© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2003] NSWSC 667
Supreme Court of NSW
2003-07-22
Michael Grove J, Grove J
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION : George Tzaidas bht Vickie Tzaidas v Child & Ors; Vickie Tzaidas v Child & Ors; Con Tzaidas v Child & Ors [2003] NSWSC 667 HEARING DATE(S) : Tuesday 22 July 2003 JUDGMENT DATE : 25 July 2003 JURISDICTION: Common Law JUDGMENT OF : Michael Grove J at 1 DECISION : In each case Motion dismissed.
CATCHWORDS : INSURANCE - APPLICATION TO SUE INSURER DIRECTLY - RIGHT OF INSURER TO DISCLAIM - FEDERAL AND STATE LEGISLATION LEGISLATION CITED : Law Reform (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1946 Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) C.A. and M.E.C. McInally Nominees v H.T.W. Valuers (Brisbane) 2001 188 ALR 439 Cassell & Co v Broome 1972 1 All ER 801 CASES CITED : FAI Insurance v Australian Hospital Care 2001 204 CLR 641 FAI General Insurance v Jarvis 1999 49 NSWLR 1 Hellyer v AMP General [2002] NSWSC 866 HIH Casualty & General v Dellavedova [1999] FCA 456 George Tzaidas by his tutor Vickie Tzaidas v Robert Peter Child, Hurstville Community Co-Operative Hospital Limited and Charles M. Scarf; PARTIES : Vickie Tzaidas v Child & Ors Con Tzaidas v Child & Ors FILE NUMBER(S) : SC 20445/01; 20448/01; 20444/01 COUNSEL : M.B. Williams SC with D. Ash (Plaintiff/Applicant) M. Ashhurst (Respondent: CGU Insurance) SOLICITORS : Charlton Shearman (Plaintiff)
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW SOUTH WALES COMMON LAW DIVISION
20445/01 - GEORGE TZAIDAS by his tutor VICKIE TZAIDAS v ROBERT PETER CHILDS & ORS 20448/01 - VICKIE TZAIDAS v ROBERT PETER CHILD & ORS 20444/01 - CON TZAIDAS v ROBERT PETER CHILD & ORS
JUDGMENT 1 HIS HONOUR: These motions seek orders granting leave to individual plaintiffs to commence proceedings against CGU Insurance Limited (the insurer) pursuant to s6 of the Law Reform (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1946 (the Law Reform Act). The plaintiffs are mother, father and child. It was not suggested that for present purposes any distinction need be drawn between them and it was convenient to have as evidence one set of affidavits in support, which were filed in the action brought by the infant plaintiff together with limited reference to parts of single affidavits in each of the actions brought by the parents respectively. From time to time where I am referring to identical matters language in the singular can be used. 2 The (amended) Statement of Claim alleges damage consequent upon professional negligence. The first defendant Dr Child is an obstetrician, the second defendant is Hurstville Community Co-operative Hospital Limited (the Hospital) and the third defendant Dr Scarf, is a paediatrician. Senior counsel for the plaintiffs was authorized to state on behalf of the first and third defendants that, on this motion, they submitted to such order of the Court as is made. 3 On 20 October 1999 Mr Martin Green was appointed Administrator (in the corporate sense) of the Hospital. Subsequently the Hospital entered a Deed of Company Arrangement and Mr Green was appointed Deed Administrator on 8 December 1999. Insofar as the plaintiff needs to show that the Hospital will be unable to satisfy any judgment against it and that action against it is probably ineffectual, counsel for the plaintiff noted that although it had now passed out of administration back into the hands of its directors "the weight of evidence suggests that it is impecunious in the relevant sense". Counsel for the insurer, who appeared to resist the motions, did not seek to dispute this statement. 4 The Hospital was covered in respect of specified risks under a policy of insurance in force from 30 June 1999 to 30 June 2000 with Pacific Indemnity, a business name under which the insurer traded. The indemnity available included liability for claims for compensation of the nature sought in the three actions. 5 The policy was of a type sometimes described as a "claims made and notified" or "discovery" policy in the parlance of the insurance industry. The policy excluded acts, omissions etc prior to the "specified retroactive date in the schedule" but the schedule in fact specified that "the retroactive date is without limitation". 6 Clause 4.1 of the policy is germane to the motions, namely: If during the Period of Insurance, the Insured becomes aware of any fact, situation or circumstance, including any written or verbal notice of demand for compensation, that may give rise to a Claims and elects during the Period of Insurance to give notice to Pacific Indemnity of such fact, situation or circumstance shall, for the purposes of this Policy , be deemed a Claims notified to Pacific Indemnity during the currency of this Policy . 7 Mrs Tzaidas was admitted to the Hospital for childbirth shortly before midnight on 15 November 1996. The infant plaintiff George was delivered at about 11 am on 16 November. Mr Tzaidas was a carrier of Haemophilia B also known as Christmas Disease or Factor IX deficiency. After the delivery both mother and child remained as in-patients at the Hospital. Observations were made of George's condition which progressed to apparent seizures in the early hours of 22 November. The child was taken by emergency transport to the Children's Hospital where he arrived on that day at about 11.40am. 8 The fact, situation or circumstance asserted by the plaintiff to make the Hospital (as insured, see clause 4.1 supra) aware that a claim may be made is to be derived from certain correspondence produced in answer to subpoena by Hurstville Community Private Hospital which had taken over the operation of the Hospital. 9 By letter dated 27 August 1999 solicitors (Martin Bell & Co) wrote to the Hospital in these terms: " RE: GEORGE TZAIDAS Address: 16 Jaffa Street FAIRFIELD WEST Born on: 16 November 1996 We wish to advise that we act for George Tzaidas. We are instructed that our client was treated by your hospital in respect of injuries sustained on 16 November 1996 and it would be appreciated if you could kindly let us have copies of all your clinical notes setting out the nature and conditions of our client's injuries, treatment given and prognosis. This request is made pursuant to the provisions of the Private Hospitals Regulations 1996 under the Private Hospital and Day Procedure Centres Act . We enclosed herewith our client's authority for such information together with our cheque for the sum of $30.00 being your fees herein. Further, we would be pleased if you could forward to us a statement of any fees incurred by our client in connection with those injuries, either paid or outstanding." 10 The papers included what appears to be a copy of a reply to that letter: "Regarding your letter, reference Tzaidis, I wish to inform you that request for access to the record of baby, Tzaidis, cannot be accommodated. The hospital genuinely endeavours to grant all patients access to their records. However the hospital protocol is as follows: · The patient (or their next of kin, as stated in the patient's record) writes personally to the hospital. · Appointment is made with hospital's resident doctor to go through the notes with the patient. · The patient's doctor may veto the above process. Yours faithfully, Philippa McCaffery General Manager." 11 Next is a letter dated 3 November 1999 addressed to Philippa McCaffery: " RE: GEORGE TZAIDAS Address: 16 Jaffa Street, FAIRFIELD WEST NSW 2165 Born on: 16.11.96 We refer to the above named and to your letter of 20 October 1999 which stated that you could not accommodate our clients request for access to clinical records. We note that under s42 of the Private Hospitals and Day Procedure Centres Act 1988, you are required to provide a patient's representative with access to their clinical records. Furthermore under s43, you are required to provide copies of these clinical notes to the patient's representative if so requested. Under the Act you are therefore required to provide our office, as the patient's representative, with copies the clinical records. In our letter of 27 August 1999, we enclosed our client's authority to this effect. If you refuse our request for access, you must inform us of the reasons for the refusal and of any rights of appeal that may exist in relation to the refusal. We do not understand your protocol that the patient must personally write to you requesting access. Please urgently advise us of your position in this regard." 12 Next is a letter dated 15 December 1999. It appears that this file copy which I have mentioned was produced on subpoena is on letterhead (as distinguished from the copy of the earlier letter to solicitors dated 20 October 1999) and it may be that this letter was not sent, having regard to the opening statements in the next letter of 29 February 2000 from the solicitors. The content of these letters was: "I refer to your correspondence of 3rd November. Pleased be advised that our policy for patients wishing to access their medical record is designed to ensure the patient is provided with appropriate clinical support whilst viewing their record. This support ensures they are able to interpret and understand the record's content. The Hospital considers it has a duty to provide this service to our patients. Please be advised that the baby's mother is named as next of kin in the baby's medical record and we would allow her to access the baby's record in accordance with our policy. I trust this clarifies our position for you."
And: " RE: GEORGE TZAIDAS We refer to the above named and to our letter of 3 November 1999, a copy of which is enclosed for your reference. We advise that we have not received a response from you in relation to same. We again reiterate that under s42 of the Private Hospitals and Day Procedure Centres Act 1988, you are required to provide our office, as Mr Tzaidas' representative, with copies of his clinical records. To date your office has refused and/or neglected to supply these records. We request that you urgently provide copies of these clinical records, or inform our office of your reasons for refusal. We await your early response." 13 On the issue to which this correspondence is asserted to be relevant, the plaintiffs also rely upon the content of the clinical notes themselves. There are also some file notes of "follow up" telephone calls none of which assert contemplated action. They do show a continuing interest by the solicitors in obtaining access to the notes. 14 Section 6 of the Law Reform Act creates a charge upon insurance moneys and sub-section (4) provides: "6 (4) Every such charge as aforesaid shall be enforceable by way of an action against the insurer in the same way and in the same court as if the action were an action to recover damages or compensation from the insured; and in respect of any such action and of the judgment given therein the parties shall, to the extent of the charge, have the same rights and liabilities, and the court shall have the same powers, as if the action were against the insured: Provided that, except where the provisions of subsection (2) apply, no such action shall be commenced in any court except with the leave of that court. Leave shall not be granted in any case where the court is satisfied that the insurer is entitled under the terms of the contract of insurance to disclaim liability, and that any proceedings, including arbitration proceedings, necessary to establish that the insurer is so entitled to disclaim, have been taken."
15 In addition to showing that any judgment against the Hospital will possibly be unsatisfied, the plaintiffs accept that it must be shown second, that there is an arguable case on the merits against the Hospital and third, that the Hospital is arguably indemnified against its liability by the insurer. In relation to this third matter a written outline of submissions by Mr Williams SC and Mr Ash, who appeared for the plaintiffs succinctly stated their position: "If the insurer is entitled to disclaim, leave must be refused: s6(4). In this matter, the insured did not give notice of a potential claim to the insurer during the relevant period. The effect of the contract of insurance would be that the insurer could refuse to (sic - the) claim. Without anything else, that would be the end of the story. However, there is s54 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984, considered by the High Court in FAI Insurance v Australian Hospital Care 2001 204 CLR 641. " 16 I shall refer to the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 as "the Commonwealth Act". 17 Counsel referred to an observation by Powell JA in FAI General Insurance v Jarvis 1999 49 NSWLR 1 @ 18-19, that the coming into force of s54 of the Commonwealth Act depriving the proviso to s6(4) of the Law Reform Act of operation was "a position for which no one seems yet to have argued." This position is expressly argued on behalf of the plaintiffs. 18 In summary Jarvis decided that the provisions of the Commonwealth Act were irrelevant to any consideration of the question of whether leave to commence proceedings ought to be given pursuant to s6(4) of the Law Reform Act because the latter is directed, on application for leave to commence, to whether an insurer is entitled under its contract to disclaim liability, whereas the former is directed to the determination at trial of the extent of prejudice to the insurer and whether the act or omission of the insured which would otherwise have provided a disclaimer should be permitted to provide a defence in whole or in part to the claim already made by the insured. 19 I summarize my understanding of the thrust of contentions by Mr Ashhurst of counsel who appeared for the insurer:
Last Modified: 07/28/2003 DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated.