© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2003] FCA 501
Federal Court of Australia
2003-05-20
Sackville J
Original judgment source is linked above.
REASONS FOR JUDGMENT 1 Commonwealth Life Ltd ("CLL") and Colonial Mutual Life Assurance Society Ltd ("CMLA") have applied for an order pursuant to s 193 of the Life Insurance Act 1995 (Cth) ("the Act") for an order confirming a scheme for the transfer of the life insurance business of CLL to CMLA. Both CLL and CMLA are registered as life insurance companies under the Act. The Commonwealth Bank of Australia ("CBA") is the ultimate holding company of CLL and CMLA. 2 The Colonial Group, including CMLA, was acquired by the Commonwealth Banking Group in June 2000 and since that date has gradually been incorporated into the latter Group. The objective of the scheme is said to be to integrate and consolidate the life insurance business of CLL and CMLA, with no material change to policyholder benefits and entitlements. 3 It is intended that, subject to Court approval, the scheme will take effect on 1 July 2003. The effect of the scheme is that the life insurance business of CLL will be transferred to CMLA. CMLA will assume all the rights and benefits and all the obligations and liabilities of CLL in respect of CLL's life insurance business. 4 The applicants have filed a notice of motion seeking an order under s 191(5) of the Act, that the requirements of s 191(2) be dispensed with, insofar as that subsection requires an approved summary of the scheme to be given to · the holders of policies issued by CMLA; and · the holders of policies issued by CLL for whom CLL has no record of a current mailing address.
The principal motivation for the application, so it appears, is that there are approximately 534,500 policies issued by CMLA referable to the statutory funds affected by the scheme. I have been told that the cost of providing a summary of the scheme to each such policyholder would exceed $800,000. 5 Section 191 of the Act provides as follows: "Steps to be taken before application for confirmation
affected policy owner means the owner of a policy that is referable to a statutory fund affected by a scheme.
(2) An application for confirmation of a scheme may not be made unless:
(a) a copy of the scheme and any actuarial report on which the scheme is based have been given to APRA in accordance with the regulations; and
(b) notice of intention to make the application has been published by the applicant in accordance with the regulations; and
(c) an approved summary of the scheme has been given to every affected policy owner.
(3) Without limiting the provision that may be made by the regulations for the purposes of paragraph (2)(b), the notice referred to in that paragraph must include, in relation to each company affected by the scheme, details of the place and time at which an affected policy owner may obtain a copy of the scheme.
(4) An affected policy owner is entitled, on his or her request, to be provided by the company with one copy of the scheme free of charge.
(5) The Court may dispense with the need for compliance with paragraph (2)(c) in relation to a particular scheme if it is satisfied that, because of the nature of the scheme or the circumstances attending its preparation, it is not necessary that the paragraph be complied with."
It will be seen that s 191(5) of the Act refers to the nature of the scheme or the circumstances attending its preparation as a basis for finding that it is not necessary that s 191(2)(c) be complied with. 6 Dr Flick SC, who appears for the applicants, submits that it is appropriate to make the order because both the nature of the scheme and the circumstances attending its preparation make it unnecessary to give an approved summary to each of the CMLA policyholders. Dr Flick contends that the nature of the scheme is such that no change is proposed to the benefits and entitlements of the CMLA policyholders. He also relies upon the following circumstances attending the preparation of the scheme:
Other actuarial reports are to the same effect. 8 I think that some care needs to be taken before an order is made dispensing with the requirements of s 191(2)(c) of the Act. Clearly enough, the policy underlying the statutory requirement, when read in conjunction with s 191(2)(b), is to give every affected policyholder a summary of the scheme and, an opportunity, if he or she so desires, to make submissions to the Court in respect of any application for confirmation of the scheme. A right to be heard in relation to a proposed scheme may be of little value if a person does not know of the proposal. 9 Subject to one issue that I shall mention, I think the matters pointed to by Dr Flick justify the making of an order dispensing with the requirement to provide an approved summary of the scheme to every CMLA policyholder. In particular, the nature of the scheme is one which, according to the evidence, involves no change in the entitlements or security of CMLA policyholders. The substance of the scheme is to provide for the transfer of policies held from one insurer within a group to another. The actuarial evidence indicates that CMLA policyholders will experience no change in their contractual benefits or entitlements and, more importantly, that the scheme will have no impact on policyholder security. 10 I think that I can also take into account, as a circumstance attending the preparation of the scheme, the fact that notices have been published in the press which advise CMLA policyholders of the scheme and of their entitlement to appear before the Court on the application for confirmation of the scheme. Other relevant circumstances are APRA's approval of the proposed course and the fact that the actuary responsible for preparation of the scheme provided a copy of his report on the scheme to APRA on 14 March 2003 in which the view was expressed that CMLA policyholders will not be prejudiced by the scheme. 11 The remaining issue to which I have referred is this. On the first return date, when Dr Flick sought to move on the motion, I raised with him a concern I had that CLL policyholders (numbering about 278,800) had each received a notice of summary of the scheme. I asked why the applicants distinguished between the CLL policyholders and the CMLA policyholders in terms of individual notification of the scheme. 12 The answer that has been provided to that question is as follows:
Solicitor for APRA: Australian Government Solicitor
COMMONWEALTH LIFE LTD
THE COLONIAL MUTUAL LIFE ASSURANCE SOCIETY
(2000) 104 FCR 37