© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[1995] FCA 792
Federal Court of Australia
1995-10-06
Tamberlin J
Original judgment source is linked above.
(2A) An appeal by a person under sub-section (1) or (2) shall be instituted - (a) not later than the twenty-eighth day after the day on which a document setting out the terms of the decision of the Tribunal is furnished to the person or within such further time as the Federal Court of Australia (whether before or after the expiration of that day) allows; and (b) in such manner as is prescribed by rules of court made under the Federal Court of Australia Act 1976." (Emphasis added) The written Reasons for Decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal ("AAT") constituted by Dr D J Grimes issued on 26 May 1995, record in the first paragraph: "1. At the conclusion of the above matter the terms of the decision intended to be made and the reasons therefor were stated orally. After service upon the Respondent of a copy of the decision that was in fact made, the Respondent, by its representative and pursuant to Sub-section 43(2A) of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975, requested the Tribunal to furnish to the Respondent a statement in writing of the reasons of the Tribunal for its decision." The application before the AAT was for review of a decision of the Social Security Appeals Tribunal ("SSAT") of 1 September 1994. Section 43(2A) makes it clear that the AAT is not obliged to give written reasons for its decision but that a party to the proceedings can within 28 days after the day on which a copy of the decision of the AAT is served on that party, request the AAT to furnish a written statement of these reasons. The AAT must then within 21 days after receiving the request furnish to the party a statement of reasons. In this case the 28 day period for appeal runs from the day on which a document setting out the terms of the decision of the AAT is furnished to the person seeking to appeal. Attached to the affidavit of Leigh Plater of 11 July 1995 is what is stated to be a true copy of the Decision of the AAT. The Decision bears date 9 January 1995 and states that: "For the reasons given orally at the hearing, the Tribunal affirms the decision of the Social Security Appeals Tribunal dated 1 September 1994." The Notice of Motion before me seeking an extension of time was filed by the applicant on 10 May 1995. Also, on that date, a document entitled "Notice of Appeal" was filed with the Court. The appeal to this Court is only on a question of law.
Background I take the following outline history of the matter from the Reasons for Decision of the AAT. "3. Mr Saddi gave evidence that he is from Beirut and arrived in Australia in 1975 as a result of the war in Lebanon. He had been employed as a shop assistant in the Lebanon and in Australia has had short periods of work, both employed and as a self-employed hawker. For the rest of the time he has been on unemployment benefit and Newstart, when that followed unemployment benefit, or special benefit in more recent times. He is at present on disability support pension. There is no contention that he is eligible for disability support pension and has been eligible for the previous benefits that he has received. 4. Evidence has also been presented both in the T documents and at this Tribunal that life has not been easy for Mr Saddi. He suffers anxiety and describes his mind as very busy, preventing him from working. He has had conflicts with members of his family resulting in him leaving the family home in 1982, and has had subsequent legal action which he gave evidence to the Tribunal that he had lost. He blamed the judge and his family members for this situation. In his application and in evidence before the Tribunal he has told of the difficult emotional and financial problems he has faced because of his family and because of his illness, and has asked the Tribunal in fact to make an emotional decision as much as legal decision in settling this case. 5. The basis of Mr Saddi's case as I understand it is that he should have been on sickness benefit in the period 1982 to 1986, in fact from 1975 to 1986, but was unjustly refused this benefit in 1982, 1986 and 1988. If he had received sickness benefit his claim is that he would have received rent assistance from the period 1982 to 1986.
During the period from March 1990 to 1 July 1991, Mr Saddi was not entitled under the Act then in force to receive rent assistance because he was not paying rent for private rental accommodation. Under the 1947 Act as it applied during this period, "rent" was defined in s 3 to exclude "Government rent". "Government rent" in turn was defined to include rent payable to the Housing Commission of NSW. Accordingly, Mr Saddi was not during this period by virtue of the 1947 Act entitled to receive rent assistance. Under the Social Security Act 1991 which came into effect on 1 July 1991, by s 1068-F1(b) Mr Saddi was entitled to an amount to help cover the cost of rent if he paid or was liable to pay rent (other than Government rent) in respect of that period. In fact during the period from 1 July 1991 to March 1993, Mr Saddi was paying Government rent as defined by the Act, namely rent payable to the Housing Commission of NSW and therefore he was not entitled to rent assistance. Mr Saddi has made detailed oral submissions with the assistance of an interpreter. He has also furnished me with a document which sets out in detail his written argument on this matter. I have given consideration to the matters, arguments, and submissions made by Mr Saddi. On the accepted facts, I think it is quite clear that he is not entitled to any rent assistance for the periods in respect of which he claims. This is because of the terms of the legislation. There is simply no power to award any rent assistance. I can see no arguable error of law in the decision appealed from. Accordingly, it would be futile to grant an extension of time in this matter because the appeal cannot succeed in the light of the legislation. Cf General Steel Industries Inc v Commissioner for Railways (1964) 112 CLR 125 at 129-130. I note that the respondent does not seek an order for costs in this matter against Mr Saddi. I think this is an appropriate course and I therefore I make no order as to costs. I certify that this and the preceding eight (8) pages are a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment herein of his Honour Justice Tamberlin. Associate: Date: 6 October 1995 For Applicant: Mr A Saddi appeared in person Solicitor for Respondent: Australian Government Solicitor Date of Hearing: 24 August 1995 Date Judgment Delivered: 6 October 1995
General Steel Industries Inc
Commissioner for Railways
(1964) 112 CLR 125