© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[1947] HCA 34
High Court of Australia
1947-07-01
Tiernan JJ, McTiernan JJ
Original judgment source is linked above.
H.C. or A. Workers' Compensation - * Injury Daily or periodic journey - Death ca
pensation Act 1926-1946 provides: - ment and to which the emplo "Tn this Act, unless the context or was a contributing factor but subject-matter otherwise indicates or save in the case of a worker emy requi
injury arising out of or in the course of employment and includes a disease which is contracted by the worker in silica dust." the course of his employment whether
ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW SOUTH WALES.
coronary occlusion - Death due to disease and worker's exertion - Not ot contributed to by employment - Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946 (N.S (No. 15 of 1926 - No. 41 of 1946), ss. 6 (1)*, 7 (1) (b).
Section 7 (1) (b) of the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946 (N.S.W far as material, provides: " Where a worker has received injury witho own default or wilful act on any of the daily or other periodic journey between his place of abode and place of employment, " the worker (and in case of the death of the worker, his dependants), shall receive comp from the employer in accordance with this Act." Accordingly where aw died while on a journey to his place of employment from his place of @ as a result of a coronary occlusion to the occurrence of which effort 1 the journey was found to have contributed :- -
Held, that it was open to the Workers' Compensation Commission ti
as it did that the worker received injury within the meaning of s. 7 () the Act.
Held, further, by Latham C.J., Dixon and McTiernan JJ. that the d of "injury" in s. 6 (1) of the Workers' Compensation Act is not applic to the word " injury" appearing in s. 7 (1) (b) of that Act.
Decision of the Supreme Court of New South Wales (Full Court) v. Hume Steel Ltd. (1947) 47 S.R. (N.S.W.) 384; 64 W.N, (N.S.W.) affirmed.
in or about a mine to which the Mines Regulation Act, 1912 applies, include a disease
Arras from the Supreme Court of New South Wales. On Ith June 1945, about 6.45 a.m., Robert James Peart, aged about forty-one years, who was a worker within the meaning of the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946 (N.S.W.) and was the husband of Ellen May Peart, whilst journeying in rain by 'pedal- bicycle on his daily journey between his place of abode at 34 Ander- son Avenue, Ryde, and his place of employment with Hume Steel Ltd. at Rydalmere suffered a coronary occlusion as a result of which he died on the same day.
In an application made by her under the Workers' Compensation Act the widow claimed on behalf of herself and Alan Peart, her
_ adopted son, as total dependants of the deceased the sum of £825 by way of compensation under that Act.
The defences raised in the proceedings before the Workers' Compensation Commission were that the deceased had not " received injury " within the meaning of those words where used in s. 7 (1) (b) of the Act, and that the death of the deceased was not the result
(i) any physical effort arising out of the journey played no part in causing the coronary occlusion, and (ii) the context and subject _ matter of the journey provisions in s. 7 (1) (b) and (c) of the Workers' Compensation Act, required that the definition of "injury" in s. 6 (1) insofar as it included disease, should not be applied to the _ "injury" in respect of which compensation was provided under those journey provisions.
The evidence established that the deceased collapsed in Victoria Road, West Ryde, about thirty feet east of Brush Road ; that the journey was over both downhill and uphill grades of the public highway, and that the uphill grade for two-tenths of a mile from the western part of the township at West Ryde railway station involved a miaterial degree of physical effort. The deceased travelled less than four-tenths of a mile after passing over the crest of the hill, when he collapsed.
Post-mortem examination disclosed that the deceased's aorta and coronary arteries were in an advanced state of atheroma, the "coronary artery being brittle. The coronary artery was opened _and an occlusion was found. This was due to a small piece of the lining of the artery having loosened and blocked the artery. The occlusion was the inevitable end result of the disease. A medical witness explained that atheroma was peculiar to the aorta and coronary arteries and the cerebral arteries, but did not affect the Ve arterial system in general. The disease is of gradual onset, there *
H.C. oF A. being no known cause or cure. If the main coronary art Re blocked the patient dies suddenly. If it be a lesser artery block Heme he may survive. In the case of the deceased the post-mo Sreet disclosed that the blocking of the artery was due to debris in see vessel from the atheromatous area. On the question of whether th Peart. occlusion was materially contributed to by physical effort a " - ~ out of the deceased's uphill journey by pedal bicycle, a
witness gave evidence for the applicant that in his opinion | effort did contribute. Another medical witness considered that th taking of any exercise would increase the likelihood of death, yet another medical witness said that in the absence of a hi of shortness of breath, pain or a feeling of tightness in the cl he considered that the effort was within the deceased's card competence. He was inclined to the school of medical thoi that effort does not precipitate occlusion.
A case was stated at the request of the company ie 8. 37 (4) of the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946 for the decision of Supreme Court of New South Wales on certain questions of la and contained the following summary of the Commission's fin of fact : -
The deceased was employed by Hume Steel Ltd., and 1 applicant Ellen May Peart and her adopted son Alan Peart we totally dependent on the deceased's earnings at the time of death.
On 11th June 1945 the deceased was journeying by bicycle on his daily journey between his place of abode at RB: and his place of employment with the company at Rydalm when he suffered a coronary occlusion from which he died on that day.
The physical effort of pedalling the bicycle uphill which deceased was engaged in within a minute or two of the happe of the occlusion increased his blood pressure and precipitate occlusion.
Post-mortem examination disclosed that the aorta and corona y arteries of the deceased were in an advanced state of athe the coronary artery being brittle.
The occlusion was due to a small piece of the lining o}
The origin of atheroma is unknown. It is a disease of grad onset and gradual progression and in the words of s. 7 (4) |
| Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946 it is a disease which is of
ree 10- Because of physical effort occasioned by the journey a change or new stage in the disease was reached on the journey; this _ immediately manifested itself and proved fatal.
. The deceased received personal injury by accident on the ly journey in question which resulted in his death.
(1) Is there any evidence upon which the Commission could find -asit did that Robert James Peart received injury within the meaning eet 8. 7 (1) (b) of the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946 ¢
(2) Is there any evidence upon which the Commission could "find as it did that Ellen May Peart and Alan Peart as total depen- _ dants of Robert James Peart were entitled to receive compensation the company in accordance with the provisions of the Workers? ation Act 1926-1946 ¢
The first question, taken by it as asking whether upon the Com- ssion's findings it was open to the Commission to find as it did hat Robert James Peart received injury within the meaning of 7 (1) (b) of the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946, was answered y the Full Court of the Supreme Court (Jordan C.J., Davidson and JJ.) in the affirmative, and it was held to be unnecessary to the second question (Peart v. Hume Steel Ltd. (1) ).
om that decision the company appealed to the High Court.
not on an employment matter does not " arise out of " in the course of " the employment. If a worker is on a to his work he is not "in the course of" nor is he doing arising out of " his employment, he is merely journeying. 'ord " injury " in s. 7 (1) (a) of the Workers' Compensation Act (1) (1947) 47 SLR. (N.S.W,) 384; 64 WIN. (N.S.W.) 118.
1926-1946 (N.S.W.) is used in the sense defined in s. 6 (1) and question is whether the word " injury " is also used in that se se in par. (b) of s. 7 (1). " Injury " as used in s. 7 (1) (b) does not include a disease not contracted in the course of the employm a The heart disease from which the deceased suffered was not c tracted during the course of his employment nor was the employ- ment a contributing factor. The true construction of the word "injury " as used in s. 7 (1) (b) is something different from the construction of that word as used in par. (a) of s. 7 (1). As used par. (a) the word " injury " obviously should be given the meaning as defined in s. 6 (1), but that meaning is inappropriate to the wor
as used in par. (b) because, ex hypothesi, the injury is not contrac! in the course of the worker's employment. The Commission
it contracted in the course of that employment, and the employ- - ment was not a contributing factor thereto and, further, that the
appellant. Decisions of the English courts which show that death or disease can be included in the definition of " injury by accident" are not of help in matters arising under the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946, and are distinguishable by reason of the difference between the provisions of the English statutes and the Workers' Compensation Act (Kellaway vy. Broken Hill South Ltd. (1) ). Thi word " injury" in par. (b) of s. 7 (1) is either used in the sense as_ defined in s. 6 (1) or in some other sense. If it is used in the defined - sense, the deceased's disease was independent of the employment and hence the application must fail. " Disease" cannot, by am rules of construction, e.g., by reading the Act as a whole, or by ensuring that the same word does not receive different interpretation in the same section unless there is something which necessitates be incorporated in the word " injury " as used in s. 7 (1) (b). Th finding that because of the physical effort occasioned by the journey a change or new stage in the disease was reached on the journey, is the crucial finding. The observations expressed in Kellaway v. Broken Hill South Ltd. (2) are applicable to this case. The word "by accident" do not appear in the Workers' Compensation Act The Commission has held, in effect, that if one finds a causal con- ' nection between the journey and the last physiological chang then there is an injury connected with the employment. Bu there can be no logical distinction between the case now before th
(1) (1944) 44 S.R. (N.S.W.) 210, at. (2) (1944) 44 S.R. (N.S.W.), at pp. ; p. 213; 61 W.N. 83, at p. 85. 216, 224, 225. t
Court and that of a worker who whilst going to work in a tram or H- C. oF A. 1947. we Hume Sree: Lr.
train is smitten with acute appendicitis, is taken to hospital and dies. In s. 6 (1) " injury" is defined as meaning personal injury "arising out of" and "in the course of" the employment and includes disease. Therefore the words appearing after " personal injury" cannot include any type of disease because disease has been confined and limited to a particular type of disease, namely, that which is contracted during the employment. Section 7 (1) (b) has no connection with employment - on the face of it it is directed to extra-employment periods - and the word " injury" is used in
English cases should not be adopted because the line of reason in those cases has led to the acceptance of diseases produc physiological changes. Another meaning must, therefore, be fo That other meaning is " some harm or detriment to exclude dij The words " and includes a disease" really extend the meanii personal injury.
McClemens K.C. (with him Wall), for the respondent. crucial findings by the Commission are the findings numbered and 10 respectively. The decision by the Commission depe upon the assumption of the effort of the journey and the result, and the decision of the court below should be limited those facts. It is not argued on behalf of the respondent in case that any death or injury, however happening, on a jout is necessarily compensable. Illustrations by way of suppositious cases are not to the point and are of no assistance in view of the fact that there are for consideration particular circumstances which arise from a finding of fact that on this occasion there y an internal injury due to the effort by the deceased of riding bicycle. The real basis of the decision of the court below is sho in the judgment of Davidson J. (Peart v. Hume Steel Ltd. (1). The deceased suffered " harm or detriment " while proceeding on the journey to his employment. When he commenced the jour he was in relatively good health. The effort required by journey caused certain things to happen and as a result of happenings he died. The " fire fighting " provisions inserted into the Act in 1944 are not applicable to this case. Throughout the original Workers' Compensation Act 1897 (Imp.) the phrase * perso) injury" was used. The phrase "the injury" which was used in s. 2 (1) of that Act was taken over in New South Wales by Act of 1910 in which Act the word " injury " became the quali word. Of course, it was personal injury by accident but throu out the Act was to be found the use of the word " injury," similarly in the Act of 1916 and the Act of 1926. It flows that that the legislature intended, so far as New South Wales concerned, to maintain that particular conception of " inj Injury from certain diseases was included. A worker must taken as he is found. Even if his condition be such that he likely to die and there be added to that some injury, some vation connected, however slightly, to the employment, that injury within the meaning of the Act (Fenton v. Thorley & C
Williamson (3); Clover, Clayton & Co. Ltd. vy. Hughes (4); Walker
. ition that it does not matter what the pre-existing condition
condition is aggravated by something that happened in the course
_ of his employment, including the journeys to and from that employ- it, the worker should succeed without relying on s. 7 (1) (b). If an injury happens on a journey and is due to the journey the liability accrues. If the position is that a worker who shows a
of which, and any subsequent accentuation of which, were not in any respect caused or contributed to by the employment does not come within the meaning of the word " injury " as used in 'Act (Kellaway v. Broken Hill South Ltd. (9)). The finding that occlusion was the inevitable end result of the disease should, efore, conclude the matter in favour of the appellant. Section | (b) does not include any type of disease or aggravation thereof, erefore decisions by the English courts are not in point. In the __ ordinary meaning of words it could not be said that a person who | of heart disease had received an injury. ive Cur. adv. vult. (8) (1920) 27 C.L.R. 570.
(8) (1944) 44 S.R. (D 210. (9) (1944) 44.S.R. (N.S.W.), at p. 216.
Tad. (1); Brintons Ltd. v. Turvey (2); Ismay, Imrie & Co. vy. B- © 0F A
Larnuam C.J. This is an appeal from a decision of the Full Court of the Supreme Court of New South Wales upon a case stated by the Chairman of the Workers' Compensation Commission under the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946, s. 37 (4). It was held the Supreme Court that there was evidence upon which the Cor mission could find (as it did find) that Robert James Peart received injury within the meaning of s. 7 (1) (b) of the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946. Hume Steel Ltd., Peart's employer, appeals tc this Court. Section 7 (1) (b) was inserted in the Workers' Com- pensation Act by Act No. 13 of 1942. Section 7 (1), so far as relevant, provides as follows : - " (a) A worker who has received an injury whether at or away from his place of employment (and in the case of the death of the worker, his dependants) shall receive compen- sation from his employer in accordance with this Act. (b) Where worker has received injury without his own default or wilful a on any of the daily or other periodic journeys referred to in par graph (c) of this sub-section, and the injury be not received during certain breaks or deviations in the journey " the work (and in the case of the death of the worker, his dependants) shall receive compensation from the employer in accordance with this Act." Paragraph (c) defines "daily or periodic journeys" in such a way as to include a journey between the worker's place of abode and place of employment.
On 11th June 1945 R. J. Peart, a worker within the meaning the Act who was employed by the appellant company, was ridii a bicycle on a daily journey from his place of abode to his place of employment. The physical effort of riding a bicycle up an incline | in the road brought about a coronary occlusion from which he di on the same day. His widow claimed compensation under the Act and was held to be entitled to compensation. The Commission's" findings of fact include findings that the coronary arteries of the deceased were in an advanced state of atheroma, the coronary artery being brittle, and that the occlusion which brought about the blocking of the artery was due to a small piece of lining of the arte having loosened. It was also found that the origin of atheroma
was not contracted in the course of the employment, that employment was not a contributing factor thereto, and that
Compensation can be claimed under s. 7 (1) (b) where a worker - ©.
has received injury without his own default or wilful act on a daily . journey. Section 6 as amended by Act No, 13 of 1942 provides that, unless the context or subject matter otherwise indicates or requires, " injury " means " personal injury arising out of or in the course of employment and includes a disease which is contracted by the worker in the course of his employment whether at or away from his place of employment and to which the employment was a contributing factor but does not, save in the case of a worker employed in or about a mine to which the Coal Mines Regulation Act, 1912-1941, applies, include a disease caused by 'a dust." This " definition " does not really define the word " injury " because _ it ineludes the word " injury " itself in the statement of the meaning assigned to the word. The effect of the definition is that the meaning of " injury" (whatever this meaning may be) is limited for the purposes of the Act to certain injuries. Only injuries which satisfy certain requirements are to be regarded as injuries for the purposes of the Act - they must be personal ; they must arise out ~ of or in the course of employment or be a disease contracted in the course of the employment to which the employment is a contri- buting factor, with a special provision as to certain workers in coal mines, This "definition" is inapplicable to s. 7 (1) (b). If "injury " in s. 7 (1) (b) were given the meaning which is ascribed to the word in s. 6, then the periodic journey provisions in s. 7 (1) (b) would apply only in cases where there was an injury within the mean- ing of s. 6, that is, where the injury arose out of or in the course of the employment &c., or was a disease of the kind mentioned in the definition. If these conditions were satisfied, then the worker would be entitled to compensation under s. 7 (1) (a) of the Act, and it would never be necessary for any worker to have recourse to s. 7 (1) (b), which would have no possible field of operation. Accordingly, the context and the subject matter of s. 7 (1) (b) exclude the application of the definition of " injury" to the word where it appears in that section.
an injury, but whether he " received an injury" on his peric journey which resulted in his death. Many cases have been decided in English courts on the wo "personal injury by accident" which appear in the Workmen's Compensation Act 1925, s. 1, and corresponding earlier legislati Cases such as Fenton v. J. Thorley & Co. Ltd. (1) ; Clover, Clayton & Co. Ltd. v. Hughes (2) and many other cases have dealt with the subject of accident, and have resulted in the establishment of th proposition which I quote from Fenton v. J. Thorley & Co. Ltd. that the " expression ' accident' is used in the popular and ordinay sense of the word as denoting an unlooked-for mishap or an unto- ward event which is not expected or designed," that is, is not expected or designed by the worker: Trim Joint District Schoo Board of Management v. Kelly (4). In many cases the relation the conception of " accident " to that of disease has been discuss But the word "accident " is not found in the New South Wal legislation and these authorities are in my opinion of no assistai in determining the question which arises in the present case. The cases in which the question was whether the contraction aggravation of a disease amounted to a personal injury by accident or whether a disease arose out of or in the course of the employm all assume that a disease is an injury. What are described idiopathic diseases are outside the English Act (Brintons Ltd. Turvey (5) ). The plaintiff's atheromatous condition, according the findings of the Commission, was such a disease - it was a morh condition of which the cause is unknown. But these diseases excluded from the English Act, not because they are not injuries, but because the onset and development of such a disease cannot be brought within the conception of the word " accident " as defin in Fenton v. J. Thorley & Co. Ltd. (3). Thus in England it has been held that if the death of a workman is attributable solely disease, then it cannot be said to be due to accident. In sucl case there is nothing unexpected. But the exclusion of such ca: from the category of accidental injury does not show that the are to be excluded from the category of injury. There is a distinction, according to the common use of language between getting hurt and becoming sick. The former would described as an injury and the latter would generally not be described. But it requires little analysis to show that an inju may be either external or internal. It appears to me to be diffic
(1) (1903) A.C, 443. (4) (1914) A.C. 667. (2) (1910) A.C. 242. (5) (1905) A.C. 230, (3) (1903) A.C, at p. 448.
_ to draw any satisfactory distinction between the breaking of a limb H- ©. oF A+
and the breaking of an artery or of the lining of an artery. One _ is as much an injury to the body, that is, something which involves
_aharmful effect on the body, as the other. Each is a disturbance of the normal physiological state which may produce physical incapa- co y and suffering or death. Accordingly, in my opinion the 5 thment of a piece of the lining of the artery in the present case _ should be held to be an injury. The death of the worker resulted from that injury.
This injury took place "on a daily journey" of the worker Ha the meaning of the Act. Section 7 (1) (b) requires only _ that the injury should take place " on" a periodic or daily journey. No causal connection between the injury and the journey is neces- _ sary. A temporal relation is sufficient, namely, that the injury happened while the worker was on the journey. In the present case it has been found that the effort of the journey was the last straw which brought about the coronary occlusion which resulted 1 death. But this fact is immaterial because s. 7 (1) (b) does 'not require the establishment of anything further than the occur- Fence of the injury during the journey.
The result of this interpretation of the section is to provide a
his ordinary way, his dependants can recover, though his death had no relation whatever to his work. If he did not go straight , but got off the tram to visit a friend or to have a drink, and
e death happened when he resumed his journey, the dependants
e exceptions relating to breaks and deviations. But these con- juences are matters for the consideration of the legislature, not the courts. In my opinion the appeal should be dismissed.
Ricu J. I agree that the appeal should be dismissed. - relevant facts are that the worker suffered from heart disease an that while riding on a bicycle from his place of abode to his place employment a coronary occlusion resulted and death ensue Although the immediate injury was independent of any external or chance happening, the decisions include injuries due, as in the instant case, to the condition of the worker's body, cf. Hetherington vy. Amalgamated Collieries of W.A. Ltd. (1). And it is unnecessaj for me to add another link to the chain of cases which binds 1 kind of case (2). The findings in the case accordingly bring the case within s. 7 (1) (b). I agree with the answer given by J ©.J. to the question submitted. The appeal should be dismis
Srarxe J. A worker who has received an injury whether at or away from his place of employment (and in the case of the death of the worker, his dependants) shall receive compensation from | employer in accordance with this Act (Workers' Compensation . 1926-1946, s. 7 (1) ) 4
"Injury " means personal injury arising out of or in the cou
Compensation (Broken Hill) Act (Amendment) Act 1942, No. | s. 2 (ii) ). And by this Act was also inserted at the end of s. 7 (1 already set out, the following new provision : - Where a worker has received injury without his own default wilful action on any of the daily or other periodic journeys refei to in the Act and the injury be not received in certain circumstance immaterial to this case, the worker (and in the case of the deatl h f the worker, his dependants), shall receive compensation from employer in accordance with this Act. The daily or other periodic journeys referred to are : - (i) between the worker's place of ab and place of employment ; (ii) between the worker's place of abor or place of employment, and any trade, technical or other train school, which he is required by the terms of his employment $5 I expected by his employer, to attend. The object of the Act is to enlarge the right to eaingetee a The nature of the injury is not altered, It is still personal inj including disease, but instead of arising out of or in the course employment the injury must have been received without the
worker's own default or wilful act on a daily or other periodic (1) (1939) 62 C.L.R. 317. (2) (1939) 62 C.L.R., at p, 329,
journey referred to in the Act, which the Act treats as part of or H.C. or A.
connected with his employment. The Act provides that where a worker has received injury on any of the daily or periodic journeys referred to in the Act he shall be entitled to receive compensation. But it is not necessary to decide whether there must be a causal connection or association between the injury and the periodic journey, for in this case there clearly was such a connection or association. The heart and the accompanying blood vessels of the worker, the aorta and the coronary arteries, were in an advanced stage of atheroma, The worker was pedalling his bicycle on the way from his home to his work when he suffered a coronary occlusion from which he died on that day. The physical effort of pedalling the bicyele, uphill, increased his blood pressure and precipitated the occlusion which was due to a small piece of the lining of the artery becoming loose and with other matter occluding the artery. 'The connection or association of his injury with the periodic journey is thus established and within the terms of the Act.
'The decision of the Supreme Court of New South Wales that there was evidence upon which the Workers' Compensation Com- mission could find, as it did, that the worker received injury. within the meaning of the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946 was right and this appeal should be dismissed.
Dixon J. The worker died shortly after the occurrence of a coronary occlusion during the course of his journey to his place of employment from his place of abode.
Tt was a daily or periodic journey within the meaning of s. 7 (1) of the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-1946 (N.S.W.). Paragraph (b) of s. 7 (1) provides that where a worker has received injury, without his own default or wilful act, on any of the daily or other periodic journeys to which the provision refers, he shall receive compensation from his employer.
___Bys. 6 (1) the word " injury " is defined to mean personal injury arising out of or in the course of the employment and to include a disease which is contracted by the worker in the course of his employ- ment whether at or away from his place of employment and to which 'the employment was a contributing factor.
This definition is inappropriate to par. (b) because if it applied the result would be that the paragraph, which was introduced by amendment, would fail to produce any effect. For already par. Fe - (a), where the definition obviously does apply, had provided that a ow orker who has received an injury whether at or away from his ¢ of employment shall receive compensation from his employer. Ww Hume Sreev Lrp. e.
If it were necessary that an injury received on a daily or of
periodic journey should arise out of or in the course of the emp ment, the amendment would do nothing, except perhaps m clearer what in any case is clear enough, namely, that sometim
his place of employment. Tt is, no doubt, strange that in one paragraph the word " ij should be governed by the definition and in the next paragra
What kinds of physical harm amount to injury or an injury matter with which the definition does not deal, except to includ disease-contracted in the course of the employment, if the empl ment is a contributing factor.
The question here is whether the coronary occlusion can amot to such an injury as is contemplated by the words of par. (b).
In jurisdictions where the expression is " personal injury by accident " the qualifying force of the words "by accident" h s formed the chief consideration in the discussion of the place disease in the legislation. But it has never been doubted | disease may amount to an injury. Thus in Innes or Grant v. G. G. Kynoch (1) Lord Wrenbury said, " The man suffered per injury, for he contracted a disease and it resulted in his deat He had said the same in the Court of Appeal in Martin v. . chester Corporation (2). " Contraction of a disease is an i that injury may or may not be by accident." Again, in Wa Bairds and Dalmellington Lid. (3) Lord Tomlin, speaking of a ¢ to a workman involving bronchopneumonia, said, "the d which was the injury was in' these circumstances the resi accident." *
In Fife Coal Co. Ltd. v. Young (4) Lord Atkin said : - " necessary to emphasize the distinction between ' accident" 'injury ', which in some cases tend to be confused. . . . A!
(1) (1919) A.C. 765, at p. 797. (3) (1935) 153 L.T. 322, at p. '32000 (2) (1912) 106 L.T. 741, at p. 742; (4) (1940) A.C. 479, at pp. 488, 28 T.L.R. 344, at p. 345.
_ suffers from rupture, an aneurism bursts, the muscular action of the H- ©- oF A-
heart fails, while the man is doing his ordinary work, turning a wheel _ ora screw, or lifting his hand. In such cases it is hardly possible to distinguish in time between 'accident' and injury; the rupture which is accident is at the same time injury from which follows at once or after a lapse of time death or incapacity. But the distine- _ tion between the two must be observed."
It would be ridiculous to 'Suppose that for the purpose of par. (a) ie of s. 7 (1) the word " injury " was intended to have a more restricted meaning and application than it has received in England in the expression " personal injury by accident."
_ The purposes of that paragraph are served by the definition clause in s. 6 (1) where the expression is " personal injury " and I can see no reason why the meaning of those words in the definition and of " injury" in par. (b) s. 7 (1) should not be co-extensive. Their application ought, I think, to be the same, that is, subject of course to the restrictive effect, in the one case, of the qualifi expressed by the words "arising out of or in the course of 2, and, in the other, of the words 'on any of the daily or bier a periodical journeys referred to" &e,
_ Ina general way the intention doubtless was to extend the course ' of the employment to the journeys of the workman between his
home and his work. Injury received in the course of his journey to stand in the same position as injury in the course of his employ- ment.
_ It is well settled that, if it be established to the satisfaction of i: tribunal of fact, as notwithstanding the present state of medical
x wledge and opinion it often is established, that effort at work contributed to the occurrence of a coronary occlusion which a work- man suffers during his hours of employment, he may be found to have suffered injury by accident arising out of and in the course of
; hing he did in the course of this work. If in the normal course of his work, owing to imperfect arteries or whatever other internal organ may have been diseased, the workman breaks down and dies, is sufficient although you cannot point to a specific injury resulting from a specific act : see per Lord Buckmaster, Partridge Jones and
H.C. or A. John Paton Ltd. v. James (1). Cf. Falmouth Docks and Engin
Co. Ltd. v. Treloar (2); Whittle v. Ebbw Vale, Steel, Iron & Con Co. Ltd. (3). :
In Wilson v. Chatterton (4) Scott L.J. for the Court of Appi refers to three decided cases where compensation was awarded "in which the workman suffered from weakness or disease of thi heart, and death occurred without his being subjected) to any abnormal strain. The principle which emerges," his Lor continues, '"' is that, unless the weakness or illness of the worl is the sole cause of the accidental injury to, or death of, the work: the employer is liable." See, too, Oates v. Earl Fitzwilliam' Collieries Co. (5). That is to say, it is enough if the employm contributed to bring about the breakdown. With these principle settled under the limited English formula, it is difficult to see how the word " injury " whether in par. (a) or par. (b) of s. 7 (1) co be given a narrower application.
Jam unable to agree in the argument that was advanced founded upon the express reference in the definition of " injury " to disea: contracted in the course of the employment to which the employ ment is a contributing factor. That argument was that the only disease or pathological state or change covered by s. 7 (1), whet! under the head of " injury " or otherwise, is that described in reference to disease contained in the definition of " injury."
It must be remembered that the words in question were introduc to enlarge the scope of the definition. I think a restrictive inference of so drastic a kind cannot be bee ND them.
The change of the word "and" to " or" has created a difficult as to whether in the case of par. ee ne s. 7 (1) more than a purely temporal connection between the employment and the pathologica injury is necessary under the New South Wales legislation. state it another way, the difficulty is whether to be a persoi injury the pathological fact or event must in some way be relat to the employment. The same difficulty arises under par. (b)_ relation to the journey. In Kellaway v. Broken Hill South Lid.
but by reason of the natural course of the disease with no cont buting factor from the employment an accentuation occurs causes disablement or death, the worker or his dependants are
(1) (1933) A.C. 501, at pp. 504, 505. (4) (1946) 1 K.B. 360, at p. 367) (2) (1933) A.C. 481. (5) (1939) 2 All E.R. 498. '4 (3) (1936) 2 Al E.R. 1221, (6) (1944) 44 S.R. (N.S.W.) 210
(Judge Perdriau). "There is some difference in the reasoning of Jordan C.J. of David- and. and of Roper J., who decided Kellaway's Case (2) but I think may be said to depénd upon their Honours' conception of the led application of the expression "received a (personal) "injury" i in the context of the New South Wales enactment having regard particularly to the references to disease and to the change 5 a On the question thus answered under par. (a) whether more than poral connection is needed for such a form of injury, I see hi Je to distinguish the case under par. (a), of an injury in the course of the employment from the case under par. (b) of receiving jury "on"? a journey. We may assume that the same considera- 8 apply. in the present case we need go no further than to decide that, exertion or some other incident of the journey is a contributing r, then coronary occlusion is within par. (b) of s. 7 (1). For s case the deceased was riding to his work on a bicycle and it found that the exertion contributed to the occurrence then and
cTisrnan J. 1 am of opinion that the answer given by the eme Court to the first question is right and that this appeal
926- 1946 of New South Wales and cependis upon the proper on of the word " injury " in that provision. n 6 (1) gives a statutory construction to the word " injury e Act, and this construction applies unless the context or ect matter otherwise indicates or requires it. The cireum- nees in which s, 7 (1) (b) imposes a liability upon the employer 5 respect: 0 of a worker who has received injury, do not admit of the pplication Ohara Section 7 (1) (b) would be nugatory remedy given by it was limited by the connection prescribed . 6 (1) sheen injury and employment. It would be nugatory cause injury received by a worker while travelling between his and employment would not generally arise out of or in the his employment ; and if the injury did so, it would be 18.7 (1) (a). The same considerations apply if " injury " i (b) includes a disease, for s. 6 (1) says that "injury " edcd ase, an essential characteristic of which is that it was con-
() (1944) 18 W.C.R. 99. (2) (1944) 44 SR. (N.S.WW,) 210.
ntitled to compensation. See, further, Osbeiston v. Grimley Ltd. (1) H- ©: oF 4
~ of them insures the worker, but in the circumstances in which e
tracted in the course of the employment. The corollary of implication from the express inclusion made by s. 6 (1) for purposes of s. 7 (1) (a) of a disease having a particular connect with the employment, is not the exclusion of any injury due disease from the purview of s. 7 Q) (b). The subject matter of th legislation limits the term " injury " in s. 7 (1) (b) to pers
injury: the word "injury" is used in that sense in s. 7 (l) wi ithout any limit mes its generality. i eeoua injury is the or
(1) (b). The eee difference between ie ea none not consist in the nature of the personal injury against whic
insures him. Section 7 (1) (b) is not at all concerned with limit the word "injury" as a term descriptive of bodily hurt :
concerned with extending the cover to circumstances beyond tho ' delimited by, s. 7 (1) (a). Neither s. 7 (1) (a) nor s. 7 (1) (b) conta the words " by accident." By omitting those words the legisla has done away with a qualification which is generally made on employer's liability, but this omission does not restrict the cont of the word " injury." The workman in the present case died a coronary occlusion which was due to a small piece of the of the artery having loosened and blocked the artery. Thi an injury within the accepted connotation of physical inj this field of legislation. There is this finding of fact : " The occlu was the inevitable end result of this disease." The disease wa: advanced atheroma of the aorta and coronary arteries. The of the authorities, many of which are cited in Hetherington v. A mated Collieries of W.A. Ltd. (1) is that injury which is due t worker's inherent weakness or disease may give rise to a clai this statutory compensation. But if the claim was made s. 7 (1) (a) it would be necessary to prove that the emplo: contributed to the injury: see s. 6 (1) "injury": cf. Clo Clayton & Co. Ltd. v. Hughes (2) per Lord Loreburn. But in th present case, which is under s. 7 (1) (b), the only condition of liabilit is that the worker has received injury on a journey which is ¥ the sub-section. The sub-section does not expressly require there should be any other connection between injury and employ ment: and the sub-section does not imply any other connect
Solicitors for the appellant, 4. O. Ellison & Co. Solicitors for the respondent, Crichton-Smith, Taylor & Scot
(J) (1939) 62 C.L.R. 317. (2) (1910) A.C, 242, at p. 247.