© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2003] VSCA 59
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2003-05-27
CALLAWAY, BATT and CHERNOV, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
[ 2003] VSCA 59
Insurance - Policy - Construction - Definition of "The Business" referring to schedule - Relevant part of schedule left blank - Identification of business from proposal and other documents - Whether injury happened in connection with business so identified - Proper approach to construction of commercial contracts, including insurance policies - Exclusion for claims "arising out of any breach of a duty owed in a professional capacity" - Unnecessary and undesirable to decide whether exclusion applied.
"'The Business' shall mean that described in the Schedule and shall also include 1. the provision of its own canteen sports social and child care facilities or welfare organisations, and its own fire first aid medical and ambulance services, by the Policyholder. 2. private work undertaken by any Employee for any director partner or senior executive of the Policyholder. 3. the ownership or occupation of, the carrying out of repairs maintenance alterations or additions to, or the demolition of, the Policyholder's premises to which this Policy applies. 4. the deeming of Person Insured 1.1 to be a manufacturer of Products by operation of a law of Australia or its external territories."
"A blank left in an instrument generally renders meaningless the portion of the instrument in which it appears. But this may leave the instrument as one which is capable of being carried into effect and enforced, disregarding the meaningless provision, just as may happen where some inessential provision of a contract is so vague and uncertain as to be incapable of any precise meaning..."
In oral argument emphasis was placed on the factual matrix in which the contract of insurance was made and the admissibility of extrinsic evidence to identify its subject matter.[10]
* The first four questions related to the details of the proposer. The fourth question asked for a full description of its business or occupation "including all subsidiaries". The answer typed in the relevant box was "Property investment, development, construction", but, as Mr McArthur said, that answer is not directed to the risk but to the description of the person applying for the cover. It is as if a group of doctors applying for public liability insurance in respect of the premises they occupy described their occupation as "general practitioners".
* The next group of questions concerned "Property Owner's Liability". The proposer was asked to state "details of premises owned but not occupied by you or vacant". There followed questions about rental income, passenger lifts, escalators, car parks and swimming pools. Two of the answers referred to an attachment consisting of a "Summary of Buildings Owned", a "Summary of Buildings Vendor Financed" and appendices relating to shopping centres.
* The limit of indemnity was fixed at $50 million and, moving on to a group of questions headed "Products", the expression "N/A" was typed in, because products liability insurance was not being sought.
* Under the heading "Contractual Liability" the proposer was asked whether it required the insurance to be extended "to include liability arising out of any obligations you have assumed under any contracts or agreements including hold harmless or indemnification agreements". The answer "Yes" was given and, in response to a request for details, "Various future building contracts or other contracts entered into which may obligate the group" was typed in.
* Questions were then asked under the heading "General Risk Information". They began with questions about turnover and payroll and then moved on to such matters as the use of machinery and storage of chemicals and whether work was carried on away from the proposer's premises. The answer to that last question was "Yes. On various building sites, and in existing buildings". Building work was also mentioned in the answer to the question relating to use of machinery. Another answer referred to an attached "information memorandum". The memorandum disclosed that property development was a major part of the group's business, but it was in response to the question "Do you have any foreign operations/companies?" Mr McArthur submitted that the "General Risk Information" was just that, general information relating to the risk insured.
* Provision was then made for a further extension to include liability arising out of damage to property in the care, custody or control of the insured at "any sites where future management is involved".
* After other questions, to which there is no need to refer, the form concluded with an agreement that the proposal contained particulars furnished for the purpose of obtaining the insurance and an agreement to accept the respondent's policy, subject to its terms, conditions and exclusions.
this is a case which turns on its facts. In those circumstances I think it not only unnecessary but undesirable to express an opinion on a point of much wider application. I was, for example, attracted to the argument that the exclusion could not apply because the duty owed by Mr James or the appellant to Mr Toomey was quite distinct from any professional duty he or it may have owed to the building owner, but Mr McArthur persuaded me that that analysis was at least debatable and, more importantly, that the construction of the exclusion impacts on other cases, notonly where an exclusion is relied on but also where the promise of indemnity is expressed by reference to a breach of duty owed in a professional capacity.[20]
[1] It should have been 1,000 millimetres high. Its height was only 950 millimetres.
[2] There was also a claim under clause 2 of section A, for costs and expenses incurred, but it depended on the appellant's first bringing itself within the words that I have quoted.
[3] It is the latter schedule that is directly relevant, but it was conceded that the policy continued to apply in relation to any property listed in the former schedule.
[4] See fn. 3 above. Except where otherwise indicated, I refer to the schedule dated 16th January 1996.
[5] No distinction was drawn in argument between "the Policyholder" and one of the "Persons Insured". I assume, without deciding, that that approach was correct in this case.
[6] A question was raised in the course of argument as to what antecedent word the words "and in connection with the Business" attach, but it was not suggested that anything turned on it.
[7] Antaios Compania Naviera S.A. v. Salen Rederierna A.B. [1985] A.C. 191 at 201D.
[8] Reference was made to Calder v. Batavia Sea & Fire Insurance Co. Ltd. [1932] S.A.S.R. 46 at 56-57; Fraser v. B.N. Furman (Productions) Ltd. [1967] 3 All E.R. 57 at 60; DTR Nominees Pty. Ltd. v. Mona Homes Pty. Ltd. [1978] HCA 12; (1978) 138 C.L.R. 423 at 429 and Johnson v. American Home Assurance Co. [1998] HCA 14; (1998) 192 C.L.R. 266 at [19].
[10] Reference was made, among other cases, to Coldefa Construction Pty. Ltd. v. State Rail Authority (N.S.W.) [1982] HCA 24; (1982) 149 C.L.R. 337 at 347-353; Investors Compensation Scheme Ltd. v. West Bromwich Building Society [1997] UKHL 28; [1998] 1 W.L.R. 896 at 912-913; Schenker & Co. (Australia) Pty. Ltd. v. Maplas Equipment and Services Pty. Ltd. [1990] VicRp 74; [1990] V.R. 834 at 837 and 840-841; Q.B.E. Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Dean (1985) 3 ANZ Insurance Cases 60-658; Manufacturers' Mutual Insurance Ltd. v. Withers (1988) 5 ANZ Insurance Cases 60-853; and B. & B. Constructions (Australia) Pty. Ltd. v. Brian A. Cheeseman & Associates Pty. Ltd. (1994) 35 N.S.W.L.R. 227.
[11] The judge may have been deflected from this point by the concession recorded at [26] of his Honour's reasons: see Toomey v. Scolaro's Concrete Constructions Pty Ltd & Ors (No. 5) [2002] VSC 48.
[12] The judge said that they were forwarded to the respondent: Toomey v. Scolaro's Concrete Constructions Pty Ltd & Ors (No. 5) at [7].
[13] The first page of the policy, disregarding its cover, which was left blank, showed that it could have included a section B relating to products liability, but it did not.
[14] Toomey v. Scolaro's Concrete Constructions Pty Ltd & Ors (No. 5) at [11]-[18].
[15] There may be a question whether occupation is included in "Property Owner's Liability" or picked up only by sub-paragraph 3, but the answer would not affect the decision in this case.
[16] Reference was made to Maye v. Colonial Mutual Life Assurance Society Ltd. [1924] HCA 26; (1924) 35 C.L.R. 14 at 22 and Halford v. Price [1960] HCA 38; (1960) 105 C.L.R. 23 at 30 and 34. See also Guardian Assurance Co. Ltd. [1919] HCA 33; (1919) 26 C.L.R. 231 at 235-236.
[20] For example, if those words are narrowly construed, would a solicitor be covered if a beneficiary sued the solicitor in a Hawkins v. Clayton case? The answer may be "Yes, because two concurrent professional duties are owed, one to the client and the other to the beneficiary." Attention might also need to be given to the effect of the words "arising out of".
Manren Limited
Royal and Sun Alliance Insurance Australia Limited [2003] VSCA 59