that no presumption or inference shall in consequence of my salary, wages, or pay being computed, calculated, or paid either yearly, quarterly, monthly, weekly, or at other fixed intervals or periods, arise, be imputed, relied on, or drawn, as evidencing any obligation to employ or continue to employ me longer than the said Commissioners, or their successors in office, in their absolute discretion may think fit."
Haley
Public Transport Corporation of Victoria [1998] VSC 132
(1998) 152 ALR 491
(1974) 10 SASR 17
(1984) 8 IR 34
(1996) 137 ALR 321
(1991) 172 CLR 60
(1972) 127 CLR 456
(1983) 151 CLR 117
(1961) 105 CLR 569
(1945) 70 CLR 266
(1987) 162 CLR 427