© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2005] FCAFC 199
Federal Court of Australia (Full Court)
2005-09-16
Kiefel J, Lander J, Wilcox J, Black J, Black CJ
Original judgment source is linked above.
BLACK CJ: 1 Subject to the qualification about the interpretation of reg 11(b) of the Health Insurance (Professional Services Review) Regulations 1999 expressed in my joint reasons with Wilcox J in Oreb v Willcock [2005] FCAFC 196, I agree with the reasons of Lander J and the orders he proposes. I certify that the preceding one (1) numbered paragraph is a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment herein of the Honourable Chief Justice Black.
ON APPEAL FROM A SINGLE JUDGE OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
BETWEEN: MARY COHN, ROBERT BROWN AND DAVID ROSENTHAL in their capacity as Professional Services Review Committee No. 297
THE DETERMINING AUTHORITY established by s 106Q of the Health Insurance Act 1973 (Cth)
BERNARD RAYMOND KELLY in his capacity as acting Director of Professional Services Review
ALAN JOHN HOLMES in his capacity as Director, Professional Services Review
REASONS FOR JUDGMENT WILCOX J: 2 I agree with the orders proposed by Lander J. 3 Lander J has set out the circumstances of this case and the legislative background against which it must be determined. I need not repeat what his Honour has said. Neither need I repeat what the Chief Justice and I said in Oreb v Willcock [2005] FCAFC 196 concerning the relationship between s 106KA of the Health Insurance Act 1973 (Cth) ('the Act') and regs 10 and 11 of the Health Insurance (Professional Services Review) Regulations 1999 (Cth) ('the Regulations'). 4 In this case, as in Oreb v Willcock, the person under review did not indicate to the relevant Professional Services Review Committee whether he was arguing for the existence of 'exceptional circumstances', in the ordinary English meaning of those words, under s 106KA of the Act, or the existence of deemed exceptional circumstances, pursuant to reg 11 of the Regulations. To the extent that the cited circumstances were the former, I think his case was sufficiently and properly addressed by the Committee. However, to the extent it was the latter, it was not addressed, free of legally irrelevant management issues and the question whether the problem argued by Dr Hatcher was one of an ongoing nature, as distinct from being intermittent or episodic. 5 As we endeavoured to explain in Oreb v Willcock, there may be 'an absence of other medical services', within the meaning of reg 11(b), notwithstanding that the absence is ongoing and that the person under review has not skilfully managed his or her practice. Under reg 11(b), it is necessary for the Committee to focus on the patients' position, not the practitioner's method of working. 6 I agree with Lander J that in the present case, the Committee proceeded on the basis that reg 11 added nothing to the expression 'exceptional circumstances' in s 106KA(2). For the reasons expressed in Oreb v Willcock, this was an erroneous approach. It necessarily requires that the Committee's determination be set aside and the matter remitted for further consideration and determination. I agree with Lander J that there is no good reason for requiring reconstitution of the Committee. I certify that the preceding five (5) numbered paragraphs are a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment herein of the Honourable Justice Wilcox.
ON APPEAL FROM A SINGLE JUDGE OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
BETWEEN: MARY COHN, ROBERT BROWN AND DAVID ROSENTHAL in their capacity as Professional Services Review Committee No. 297
THE DETERMINING AUTHORITY established by s 106Q of the Health Insurance Act 1973 (Cth)
BERNARD RAYMOND KELLY in his capacity as acting Director of Professional Services Review
ALAN JOHN HOLMES in his capacity as Director, Professional Services Review
REASONS FOR JUDGMENT LANDER J: 7 The respondent is a medical practitioner whose conduct was the subject of an inquiry by the first appellant sitting as the Professional Services Review Committee No. 297 (the Committee) under Part VAA of the Health Insurance Act 1973 (Cth) (the Act) and the Health Insurance (Professional Services Review) Regulations 1999 (the Regulations). 8 On 13 December 2001 the Health Insurance Commission (the third appellant) (the Commission) made an Investigative Referral No. 297 to the fourth appellant who was then the Acting Director, Professional Services Review under the Act. 9 This was the second investigative referral by the Commission. On 7 June 2001 the Commission had previously referred the respondent's conduct to the Director of Professional Services Review in Investigative Referral No. 254 in relation to the same referral period and the same services as those contained in Investigative Referral No. 297. Investigative Referral No. 254 did not particularise the conduct which was considered relevant to the investigation into whether the respondent engaged in inappropriate practice and, in those circumstances, the then Director decided to take no further action in respect of that referral. 10 The Acting Director of Professional Services Review conducted an inquiry, as he was obliged, under s 89 of the Act into the referred services in Investigative Referral No. 297. 11 The Acting Director determined that he should proceed under s 93(1) of the Act and on 14 February 2002 set up the Committee to consider whether the respondent's conduct in connection with rendering the specified services constituted engaging in inappropriate practice as defined under the Act. 12 On 15 November 2002 the Committee published its finding that: 'Dr Donald Frank Hatcher engaged in inappropriate practice by rendering 80 or more professional attendances on each of the 37 days, as this constituted a prescribed pattern of services under subsection 106KA(1) of the Act, and for the purposes of subsection 106KA(2) of the Act, it does not consider that exceptional circumstances existed that affected the rendering of services by Dr Hatcher on any of the 37 days in question.' 13 Because the Committee made a finding of inappropriate practice, s 106T of the Act was enlivened and the Determining Authority was bound to consider the Committee's finding in accordance with the procedure under that section and s 106TA, s 106U and s 106UA. 14 On 15 March 2003 the Determining Authority (the members of which were unanimous) made a final determination and, under s 106TA, made the following directions: '3. Under section 106TA of the Act, the Determining Authority's [sic] directs that: (i) Dr Hatcher be reprimanded by the Director, Professional Services Review, or the Director's nominee (paragraph 106U(1)(a) of the Act); (ii) Dr Hatcher be counselled by the Director, Professional Services Review, or the Director's nominee (paragraph 106U(1)(b) of the Act); (iii) Dr Hatcher repay to the Commonwealth, Medicare benefits in the amount of $67,796.75 (sub-paragraph 106U(1)(ca) of the Act); and (iv) Dr Hatcher be fully disqualified for a period of 4 weeks from the time when the final determination takes effect (paragraph 106U(1)(h) of the Act).' 15 It published reasons for those directions. 16 The respondent sought a review of the decision of the Commission to make the Investigative Referral No. 297 to the Acting Director; the decision of the Committee's finding of inappropriate practice; and the decision of the Determining Authority to give the directions. 17 On 30 November 2004 the primary judge made the following orders: '1. The directions of 15 May 2003 by the [Determining Authority] be set aside.
I certify that the preceding eighty-eight (88) numbered paragraphs are a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment herein of the Honourable Justice Lander.
Counsel for the Appellants: Mr P Hanks QC, Ms S Brown
Counsel for the Respondent: Mr D O'Gorman, Mr J Harper
Cohn
Hatcher