An attempt to mediate and further attempts to amend the WCC certificate
- An application for mediation of a work injury damages claim was received by the Workers Compensation Commission on 29 October 2016 and was "registered" on 31 October 2016. Why there was a three day delay is not established. Again, the Respondent's details give the name and address of Mr Berrigan and as his representatives Messrs Moray & Agnew.
- On 6 December 2016, Messrs Turks Legal wrote to the Plaintiff's solicitors. The letter is under the hand of Mr Vorbach. The substance of the letter is this:
"I refer to your letter of 29 November 2016 serving an Application for Mediation for work injury damages.
As discussed in our letter of 26 February 2015 and 5 May 2016, Paul Berrigan is not your client's employer for the purposes of such a claim. Under the legislation, the employer is Tamworth Jockey Club. To bring a claim for work injury damages against Tamworth Jockey Club, it would be necessary for your client to establish negligence on the part of the club.
You have commenced proceedings in the District Court against Paul Berrigan. Although he was your client's actual employer at the time, for the purposes of workers compensation claims, the employer is Tamworth Jockey Club because of the deeming provisions.
As discussed in our previous correspondence the claim against Paul Berrigan will be dealt with as a public liability claim, and there is no need for you to fulfil the procedural requirements under the 1998 Act.
Please let me know if Moray & Agnew have filed a defence to the District Court proceedings. If so, please provide me with a copy.
As the application for mediation does not name the correct employer, I do not propose to file a response."
- Again, there is vice in that letter because, as I have already said, there is no deeming provision deeming a person who is the actual employer not to be the employer, and insofar as the law now provides that a claim against a deemed employer, if made, must be governed by the work injury damages scheme, it would still be necessary for a claim against a deemed employer for the procedural requirements of the 1998 Act to be observed.
- On 10 January 2017, Turks Legal wrote to Moray & Agnew. The letter is again under the hand of Mr Vorbach. It contains this substance:
"You have identified an error on my part in agreeing to amend the workers compensation proceedings to name Paul Berrigan as the employer. That claim should have been brought against the deemed employer, Tamworth Jockey Club.
I will have the plaintiff agree to the amendment of the proceedings in the Workers Compensation Commission.
Once that has occurred, my client will be indemnifying the correct employer and any claim for work injury damages should be brought against that employer. It will not be inconsistent for Racing NSW to refuse to indemnify Mr Berrigan in respect of any proceedings brought at common law against him."
The last sentence of Mr Vorbach's communication is a little loose. I assume that when he referred to proceedings brought against Mr Berrigan "at common law", he was referring to a public liability claim rather than a claim for work injury damages. His letter is loose because a claim for work injury damages is largely governed by the common law as far as a liability is concerned. The legislation restricts the quantum of damages but says little, if anything, about liability at common law. Despite the invitation made by Mr Vorbach, the Plaintiff's solicitors did not consent to the further amendment of the certificate of determination that had been issued by the Workers Compensation Commission.
- On the same day, Mr Vorbach sent this communication to the Plaintiff's solicitor by email:
"I refer to your letter of today concerning the amendment of the employer on the COD [Certification of Determination].
I attach a letter received from Moray & Agnew dated 9 January 2017 and my reply of 11 January 2017.
It does not matter what the COD says. The correct legal position, which no-one can refute, is that the Tamworth Jockey Club was the employer of the plaintiff at the time of his injury because the injury occurred while he was riding trackwork. This triggers the deeming provision in the legislation.
As my client will be a party by way of the proposed cross-claim, we will be able to argue this point.
It is in your client's interest that the employer is the Tamworth Jockey Club, because then his claim...for damages will be assessed under the Civil Liability Act, not the limited damages under Part 7 of the Workers Compensation Act allowing him the full spectrum of heads of damages, not just economic loss.
Please review your position. It would be much simpler if the COD reflected the correct legal position."
- If the Plaintiff had consented to the certificate of determination of the Workers Compensation Commission being amended to show as the deemed employer Tamworth Jockey Club, much of what has occurred before me would have been otiose. Unfortunately for the plaintiff, Mr Vorbach's suggestion that damages against the Tamworth Jockey Club would be assessed under the Civil Liability Act 2002 (NSW) is not correct, as recent decisions of the Court of Appeal make clear.
- As to Mr Vorbach's assertion that "it does not matter what the COD says", much of what has occurred before me would be otiose if that were correct. However, Mr Grady of Messrs Everingham Solomons Lawyers maintained his opposition to any further amendment to the certificate of determination of the Workers Compensation Commission.
- On 29 March 2017, Ms Annette Farrell of the Workers Compensation Commission sent a communication to the Plaintiff's solicitor, to Mr Pitt at Moray & Agnew, and to Mr Vorbach at Turks Legal. The substance of the communication is this:
"Whilst I note the email below from Mr Grady, I am of the view that the respondent 'Craig Berrigan' was not joined nor represented in the statutory compensation proceedings (3827/12) and that Mr Vorbach, representing Racing NSW was not in a position to consent to the change in respondent. Accordingly, the Amended Certificate of Determination dated 23 September 2017 is rescinded.
As such, the matter will be listed for teleconference before an Arbitrator to determine the appropriate respondent. Representatives for Todd Fields, Craig Martin Racing Stables/Tamworth Jockey Club and Paul Berrigan should be in attendance at the teleconference. Mr Fields and Mr Berrigan may attend, but are not required to do so.
Separate advice of the date/time for the t/c will be issued.
I note also the request to refer the Application for Mediation (5572/16) to teleconference. As that matter does not involve statutory compensation, the matter cannot be referred to an Arbitrator for teleconference as the Commission has no jurisdiction to hear or determine matters with respect to a work injury damages claim. Matter number 5572/16 will not proceed until the respondent in Matter No 3827/14 is determined."
- Ms Farrell has signed the document as "Director, Operations" of the Workers Compensation Commission rather than as either a Registrar, Deputy Registrar, or Arbitrator. Furthermore, the document is not under seal. No one can tell me if there was a teleconference to try to determine who the person to be named in the certificate of determination was. I have been referred to a teleconference held on 2 June 2017, but the conference, which was before Mr Paul Sweeney, an Arbitrator, appears to have been regarded by him as one concerning the mediation of the common law proceedings.
- However, a file note made by the Plaintiff's solicitor sums up the position in this fashion. After noting the appearances, including Mr Tim Ainsworth, who appeared for the Nominal Insurer, Mr Grady said this:
"I said that it is my understanding that Mr Vorbach was of the view that Mr Berrigan was uninsured and hence the inclusion of a nominal defendant. Mr Vorbach took issue with that and said that he had insurance but he wasn't the deemed employer in accordance with the legislation.
We went round and round in circles for about a half an hour not getting anywhere very fast.
Eventually Mr Vorbach made the concession that he might be able to get instructions to the effect that if Mr Berrigan is found to be employer, that the pre-conditions of the workers compensation legislation have been met."
No concession to that effect has ever been forthcoming. The application for mediation was dismissed.