© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2013] NSWDC 107
District Court of NSW
2013-05-16
Mr J, Adamson J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Judgment 1On 27 October 2003 the plaintiff sustained injury in the course of his employment with Restaco Pty Limited. As the company was de-registered on 14 August 2007 the proceedings have been brought against the defendant which was the relevant insurer. 2On 17 August 2012, almost 9 years after the date of injury, the plaintiff commenced these proceedings claiming work injury damages. In paragraph 8 of the defence filed 28 August 2012 the defendant pleaded that the claim was not maintainable by virtue of section 151D of the Workers Compensation Act 1987. On 18 January 2013 the plaintiff filed a notice of motion seeking leave to commence these proceedings. On 16 May 2013 paragraph 1 of the motion was amended to seek an order that paragraph 8 of the defence be struck out on the grounds that the proceedings were commenced in time and leave is therefore not required. 3The motion came on for hearing on 16 May 2013 and following oral argument was stood over part heard with an order for written submissions to which the court will refer later. The principal question to be determined is whether the court ought apply a decision of a single judge of the Supreme Court. 4The defendant's position is that the section 151D defence is well founded and, absent leave, the proceedings must be struck out because the wording of section 151D is clear and mandatory. 5Section 151D relevantly provides:
Time limit for commencement of court proceedings against employer for damages (2) A person to whom compensation is payable under this Act is not entitled to commence court proceedings for damages in respect of the injury concerned against the employer liable to pay that compensation more than 3 years after the date on which the injury was received, except with the leave of the court in which the proceedings are to be taken. 6Section 151H relevantly provides:
No damages unless permanent impairment of at least 15% (1) No damages may be awarded unless the injury results in the death of the worker or in a degree of permanent impairment of the injured worker that is at least 15%. 7It is common ground that the plaintiff had no such entitlement until 3 May 2010 when a complying agreement pursuant to section 66A was executed. This provided for a 16 percent WPI. These proceedings were commenced within three years of the complying agreement and the plaintiff's primary submission is that for this reason they were commenced within time because time did not start to run until his WPI had been determined. 8The plaintiff relied upon a decision of Justice Adamson in OPOKU v P & M QUALITY SMALLGOODS PTY LTD (2012) NSW SC 478, and this decision, in respect of which there was no appeal, was the focus of the written submissions. The plaintiff relied in particular upon [62] and [63] where Her Honour stated: By reason of s 151H of the Workers Compensation Act 1987, the plaintiff could not bring a claim for damages in negligence against his employer unless and until he had met the threshold requirement that he suffer a permanent impairment of at least 15%, which was a matter that needed to be assessed. This assessment was not resolved until October 2008 (by a Complying Agreement under s 66A of the Workers Compensation Act which, curiously, identifies the plaintiff's employer did not accrue until that date. The plaintiff's claim against Kaybron 6 was brought within time because it was brought within three years of the assessment of his permanent impairment, being the date on which his cause of action against Kaybron 6 accrued. 9On this basis the plaintiff contended that section 151D did not preclude him from commencing these proceedings because they were commenced within three years of the complying agreement establishing the 15% threshold required under section 151H. 10The court accepts that the present factual scenario is not relevantly distinguishable from that which arose in OPOKU. It was therefore submitted on behalf of the plaintiff that this court ought adopt the reasoning in that decision although the plaintiff conceded that this court is not bound by it. 11For the reasons set out in the annexure to the plaintiff's submissions and the authorities referred to, the plaintiff acknowledged that a decision of a single Supreme Court judge does not bind a District Court judge because no appeal lies from a judge of the District Court to a single judge of the Supreme Court, in other words, the courts are not in the same hierarchy. 12In further exposition of the principles of stare decisis, the defendant referred to passages in CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF CUSTOMS v TONY LONGO PTY LIMITED NSWCA 147, which was also referred to in the plaintiff's submissions. In particular the defendant referred to [51] where Heydon JA said: In Business World Computers Pty Limited v Australian Telecommunications Commission (1998) 82 ALR 499 at 504, Gummow J, sitting as a primary judge, rejected a submissions that the Federal Court of Australia either at first instance or on appeal "was bound by considered statements of principle in decision of single justices of the High Court exercising its original jurisdiction". He said: "Whilst of course such decisions are deserving of the closet and most respectful consideration, I believe [the] submission is incorrect. Stare decisis involves courts being bound by appellate decisions of courts standing above them and in the same hierarchy. A decision of a single justice of the High Court is not such a decision. I refer to what was said, albeit with reference to the position of an intermediate court of appeal in relation to judgments of single justices of the High Court, in Bone v Commissioner of Stamp Duties [1972] NSWLR 651 at 654 and 644. In that case Jacobs P said at 654 of a decision of Owen J in the original jurisdiction of the High Court: That decision is naturally entitled to the greatest respect. It is of its nature a most persuasive precedent, but it is not a precedent which is binding upon this Court. It was not a decision given by Owen J when sitting as a member of a court in the framework of the appellate structure of which this Court is part. Hope JA said at 664: A decision of a Justice of the High Court sitting at first instance is of course of the greatest persuasive authority for this Court, but this Court is not bound to follow it, and since the decision is challenged, it becomes necessary to decide whether the construction placed upon the agreement by Owen J was the correct one. 13It is also clear from the authorities that whilst a judgment of a single judge of the Supreme Court is not binding on this court it ought be regarded as persuasive and given proper weight and respect. It follows that the court accepts that the decision in OPOKU ought be followed unless there is a compelling reason not to do so, given that its correctness is challenged. 14It was submitted on behalf of the plaintiff that:
Benton
QBE Workers Compensation
(1998) 82 ALR 499