© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2004] VSC 236
Supreme Court of Victoria
2004-07-01
Osborn J
Original judgment source is linked above.
[2004] VSC 236
Judicial review - Accident Compensation (WorkCover) Act 1992 - Termination of accident compensation - Return to work plan - Alleged failure to make reasonable efforts - Dispute as to termination - Refusal by Magistrate to refer medical questions to a medical panel - Relevance - Abuse of process.
(a) did not make every reasonable effort to participate in an occupational rehabilitation service or return to work plan as required by s 93CB(3)(b)(i) and s 93CB(4) of the Accident Compensation Act 1985 ("the Act");
(b) did not make every reasonable effort to return to work in suitable employment pursuant to s 93CB(3)(b)(ii) and s 93CB(4).
"... (3) A worker is entitled to receive weekly payments under this section only if-
(i) participates in an occupational rehabilitation service or a return to work plan; and
(ii) makes every reasonable effort to return to work in suitable employment at the worker's place of employment in co-operation with the employer and the Authority or with the self-insurer (as the case may be);
(4) Where a worker does not make reasonable efforts to return to work and in particular does not comply with the requirements of sub-section (3) that are applicable in his or her case, the workers entitlement to further weekly payments in respect of the injury shall there upon cease and determine."
(a) any decision of the Authority, employer or a self-insurer . . ."
"2. At all material times the Plaintiff was employed by the Defendant. 3. On or about 29 January, 2001 the Plaintiff suffered injury arising out of or in the course of his employment with the Defendant whilst tilting and or lifting a board onto a saw table.
PARTICULARS OF INJURY
Injury to the back involving sciatic pain in the left leg.
Aggravation of degenerative changes in the L4/5 disc.
Production and or aggravation of lateral recess stenosis at the L4/5 level.
5. The Plaintiff's claim for weekly payments of compensation was accepted on 12 February 2001. 6. The Plaintiff resumed work in the performance of a return to work plan on 18 February, 2001, 24 November, 2001, 29 April, 2002 and 10 August, 2002. 7 Subsequent to 10 August, 2002 the Plaintiff ceased work as from 2 September, 2002 due to increased pain and/or symptoms. 8. On 5 September, 2002 the Plaintiff's weekly payments of compensation were terminated with the termination to take effect from 5 October, 2002. 9. Since 2 September, 2002 the Plaintiff has been, for varying periods, unfit for any work duties, fit for modified duties only or fit for alternative duties only. 10. Since 2 September, 2002 the Defendant has failed to: (a) Provide or offer modified duties work to the Plaintiff (b) Provide or offer alternative duties work to the Plaintiff (c) Comply with the provisions of the return to work plan signed on 8 August, 2002 (d) Provide the Plaintiff with suitable employment as defined in section 5 Accident Compensation Act 1985 11. The plaintiff disputes the termination of his weekly payments of compensation as and from 5, October 2002. 12. The dispute regarding the termination of the Plaintiff's weekly payments of compensation was referred to the Accident Compensation Conciliation Service which issued a genuine dispute certificate on 25 November, 2002."
"1. The Plaintiff did not make every reasonable effort to participate in an occupational rehabilitation service or a return to work plan. 2. The Plaintiff did not make every reasonable effort to return to work in suitable employment. 3. The Plaintiff's incapacity for work no longer results from and is not materially contributed to by an injury arising out of or in the course of employment. 4. Further or in the alternative, the Defendant says that in the event that it is determined that the Plaintiff is entitled to weekly payments of compensation, the such entitlement should not exceed an aggregate of 104 weeks on the grounds that the Plaintiff; has either (a) a current work capacity or; (b) no current work capacity but such incapacity is not likely to continue indefinitely."
"(1) Where the County Court exercises jurisdiction under this Part, the County Court - (a) may refer a medical question; or (b) if a party to the proceedings requests that a medical question or medical questions be so referred, must, subject to sub-sections (1B) and (1C), refer that medical question or those medical questions -
to a Medical Panel for an opinion under this Division.
(1B) The County Court may refuse to refer a medical question to a Medical Panel on an application under sub-section (1)(b) if the County Court is of the opinion that the referral would, in all the circumstances, constitute an abuse of process. (1C) The County Court has on an application under sub-section (1)(b) the discretion as to the form in which the medical question is to be referred to a Medical Panel."
"1. What is the nature of the Plaintiff's medical condition relevant to injuries to his: (a) Back; (b) Left leg; (c) Lumbar disc disruption; (d) Lateral recess stenosis at the L4/5 level; (e) Generalised anxiety disorder; (f) Anxiety and depression? [The above alleged injuries are hereinafter referred to as 'the said injuries'.] 2. Has the Plaintiff's incapacity for work, if any, resulted from or been materially contributed to by the said injuries? 3. Does the Plaintiff have a current work capacity or have no current work capacity? 4. If the Plaintiff has a current work capacity what employment would or would not constitute suitable employment?"
(a) a question as to the nature of a worker's medical condition relevant to an injury or alleged injury; or
(ab) a question as to the existence, extent or permanency of any incapacity of a worker for work or suitable employment and the question whether a worker is partially or totally incapacitated; or
(aba) a question as to whether a worker has a current work capacity or has no current work capacity and what employment would or would not constitute suitable employment; or
(abb) a question as to whether a worker has no current work capacity and is likely to continue indefinitely to have no current work capacity; or
(abc) a question as to whether a worker has a current work capacity and because of the injury, is, and is likely to continue indefinitely to be, incapable of undertaking further or additional employment or work, and if not so incapable, what further or additional employment or work the worker is capable of undertaking; ..."
"These ultimate conclusions expressed by the Panel as `opinions' dispose in all practical senses with the dispute raised by the claim between the worker and the authorised insurer and leave the Court with no relevant function but to give effect to them in money terms. The conclusions by virtue of the Act become binding on the court. Thus the effect which the Act gives to the Panel's `opinion' is apt to demonstrate how clearly the powers invested in the Panel are capable of interfering with the rights of the individual. By virtue of those opinions the appellant's claims that he was entitled to compensation as a person who had suffered a `serious injury' and/or was `totally incapacitated for work' were conclusively determined against him."[5]
"Despite the use of the mandatory expression 'must refer' in para (b), it was common ground before us that the court to whom a party addresses a request under s 45(1)(b) still has some discretion in the matter. Relying upon the decision of Hedigan J in HIH Winterthur Workers' Compensation (Vic) Ltd v Greeves [1998] VSC 97 (2 October 1998) both sides submitted that when application was made to the court to refer medical questions under s 45, the questions must be referred if the questions are 'medical questions' as defined in s 5 of the Act, are relevant to issues which are live in the proceeding before the court and are not otherwise an abuse of the process. ... So far as concerns the criteria adopted by Hedigan J in Greeves, it is unnecessary, I think, to consider the residual possibility of abuse. Perhaps the possibility is real but it may be left until it arises (if it ever does), for the other criteria are of more immediate interest. I agree with his Honour that a question must be referred to a medical panel under s 45(1)(b) (that is upon application by a party) if it is a 'medical question' as defined in s 5 of the Act and if it is relevant to the litigation then before the court. In this context relevance means only that the question must be such that the opinion which is sought of a medical panel will be, or might be, capable of assisting the court in resolving the dispute before it. It must be accepted that in this regard the Act is designed to have medical people answer medical questions, in place of the courts, (see Hansard, Legislative Assembly, 30 October 1992, vol 409, p 310.) but nevertheless it is the court which, in the end, must adopt and apply the opinion in the determination of the litigation before it."[7] [My emphasis]
"As I follow s.45(1), where the applicant makes clear to the Court the issue that it seeks to have referred to a medical panel for opinion and that issue is fairly within at least one of the paragraphs in the definition of "medical question" in s.5, then, if relevant, it is that issue - or "that question" to use the language of s.45(1) - which the Court is bound to refer to a medical panel upon application by a party, under s.45(1)(b). It may well be that the wording of the question upon which the medical panel will be required to express its opinion by virtue of s.67 needs attention; but if the Court is alive to the issue to be referred and application is made for such referral and the issue is a "medical question", then the precise wording of the question posed for the medical panel is as much for the Court as for the applicant. After all, it is the Court which must be concerned to ensure that the opinion which is obtained is of assistance in the determination of the issues in the proceeding: it is for that very reason that the Court is regarded as retaining some control over the precise wording of the question. In my opinion, if the conditions I have described are satisfied the Court is not entitled to refuse altogether to refer to a medical panel under s.45(1) an issue which one of the parties is seeking to have referred, merely because the Court considers the present wording of the question unsatisfactory."[9]
1. that the order of the Magistrates' Court made on 25 November 2003 be quashed; and
2. that the proceeding otherwise be remitted for further hearing by the Magistrates' Court in accordance with law.
[1] In accordance with the usual practice the second defendant has indicated that he will abide by the outcome of this proceeding and I will refer hereafter to the first defendant as `the defendant'.
[4] Masters v McCubbery p 642 - 643 per Winneke P
[6] Australia Broadcasting Tribunal v Bond [1990] HCA 33; (1990) 170 CLR 321 per Mason J at 356; Roads Corporation v Dacakis [1995] 2 VR 205 at 518.
Isikli
Surville Pty Ltd [2004] VSC 236
(2002) 2 VR 212
(1990) 170 CLR 321