© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2015] NSWCA 262
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2015-07-31
Beazley P, Meagher JA, McDougall J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Solicitors: Elmassian Lawyers (Appellant) Courtenay & Co Solicitors (Respondent) File Number(s): 2014/209672 Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: District Court Date of Decision: 20 June 2014 Before: Olsson SC DCJ File Number(s): 2012/310761
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.]
[This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] Mr Sgro was the owner of a motor vehicle which he alleged was stolen. Australian Associated Motor Insurers Ltd (AAMI), with whom the vehicle was insured, refused Mr Sgro's claim made on his policy of insurance. Mr Sgro brought proceedings against AAMI, pleading entitlement to payment under the policy of $190,350, being the agreed value of the vehicle plus interest. AAMI denied Mr Sgro's entitlement to payment and alleged that his claim was fraudulent pursuant to the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth), s 56. Mr Sgro's claim was rejected by Olsson SC DCJ. Her Honour held that she was not satisfied to the requisite standard that the vehicle was stolen. Her Honour also held that AAMI was entitled to refuse the appellant's claim pursuant to s 56 of the Insurance Contracts Act. In so doing, her Honour declined to make a finding of fraud, but rather held that Mr Sgro, "for whatever reason", was not honest and candid in the answers he gave in relation to the claim.
Held per Beazley P (Meagher JA and McDougall J agreeing), dismissing the appeal: (1) The absence of a finding of a financial motive for making a fraudulent claim did not mean that the rejection of the claim was incongruous. Rather, the absence of a financial motive was a factor to be weighed alongside other evidence. [8]-[11]; [67]; [78] (2) There was no error in her Honour's findings as to the timing of the events which occurred on the day the vehicle was allegedly stolen. [21]; [67]; [78] (3) It was open to her Honour not to accept the evidence of Mr Sgro's parents. Such evidence was not unchallenged, and her Honour was entitled to draw her own conclusions as to its veracity and reliability. [26]; [67]; [78] Fox v Percy [2003] HCA 22; 214 CLR 118. (4) Having made factual findings open to her on the evidence, her Honour's ultimate finding was that she was not satisfied, on the balance of probabilities, that the vehicle was stolen. Mr Sgro's claim accordingly failed. [43]; [75]; [78] (5) Fraud must be clearly pleaded and properly particularised. A pleading must allege the acts involved and that they were done in a manner that involves fraud. Good pleading practice requires that an allegation that false statements have been made with intent to induce the payment of a claim should be pleaded in specific terms. [55]; [65]; [67]; [77]-[78] Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 (UCPR), r 14.14; Banque Commerciale SA v Akhil Holdings Ltd [1990] HCA 11; 169 CLR 279; Minister Administering the Crown Lands Consolidation Act and Western Lands Act v Tweed Byron Local Aboriginal Land Council (1990) 71 LGRA 201. (6) It is a basic obligation of procedural justice to fairly confront a person with the suggestion that a case is false or fraudulent. [56]; [57]; [78] Ghazal v Government Insurance Office (NSW) (1992) 29 NSWLR 336; Somaghi v Minister for Immigration, Local Government and Ethnic Affairs (1991) 31 FCR 100; 102 ALR 339; Inzaurralde v Government Insurance Office of New South Wales (Court of Appeal, 28 October 1992, unreported). (7) The seriousness of a finding of fraud, including statutory fraud, does not permit of other than a specific finding that the fraud, or the contravening conduct, had in fact occurred. Her Honour's finding that Mr Sgro was not honest and candid "for whatever reason" did not satisfy this fundamental requirement. [54]; [57]; [78] Briginshaw v Briginshaw [1938] HCA 34; 60 CLR 336. (8) The test for fraud is satisfied if the insured has a dishonest intent to induce a false belief in the insurer for the purpose of obtaining payment or some other benefit under the policy. However, the fraudulent statement need not be material to the insured's claim. It is not necessary to show prejudice as having been suffered by the insurer for s 56 of the Insurance Contracts Act to be relied upon. [47]; [70]; [78] Walton v The Colonial Mutual Life Assurance Society Ltd [2004] NSWSC 616; 13 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61-620; To v Australian Associated Motor Insurers Ltd [2001] VSCA 48; 3 VR 279. (9) It was unclear whether AAMI intended to plead common law fraud. If AAMI did so intend, the pleadings did not comply with the requirements of UCPR, r 14.14. Any such claim ought to have been clearly pleaded and brought by way of cross-claim. [64]; [74]
Obiter: In a case where, on the whole of the evidence, the probabilities are equal, a plaintiff will fail, having not satisfied the court on the balance of probabilities of the necessary facts to establish the cause of action. [44]; [76] Compania Naviera Vascongada v British & Foreign Marine Insurance Co Ltd (The Gloria) (1936) 54 LIL Rep 35; Palamisto General Enterprises v Ocean Marine Insurance Co Ltd (1972) 2 QB 625; Hammoud Brothers Pty Ltd v Insurance Australia Ltd [2004] NSWCA 366; 13 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶161-639; Anderson v AON Risk Services Australia Ltd [2004] QSC 49; 13 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61-614; Simon v NRMA Insurance Ltd [1991] NSWCA 247.
Judgment
Issues on the appeal
(1) The motive issue
(2) The time issue
Mr Sacco's evidence
(3) The parents' evidence issue
(4) Other evidence issues
Conclusion on issues (1)-(4)
(5) The s 56 issue
Some additional comments
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 02 September 2015
Sgro
Australian Associated Motor Insurers Ltd
[2004] QSC 49
[2001] VSCA 48
(1992) 29 NSWLR 336
(1991) 31 FCR 100
(2001) 3 VR 279
[1938] HCA 34
[2003] HCA 22
[2010] HCA 9