© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2011] NSWDC 181
District Court of NSW
2011-08-16
Original judgment source is linked above.
Judgment 1The plaintiff was injured on a building site on 12 December 2007. At the time of his injury he was working at the direction and under the control of SMS Formwork Pty Limited. The head contractor on the site was said to be Broad Group Holdings Pty Limited. 2A statement of claim naming these two entities as defendants was filed on 2 December 2010. SMS was deregistered on 17 October 2010 and thus the proceedings commenced against it were a nullity. 3By motion filed on 22 June 2011, the plaintiff sought leave to amend the statement of claim to substitute Wesfarmers General Insurance Limited for SMS on the basis of s 6 of the Law Reform (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1946. 4On 8 July 2011, the Registrar adjourned the motion for hearing before the presiding Judge on 16 August 2011. 5On 22 July 2011, the plaintiff filed an amended notice of motion seeking to join Wesfarmers to the proceedings, and seeking leave to file an amended statement of claim naming Wesfarmers as the first defendant. 6The basis of the claim sought to be brought against Wesfarmers was that there was in place, on 12 December 2007, a contract of insurance between Wesfarmers and SMS that responded to SMS's liability to the plaintiff in respect of the injury that he claimed he suffered on that date. 7The plaintiff proposed to proceed against Wesfarmers in reliance on s 601AG of the Corporations Act 2001 that provides: A person may recover from the insurer of a company that is deregistered an amount that was payable to the company under the insurance contract if: (a) the company had a liability to the person; and (b) the insurance contract covered that liability immediately before deregistration. 8Wesfarmers resisted the application. 9The issues raised were:
The Insurance Contract 10Wesfarmers argued and I accept that the plaintiff bore the onus of establishing that it was the insurer of SMS through an insurance contract that covered its liability to him before deregistration. 11There was in evidence through the affidavits of Mr Blissett, the plaintiff's solicitor, and Ms Wild, Wesfarmer's solicitor, correspondence between their firms concerning the insurance cover held by SMS at the time of the plaintiff's injury. 12On 24 May 2011, Hunt and Hunt forwarded to Bale Boshev a copy of an annual contract works and public liability insurance policy that ostensibly covered public liability and provided indemnity in respect of amounts that the insured became legally liable to pay for personal injury as defined, sustained during the period of the insurance. 13A copy of t he policy was provided to the plaintiff on the basis that: there is no concession as to indemnity or the relevant limitation period. 14On 12 August 2011, Hunt and Hunt confirmed that its client (presumably Wesfarmers) instructed that the policy wording of the document forwarded on 24 May 2011 was applicable as at 12 December 2007. 15While Wesfarmers made it clear that it made no concession as to indemnity, it placed no evidence before the Court on this application that indicated that the public liability section of the policy would not have responded to the claim brought by the plaintiff against SMS but for its deregistration. 16I was therefore satisfied on a prima facie basis that there was an insurance contract between Wesfarmers and SMS that covered SMS's liability, if any, to the plaintiff immediately before its deregistration. 17I considered this to be sufficient to establish on a prima facie basis that the necessary insurance contract was in place and I found in favour of the plaintiff on the first issue.
The cause of action 18I was referred by the plaintiff to a decision of Justice Barrett in Kelley v Western Pacific Insurance Limited [2010] NSWSC 1397. 19Since the plaintiff relied on an extract cited by Justice Barrett from a decision of the Court of Appeal in Almario v Allianz Australia Workers Compensation NSW Insurance Limited [2005] NSWCA 19, (2005) 62 NSWLR 148, I decided to review that decision in its entirety. 20At [15], Justice Ipp noted that his Honour Judge Walmsley of this Court, at first instance, relied upon Pagnon v WorkCover Queensland (2001) 2 Qd R 492 to hold that the limitation period for s 601AG actions began to run on deregistration of the company and that this finding was not challenged on the appeal. Nor did the Court of Appeal take issue with the proposition. Rather, Justice Ipp, with whom Justice Hodgson and Acting Justice Hunt agreed, endorsed it. 21In dealing with the issues that arose in Almario, Justice Ipp clearly proceeded on the basis that the limitation period, insofar as an insurer was concerned, commenced on deregistration of the company involved. 22Justice Ipp said at [41] that s 601AG should be construed so that its opening words read: A person may recover from the insurer of a company that is deregistered (as if the insurer was the deregistered company) an amount that was payable to the company to undertake the insurance contract. 23The result for the purposes of this case was therefore that:
Date of discoverability 24If I am wrong in my conclusion on the second issue, I did not accept Wesfarmers' contention that the limitation period for the institution of proceedings against SMS expired on 12 December 2010 and that, the proceedings against the deregistered company having no legal status, the plaintiff was barred by the provisions of s 50C of the Limitation Act 1969 from proceeding against Wesfarmers. 25It was argued that the date of discoverability for the purpose of determination of when the limitation period expired was 12 December 2007, the date when the plaintiff suffered injury. 26The date upon which a cause of action is discoverable is to be determined by reference to s 50D of the Limitation Act 1969 , which provides:
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 25 November 2011
Roy Atkin Johnstone
Broad Group Holdings Pty Limited & Ors
[2007] VSC 7
(2005) 62 NSWLR 148
(2001) 2 Qd R 492