© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2004] NSWSC 82
Supreme Court of NSW
2004-02-18
Mr P, Mr J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Background 6 On 7 April 1998 a building contract was entered into between the owner and the builder. The contract was for alterations to the owner's property located at 23 Gold Street, Blakehurst. On 15 December 1999 the owner commenced proceedings in the CTTT against the builder alleging that she had suffered damage as a result of the builder's breach of a design and construct contract (the building contract). One of the issues before the Tribunal Member was whether the building works carried out under the building contract was insured building work for the purposes of s 94 of the HBA. 7 It was common ground before the Tribunal Member that firstly, at the date of the contract there was no policy of home owners warranty insurance as required by s 92 of the HBA in force; secondly, no certificate of such insurance was annexed to the contract; thirdly, work had commenced on the site pursuant to the building contract; fourthly, some payments were made by the owner for works done under the contract; fifthly, a dispute arose between the parties as a result of which the owner purported to terminate the contract in June 1999. In December 1999 the builder applied for home owners warranty insurance with HIA and a certificate of insurance was issued by HIA to the builder in respect of works carried out at the owner's property. Critically, on the document entitled "project application for insurance" (the application) question 9 has been answered in the following way: 9. Estimated state and completion date (start) / 1 2 / 9 9
8 However, the actual work ceased to be carried out by the builder on 20 May 1999. This statement recorded in the document above does not accord with work ceasing on 20 May 1999. 9 In March 2001, after hearing submissions from the applicant and respondent the Tribunal Member joined the insurer HIA Insurance Pty Ltd as second respondent. On 10 August 2001, submissions were made by the plaintiff contending that the Tribunal was not vested with jurisdiction to determine the insurance question. The Tribunal Member gave an ex-tempore decision that the Tribunal has such jurisdiction. On 11 November 2002 the Tribunal Member made a determination in relation to a preliminary issue. HIA put on evidence and made submissions in relation to that issue. HIA now asserts that it should not have been joined as a party in the first place and appealed that decision. Regulation 27(1) and (2) of the Fair Trading Regulations 1999 empowers the Tribunal Member to join parties. 10 Early in the judgment the Tribunal Member recorded: "In March, 2001 after hearing submissions from the applicant and respondent I joined the insurer HIA as 2nd respondent. Apart from any other considerations there were suggestions that the policy procured by the builder might be tainted and unenforceable. For example, the insurer might not be obliged to meet any claim made under the policy if the fact that the building contract was terminated on the grounds of alleged breach by the builder had not be disclosed. And of course there was an associated legal minefield touching a raft of issues such as whether or not the policy was subject to the Insurance Contract Act (C'th) and if it did what were the rights of the insurer under, for example, s.28 of that Act." 11 A document entitled "Outline of Allegation and Facts in accordance with directions of Dr Smith on 26 February 2003" appears at Tab DL8, which is exhibited to the affidavit of Dino Liistro sworn 26 February 2003. The first subheading is "Questions for Determination" and at paragraph 1.1 to 1.6 questions are posed. The Tribunal Member referred to this document in his judgment where he stated: "The Hearing
In deciding the question I had the benefit of oral submissions made on behalf of all parties, an outline of allegations and facts prepared by the 1st respondent, an affidavit of Robert Loney and chronology from the solicitors for the 2nd respondent."
It is not clear what role this document had in the refining of the preliminary issue for determination. 12 The Tribunal Member does not go on to determine the issues described in the document but rather described the issue for determination in this way: "Interlocutory Application
Some time ago it became clear the issue of insurance was one of the major questions in the case and that, although a certificate of insurance had been issued, the worth of the insurance cover behind that certificate was a live, and for some purposes a threshold, issue. As a result I agreed to a hearing on the preliminary matter of the insurance cover evidenced by the certificate issued by the 2nd respondent in December, 1999. It was not actually put this way, but the consequence of a finding that the insurance cover was nugatory would be that the cross claim at least in its present form would be ill founded and liable to be struck out." 13 Hence, the issue for the Tribunal Member's preliminary determination seems to be confined to the effect of insurance cover as evidenced by the certificate issued by the second respondent in December 1999. The preliminary question posed this way does not canvass the effect of s 28 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth). 14 The Tribunal Member in his reasons for judgment concluded:
"I conclude that the policy evidenced by the certificate is presumptively binding on the parties and satisfies the statutory requirements of the Home Building Act. A consequence of this finding is that the 1St respondent is entitled to bring a cross claim which must be considered on its merits." 15 The Tribunal Member made an order that the application to strike out the cross claim be refused.
Extension of time to appeal 16 Although the time limits prescribed by the Rules may be extended, a case for such extension must be made. An extension of the time provided for appealing or seeking leave to appeal is not to be had merely for the asking. The decision to grant or refuse such an extension involves the exercise of a discretion. The fact of delay is a relevant consideration in this regard. Time limits for appeal are fixed for good reasons. The purpose for such time limits has been described as follows: "They are not prescribed for the purpose of implementing what Roscoe Pound referred to more than 90 years ago as the 'sporting theory of justice'. They are prescribed as aides to the attainment of justice" ( Jakamarra v Krakouer (1998) 153 ALR 276 at 284 per Gummow and Hayne JJ). 17 Prima facie a party is required to adhere to the time limits prescribed by the Rules. However, where there is a power to extend such time and there is good reason in the interests of justice to do so, the time limits may be extended. It is for the party seeking the extension to persuade the Court that it is in the interests of justice that it should be granted. Such persuasion will usually depend on the provision of an acceptable or satisfactory explanation as to why the time limits were not complied with. (Jakamarra v Krakouer, supra at 294 per Kirby J). 18 In Gallo v Dawson (1990) 64 ALJR 458, McHugh J considered an application for an extension of time in which to file a notice of appeal in a matter in which there would have been an appeal as of right had the notice of appeal been filed within time. In refusing an extension of time McHugh J stressed:
(1) The decision of Tribunal Member Dr Stephen Smith dated 11 November 2002 is affirmed.
(3) The plaintiff's summons filed 21 January 2003 is dismissed.
(4) The plaintiff is to pay the defendants' costs as agreed or assessed. **********
Last Modified: 02/27/2004 DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated.
HIA Insurance
CTTT & 2 Ors
CITATION : HIA Insurance v CTTT & 2 Ors [2004] NSWSC 82 HEARING DATE(S) : 18 February 2004 JUDGMENT DATE : 24 February 2004 JURISDICTION: Common Law - Administrative Law List JUDGMENT OF : Master Harrison DECISION : (1) The decision of Tribunal Member Dr Stephen Smith dated 11 November 2002 is affirmed; (2) The appeal is dismissed; (3) The plaintiff's summons filed 21 January 2003 is dismissed; (4) The plaintiff is to pay the defendants' costs as agreed or assessed.
CATCHWORDS : Appeal decision of CTTT - building contract - preliminary issue Consumer, Trader & Tenancy Act (NSW) - s 67 Fair Trading Regulations 1999 - Reg 27(1) & (2) LEGISLATION CITED : Home Building Act 1989 (NSW) - ss 92, 94(4) Home Building Regulation 1997 - Reg 49 Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) Debis v Allied Bellambi Collieries [2000] NSWCA 274 Gallo v Dawson (1990) 64 ALJR 458 Hall v Nominal Defendant (1966) CLR 423 CASES CITED : Jakamarra v Krakouer (1998) 153 CLR 276 Pace v Read [2000] NSWSC 823 R v Cheng (1999) 48 NSWLR 616 Southern Cross Exploration Nl v Fire & All Risks Insurance Co Ltd (No 3) (1990) 21 NSWLR 200 HIA Insurance Services Pty Ltd (Plaintiff)
(1990) 64 ALJR 458
(1998) 153 CLR 276
(1999) 48 NSWLR 616
(1990) 21 NSWLR 200
(1998) 153 ALR 276