© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2001] VSCA 25
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2001-03-27
ORMISTON, CALLAWAY and BATT, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
[ 2001] VSCA 25
INSURANCE - Marine Insurance - "Typhoon clause" - Condition prohibiting the vessel from being "allowed to sail ... when there is a typhoon or storm warning" either between ports of departure and destination or "at port of destination" - Vessel lost in South China Sea - Warnings in existence for over 24 hours that typhoon expected to cross line of voyage to Hong Kong - Meaning of "allowed" - Whether necessary to show that ship sailed with knowledge of master or owner - Whether necessary that warning as to storm should affect vessel at moment of leaving port or whether "warning" comprehended warning of future course of "typhoon".
PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE - Interest on judgment - s.59 of Supreme Court Act 1986 - Whether judge entitled to add one per cent to foreign rate proved in evidence.
"NOTWITHSTANDING any provision of this policy to the contrary, it is hereby expressly stipulated and made a condition herein that the insured vessel shall not be allowed to sail or put out of port when there is a typhoon or storm warning either at the port of destination or between the said port. Violation of this condition shall render the policy NULL AND VOID. HOWEVER, should the vessel have sailed out of port prior to such warning, this warranty shall no longer apply."
The question which arose in the proceeding was whether the appellant insurers were entitled to deny liability under the policy because, as they alleged, the vessel had been "allowed to sail or put out of port when there [was] a typhoon or storm warning either at the port of destination or between the said port" [sic]. The clause was inelegantly drafted, as the appellants conceded, and it would seem either that the particular clause had never been used previously or, that even if it had, none of these parties, nor the very experienced counsel who appeared on their behalf, had come across such a clause before or since. It is not entirely clear whether "port of destination" should read "port of sailing" or "port of departure", but it was otherwise agreed between the parties that the otherwise unintelligible expression "between the said port" should be treated as meaning "between the port of sailing and the port of destination".
"STORM WARNING Meteorological message intended to warn those concerned of the occurrence or expected occurrence of average wind speeds in the range of 48 to 63 knots or windforce 10 to 11 in the Beaufort scale. TYPHOON WARNING Meteorological message intended to warn those concerned of the occurrence or expected occurrence of the mean wind speed of 64 knots or higher, or wind force 12 in the Beaufort scale."
The significance of these warnings is that they formed the basis for various radio transmissions from meteorological offices around the world intended to warn shipping, in particular, of the relevant risks. Vessels of the size and class here in question ordinarily had radio rooms with equipment capable of receiving messages of this kind and it was ordinarily the duty of radio officers on these vessels to monitor messages which were, of course, frequently transmitted as part of ordinary weather forecasts or in conjunction with them.
"AT 132100 GMT, TROPICAL STORM FRED (9111) WITH CENTRAL PRESSURE 990 HECTOPASCALS WAS CENTRED WITHIN 60 NAUTICAL MILES OF ONE EIGHT POINT NINE DEGREES NORTH (18.9N) ONE ONE EIGHT POINT THREE DEGREES EAST (118.3E) AND IS FORECAST TO INTENSIFY GRADUALLY AND MOVE WEST-NORTHWEST AT ABOUT 6 KNOTS FOR THE NEXT 24 HOURS. MAXIMUM WINDS NEAR THE CENTRE ARE ESTIMATED TO BE 40 KNOTS. RADIUS OF OVER 33 KNOT WINDS 60 NAUTICAL MILES. RADIUS OF OVER TWO METRE WAVES 200 NAUTICAL MILES. FORECAST POSITION AT 142100 GMT ONE NINE POINT EIGHT DEGREES NORTH (19.8N) ONE ONE FIVE POINT NINE DEGREES EAST (115.9E). FORECAST POSITION AT 152100 GMT TWO ZERO POINT SEVEN DEGREES NORTH (20.7N) ONE ONE THREE POINT SIX DEGREES EAST (113.6E)."
That indicated that the tropical storm was by then on a similar latitude to Hainan Island but still some hundreds of miles to the east. On the other hand, the forecast position of the storm at 0500 hours two days later, when the vessel was expected still to be at sea, was slightly north of the latitude of Hainan Strait and approximately two-thirds of the distance from that strait to Hong Kong, only a short distance from the expected course of the vessel to Hong Kong.
"Dear Captain, Understand there are [sic] typhoon Fred approaching which kindly take extra cautions and always consider safety first. Regards - Norstarco."
There was much dispute at the trial as to whether this message was taken to the wharf and handed to somebody on the vessel, which Mr Ruan claimed he had done but which the trial judge specifically held he could not accept. Whatever Mr Ruan claimed to have done, he certainly conceded that he was aware of the typhoon warnings while the vessel was still in port, having received them from both the harbour authorities and the local radio and television stations.
a relevant warning, the master of the Biyayang Ginto had not been shown to have had such knowledge.[2]
Whether "warning" included that of future courses of storm
"The Court, on application in all proceedings on any policies of insurance, must, unless good cause is shown to the contrary, give damages in the nature of interest over and above the money receivable."
It would therefore appear that in relation to that sub-section at least the general principle often referred to in the High Court would apply, namely, that the purpose of such an award of interest is "to compensate the plaintiff for the detriment that he has suffered by being kept out of his money, and not to punish the defendant for having been dilatory in settling the plaintiff's claim"[10]. The section must therefore be viewed as founded on the need to compensate the plaintiff for being kept out of its money, so that prima facie there should be a factual basis for any award of interest thereunder. In most cases the dispute arises in relation to claims within the jurisdiction so that the Court may take judicial notice of or otherwise inform itself of lending and borrowing rates and related financial practices. Doubtless, this explains the addition of one per cent to the minimum bank lending rate by the English Commercial Court, as referred to in Miliangos v. George Frank Textiles Ltd. (No. 2)[11] and BP Exploration Co. v. Hunt (No. 2)[12]. However, whatever may be appropriate for determining matters of banking and financial practice within this jurisdiction, the Court cannot act in that way in relation to the award of interest at foreign rates in circumstances where the calculation must depend upon foreign banking and other financial practices.[13] In such cases this Court must act only on evidence, although it is not obliged to award the whole of the amount sought and justified by such evidence. The present case is one where there is evidence of a relevant foreign rate which the judge here accepted and was not challenged in this Court. There was no further evidence, as I would understand it, upon which the judge might act to increase the rate which is thereby said to be the measure of the respondent's loss.
made upon the basis of the proved rate. If counsel are able to agree upon the figure then judgment should be given for the agreed sum. To that extent only I would allow the appeal.
interpretation are simplicity and greater certainty of operation (leaving aside the definition of the warning), and the fact that it was clearly such an arrangement as the parties might have made. On this view what was not to be allowed was simply sailing or putting out of port, and "allow" merely referred to the voluntary nature of the sailing or putting out. The passive "shall not be allowed" may be said to show no concern with the agent or actor. But after reading and re-reading the clause I am satisfied that the complement of "shall not be allowed" is not the infinitives by themselves: with them must be read the temporal or "when" clause. In addition, someone has to allow a vessel to sail or put out, and in this context it had to be the insured (considered as an entity). It follows from these considerations that a vessel could not be "allowed" by the insured to "sail or put out when" there was a typhoon or storm warning unless the insured knew (or, perhaps, ought to have known) of the warning. I recognise that the meaning of "allow" in the present clause depends on its own context and is not determined by cases decided on different contexts. But the cases discussing the meaning of "allow", most of which have concerned prosecutions, do manifest a general requirement of knowledge[19]. There are suggestions in Hardcastle v. Bielby[20] and possibly in Gilbert v. Gulliver[21] that constructive knowledge may be sufficient, but Tanos[22] is to the contrary. The construction of the warranty as breached if there was constructive knowledge of a relevant warning on the part of the insured was very much an afterthought and secondary argument of the appellants and they did not advance any argument that the insured ought to have known through the medium of any other person than the master. The reasons of Ormiston, J.A. show why constructive knowledge cannot be sufficient in the case of the present clause.
[2] It was accepted on both sides, and I am content also to accept, that the onus rested on the appellant insurers to show that the terms of the condition had been satisfied.
[3] See, e.g., Australian Casualty Co. Ltd. v. Federico [1986] HCA 32; (1986) 160 C.L.R. 513; Johnson v. American Home Assurance Co. [1998] HCA 14; (1998) 192 C.L.R. 266.
[5] The second ground in fact argued: see [24].
[6] Nevertheless some of the expert evidence suggested that remaining at anchor in certain harbours was in fact more dangerous than leaving port and that ships were sometimes advised for that reason to sail out of them as quickly as possible.
[8] This, of course, makes no allowance for the fact, probably irrelevant to the clause's interpretation, that it was not possible to use the radio room immediately before departure from Beihai so that any warnings had to be taken to the ship or transmitted on VHF radio from shore to ship at some time which suited the convenience of the local agent Penavico.
[9] See the comment by the majority (Gleeson, C.J., Gaudron, McHugh, Gummow, Hayne, JJ.) in Grincelis v. House [2000] H.C.A. 42; 74 A.L.J.R. 1247 at 1251 para.[16].
[10] See Batchelor v. Burke [1981] HCA 30; (1981) 148 C.L.R. 448 at 455 per Gibbs, C.J.; Haines v. Bendall [1991] HCA 15; (1991) 172 C.L.R. 60; MBP (SA) Pty. Ltd. v. Gogic [1991] HCA 3; (1991) 171 C.L.R. 657 at 663; Grincelis v. House [2000] H.C.A. 42; 74 A.L.J.R. 1247 at 1251 para.[16]; State Bank of N.S.W. v. Swiss Bank Corp. (1995) 39 N.S.W.L.R. 350 at 360 (C.A.).
[11] [1977] Q.B. 489 at 495.
[12] [1979] 1 W.L.R. 783 at 849.
[14] See ss.58 and 60 of the Supreme Court Act 1986 ("not exceeding the rate"): cf. Clarke v. Foodland Stores Pty. Ltd. [1993] VicRp 81; [1993] 2 V.R. 382 at 394, 396-397.
[15] See s.57(1) of the Supreme Court Act.
[16] Wilful blindness would almost certainly be equivalent to knowledge for this purpose: cf. R. v. Crabbe [1985] HCA 22; (1985) 156 C.L.R. 464 at 470-471 and Manifest Shipping Co. Ltd. v. Uni-Polaris Shipping Co. Ltd. [2001] UKHL 1; [2001] 2 W.L.R. 170 especially at [26].
[17] I do not wish to say anything else about the construction of the clause except to express my concurrence in Batt, J.A.'s observations at [70].
[18] Or, perhaps, either knew or ought to have known.
[19] Massey v. Morriss [1894] 2 Q.B. 412; Crabtree v. Fern Spinning Co (1901) 85 L.T. 549; Gilbert v. Gulliver [1918] VicLawRp 27; [1918] V.L.R. 185; Victor v. Chief of Naval Staff (1993) 115 A.L.R. 716 at 723; and Commissioner of Police v. Tanos [1958] HCA 6; (1958) 98 C.L.R. 383 at 394.
[20] [1892] 1 Q.B. 709 at 712-713.
[23] A recent warning that has not been cancelled or withdrawn would ordinarily qualify as a warning current at the time of departure.
Neuchatel Swiss General Insurance Co Ltd & Ors
Vlasons Shipping Inc [2001] VSCA 25