© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2016] NSWCA 145
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2016-04-19
Beazley P, Basten JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
Background
Statutory Framework
WC Act
WIM Act
The Work Capacity Guidelines
Course of Events
The Arbitrator's Determination
The Appeal Determination
Ground 3: Work Capacity Decisions
Ground 1: Jurisdiction
Ground 2: The September 2014 Decision
Concessions
Worker's Submissions
The Bank's Submissions
The Jurisdictional Issue
The Insurer's Decision
Reasoning
Jurisdiction of the Commission under the WIM Act
Exclusions from the Commission's Jurisdiction
Section 43(1)(a) of the WC Act
Section 43(1)(f) of the WC Act
Section 43(2) of the WC Act
Section 43(2)(a)
Section 43(2)(b)
Orders
Endnotes
Amendments 01 August 2016 - [131] - quoting the High Court, change "employer" to "employee". [151] - quoting s 43(1)(f) of WC Act, change "decisions" to "decision". DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 01 August 2016
Sabanayagam
St George Bank Limited
Re Refugee Review Tribunal; Ex Parte Aala [2000] HCA 57; 204 CLR 82 Ruhani v Director of Police [2005] HCA 42; 222 CLR 489 Sabanayagam v St George Bank Ltd [2016] NSWWCCPD 3 Speirs v Industrial Relations Commission of New South Wales [2011] NSWCA 206; 81 NSWLR 348 Williams v Metropolitan Coal Co Ltd [1948] HCA 8; 76 CLR 431 Texts Cited: WorkCover Work Capacity Guidelines, ss 5, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 5.3.1, 5.3.2, 7, 7.1.2, 7.1.6, 7.2, 7.3 Workers Compensation Legislation Amendment Bill 2012, Explanatory Memorandum Category: Principal judgment Parties: Christina Sabanayagam (Appellant) St George Bank Limited (Respondent) Representation: Counsel: Mr B Gross QC / Mr BG McManamey (Appellant) Mr GJ Parker SC / Mr SL Flett (Respondent)
Solicitors: Law Partners Personal Injury Lawyers (Appellant) Curwoods Lawyers (Respondent) File Number(s): 2016/34072 Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Workers Compensation Commission of New South Wales Citation: [2016] NSWWCCPD 3 Date of Decision: 21 January 2016 Before: DP O'Grady File Number(s): A1-002744/15
HEADNOTE [This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] In 2006 the appellant (the Worker), who was then employed by the Respondent (the Bank), suffered an injury when leaving the Bank's premises. The Worker was paid weekly compensation by reason of her incapacity to work, pursuant to the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (NSW) (WC Act) and the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (NSW) (WIM Act). On 20 March 2015, the Bank's insurer (the Insurer) sent a notice to the Worker (Notice), advising her that liability to continue paying the weekly compensation was denied. The Notice stated that the Worker's alleged injury had been resolved and that she did not continue to suffer from any injury within the meaning of s 4 of the WC Act. In response, the Worker filed an Application to Resolve a Dispute in the Commission (Application), seeking a resumption of her payments. The Senior Arbitrator (Arbitrator) of the Workers Compensation Commission (Commission) determined that the Commission had no jurisdiction to deal with the Application by reason of s 43(3) of the WC Act, which provides that the Commission does not have jurisdiction to determine any dispute about "a work capacity decision" made by an insurer, and consequently the Worker's weekly compensation payments were not restored. The Worker appealed to the Commission constituted by the Deputy President. The Deputy President found that a "work capacity decision" under s 43(1) of the WC Act had been made before the Notice had been served, and therefore the Commission did not have jurisdiction. The Worker appealed to the Court of Appeal pursuant to s 353(1) of the WIM Act. Such an appeal is limited to a decision of the Deputy President in point of law. The Worker raised several issues: (i) whether the Deputy President erred in inferring that a work capacity decision had been made before service of the Notice; (ii) whether the Deputy President had erred in failing to find that the Senior Arbitrator erred in holding that the Notice constituted a work capacity decision under s 43 of the WC Act; (iii) whether the Notice constituted "a decision to dispute liability for weekly payments of compensation" within s 43(2)(a) of the WC Act (and therefore did not constitute a "work capacity decision"); and (iv) whether the Notice constituted "a decision that can be the subject of a medical dispute under Part 7 of Chapter 7 of the [WIM Act]" within s 43(2)(b) of the WC Act (and therefore did not constitute a "work capacity decision"). The Respondent filed a Notice of Contention submitting that the Deputy President's decision should be upheld on the ground that the Insurer's decision on 20 March 2015 was a "work capacity decision" within s 43(1)(a) (being "a decision about a worker's current work capacity") and s 43(1)(f) (being "any other decision of an insurer that affects a worker's entitlement to weekly payments of compensation"). Held, per Sackville AJA (Beazley P agreeing at [1], [6]), allowing the appeal and remitting the matter to the Commission constituted by an Arbitrator: In relation to issue (i) (1) If the Deputy President intended to find that the Insurer made a work capacity decision prior to the Notice, there was no evidence to support that finding and therefore his Honour erred in point of law. [118]-[119] Australian Broadcasting Tribunal v Bond [1990] HCA 33; 170 CLR 321; Bruce v Cole (1998) 45 NSWLR 163 In relation to issue (ii) and the notice of contention (2) There was nothing in the Notice or in the Insurer's conduct indicating that the Insurer was exercising the powers conferred on it by the WC Act. Therefore the Insurer was not making a decision "about a worker's current work capacity" within s 43(1)(a). [141]-[148] (3) Section 43(1)(f) cannot convert a purported decision by an insurer that it has no authority to make into a decision that is subject to the privative clauses contained in s 43(1) and s 43(3). [151]-[153] (4) The decision made on 20 March 2015 was not a work capacity decision within s 43(1), and therefore the Bank therefore could not rely on the privative clause in s 43(1) or s 43(3) to support its contention that the Commission did not have jurisdiction to hear and determine the Application. [155] Project Blue Sky Inc v Australian Broadcasting Authority [1998] HCA 28; 194 CLR 355; Certain Lloyds Underwriters v Cross [2012] HCA 56; 248 CLR 378 In relation to issue (iii) (5) Had the Insurer made a "work capacity decision", the decision was not taken out of the definition by s 43(2)(a), as otherwise there would be little room for s 43(1) or s 43(3) to operate. [157]-[164] Inghams Enterprises Pty Ltd v Sok [2014] NSWCA 217; 87 NSWLR 198 In relation to issue (iv) (6) Had the Insurer's decision been a "work capacity decision", the decision was not taken out of the definition by s 43(2)(b), because a decision about a worker's current work capacity is not one that can be the subject of a medical dispute under Pt 7 of Ch 7 of the WIM Act. [167] Held, per Basten JA (Beazley P agreeing at [1]) in relation to issues (ii) and (iii), and the notice of contention: (7) The decision of 20 March 2015 was not a "work capacity decision" because, amongst other reasons, it purported to be a "decision to dispute liability for weekly payments of compensation" thus falling within s 43(2)(a), because it gave notice pursuant to s 74, and because there was a failure by the Insurer to consider the Worker's ability to return to work in suitable employment. Therefore both the Arbitrator and the Deputy President were wrong to hold that the Commission had no jurisdiction. [20]-[25]
Judgment
(1991) 31 FCR 1
(1998) 45 NSWLR 163
(1985) 155 CLR 171