© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2004] VSC 40
Supreme Court of Victoria
2004-02-19
Ashley J
Original judgment source is linked above.
[2004] VSC 40
Insurance - insurance broker - failure to take steps to obtain professional liability policy for client - breach of retainer - breach of common law and statutory duties - whether breaches a cause of any loss and damage to the plaintiff - quantum of loss and damage.
* There was a written agreement dated 6 July 1993[11] between Varnsdorf Pty Ltd (Varnsdorf) and the Minister for Health for the State of Victoria by which Varnsdorf agreed to design, construct, own and operate co-generation facilities at six Victorian hospitals.
* By written agreement dated 31 December 1992, amended in March and July 1993[12], Fletcher, as turnkey project manager, agreed with Varnsdorf to design, construct and commission the facilities.
* Pursuant to a written agreement dated 31 December 1992, thereafter varied[13], made between Fletcher and the predecessors in name of TBI and TB, TBI agreed to design, construct, deliver, supervise the installation of, commission and test co-generation equipment that was to be part of the co-generation facilities.
* An important part of the equipment which was to be and which was in fact installed at each hospital was a gas turbine engine supplied by an American company, Detroit Diesel - Allison. The engine was in each case connected to a gearbox supplied by an English company, Allen Gears. Each of the American and English companies, it is convenient to note, was ultimately owned by Rolls Royce. The gearbox at each facility was in turn connected to an alternator supplied by a French company, Leroy Somer. Thus was produced the electricity component of the co-generation. The exhaust heat from the turbine was used to heat a boiler or boilers supplied by yet another company, ABB. So was produced the other component of the co-generation - hot water/steam. It remains to say that by intention and in fact steam was injected into the turbine in the course of its operation with a view of increasing its output.
What I have said about the nature of the equipment used is by way of explaining that, with respect to the hospitals project, the plaintiff entered into a number of sub-contracts - pertinently with Detroit Diesel - Allison, Allen Gears and Leroy Somer.
* Once the facilities had been constructed and were operating, they were to be operated on a day to day basis by a French company, Command Energy.
The bases of claim: breach of retainer, breach of common law duty of care, breach of s. 52 Trade Practices Act 1974 (Cth), breach of s.11, Fair Trading Act 1985
"... the plaintiff's agreement to compromise the CGU claims for the amount of $3M was, objectively viewed, caused by matters other than any act or omission of the defendant, and in any event produced no loss to the plaintiff which resulted from any such act or omission."
Later I will explain what, as I understand it, this pleading was intended to raise.
The Fletcher claims and the CGU settlement - what actually occurred
"He did not arrange for TBI to take out professional indemnity cover for the period after the sale of Detco because the Victorian Hospital... Project would have been covered under the DDAA professional indemnity policy... the VHCP fell within the scope of DDAA's `prior business' category and was therefore caught by the DDAA policy."
"... the difficulty with the professional indemnity policy is that it is a `claims made' policy and accordingly is only effective if a claim is made on the policy when the policy is on foot."
"... I do not have any expectation that the professional indemnity insurers will accept any claims made in relation to the current arbitration."
"The focus (of the solicitors) is clearly the question of when the relevant incidents first occurred, what Detco knew of those incidents, what steps they took to report them etc. Accordingly, the question of notification is, as expected, paramount."
"It has been alleged that Detco has supplied gearboxes and turbines that are not suitable for purpose and the customer has refused to accept Handover despite the fact that the plant has been operational for more than 6 months and has been achieving guaranteed performance. Refusal to accept handover has a potential risk of $10.0 million. The matter is the subject of an extensive engineering review by the suppliers of the gearbox and tribune. It appears that the solution will be to retrofit a high speed flexible coupling currently being designed. Detco's opinion is that this is a defect correction situation that will be resolved by the installation of a flexible coupling when tested and proved. The risk of a P.I. claim is low."[68]
"Detco has supplied cogeneration plant to Victorian Hospitals. There have been some problems relating to both gearboxes and turbines. The matter is subject to extensive engineering review by the suppliers of the gearboxes and turbines, but there has been no suggestion of any design defect from Detco viewpoint. However, the customer, Fletcher Construction Australia, has yet to accept handover in compliance with the contract despite the fact that the plant has been operational for six months and has been achieving guaranteed performance. The overseas engineering review believe that the solution will be to retrofit a high speed flexible coupling which is currently being designed. Detco does not believe there is a design problem and claims that the issue is one of defect correction which we hope will be resolved by installation of the coupling when tested and proved."[69]
"The wording in the proposal appears to come from the fax from Robyn Robertson to Bruce Weiland sent on 7 September. This will no doubt be the critical wording which the insurers will focus on. In particular, CGU will be seeking to compare notification with what was in fact contained on Detco's files at the relevant time."
"The approach I had taken, at that stage, was that, given CGU's lawyers were, had access to and asked for access to all of TBI's discovered documents - and by that stage we (sic) were spending some time in Mallesons' offices looking through all the documents - that if CGU had any concern in relation to matters that existed on the files, it hadn't been disclosed, and they would have raised those with me, and then I could get instructions and deal with them. Yes? - - - I didn't think there was much point in trying to speculate what CGU might or might not raise, as being on TBI's files, prior to the notification."[75]
"We had made available the documents to CGU, and they had not raised the point. They had, in fact, gone so far as to say that 'if you want to rely on section 54 you tell us of circumstances which you knew about, and which you didn't disclose, because that is how section 54 would apply', and at that point I wasn't aware of any of those circumstances and I was pretty sure that CGU weren't aware of those circumstances. I should say, just a third point that by that time, too, I had become better acquainted with the operation of section 54, and got a comfort, a level of comfort that if, if there was something which CGU wasn't raising by way of a prior known undisclosed circumstance, then section 54 may come to the aid of that[76].
* The plaintiff concluded settlement with CGU on 6 June in the amount of $3M[117].
* The plaintiff settlement with the Rolls Royce parties by terms of settlement dated 6 June 2000[118] in an amount of $5.6M.
* The plaintiff settled with Royal & Sun Alliance on 15 June in an amount of $3M[119]. The settlement embraced claims on a professional liability policy current to 14 April 1994, a public and product liability/combined liability policy operative between 1988 and 30 September 1995, a combined liability policy operative between 30 September 1995 and 30 September 1998, an umbrella liability policy operative between 30 September 1993 and 30 September 1998, and a contract works material damage policy current between 30 September 1992 and 1 October 1993.
* Much later, I mention it because it bears on the proportionate costs argument, the plaintiff settled its claim against Leroy Somer for $425,000. That was on 23 December 2002[120].
"22. I have also been asked to state whether, in my opinion, PI cover in the form, or substantially of the form offered by CGU to DDAA in policy documents that I have reviewed would have been available for a company in the position of the plaintiff in the period concerned. 23. From my knowledge and experience in the insurance industry, I consider that continuing such PI policies could have been purchased by TBI at or about the lapsing of TBI's PI policy (ie September 1996), and maintained until 1999. 24. Continuing PI policies should have been obtained for TBI until it had no further exposure in relation to that part of the Detco business which it retained. Once those exposures were expunged, run-off PI cover could then have been obtained from the insurer who provided cover during the currency of the project. 25. I do not consider that either the September 1995 notification or the 2 November 1995 letter would have precluded AON from obtaining continuing PI policies by an insurer in the position of CGU. I have formed this view not only based on my experience of how such notifications were treated, but also from a consideration of the rise in the premium payable from 1994/1995 policy to the 1995/1996 policy. The premium increased by a relatively small amount (from $52,400 in 1994/1995 to $55,600 in 1995/1996). Further, it does not appear that the insurer sought to decline the proposal or that it raised any concerns about the continuing upgrade work being carried out on the project. 26. At the time of the renewal in September 1996 I have no reason to doubt that an insurer in the position of CGU would have accommodated TBI in relation to providing continuing PI policies."
(1) His opinion that the plaintiff could have obtained professional liability cover for the rump of the Detco business after September 1996; and that the September 1995 proposal and notification of circumstances[131] and Mr Weiland's fax to Mr Wolfe of 2 November 1995[132] would not have precluded AON from obtaining successive policies for the plaintiff from an insurer in CGU's position;
(2) Whether circumstances known to the plaintiff as at September 1996, at least as allegation, or as conjectures internal to the plaintiff, would have been relevant to an insurer's decision whether to write a policy operative from September 1996; and to the terms of any policy that did issue - this raising the question of "quarantining risks".
(3) Whether the notification given in September 1995 and the further information provided by fax on 2 November 1995 were - by reference to circumstances then known to the plaintiff, at least as allegations, or as conjectures internal to the plaintiff - less than full disclosure; this cross-examination bearing upon the operation of s. 40 of the Act, the application of which arose in negotiations culminating in the CGU settlement.
Availability of Responding Professional Liability Insurance from September 1996 Onwards?
"This involves showing - (a) that, had AON not been in default, TBI would have had a policy at the relevant time; and (b) that the event or circumstances had occurred or arisen that would have been insured against, had such a policy existed."
* The plaintiff had held insurance with CGU until 30 September 1996. CGU had renewed in September 1995 despite being notified of problems with the hospitals project, albeit not problems identified as calling on the policy to respond. Moreover, the premium increase for the 1995/96 policy had been small. But the plaintiff would have been seeking insurance only for the rump of its business, a rump that had been - as CGU knew - the source of problems. Moreover, assuming that a proposal had been made for insurance from 30 September 1996, some disclosure must have been made that problems were continuing; and probably the plaintiff should have told the insurer that allegations were being made about the propriety of the plaintiff's conduct.
* Had a proposal been made to CGU on the plaintiff's behalf, it should be assumed that CGU would have known, on the one hand, that problems with the hospitals project were continuing; but on the other hand that no claim had in fact been made against the plaintiff, even though the work had been completed in March 1995; and that the insurance sought was substantially for a run-off period with respect to the plaintiff's obligations as to design. Those circumstances led in different directions, and must have introduced a note of uncertainty into consideration by CGU whether to write the notional policy.
* DDAA was insured by CGU as from 30 September 1996. It had acquired most of the Detco business. In its October proposal[162] it referred to Detco and the hospitals project, and to problems experienced in connection with that project and other co-generation projects. It did so in a way which made it clear that it had not acquired the Detco business so far as it concerned those projects. In those circumstances, I do not consider that the fact that CGU was prepared to write a professional liability policy for DDAA assists a conclusion that it would probably have been prepared to do so for the rump of the plaintiff's business.
* Any proposal by the plaintiff for insurance would have been made on its behalf by AON, a broker in business in a very large way. That might be thought to have carried some weight with CGU. But in the past insurers had declined to provide cover sought by AON for the plaintiff - witness the need to change the professional liability insurer in early 1994; and see also the DDAA October proposal, which asserted that Commercial Union had previously declined to renew a machinery breakdown policy issued to the plaintiff.
* No attempt to obtain fresh insurance was in fact made by AON; and no AON executive was called to express an opinion that insurance would have been unobtainable. On the other hand, despite contending that it carried no pertinent evidentiary onus, the plaintiff called Mr Salveson to say, inter alia, that such insurance would have been obtainable. But his evidence, for reasons discussed, could not itself entitle that conclusion. The defendant's failure to call one of its executives, though calling him was presaged, was no doubt a tactical decision deriving from what was perceived by the defendant's counsel to be the weakness of Mr Salveson's evidence. Dangerous though the course was, it was understandable; and I attach little importance to the defendant's failure to call one of its executives.
* No one was called from CGU to say that insurance would or would not probably have been written. It was submitted for the defendant that this stood against the plaintiff. Probably it did to a small extent. But it should be remembered that there is no property in a witness, and that the plaintiff had engaged in a bruising conflict with CGU.
* CGU would have known that, the plaintiff having given notification of circumstances in 1995, if a claim was made on the plaintiff arising out of the facts notified, it was already protected under the first policy by operation of s 40(3) of the Act.
* CGU would have known that, subject to a possible argument that a prior known circumstances clause is in breach of the Act[163], it could have had the protection of such a clause in the notional policy. Known circumstances would not necessarily be restricted to the circumstances notified by the plaintiff in September 1995.
* On the other hand, CGU would have known that the form of the fourth policy (issued to DDAA) contained a continuity of indemnity clause[164]. But if it had been prepared to write the notional policy, it was open to it to protect its position by deleting such a clause. It is to be noted that a continuity of indemnity clause did not always appear in professional liability policies which CGU issued. Indeed, there was no such clause in either of the first or second policies issued to the plaintiff; nor in the third policy, which was the first issued to DDA.
* No evidence supports a conclusion that it would have been possible to secure insurance for the plaintiff if not from CGU. CGU was evidently the first point of call. If it had declined cover, the plaintiff would have had to disclose the fact. It would have been seeking insurance from a new insurer in respect of an activity which represented the problem rump of a business, insurance which the previous insurer had declined. The prospect that such insurance could have been obtained was surely zero, or close thereto. And if, wholly improbably, an insurer had been prepared to write a policy, it would surely have quarantined design claims arising out of the hospitals project.
* "Deliver, supervise the installation of, commission and test plant";
* "Use plant and materials of the kind and quality and the workmanship that the ... specification requires";
* "Design, construct, deliver, supervise the installation of and commission and test the plant".
"In addition, pay the costs and expenses incurred by or on behalf of [the insurer] or by or on behalf of the Insured with the prior written consent of [the insurer]: (1) In the investigation, defence or settlement of any such Claim or of any fact, situation or circumstance which may give rise to a Claim, in respect of which the Insured is, at the time when the costs and expenses are incurred, entitled to indemnity under this Policy; and (2) Up to an amount equal to but not exceeding in the aggregate for such costs and expenses the Total Sum Insured; and (3) If aggregate payment in excess of the Total Sum Insured has to be made to dispose of a Claim against the Insured, the liability of [the insurer] for such costs and expenses shall be such a proportion thereof as the Total Sum Insured bears to the amount required to be paid in settlement of such Claim but not in any event, exceeding in the aggregate an amount equal to the Total Sum Insured."
* Additional costs referable to dispute with CGU $67,975.95
That is $8,019,887.50. On that approach, the plaintiff's settlement with CGU represented about 37.4 percent of the possible recoupment.
"aggregate payment in excess of the Total Sum Insured has to be made to dispose of a claim";
"the amount required to be paid in settlement of such claim."
"(a) the fact that CGU would not offer the plaintiff any more than $3M without significant further analysis of the Fletcher Claims; (b) the fact that the significant further analysis by CGU of the Fletcher Claims would cause delay, further expense and possible further disputation between the plaintiff and CGU; (c) the risk that closer analysis by CGU of the Fletcher Claims would reveal that the plaintiff's liability in respect of the Fletcher Claims would flow from breaches which were not within the ambit of the insuring clause of the policies; (d) the risk that the notifications of circumstances which might give rise to a claim, made by the plaintiff in September 1995 (`1995 notifications'), were inadequate for the purposes of obtaining the benefit of s. 40(3) of the Act, by reason of failure adequately or at all to notify the circumstances known by the plaintiff at the time of the 1995 notifications, which circumstances separately and/or collectively constituted facts which might give rise to a claim under the first policy and which circumstances separately and/or collectively gave rise to the Fletcher Claims;
............
(e) the fact that the 1995 notification asserted that `there is no suggestion of any design defect from Detco viewpoint' in circumstances where there had been a suggestion of design defect from Detco viewpoint;
.............
(f) the risk resulting from the fact that the plaintiff had altered its own proposed form of notification of circumstances which might give rise to a claim in a number of respects particularly but not exclusively by including the assertion that `there is no suggestion of any design defect from Detco viewpoint', an alteration to the estimated potential amount of possible claim, and by deletion of a statement that gearboxes and turbines were not suitable for purpose so that the 1995 notifications, by failing to disclose circumstances then known to Detco, which circumstances separately and/or collectively gave rise to the Fletcher Claims, were inadequate for the purposes of obtaining the benefit of s.40(3) of the Act in relation to the Fletcher Claims; (g) the risk that litigation by the plaintiff against CGU would result in the plaintiff being required to make discovery of documents which would reveal: (i) the matters referred to in sub-paragraph (d) above; (ii) the matters referred to in sub-paragraph (f) above - in consequence of which there existed the further risk that revelation of all or any of the above matters would have provided CGU with additional defences based upon misrepresentation or non-disclosure in respect of any policy subsequent to the first policy, and an additional defence based on failure by the plaintiff to comply with the statutory duty to act towards CGU with the utmost good faith in respect of any policy; (h) failure by TBI to: (i) consider; and/or (ii) raise with CGU; and/or (iii) prosecute a claim for relief by way of rectification of policies subsequent to 30 September 1996 so that the policies so rectified would give the plaintiff coverage for the Fletcher Claims; (i) bad legal advice from the plaintiff's solicitors constituted by: (A) the giving of the advice to accept CGU's offer of $3m and the reasons therefor embodied in the letter dated 22 May 2000 from the plaintiff's solicitors to the plaintiff; (B) the advice to TBI not to issue and prosecute proceedings against CGU when the plaintiff had a good claim against CGU which would have succeeded; and (C) the failure to advise TBI to consider, and if considered to adopt, the course of prosecuting legal proceedings against CGU, thus ascertaining the defences raised by CGU so that in such proceedings the defences which would ultimately be relied on by CGU would be revealed; and (j) failure by the plaintiff to issue and prosecute proceedings against CGU when the plaintiff had a good claim against CGU which would have succeeded; (k) failure by the plaintiff to adopt the course of prosecuting legal proceedings against CGU, thus ascertaining the defences raised by CGU so that in such proceedings the defences which would ultimately be relied on by CGU would be revealed."
"Two kinds of reasonableness in relation to entitlements - (a) reasonableness of entering into a settlement at all ...; and (b) reasonableness of the amount of money accepted by the insured..."
Only the former, counsel submitted, formed part of the consideration whether a defendant's conduct caused a plaintiff loss. Reasonableness of amount was a matter going to mitigation of loss. But in this case no question of causation arose; for the plaintiff did not have the policy that the defendant should have procured and did not attempt to claim on it. There was nothing relevant to settle. The defendant's conduct had caused the plaintiff the loss of the full value of the notional policy. The plaintiff, in pursuing CGU, had acted to mitigate its otherwise total loss.
"Where the insured gave notice in writing to the insurer of facts that might give rise to a claim against the insured as soon as was reasonably practicable after the insured became aware of those facts but before the insurance cover provided by the contract expired, the insurer is not relieved of liability under the contract in respect of the claim, when made, by reason only that it was made after the expiration of the period of the insurance cover provided by the contract."
"(a) the fact that CGU would not offer the plaintiff any more than $3M without significant further analysis of the Fletcher Claims; (b) the fact that the significant further analysis by CGU of the Fletcher Claims would cause delay, further expense and possible further disputation between the plaintiff and CGU; (j) failure by the plaintiff to issue and prosecute proceedings against CGU when the plaintiff had a good claim against CGU which would have succeeded; (k) failure by the plaintiff to adopt the course of prosecuting legal proceedings against CGU, thus ascertaining the defences raised by CGU so that in such proceedings the defences which would ultimately be relied on by CGU would be revealed."
"(A) the giving of the advice to accept CGU's offer of $3M and the reasons therefor embodied in the letter dated 22 May 2000 from the plaintiff's solicitors to the plaintiff; (B) the advice to TBI not to issue and prosecute proceedings against CGU when the plaintiff had a good claim against CGU which would have succeeded; and (C) the failure to advise TBI to consider, and if considered to adopt, the course of prosecuting legal proceedings against CGU, thus ascertaining the defences raised by CGU so that in such proceedings the defences which would ultimately be relied on by CGU would be revealed;"
[1] Under what was called at trial the "third policy", operative between 30 September 1996 and 30 September 1997; and under the so-called "fourth policy", operative between 30 September 1997 and 31 July 1999.
[2] As to these descriptions, see Footnote 1.
[18] See Exh B, Mr Weiland's fax to Mr Wolfe dated 29 July 1993.
[21] The policy is part of Exh D, at CB 3470-3480. Initially, the policy was to expire on 25 March 1995; but its operation was extended to 30 September 1995.
[25] Or of a risk thereof, see Statement of Claim para 24.
[26] The want of requisite care and skill being specified at paragraph 25 of the Statement of Claim, although sub-paragraph (e) is really a statement of a consequence of want of care and skill.
[28] The submission was not put quite clearly on this occasion, but was often, and clearly, put thereafter.
[29] See, for instance, the evidence of Ms Underdown at T691-694, 696, Exhs AE and AP.
[31] See Recital B, the definition of "turbine business" and para 7.23.
[34] Exh W; a response to the communications which are Exhs S, U and V.
[37] Being named on a list of possible witnesses filed by the defendant in response to an order of the Court.
[38] See paras 24, 34 and 35 of the Statement of Claim.
[39] Likewise there is an essential similarity between s. 87(1) of the Commonwealth Act and s. 41(1) of the 1985 State Act. But see s. 158 of the 1999 State Act, which substantially recasts s. 41 of the 1985 Act.
[40] As to which see Wardley Australia Ltd v Western Australia [1992] HCA 55; (1992) 175 CLR 514 in the context of s. 82 of the Commonwealth Statute.
[45] See the last paragraph on p.1 of Exh AP.
[47] See the definition of "engaging in conduct" in s. 3, in particular paragraphs (b) and (c).
[54] Evidence of Ms Underdown at T809-810.
[58] See Exh D at CB3578. Each professional liability policy had a different number.
[62] Part Exh AM; the remainder of the exhibit is a copy of Ms Underdown's memorandum.
[78] See Annexure A to the plaintiff's Amended Reply, the accuracy of which was established by Exh CQ and the TBI discovery numbers on exhibits admitted in this trial.
[99] That is not to say, and it is not the fact, that I consider Mr Dobell's file note to be accurate in all respects. In particular, it is very improbable that Ms Underdown and Mr Delkousis expressed themselves "happy" with progress to date.
[100] See the evidence of Mr Delkousis at T1079, 1105-1106.
[101] The basis for admissibility was conceded by counsel for the defendant. See T995.
[103] Or in one case being the defendant to a separate proceeding.
[108] See T 1038-1040, compare, perhaps, T 1037.
[109] The facsimile and response are exh BK.
[111] Based on the belief then held that the Fletcher offer was open only until 3 May.
[115] The terms of settlement are exh BO.
[117] The deed of settlement is Exh CM.
[118] The terms of settlement are Exh BQ.
[123] See his evidence at T 1079-1080.
[124] Her evidence relevantly coincided with that given by Mr Delkousis.
[130] The term is not quite apposite in the case of professional liability insurance, where a new policy issues each year.
[138] Exhibits 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 25, 26, 27 and 28.
[142] See paragraph 1 of plaintiff's outline of submissions.
[145] Woodward J, Supreme Court of NSW unreported, judgment 4 April 1997.
[154] See per Mason CJ, Dawson, Toohey and Gaudron JJ at 352-355; and per Brennan J at 360-362.
[159] Paragraph 24 of the statement of claim.
[160] Paragraph 26 of the statement of claim.
[161] See the joint judgment in Sellars at 352.
[163] See Kelly & Ball, Principles of Insurance Law, 14-0170.
[164] See cl. 2.14 of the fourth policy.
[171] [1974] HCA 3; (1974) 130 CLR 1 at 26 per Stephen J.
[176] Distillers at 25-26 per Stephen J.
[180] Detroit Diesel - Allison and Allen Gears.
[181] See cl. 1.1 of the fourth policy.
[182] See Schedule, items 1 and 11, of the fourth policy.
[183] See cl. 1.2(1) of the fourth policy.
[192] See Exhibit D, paragraph 4 - which seems likely to have been based on the researcher's paper, Exhibit 37.
[193] See paragraph 57 of the defence.
[195] Recent amongst which are FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd [2001] HCA 38; (2001) 204 CLR 641 and Gosford City Council v GIO General Insurance Ltd [2003] NSWCA 34.
[196] See at [18] and [22]-[23], per McHugh J.
TBI Pty Ltd
AON Financial Planning Ltd [2004] VSC 40
(1992) 175 CLR 514
(1985) 58 ALR 165
(1994) 179 CLR 332
(1986) 160 CLR 1
(1998) 192 CLR 266
(1974) 130 CLR 1
(1998) 193 CLR 603
(2001) 204 CLR 641
(1991) 171 CLR 506