© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2004] VSC 155
Supreme Court of Victoria
2004-05-07
HARPER J
Original judgment source is linked above.
"In applying s.38, as amended, a construction that would promote the purpose or object underlying the Act must be preferred to a construction that would not promote that purpose or object ... The expression 'error of law on the face of the award' is one of a type well known to the courts. The award having been examined the question is whether there is apparent (and such is the denotation of the word 'manifest') an error of law. 'Manifest error' is an expression sometimes used in reference to reasons given by judges or the approach taken by juries ... It is used to indicate something evident or obvious rather than arguable ... The matters referred to by Lord Diplock in remain important factors in determining whether leave should be given. However I have difficulty in defining the significance of an error of law by reference to whether it is apparent to a judge upon a mere perusal of the reasoned award itself without the benefit of adversarial argument. I understand the views expressed that decisions on questions of law should be left to the arbitrator with minimal interference by the courts unless the arbitrator may be establishing an erroneous precedent on a matter of law which may affect other cases between other parties as for example where the question concerns the construction of a contract in standard terms. But the paragraph requires a determination as to whether or not there is a manifest error on the face of the award and I do not see why a judge should be required to do that without adversarial argument. If the judge concludes after argument that there is not such an error of law an application based on this ground fails ... There is nothing, in my opinion, in the language of the sub-section or in any other material, to which consideration can appropriately be given ... which would allow the judge to proceed to determine the application without hearing argument. However, as McHugh JA pointed out 'manifest' in the context of the sub-section, which contemplates the grant of leave before an appeal can be pursued, connotes an error of law which is more than arguable. There should, in my opinion, before leave is granted be powerful reasons for considering on a preliminary basis, without any prolonged adversarial argument, that there is on the face of the award an error of law."
"In the circumstances it is unnecessary to examine the relevant test as to what is 'manifest error of law' other than to cite the frequently quoted passage from the judgment of Sheller JA in Promenade Investments Pty Ltd v New South Wales ... to the effect that a manifest error may be demonstrated if there 'be powerful reasons for considering on a preliminary basis, without any prolonged adversarial argument, that there is on the face of the award an error of law'."
"It is necessary ... to examine the facts to see what was the means by which the injury was caused or the cause of the injury. For present purposes either phrase will do, and the second serves to emphasise that what we have in hand is an inquiry into causation of a kind with which the law of insurance is familiar, and for which it has established the rule that only the proximate cause of a loss is to be regarded. By 'cause' is not meant the latest, but the direct ... real or commonsense ... dominant ... operative or efficient one ... 'A loss may be the combined effect of a whole number of causes, but for the purposes of insurance law, one direct or dominant cause must in each case be singled out': Colinvaux The Law of Insurance 4th ed., [1979] para.4-32 at 77 ... Commonsense is the final arbiter in determining what is the proximate cause of a loss. 'The choice of the real or efficient cause from out of the whole complex of the facts must be made by applying commonsense standards. Causation is to be understood as the man in the street, and not as either the scientist or the metaphysician would understand it': per Lord Wright in Yorkshire Dale Steamship Co Ltd v Minister of War Transport [1942] AC 691 at 706. In the same case (at 720) Lord Macmillan urged resort to 'commonplace tests' rather than to 'the refinements of the philoso phical doctrine of causation'."
"It can be seen that much of the [insurer's argument] turned on concepts of causation; indeed they were said to be the central issue. Yet to my mind such considerations serve in the end to complicate the resolution of this appeal. Causation is not really the problem. It is plain enough what happened; according to the agreed statement of facts and the findings made, there was a sequential chain of events which led to the damage, commencing (so far as relevant) with the employee's error in failing to tighten sufficiently the critical bolts to preclude any unintended change in timing and ending with the paper jam that damaged the cylinders. That chain of events was unbroken, leading naturally from the one event to the next, and so much is common ground. The trial judge found that the employee's conduct was the dominant cause, and probably that was so, though I do not think it need be decided. For ultimately this case must depend upon the proper construction of the exclusion clause, and it is there, in my opinion, that the answer to the insurer's case is found. The [insured] submitted on appeal (if not so plainly below) that the exclusion clause applied to a malfunction only if that malfunction was 'due to the innate condition of the machine', which was not the case where the malfunction had been precipitated (as clearly it was) by the employee's failing to tighten the bolts as he should. In my view, that submission should be accepted and on that view the appeal fails on the point of construction."
"It is true that the entry of the water into the warehouse and its presence there for some days before the paper could be moved brought about a dampness in the atmosphere which was detrimental to the condition of the paper. Nonetheless, dampness was not the efficient cause of damage to the paper. Had there been a fire and water sprayed on the warehouse, it would have undoubtedly had an impact on the quality of the paper but, as a matter of insurance law, the proximate cause of the damage would have been the fire. It is well accepted that, in determining what is the proximate cause of a loss, in the case of an insurance claim one applies common sense. The choice falls upon the cause 'to which may be ascribed the qualities of reality, predominance, efficiency'. Here, the cause that satisfies the call of that phrase was the entry of water."
[5] [2003] VSC 275 at [30]- [67]
[6] (1992) 26 NSWLR 203 at 225-226
[9] (1991) 6 ANZ Insurance Cases 61-060 at 77,136
[12] Indeed, none of the authorities cited by the plaintiff provided such support; but it has to be said that none were cited, at least not explicitly, for that purpose.
[13] Leyland Shipping Co. Ltd v Norwich Union Fire Insurance Society Ltd [1918] AC 350 at 369-370.
[20] (1985) 3 ANZ Insurance Cases 60-663 at 77,109
Gunns Forest Products Pty Ltd
North Insurances Pty Ltd [2004] VSC 155
ARBITRATION - Commercial arbitration - Application for leave to appeal against arbitrator's award - Construction of terms of policy of insurance - Considerations applicable to a grant of leave - Anaconda Operations Pty Ltd v Fluor Australia Pty Ltd [2003] VSC 275 referred to - Commercial Arbitration Act 1984, s.38. INSURANCE - Industrial special risks policy - Woodchips damaged by admixture of small pieces of rubber cut a malfunctioning conveyor belt - Contamination excluded as a peril - Proviso - Construction of exclusion clause and proviso - Whether damage "occasioned by or happening through" contamination - MMI (Aust) Ltd v Rowprint Services (Vic) Pty Ltd [1998] VSCA 147 considered - Re CIC Insurance v Hygeia Dyanthus Industries Pty Ltd (1991) 6 ANZ Ins C 61-060 distinguished.
(1992) 26 NSWLR 203
(2002) 5 VR 353