© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2013] NSWSC 389
Supreme Court of NSW
2013-04-05
Ward JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
Judgment 1HER HONOUR: On 7 November 2012, I handed down reasons for judgment ([2012] NSWSC 1350) in proceedings involving a dispute between a member of a superannuation scheme (Mr Ben Sharp) and the trustee of that scheme (Maritime Super Pty Ltd) in relation to Mr Sharp's claim for payment of a total and permanent disablement benefit (calculated as a lump sum of $453,000). The trustee had maintained that Mr Sharp was not entitled to such a benefit on the basis that his employment had not come to an end solely on the ground (or grounds) that his physical or mental condition at that time was such as to have the effect that he was permanently incapable of performing his duties or a danger to others. 2The factual background to the dispute is set out in my principal reasons. The dispute raised a question as to the proper construction of the relevant provision of the Trust Deed under which an entitlement to total and permanent disablement benefit was claimed (Rule 23 of the Trust Deed). The Rule in question was not a model of clear draftsmanship. Ultimately, I concluded that neither of the constructions that had been advanced by the opposing parties was the proper construction of the relevant Rule. 3I construed the Rule as setting out an objective process (not dependent on any exercise of discretion by the trustee) to be satisfied before an entitlement to a total and permanent disablement benefit would arise. As part of that objective process, a number of conditions were required to be satisfied including (under Rule 23(a)), as an objective fact, whether the member's employment had come to an end solely on the ground(s) there stated. I construed the words "on the grounds that" in Rule 23(a) as requiring a determination as to the basis on (or objective reasons for) which the employment relationship had come to an end. 4In Mr Sharp's case, the employer had issued a "standard" dismissal form on termination of his employment (following an incident during the course of his employment in which he had behaved in a manner dangerous to himself and others). I did not consider that the trustee was justified in determining the claim (as it acknowledged it had done) solely on the basis that the condition in Rule 23(a) had not been satisfied once the trustee had been provided with medical opinions that suggested or confirmed a causal link between the ground(s) of termination and a medical condition within Rule 23(a) or that raised a question as to whether the basis on which the employment had come to an end was one falling within Rule 23(a). 5On the evidence before me, I considered that Mr Sharp had established that the sole (objective) ground (or basis) for termination of his employment contract on 23 June 2006 was the incident on 6 June 2006 that had given rise to serious safety concerns in the workplace. (There had been various performance issues leading up to that incident but those were not in my opinion the objective basis for the termination of Mr Sharp's employment.) 6At [15] of my principal reasons, I found that the April 2007 doctors' reports served by Mr Sharp in support of his claim raised a sufficient issue as to whether his behaviour on 6 June 2006 had been caused by, or was referable to, an underlying mental condition (having the effect specified in Rule 23(a)) so as to require (at the least) further investigation by the trustee (having regard to the trustee's duties as identified in Finch v Telstra Super Pty Ltd [2010] HCA 36; (2010) 242 CLR 254 and Alcoa of Australia Retirement Plan Pty Ltd v Frost [2012] VSCA 238). 7At [95], I accepted the submission by Mr Rayment QC (appearing, with Mr Gollan, for Mr Sharp) that, at least by the time the 2007 medical reports were received by the trustee, there was a duty on the part of the trustee to investigate the question as to whether there was an underlying medical condition which lay behind the causes of the termination of Mr Sharp's employment. (The trustee did not obtain its own medical reports until 2011 in the context of the litigation. The opinions in those reports were broadly the same in the reports that the plaintiff had provided in support of his claim.) 8Pausing there, although I made no express finding (for reasons I will come to shortly) of breach of the duty identified at [15] and [95], the logical conclusion from the finding that there was a duty (from the time the April 2007 medical reports were served) to investigate the potential link between the plaintiff's mental condition at the time of termination of his employment and the objective ground(s) for termination of his employment is that, if the trustee failed to do so, then it was in breach of that duty. 9I remitted the matter to the trustee for further determination, having regard to what I had determined to be the proper construction of Rule 23, and directed the trustee to report back to the Court as to its determination of the claim within a specified period. 10The trustee considered the material then before it (including a note from Mr Sharp's general practitioner that indicated that Mr Sharp had been referred to a psychiatrist prior to the termination of his employment, which note the trustee said had not been received prior to the litigation) and determined that Mr Sharp was eligible for the claimed benefit. That benefit was paid in December 2012. 11The matter then came back before me late last year on the claim by Mr Sharp to interest (under s 100 of the Civil Procedure Act 2005 (NSW) or by way of equitable compensation) and in relation to costs. 12In the principal proceedings, Mr Sharp had sought a declaration that the trustee had breached its duty owed pursuant to s 14 of the Superannuation (Resolution of Complaints) Act 1993 (Cth) and had claimed damages pursuant to s 55(3) of the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993 (Cth) as a person who has suffered loss and damage as a result of breach of covenants implied by s 52 of that Act. Mr Sharp also sought interest pursuant to s 100 of the Civil Procedure Act 2005 (NSW) and, in the alternative, equitable interest. 13In the course of the hearing before me, I was informed that Mr Sharp's claim for damages pursuant to s 55(3) was not pressed. Further, as indicated at the time I published my principal reasons, I had understood the position of the trustee at the hearing to be that, if I were to be satisfied that there was a total and permanent disablement claim established as at 2007, then interest would run from that time. I did not, therefore, address in my principal reasons the underlying basis on which equitable interest was claimed in the alternative to the interest claim pursuant to s 100 of the Civil Procedure Act. My understanding as to the trustee's position in relation to the interest proved to be incorrect. Hence there was (and remains) a need to address the issue as to whether there was a breach of duty and at what time any such breach occurred. 14Both written and oral submissions were received on the question of Mr Sharp's claim to interest/equitable compensation and I deal with those before turning to the only other outstanding question (of costs).
Claim for interest/equitable compensation 15In Mr Sharp's Statement of Claim, various allegations of breach of trust were made:
Costs 65The only remaining question is as to costs. There is no dispute that Mr Sharp should have his costs of the proceedings on an ordinary basis. However, Mr Sharp seeks them from 2 August 2012 on an indemnity basis. 66Although not in evidence before me, the parties accepted that an offer of compromise had been served by Mr Sharp on 1 August 2012 in the amount of $520,000 excluding legal costs. There was no dispute that it had been served in accordance with the Rules and no issue was raised as to the validity of the offer. 67The amount of the plaintiff's benefit was in the order of $453,000. The interest claimed was $247,555.17 (though I note that the amount I propose to award by way of interest will be slightly less). Taken together, the amount received by way of benefit and interest will (even on the lesser interest award) be more than the amount of the offer of compromise. 68For the trustee, it is submitted that Mr Sharp is not entitled to costs on an indemnity basis since he has not obtained an order or judgment on the total and permanent disablement benefit claim (that having been paid in December 2012 not pursuant to any Court order). 69Rule 42.14 of the Uniform Civil Procedure Rules provides that where an offer of compromise under the rules is made by the plaintiff and not accepted by the defendant, and the plaintiff obtains "an order or judgment on the claim concerned no less favourable to the plaintiff than the terms of the offer", then (relevantly) unless the Court orders otherwise the plaintiff is entitled to indemnity costs from the day following the day on which the offer was made. 70The question here is not whether or not there was a valid offer of compromise; the question is whether the order or judgment in these proceedings is no less favourable to the plaintiff than the terms of the offer. 71The argument for the trustee is that since there has been no judgment on the claim for any monetary amount (as my earlier decision was to refer the question of determination of Mr Sharp's claim back to the trustee for consideration), any judgment for equitable compensation (which would be restricted to interest) would not exceed the amount of the offer of compromise. 72Mr Rayment invokes the public policy rationale for offers of compromise (as emphasised in cases such as Miwa Pty Ltd v Siantan Properties Pte Ltd (No 2) [2011] NSWCA 344) in response to what he characterises as the technical approach urged by the trustee. It is submitted that, in the present circumstances, the practical effect of my judgment was that Mr Sharp received the benefit he had claimed and that in those circumstances the order was "no less favourable" than the terms of the offer. 73The rules do not preclude the making of offers of compromise in non-monetary claims. The relevant question is whether the judgment obtained is more or less favourable than the relevant offer. So, for example, in Clift v Timms (unreported Court of Appeal Supreme Court of Queensland), in defamation proceedings the Court of Appeal rejected a contention that the relevant rules in the District Court in Queensland in relation to offers of compromise did not apply because the offer in question included a requirement that an apology be published and that this was not quantifiable in monetary terms. The Court of Appeal noted that the relevant question (where an offer to settle had been made on terms including an apology) was whether the effect of the judgment overall was "no less favourable" to the plaintiff than the offer. The Court of Appeal considered that there had been no chance of an apology but that in any event noted that an apology was not obtained under the judgment. However, in circumstances where the award of damages was much higher than the sums sought in the offers to settle, it considered that the result of the judgment "include[d] ample vindication of the respondent's position" was more favourable to the respondent than the relevant offers. 74Here, the relevant judgment for the purposes of the special costs rules applicable to offers of compromise is not simply the order to be made for equitable interest. It must in my view encompass the order made remitting to the trustee for consideration the plaintiff's total and permanent disablement benefit claim. As a result of that remittal the plaintiff has obtained what the plaintiff had sought in the proceedings, namely, the favourable determination of his claim. Had the proceedings not been commenced and that order not been made, there is nothing to suggest that the trustee would have re-considered the plaintiff's claim. The value of the order remitting the matter to the trustee, therefore, can be measured by the ultimate payment by the trustee of the disablement benefit (albeit that the payment of that benefit was not pursuant to an order from the Court). 75Therefore, I consider that the value of the judgment obtained was more favourable to Mr Sharp than the offer and that indemnity costs should be awarded for the period from the making of the offer until payment of the disputed benefit. It is not necessary to resort to the public policy rationale for the offer of compromise rules in order to reach that conclusion (though the outcome is consistent with that rationale). I do not, however, consider that indemnity costs should be awarded in respect of the costs incurred in relation to the disposition of the proceedings after payment of the benefit. (While not agreeing with that approach, I understood Mr Rayment to accept that there might be a relevant distinction to be drawn in relation to the position after payment of the benefit.) 76Had I not reached the conclusion as to the effect of the judgment in comparison with the offer of compromise, the question as to whether in the exercise of the Court's discretion costs should be ordered other than in the ordinary course would have arisen. Mr Cavanagh made clear that the trustee accepted (as was recognised in Gilberg v Maritime Super (No. 2) [2009] NSWCA 394) that the Court has a broad discretion in awarding costs. However, the trustee submitted that in all the circumstances (including reference to an offer said to have been made by the trustee to settle the matter made on 31 July 2012, which is also not in evidence) the Court should order costs on the usual basis. 77The offer to which Mr Cavanagh referred in submissions (the making of which was not disputed) was to settle these proceedings for an amount of $62,000 more than the benefit payable. It was submitted that it was not unreasonable on the part of the trustee to reject Mr Sharp's offer in circumstances where it had made its own offer and in a case in which the plaintiff's approach to the Deed was rejected and the factual finding was based at least in part on evidence (the referral note) not provided to the trustee at the time of the offer or before. Mr Rayment submits to the contrary that, even if failure to accept the offer of compromise does not in the circumstances trigger Rule 42.14, nevertheless in all the circumstances the failure by the trustee to accept the offer warrants departure from the ordinary rule as to costs from the time of offer. As I understand it, the difference between the respective offers relates to the component of interest on the claimed benefit. 78This issue does not arise given my finding that Rule 42.14 was applicable. Had it arisen I would not have been inclined to order indemnity costs, since I do not consider that the conduct of the case by the trustee (or its refusal of Mr Sharp's offer) would have brought the matter within the category of cases in which indemnity costs may otherwise be warranted (such as considered in Fountain Selected Meats (Sales) Pty Ltd v International Produce Merchants Pty Ltd (1988) 81 ALR 397).
Orders 79For the reasons set out above, I consider that the following orders should be made:
Sharp
Maritime Super Pty Ltd
[2012] VSCA 238
[2006] VSC 128
(2010) 242 CLR 254
(1988) 81 ALR 397
(1993) 32 NSWLR 467