© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2023] NSWCA 4
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2022-10-20
Macfarlan JA, White JA, Mitchelmore JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
Solicitors: Bridges Lawyers (Appellant) Turks Legal (Respondent) File Number(s): 2022/78092 Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: District Court of New South Wales Jurisdiction: Civil Citation: [2022] NSWDC 10; [2022] NSWDC 105 Date of Decision: 22 February 2022 Before: Gibson DCJ File Number(s): 2019/19349
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.]
HEADNOTE [This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] In April 2014, an employee of Al Maamoun & Co Pty Ltd ("the Company"), Mr Khaled Jamal, suffered an injury during the course of his employment. From January of that year, the Company had been in the business of running a small Mediterranean grocery store in Auburn, with plans to expand to new premises located at Bondi Junction. The appellant, Ms Noora Jamal, was the Company's sole director at the time that Mr Jamal was injured. In contravention of s 155(1) of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (NSW) ("the Act"), the Company did not hold the benefit of a workers compensation insurance policy as at the date of Mr Jamal's injury. As permitted by s 140(1)(a) of the Act, Mr Jamal, in due course, made a claim for workers compensation against the Workers Compensation Nominal Insurer ("the Nominal Insurer"). After compensating Mr Jamal in the amount of $258,565.75, the Nominal Insurer sought to recover its expenditure from Ms Jamal as a "culpable director" within the meaning of s 145A(4) of the Act (the Company having been served two notices seeking reimbursement, in accordance with s 145(1) of the Act, before its deregistration in January 2017). The Nominal Insurer commenced proceedings against Ms Jamal in the District Court of New South Wales on 18 January 2019. The appellant did not challenge the primary judge's finding that the Company was not an "exempt employer" for the purposes of s 155AA(1) of the Act. The primary judge (Gibson DCJ) held that the appellant was liable to reimburse the respondent for the full amount received by Mr Jamal following his claim for workers compensation, plus interest and costs. The appellant's evidence, along with the evidence of the Company's manager, Mr Mark Richerdson, that she was unaware of the Company's contravention of the Act and that she was not in a position to influence the Company's conduct in relation to that contravention, was rejected by the primary judge. On appeal, the issues before the Court were: (i) Whether the primary judge had erred in finding that the appellant had actual knowledge of the Company's contravention of s 155(1) of the Act, so as to disentitle her to the exculpatory ground contained in s 145A(5)(a) of the Act ("Ground 1"); (ii) Whether the primary judge had erred in finding that, if the appellant did not have actual knowledge of the Company's contravention of s 155(1) of the Act, the appellant had been wilfully blind to such contravention, so as to disentitle her to the exculpatory ground contained in s 145A(5)(a) of the Act ("Ground 2"); (iii) Whether, as contended by the respondent, the appellant was required to establish she had neither actual nor constructive knowledge of the Company's contravention to be exercised under s 145A(5)(a); (iv) Whether the primary judge had erred in finding that the appellant had not established that she had not been in a position to influence the Company's conduct in relation to its contravention of s 155(1) of the Act, so as to disentitle her to the exculpatory ground contained in s 145A(5)(b) of the Act ("Ground 3"); (v) In the alternative to Grounds 1-3, whether the primary judge had erred in finding that the appellant was liable to pay the full amount of $258,565.75, as specified in the respondent's second notice for reimbursement served under s 145(1) of the Act ("Ground 4). The Court held (White JA, Macfarlan and Mitchelmore JJA agreeing), dismissing the appeal in its entirety with costs: As to issues (i) and (ii): (1) There was no error in the primary judge's conclusion that the Company contravened s 155(1) of the Act with the appellant's actual knowledge. It was open to the primary judge to reject the evidence of the appellant and Mr Richerdson and to conclude that the appellant had not discharged the onus that lay on her to establish a ground of exculpation Fox v Percy (2003) 214 CLR 118; [2003] HCA 22; Lee v Lee (2019) 266 CLR 129; [2019] HCA 28, considered. (2) There was no error in the primary judge's alternative finding that the appellant had been wilfully blind to the Company's contravention of s 155(1) of the Act: [1] (Macfarlan JA), [71] (White JA), [93] (Mitchelmore JA). (3) With respect to the respondent's notice of contention, there was no error with the primary judge's decision that "knowledge" within the context of s 145A(5)(a) means actual knowledge: [1] (Macfarlan JA), [67]-[69] (White JA), [93] (Mitchelmore JA). Workers Compensation Nominal Insurer v Brasnovic [2013] NSWDC 131, approved. WorkCover Authority of New South Wales v Edwin Tucker and George MacDonald [2012] NSWDC 226, disapproved. Giorgianni v The Queen (1985) 156 CLR 473; [1985] HCA 29; Yorke v Lucas (1985) 158 CLR 661; [1985] HCA 65; Pereira v Director of Public Prosecutions (1988) 63 ALJR 1; [1988] HCA 57, considered. As to issue (v): (4) There was no error in the primary judge's conclusion that the appellant had failed to discharge her onus of proving that she was not in a position to influence the Company's conduct in relation to its contravention of the Act: [1] (Macfarlan JA), [81]-[83] (White JA), [93] (Mitchelmore JA). (5) In any event, though not agitated by the parties on this basis, it might be the case that the appellant's position as sole director of the Company would have been sufficient to disentitle the appellant to exculpation under s 145A(5)(b) of the Act: [1] (Macfarlan JA), [74]-[76] (White JA), [93] (Mitchelmore JA). Chevalley v Industrial Court of New South Wales (2011) 82 NSWLR 634; [2011] NSWCA 357, considered. As to issue (v): (6) There was no error in the primary judge's quantification of the debt owed by appellant to the respondent. The appellant's submission that a second notice served upon the Company was invalid, was rejected on the basis that s 145(1) of the Act does not prescribe the form which any such notice should take: [1] (Macfarlan JA), [90]-[91] (White JA), [93] (Mitchelmore JA).
JUDGMENT
No basis to disturb adverse credit findings
Other Factual Findings
Ground 1
Notice of Contention
Ground 2
Ground 3
Ground 4
Conclusion and orders
Endnote
Amendments 03 February 2023 - Minor amendment to punctuation on coversheet DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 03 February 2023
Jamal
Workers Compensation Nominal Insurer
(2011) 82 NSWLR 634
(2003) 214 CLR 118
(1985) 156 CLR 473
(2019) 266 CLR 129
(1988) 63 ALJR 1
(1985) 158 CLR 661
[2003] HCA 22